岗位

为了配合整个行业的BIMI推广,PowerDMARC与DigiCert携手,为品牌提供验证标志证书(VMC),以无缝地开始他们的BIMI之旅。

BIMI计划要求你用强制的DMARC政策来配置你的域,同时还要有一个经过验证的标记证书。PowerDMARC已经成为电子邮件安全行业的先锋,允许企业用DMARC验证来设置他们的域,并转向更安全的政策。

现在,有了这种宝贵的合作关系,品牌商可以通过注册PowerBIMI直接利用他们的DigiCert VMCs进行BIMI:一键式简易BIMI实施方案,让你轻松上传你的VMC和SVG文件,而无需托管和维护任何服务器的麻烦!坐下来,享受VMC和BIMI的好处,因为我们在后台为你处理其余的事情。

核证商标证书。什么是VMC?

VMCs允许品牌在电子邮件的 "发件人 "栏旁边呈现他们独特的品牌标志,作为真实性的标志。它可以帮助你的客户在打开邮件之前就确定你的信息的可信度。总的来说,它在客户中建立了信任,并提供了一个视觉上引人注目的电子邮件体验。它既是一个电子邮件验证系统,也是一个营销工具,将你的品牌记忆提升到一个全新的水平!

VMC对成长型企业的好处

VMC的各种好处包括。

  • 电子邮件参与率提高10%。
  • 强制执行的DMARC政策,使网络钓鱼攻击、欺骗和伪造的电子邮件无处遁形
  • 提供视觉上有吸引力的电子邮件体验
  • 帮助你简化你的BIMI采用之旅

关于DigiCert

作为美国领先的证书颁发机构(CA),DigiCert已经为1000多万个域名颁发了5000多万份证书,是业内最大的公开信任SSL/TLS证书供应商。他们遵循一个一致的目标,即验证品牌身份以确保组织的数字互动。

关于PowerDMARC

PowerDMARC是您的一站式电子邮件认证SaaS平台,其目标是:让您的电子邮件再次变得安全我们提供托管电子邮件认证解决方案,如SPF、DKIM、DMARC、MTA-STS、TLS-RPT和BIMI,同时也为全球品牌提供MSP/MSSP机会。我们的目标是改善你的组织的电子邮件安全基础设施,保护你的域名不被冒充、欺骗和品牌滥用。PowerDMARC提供DMARC管理服务和部署服务,既符合成本效益又易于配置,使您能够以最快的市场速度推出BIMI和DMARC!

今天就注册你的DMARC分析器,或与我们联系,[email protected],有任何疑问。

你知道你的域名有多安全吗?大多数组织在运作时都假设他们的域名是高度安全的,但过不了多久,他们就发现情况并非如此。安全得分低的一个明显迹象是,如果你的域名被欺骗了--这意味着有人在使用你的域名,以便冒充你(或制造混乱)并欺骗电子邮件收件人。但你为什么要关心呢?因为这些欺骗活动有可能会危及你的声誉。 

在一个充满了域名冒充者的世界里,电子邮件域名欺骗不应该是公司轻视的事情。那些这样做的人可能会把自己以及他们的客户置于危险之中。一个域名的安全等级可以对你是否被那些想赚快钱的钓鱼者盯上或在你不知情的情况下利用你的域名和品牌传播勒索软件产生巨大的影响。

用我们的免费DMARC查询工具检查你的域名的安全等级。你可能会对你学到的东西感到惊讶!

攻击者如何欺骗你的域名?

当攻击者使用合法来源的伪造身份时,就会发生电子邮件欺骗,通常是为了冒充另一个人或伪装成一个组织。它可以通过以下方式进行。

操纵域名:攻击者可以利用你的域名向你毫无戒心的收件人发送电子邮件,这些人可能会成为他们恶意的牺牲品。俗称直接域名欺骗攻击,这些攻击对一个品牌的声誉和你的客户对你的电子邮件的看法特别有害。

伪造电子邮件域名或地址:其中攻击者利用现有电子邮件安全协议的漏洞,以合法域名的名义发送电子邮件。这种攻击的成功率较高,因为攻击者使用第三方电子邮件交换服务来进行他们的恶意活动,而这些服务并不验证电子邮件发送源的来源。

由于域名验证并没有内置于简单邮件传输协议(SMTP),即电子邮件所基于的协议中,最近开发的电子邮件验证协议,如DMARC,提供了更大的验证。

低域安全如何影响你的组织?

由于大多数组织通过电子邮件传输和接收数据,必须有一个安全的连接来保护公司的品牌形象。然而,在电子邮件安全性低的情况下,它可能导致企业和个人的灾难。电子邮件仍然是使用最广泛的通信平台之一。数据泄露或黑客攻击发出的电子邮件可能对你的组织的声誉造成破坏。使用电子邮件还可能导致恶意攻击、恶意软件和垃圾邮件的传播。因此,有一个巨大的需求,那就是修订如何在电子邮件平台内部署安全控制。

仅在2020年,品牌冒充就占了所有网络钓鱼攻击的81%,而一次鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击造成的平均损失为160万美元。安全研究人员预测,到2021年底,这些数字有可能翻倍。这给企业增加了更大的压力,需要尽早改善他们的电子邮件安全。

虽然跨国企业对采用电子邮件安全协议的想法比较开放,但小型企业和中小企业仍然不愿意。这是因为这是一个普遍的神话,即中小企业不属于网络攻击者的潜在目标雷达。然而,这是不真实的。攻击者的目标是基于他们的电子邮件安全态势中的弱点和漏洞,而不是组织的规模,这使得任何域名安全不佳的组织都是潜在的目标。

了解如何通过我们的电子邮件安全评级指南获得更高的域名安全评级

利用认证协议获得最大的域名安全性

在检查你的域名的电子邮件安全等级时,低分可能是由于以下因素。

  • 你的组织内没有部署SPF、DMARC和DKIM等电子邮件认证协议
  • 你已经部署了协议,但没有为你的域执行这些协议。
  • 你的认证记录中存在错误
  • 你没有启用DMARC报告以获得你的电子邮件渠道的可见性
  • 您的邮件在传输过程中和服务器通信没有通过MTA-STS 的TLS加密来保证安全
  • 你没有实施SMTPTLS报告,以获得关于电子邮件交付问题的通知
  • 你没有为你的域名配置BIMI以提高你的品牌记忆度
  • 你没有用动态SPF平坦化来解决SPF的错觉

所有这些都有助于使你的域名越来越容易受到电子邮件欺诈、冒充和域名滥用的影响。

PowerDMARC是您的一站式电子邮件认证SaaS平台,它将所有的认证协议(DMARC、SPF、DKIM、MTA-STS、TLS-RPT、BIMI)集中在一块玻璃上,使您的电子邮件再次安全,并改善您的域名的电子邮件安全状况。我们的DMARC分析器通过在后台处理所有复杂的问题并为域名用户自动处理,简化了协议实施。这有助于你利用你的认证协议,释放它们的最大潜力,并从你的安全解决方案中获得最佳效果。

今天就注册免费的DMARC报告分析器,以获得较高的域名安全等级和对欺骗性攻击的保护。

你面向客户的品牌是吸引访客到你的产品/服务并导致转换的原因。拥有一个无可挑剔的品牌声誉不仅可以使你的品牌处于无可比拟的信誉地位,而且还可以使你的业务成功或失败。这就是电子邮件安全和BIMI发挥作用的地方。当你每天向你的客户和合作伙伴发送营销电子邮件以推广你的服务时,黑客和冒名顶替者可以利用社会工程战术欺骗你的域名,发送恶意的电子邮件。这些邮件会在你发送的合法邮件中丢失,敦促毫无戒心的客户打开它们,最终煽动电汇或导致证书被盗。

那么,当你的客户下次收到你的电子邮件时,即使它是合法的,在被骗一次后,他们也不愿意打开它,这是人类的自然本能。即使你使用SPF、DKIM和DMARC等电子邮件认证协议,你的收件人也没有办法知道从你的域名发出的电子邮件是否合法。这就是为什么你需要信息识别的品牌指标或BIMI,让你的收件人在他们的收件箱中直观地识别你的品牌。

什么是BIMI?

当你使用信息识别的品牌标志,或BIMI,来验证你的电子邮件,你的订户会知道你是一个合法的企业,更有可能打开你的电子邮件。通过将你的品牌标志整合到电子邮件中,它就像第二层安全保障,使收件人不太可能怀疑你电子邮件的真实性。然后,如果电子邮件曾经被垃圾邮件发送者克隆,收件人就会知道这是假的,因为你的标志不会出现。

BIMI只不过是一组简短的指令,可以传递给电子邮件客户端。BIMI适用于不同类型的电子邮件客户端,并且只有在接收者激活了BIMI的情况下才能发挥作用。BIMI不仅仅是一个电子邮件认证协议,它是一个易于实施的电子邮件营销解决方案,旨在帮助你建立你的品牌知名度。

PowerDMARC Logo Mobile

BIMI如何帮助你的品牌?

  • 有了BIMI,每次你发送电子邮件时,你的客户会在他们的收件箱中看到你的标志,强化你的形象,推动新的客户咨询,并建立品牌忠诚度。
    这是一个让你的客户在你不在身边时也能想到你的品牌的好方法。
  • 一个熟悉的标志会让客户认识到他们与之有关系的品牌。BIMI为增强你的品牌记忆和提高客户的信心铺平了道路。
  • 一封值得信赖的电子邮件将立即吸引收件人的注意。BIMI是一个视觉识别器,显示你的品牌的独特标志,使收件人容易识别和信任你的品牌。从而提高了电子邮件的可送达性。
  • BIMI是一种简单的方式,通过视觉确认来表明你的信息已被认证。

注意:BIMI建立在DMARC的基础上,给你现有的DMARC部署带来更多的安全。

用BIMI保护你的品牌不受诈骗者影响的步骤

在实施BIMI之前,有几个基本要求必须满足。

1.BIMI记录要求你的域名在执行政策层面上经过DMARC认证("拒绝 "或 "隔离")。

2.你必须按照BIMI SVG的要求,为你的标志创建一个SVG文件并上传到服务器。

3.你需要访问你的域名的DNS来发布一个新的BIMI DNS记录。

听起来很复杂?PowerDMARC使您的部署过程更加简单。有了我们,你不再需要考虑配置协议的复杂性,相反,你可以专注于使用它来为你和你的品牌带来好处。

用PowerDMARC实现3步BIMI

当你用PowerDMARC签署DMARC部署时,你也得到了BIMI实施的房子。有了PowerBIMI的实施,你的部分被减少到三个基本步骤。

  • 转向DMARC的执行政策(p=拒绝/隔离)。
  • 上传你符合BIMI标准的SVG标志图片
  • 用我们免费的BIMI记录生成器生成你的BIMI记录。

然后就可以了!你只需点击一个按钮就完成了对BIMI的配置。在目前的情况下,Verizon媒体集团(雅虎、AOL等)支持显示标识,如果你符合要求,甚至像Gmail这样的行业领先者也在他们的试点计划中。

今天就用PowerDMARC使BIMI成为你的组织的电子邮件安全套件的一部分,并将你的品牌记忆提升到新的水平。现在就注册获得免费的BIMI试用。SEO咨询

随着网络犯罪分子的网络钓鱼攻击、电子邮件和域名欺骗攻击、BEC和其他欺诈活动的不断涌现,额外的安全和电子邮件保护层总是一个好主意!由于网络攻击的增加,电子邮件的收件人对落入他们收件箱的信息越来越怀疑。解决办法是什么?一个全面的电子邮件安全套件,包括BIMI的实施。

美国安全专家最近进行的一项调查显示,60%的美国公民声称在他们的亲密圈子里,在大流行之后,已经成为网络诈骗的受害者或知道有人受到同样的影响。因此,为了给他们的电子邮件提供额外的保护,企业需要实施像信息识别品牌指标(BIMI)这样的新标准,因为它有望将消费者的信心提高到新的水平。

什么是BIMI?

BIMI是Brand Indicators for Message Identification的缩写,它是一个新形成的电子邮件认证标准,将你的品牌标志贴在所有由你授权的电子邮件上。这可能感觉是一个非常小的步骤,但事实上视觉验证可以增加你的品牌信誉,让接收者识别和信任你从你的商业电子邮件域名发出的电子邮件。

你可能想知道,如果你已经在你的组织中实施了DMARC,利用了SPFDKIM认证标准,你还需要BIMI吗?让我们简单地讨论一下这些标准是如何对入站邮件进行认证的。

  • SPF对你的电子邮件进行认证,以确定允许从你的电子邮件域发送电子邮件的邮件服务器,这些邮件服务器被列在SPF记录中。
  • DKIM通过向电子邮件添加数字签名来认证电子邮件,使接收者能够检查声称来自特定域名的电子邮件是否确实得到该域名所有者的授权。
  • DMARC向收件箱提供者规定了如何应对未能通过SPF和DKIM电子邮件认证的电子邮件。
  •  BIMI将你的品牌标志贴在你发给你的员工、合作伙伴和客户的邮件上,这样他们就能及时识别出这是来自授权的来源。

因此,从上面的讨论中可以看出,在所有的电子邮件认证协议中,BIMI是唯一提供视觉识别范围的标准,为电子邮件接收者提供视觉线索来识别电子邮件的来源,并识别其真实性。

PowerDMARC Logo Mobile

BIMI实施--简要指南

虽然BIMI是一个新兴的、仍在不断发展的认证标准,但它仍然相对较新。到目前为止,只有雅虎邮箱正式采用该技术。由于这个原因,BIMI不能保证显示你的品牌标志,因为它只适用于支持的电子邮件客户端。在实施BIMI之前,有几个基本步骤需要遵循,这就是。

  • 为了在你的组织中实施BIMI,你的域名需要在政策执行层面上进行DMARC认证,即拒绝隔离
  • 你必须按照BIMI的要求创建并上传一个 SVG文件,以便从任何地方都可以访问。
  • 你必须创建一个BIMI记录,它与DMARC记录类似,基本上是一个由多个标签组成的字符串,用分号隔开。
  • 你需要访问你的域名的DNS来发布这个新的BIMI记录。
  • 在你的DNS中发布BIMI记录后,检查其有效性是一个相当有用的做法。

BIMI的实施如何能证明对你的企业有利?

BIMI是一个电子邮件认证协议,行使视觉识别,帮助电子邮件接收者在收件箱中识别和信任你的品牌。这种信任可以防止客户和合作伙伴退订你的服务,也可以使垃圾邮件的投诉不受影响,这可以随后导致电子邮件交付率的提升。

如果没有BIMI,电子邮件客户端会显示一个带有品牌首字母的通用占位符标志。由于这个原因,收件人可能很难在不求助于品牌名称的情况下认出你的品牌。然而,如果实施了BIMI,品牌标志就会显示在你的电子邮件旁边,提升品牌知名度。

除此之外,这也是一个额外的电子邮件安全层,可以防止域名欺骗攻击、网络钓鱼攻击和其他冒名顶替的企图,因为接收者会对冒充你的网络犯罪分子更加警觉。

此外,BIMI允许你推销你的品牌。是的,你没听错!有时收件人手中没有很多时间,而你的主题行可能暂时没有足够的说服力去点击。不管怎么样,你的收件人会把你的发件人地址、主题行和页眉文字与你的标志联系起来,帮助进一步建立你的品牌。

最后,BIMI的实施对你的邮件送达率也有非常积极的影响!对于支持BIMI的邮箱提供商来说,它将为你的邮件增加另一层邮件认证,从而增加他们更及时地传递你的邮件的机会。除此之外,你的邮件接收者可以通过显示的标志,直观地识别和认出你的品牌,减少他们将邮件标记为垃圾邮件的机会。

用PowerBIMI简化你的BIMI实施过程

有了PowerBIMI,我们使BIMI记录的发布对你来说非常迅速和简单你所要做的就是简单地上传你的SVG图片,我们将安全地托管它,并立即为你提供一个DNS记录,这样你就可以在你的DNS中发布它。我们从你的肩上卸下了托管图像和确保其安全的痛苦。

有了PowerBIMI,你可以在任何时候更新、删除或对你的形象做任何改变,而不需要再次更新你的DNS记录。PowerBIMI为你提供了一个非常快速和简单的一键式执行程序,上传你的标志并成功转向BIMI认证,在注册免费的BIMI记录后将其作为你的电子邮件安全套件的一部分

Posts

Do you know how secure your domain is? Most organizations operate with the assumption that their domains are highly secure and in a short while, they learn it isn’t the case. One of the tell-tale signs of a low security score is if your domain name is being spoofed – this means that someone is using your domain in order to impersonate you (or create confusion) and fool email recipients. But why should you care? Because these spoofing activities can potentially endanger your reputation. 

In a world full of domain impersonators, email domain spoofing shouldn’t be something that companies take lightly. Those who do could be putting themselves, as well as their clients at risk. A domain’s security rating can have a huge effect on whether or not you get targeted by phishers looking to make a quick buck or to use your domain and brand to spread ransomware without you being aware!

Check your domain’s security rating with our Free DMARC Lookup tool. You may be surprised by what you learn!

How Do Attackers Spoof Your Domain?

Email spoofing can occur when an attacker uses a forged identity of a legitimate source, usually with the intent of impersonating another person or masquerading as an organization. It can be carried out by:

Manipulating the domain name: Attackers can use your domain name to send emails to your unsuspecting recipients who can fall prey to their malicious intentions. Popularly known as direct-domain spoofing attacks, these attacks are especially harmful to a brand’s reputation and how your customers perceive your emails.

Forging the email domain or address: wherein attackers exploit loopholes in existing email security protocols to send emails on behalf of a legitimate domain. The success rate of such attacks is higher as attackers use third-party email exchange services to carry out their malicious activities that do not verify the origin of email sending sources.

Since domain verification wasn’t built into the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP), the protocol that email is built on,email authentication protocols that were developed more recently, such as DMARC, provide greater verification.

How Can a Low Domain Security Impact Your Organization?

Since most organizations transmit and receive data through emails, there must be a secure connection to protect the company’s brand image. However, in case of low email security, it can lead to disaster for both enterprises and individuals. Email remains one of the most widely used communication platforms. Email sent out from a data breach or hack can be devastating for your organization’s reputation. Using email can also result in the spread of malicious attacks, malware, and spam. Therefore, there is a huge need for revising how security controls are deployed within email platforms.

In 2020 alone, brand impersonation accounted for 81% of all phishing attacks, while a single spear-phishing attack resulted in an average loss of $1.6 million. Security researchers are predicting the numbers to potentially double by the end of 2021. This adds more pressure on organizations to improve their email security at the earliest.

While multinational enterprises are more open to the idea of adopting email security protocols, small businesses and SMEs are still reluctant. This is because it’s a common myth that SMEs do not fall in the potential target radar of cyber attackers. That, however, is untrue. Attackers target organizations based on the vulnerabilities and loopholes in their email security posture, rather than the size of the organization, making any organization with poor domain security a potential target.

Learn how you can get a higher domain security rating with our email security rating guide.

Leverage Authentication Protocols to Gain Maximum Domain Security

While checking your domain’s email security rating, a low score can be due to the following factors:

  • You don’t have email authentication protocols like SPF, DMARC, and DKIM deployed within your organization
  • You have deployed the protocols but have not enforced them for your domain
  • You have errors in your authentication records
  • You have not enabled DMARC reporting to gain visibility on your email channels
  • Your emails in transit and server communication are not secured over TLS encryption with MTA-STS
  • You have not implemented SMTP TLS reporting to get notified on issues in email delivery
  • You have not configured BIMI for your domain to improve your brand recollection
  • You have not resolved SPF permerror with dynamic SPF flattening

All of these contribute to making your domain more and more vulnerable to email fraud, impersonation, and domain abuse.

PowerDMARC is your one-stop email authentication SaaS platform that brings all the authentication protocols (DMARC, SPF, DKIM, MTA-STS, TLS-RPT, BIMI) across a single pane of glass to make your emails safe again and improve your domain’s email security posture. Our DMARC analyzer simplifies protocol implementation by handling all the complexities in the background and automating the process for domain users. This helps you leverage your authentication protocols to unleash their maximum potential and get the best out of your security solutions.

Sign up for your free DMARC report analyzer today to get a high domain security rating and protection against spoofing attacks.

Your customer-facing brand is what draws in visitors to your products/services and leads to conversion. Having an impeccable brand reputation can not only place your brand in a position of unmatched credibility, it can also make or break your business. This is where email security and BIMI comes into play. While you are sending out marketing emails to your customers and partners on a daily basis to promote your services, hackers and impersonators can spoof your domain using social engineering tactics, to send malicious emails. These emails get lost among the legitimate ones sent by you, urging unsuspecting clients to open them eventually instigating wire transfers or leading to credential thefts.

Well, the next time your clients receive an email from you, it is natural human instinct that they would be reluctant to even open it even if it is legitimate after being scammed once. Even if you use email authentication protocols like SPF, DKIM and DMARC, there is no way for your recipients to know whether an email sent from your domain is legitimate or not. This is why you need Brand Indicators for Message Identification or BIMI that makes way for your receivers to visually identify your brand in their inboxes.

What is BIMI?

When you use Brand Indicators for Message Identification, or BIMI, to verify your email, your subscribers will know you are a legitimate business and are more likely to open your emails. By integrating your brand logo into emails, it acts as a second layer of security that makes recipients less likely to doubt the authenticity of your email. Then, if the email is ever cloned by a spammer, recipients will know it’s fake because your logo won’t be present.

BIMI is nothing but a short set of instructions that can be passed to the email client. BIMI works with different types of email clients and can only work if the receiver has BIMI activated. Much more than just an email authentication protocol, BIMI is an easy-to-implement email marketing solution designed to help you build your brand recognition.

PowerDMARC Logo Mobile

How Can BIMI Help Your Brand?

  • With BIMI every time you send an email, your customers will see your logo in their inbox, reinforcing your image, driving new customer inquiries, and building brand loyalty.
    It’s a great way to get your customers thinking about your brand even when you’re not around.
  • A familiar logo will be recognizable to customers as a brand they have a relationship with. BIMI paved the way for enhancing your brand recall and enhancing your customer’s confidence.
  • A trusted email will instantly catch the attention of recipients. BIMI is a visual identifier that displays your brand’s unique logo making it easy for recipients to identify and trust your brand. Thereby boosting email deliverability.
  • BIMI is an easy way to indicate your message has been authenticated through visual confirmation.

Note: BIMI builds on a foundation of DMARC, giving you more security with your existing DMARC deployment.

Steps to Protect Your Brand from Scammers with BIMI

Before implementing BIMI, there are a few essential requirements that must be met:

1. BIMI Record demands that your domain is DMARC-authenticated at a policy level of enforcement (‘reject’ or ‘quarantine’)

2. You must create and upload an SVG file for your logo as per the BIMI SVG to a server.

3. You need to access your domain’s DNS to publish a new BIMI DNS record.

Sounds complicated? PowerDMARC makes the deployment process simpler for you. With us you no longer have to ponder over complexities in configuring the protocol, instead you can focus on using it to your and your brand’s benefit.

3 Step BIMI Implementation with PowerDMARC

When you sign up for DMARC deployment with PowerDMARC, you’re also getting BIMI implementation on the house. With PowerBIMI implementation of your part is reduced to three basic steps:

  • Shift to a DMARC policy of enforcement (p=reject/quarantine)
  • Upload your BIMI-compliant SVG logo image
  • Generate your BIMI record with our free BIMI record generator.

And voila! You’re done configuring BIMI in the click of a button. In the present situation, Verizon Media Group (Yahoo, AOL etc) support the display of logos if you meet the requirements, and even leading industry players like Gmail are in their pilot program.

Make BIMI a part of your organization’s email security suite today with PowerDMARC, and take your brand recall to the next level. Sign up for free BIMI trial now. SEO Consultancy

With the ongoing surge in phishing attacks, email and domain spoofing attacks, BEC, and other fraudulent activities by cybercriminals, an extra layer of security and email protection is always a good idea! Recipients of emails are growing more and more suspicious of the messages landing in their inboxes due to the rise in cyber attacks. The solution? A well-rounded email security suite that includes BIMI implementation.

A recent survey conducted by security professionals in the US disclosed that 60% of US citizens claim to have fallen prey to a cyber scam or know of someone who has been affected by the same, in their close circle, post-pandemic. Therefore, in order to provide their emails with an additional layer of protection, businesses need to implement a new standard like Brand Indicators for Message Identification (BIMI), as it promises to take consumer confidence to the next level.

What is BIMI?

BIMI stands for Brand Indicators for Message Identification, which is a newly formed standard of email authentication that affixes your brand’s logo to all emails authorized by you. This may feel like a very small step, but visual verification can in fact increase your brand’s credibility by allowing receivers to recognize and trust the emails you send out from your business email domain.

You might be wondering, if you already have DMARC implemented in your organization, that makes use of SPF and DKIM authentication standards, do you even need BIMI? Let us discuss in brief how each of these standards functions to authenticate inbound emails:

  • SPF authenticates your emails to identify the mail servers that are allowed to send emails from your email domain, enlisted in the SPF record.
  • DKIM authenticates emails by adding a digital signature to them, allowing the receiver to check whether an email claiming to be coming from a specific domain was indeed authorized by the owner of that domain.
  • DMARC specifies to inbox providers how to respond to emails that fail SPF and DKIM email authentication.
  •  BIMI affixes your brand’s logo to the emails you send out to your employees, partners, and customers so that they can promptly identify that it is from an authorized source.

Therefore it is quite evident from the discussion above that among all the email authentication protocols, BIMI is the only standard that provides a scope for visual identification, offering email receivers a visual clue to identify the email source and recognize its authenticity.

PowerDMARC Logo Mobile

BIMI Implementation- A Brief Guide

While BIMI is an emerging and still evolving authentication standard, it is still relatively new. As of yet, only Yahoo! Mail has officially adopted the technology. Due to this reason, BIMI does not guarantee the display of your brand logo as it works with only supported email clients. There are a few essential steps to follow, prior to BIMI implementation, which are:

  • In order to implement BIMI at your organization, your domain requires to be DMARC- authenticated at a policy level of enforcement, i.e. either reject or quarantine.
  • You must create and upload an SVG file of your brand’s logo as per the BIMI requirements to a server so that it is accessible from anywhere.
  • You have to create a BIMI record, which, similar to a DMARC record is essentially a string that consists of multiple tags, separated by semicolons.
  • You need to have access to your domain’s DNS to publish this new BIMI record.
  • It is a rather useful practice to check the validity of your BIMI record after it is published in your DNS.

How can BIMI implementation prove to be advantageous for your business?

BIMI is an email authentication protocol that exercises visual identification to help email receivers recognize and trust your brand in the inbox. This trust prevents customers and partners from unsubscribing your services and keeps spam complaints at bay as well, which can subsequently lead to a  boost in email deliverability.

Without BIMI, a generic placeholder logo with brand initials is displayed by email clients. Due to this reason, the recipient might have a hard time recognizing your brand without resorting to the brand name. However, with BIMI implemented, the brand logo is displayed next to your email message, boosting brand awareness.

In addition to that, it is an extra layer of email security against domain spoofing attacks, phishing attacks, and other attempts at impersonation as receivers would be more wary about cybercriminals posing to be you.

Furthermore, BIMI allows you to market your brand. Yes, you heard me right! Sometimes recipients do not have a lot of time in hand, and your subject line might not be compelling enough to click on at the moment. Regardless of that, your recipients will connect your sender address, subject line, and preheader text with your logo, helping further build your brand.

Lastly, BIMI implementation also has a very positive impact on your email deliverability rate! For mailbox providers who do support BIMI, it will add another layer of email authentication to your messages, thereby increasing the chance of them delivering your email more promptly. In addition to that, your email receivers can visually identify and recognize your brand, through the displayed logo, decreasing the chances of them marking it as spam.

Ease up Your BIMI Implementation Process with PowerBIMI

With PowerBIMI we make BIMI record publishing very speedy and simple for you! All you have to do is simply upload your SVG image, we will host it securely and provide you with a DNS record instantly, so that you can publish it in your DNS. We take off from your shoulder the pain of hosting the image and securing it.

With PowerBIMI you can update, delete or do any changes to your image, at any time, without the need for updating your DNS records again. PowerBIMI provides you with a very speedy and easy one-click implementation procedure to upload your logo and shift to BIMI authentication successfully, adding it as a part of your email security suite after signing up for free BIMI record.