岗位

在你的域名上有多条DMARC记录是完全不允许的,原因就在这里!我们知道,实施像DMARC这样的电子邮件认证协议对一个组织的声誉和数据安全至关重要,为了做到这一点,域名所有者需要在他们的DNS中发布一条TXT记录。但是,在社区中经常再次出现的一个问题是:" 我的域名上可以有多个DMARC记录吗?"答案是不能。同一域名上的多个DMARC记录会使你的记录无效,因此为你的域名设置的DMARC认证策略无法发挥作用。

DMARC记录是如何被MTA处理的?

在你的域名的DNS中发布的DMARC记录看起来是这样的。

TXT mydomain.com v=DMARC1; p=reject; rua=mailto:[email protected]

因此,当一个为其配置了DMARC的域名发送电子邮件时,接收电子邮件的MTA会获取所有以v=DMARC1开头的TXT记录。MTA查询发送域的DNS,可能会遇到以下情况。

  1. 它在源域的DNS中找到一条有效的DMARC记录,并根据DMARC政策规范处理该邮件。
  2. 它没有发现发送域的DMARC记录,并且DMARC处理自动停止,电子邮件在没有验证来源的情况下被送达。
  3. 它发现在同一个域上有多条DMARC记录,在这种情况下,DMARC处理也被中断,所应用的策略也不能被执行。

多个DMARC记录。如何解决这个问题?

当你为你的域名配置DMARC并设置一个策略时,你希望MTA以符合你意图的方式来回应你的邮件。这就是DMARC能够保护你的域名免受冒充和欺骗的方式。为了帮助配置的协议有效运作,我们建议采取以下步骤。

  • 确保你没有为你的域名发布多个DMARC记录
  • 确保你的DMARC记录不包含语法错误
  • 与其手动生成你的DMARC记录,不如使用可靠的工具,如我们的免费DMARC记录生成器来为你完成工作。
  • 为你的域名启用DMARC报告,不时监测你的邮件流和认证结果,这样你就可以跟踪交付问题并对恶意发送源采取行动
  • 确保你保持在SPF10查询限制之下,以避免出现错误的结果。

你可以采取几个步骤为你的域名正确实施DMARC,并避免多个DMARC记录,而另一个选择是简单地注册我们的DMARC分析器

PowerDMARC在后台处理大部分复杂的问题,使你的电子邮件验证过程自动化,并帮助你减少任何可能导致电子邮件交付能力问题的配置错误。

电子邮件认证是电子邮件提供商工作的一个重要方面。电子邮件认证也被称为SPF和DKIM,检查电子邮件提供商的身份。DMARC增加了验证电子邮件的过程,通过检查电子邮件是否从合法的域名发送,并向接收服务器指定如何回应未能通过认证检查的邮件。今天我们将讨论各种情况,以回答你关于DMARC失败的疑问。

DMARC是你的电子邮件认证政策中的一项关键活动,有助于防止伪造的 "欺骗 "电子邮件通过交易性垃圾邮件过滤器。但是,它只是整个反垃圾邮件计划的一个支柱,并非所有的DMARC报告都是一样的。有些报告会告诉你邮件接收者对每封邮件采取的确切行动,而其他报告只告诉你某封邮件是否成功。了解一封邮件失败的原因与了解它是否失败同样重要。下面的文章解释了邮件未能通过DMARC认证检查的原因。这些是最常见的原因(其中一些可以很容易地解决),这些原因可能导致邮件无法通过DMARC认证检查。

邮件可能无法通过DMARC的常见原因

识别DMARC失败的原因可能很复杂。然而,我将介绍一些典型的原因,以及导致这些原因的因素,这样,作为域名所有者的你就可以更及时地纠正这个问题。

DMARC对准失败

DMARC利用域名对齐来验证你的电子邮件。这意味着DMARC通过与隐藏的Return-path头(用于SPF)和DKIM签名头(用于DKIM)中提到的域进行匹配,来验证发件人地址(在可见的头中)中提到的域是否是真实的。如果两者匹配,则电子邮件通过DMARC,否则DMARC失败。

因此,如果你的邮件不能通过DMARC,这可能是一个域名错位的案例。也就是说,SPF和DKIM的标识符都没有对准,邮件看起来是从一个未经授权的来源发出的。然而,这只是DMARC失败的原因之一。

DMARC对准模式 

你的协议排列模式在你的信息通过或不通过DMARC方面也起着巨大的作用。你可以为SPF认证选择以下排列模式。

  • 放松:这表示如果Return-path头中的域和From头中的域只是简单的组织匹配,即使这样,SPF也会通过。
  • 严格的。这表示只有当Return-path头中的域和From头中的域完全匹配时,SPF才会通过。

你可以为DKIM认证选择以下排列模式。

  • 放松:这表示如果DKIM签名中的域和发件人头中的域只是简单的组织匹配,即使这样DKIM也会通过。
  • 严格的。这表示只有当DKIM签名中的域和发件人中的域完全匹配时,才会通过DKIM。

请注意,要使电子邮件通过DMARC认证,SPF或DKIM都需要对齐。  

没有设置你的DKIM签名 

一个很常见的情况是,你的DMARC可能会失败,因为你没有为你的域名指定一个DKIM签名。在这种情况下,你的邮件交换服务商会给你的出站邮件分配一个默认的DKIM签名,而这个签名并不与你的发件人标题中的域名一致。接收的MTA无法对准这两个域,因此,你的邮件的DKIM和DMARC失败了(如果你的邮件同时对准了SPF和DKIM)。

未在您的DNS中添加发送源 

值得注意的是,当你为你的域名设置DMARC时,接收的MTA会执行DNS查询来授权你的发送源。这意味着,除非你在域名的DNS中列出所有授权的发送源,否则对于那些没有列出的发送源,你的邮件将无法通过DMARC,因为接收方无法在你的DNS中找到它们。因此,为了确保你的合法邮件总是被送达,请确保在你的DNS中列出所有授权的第三方电子邮件供应商,他们被授权代表你的域名发送邮件。

在电子邮件转发的情况下

电子邮件转发过程中,电子邮件在最终被送到接收服务器之前会经过一个中间服务器。在邮件转发过程中,由于中间服务器的IP地址与发送服务器的IP地址不一致,所以SPF检查失败,而这个新的IP地址通常不包括在原服务器的SPF记录中。相反,转发邮件通常不会影响DKIM邮件认证,除非中介服务器或转发实体对邮件内容进行了某些改动。

我们知道,在电子邮件转发过程中,SPF不可避免地会失效,如果发送源是DKIM中立的,而仅仅依靠SPF进行验证,那么在DMARC认证过程中,转发的电子邮件将被视为非法的。为了解决这个问题,你应该立即在你的组织中选择完全符合DMARC的标准,根据SPF和DKIM来调整和验证所有发出的邮件,因为要通过DMARC验证,邮件需要通过SPF或DKIM验证和调整。

你的域名被欺骗了

如果你为你的域名正确配置了DMARC、SPF和DKIM协议,你的策略处于执行状态,并且有有效的无误记录,而且问题不是上述两种情况,那么你的邮件无法通过DMARC的最可能的原因是你的域名被欺骗或伪造。这是指冒名顶替者和威胁者试图使用一个恶意的IP地址来发送看似来自你的域名的邮件。

最近的电子邮件欺诈统计得出的结论是,电子邮件欺骗案件在最近一段时间呈上升趋势,对你的组织的声誉是一个非常大的威胁。在这种情况下,如果你在拒绝策略上实施了DMARC,它就会失败,被欺骗的邮件就不会被送到收件人的收件箱。因此,域名欺骗可能是大多数情况下DMARC失败的答案。

我们建议你注册我们的免费DMARC分析器,开始你的DMARC报告和监测之旅。

  • 有了无政策,你可以通过DMARC(RUA)汇总报告来监控你的域名,并密切关注你的入站和出站邮件,这将有助于你应对任何不需要的交付问题。
  • 之后,我们会帮助你转向一个强制的政策,最终帮助你获得对域名欺骗和网络钓鱼攻击的免疫力。
  • 在我们的威胁情报引擎的帮助下,你可以记下恶意的IP地址,并直接从PowerDMARC平台上报告,以规避未来的冒名攻击
  • PowerDMARC的DMARC(RUF)取证报告帮助你获得有关你的电子邮件未能通过DMARC的案例的详细信息,以便你能找到问题的根源并加以解决。

防止域名欺骗,用PowerDMARC监控你的邮件流,今天就开始吧!

Posts

Having Multiple DMARC records on your domain is a complete no-no, and here’s why! We know that implementing email authentication protocols like DMARC is essential to an organization’s reputation and data security, and to do that domain owners need to publish a TXT record in their DNS. But a question that often resurfaces again and again in the community is that “ Can I have multiple DMARC records on my domain?” The answer is no. Multiple DMARC records on the same domain can invalidate your record and hence the DMARC authentication policy set for your domain fails to function.

How is a DMARC Record Processed by MTAs?

A DMARC record published in your domain’s DNS looks something like this:

TXT  mydomain.com  v=DMARC1; p=reject; rua=mailto:[email protected]

Therefore, when a domain that has DMARC configured for it sends an email, the email receiving MTA fetches all TXT records that begin with v=DMARC1. The MTA queries the DNS of the sending domain and may come across the following scenarios:

  1. It finds a single valid DMARC record in the DNS of the source domain and processes the email according to the DMARC policy specifications
  2. It finds no DMARC record for the sending domain and DMARC processing automatically ceases, the email is delivered without verifying the source
  3. It finds multiple DMARC records on the same domain and in this case DMARC processing is also discontinued and the applied policy fails to be executed

Multiple DMARC Records: How to Fix It?

When you configure DMARC for your domain and set a policy, you want MTAs to respond to your emails in a way that aligns with your intentions. This is how DMARC can protect your domain against impersonation and spoofing. In order to help the configured protocol function effectively, we recommend the following steps:

  • Make sure you have not published multiple DMARC records for your domain
  • Make sure that your DMARC record does not contain syntax errors
  • Instead of manually generating your DMARC record, use reliable tools like our free DMARC record generator to do the job for you
  • Enable DMARC reports for your domain to monitor your email flow and authentication results from time to time, so that you can track delivery issues and take action against malicious sending sources
  • Make sure you stay under the SPF 10 lookup limit to avoid permerror result

An alternative to the several steps you can take to implement DMARC correctly for your domain and avoid multiple DMARC records would be to simply sign up with our DMARC analyzer.

PowerDMARC handles most of the complexities in the background to automate your email authentication journey and help you mitigate any configuration errors that may cause issues in email deliverability.

Email authentication is a crucial aspect of an email provider’s job. Email authentication also known as SPF and DKIM checks the identity of an email provider. DMARC adds to the process of verifying an email by checking if an email has been sent from a legitimate domain through alignment, and specifying to receiving servers how to respond to messages failing authentication checks. Today we are going to discuss the various scenarios that would answer your query on why is DMARC failing.

DMARC is a key activity in your email authentication policy to help prevent forged “spoofed” emails from passing transactional spam filters. But, it’s just one pillar of an overall anti-spam program and not all DMARC reports are created equal. Some will tell you the exact action mail receivers took on each message, and others will only tell you if a message was successful or not. Understanding why a message failed is as important as knowing whether it did. The following article explains reasons for which messages fail DMARC authentication checks. These are the most common reasons (some of which can be easily fixed) for which messages can fail DMARC authentication checks.

Common Reasons Why Messages Can Fail DMARC

Identifying why is DMARC failing can be complicated. However I will go over some typical reasons, the factors that contribute to them, so that you as the domain owner can work towards rectifying the problem more promptly.

DMARC Alignment Failures

DMARC makes use of domain alignment to authenticate your emails. This means that DMARC verifies whether the domain mentioned in the From address (in the visible header) is authentic by matching it against the domain mentioned in the hidden Return-path header (for SPF) and DKIM signature header (for DKIM). If either matches, the email passes DMARC, or else DMARC fails.

Hence, if your emails are failing DMARC it can be a case of domain misalignment. That is neither SPF nor DKIM identifiers are aligning and the email is appearing to be sent from an unauthorized source. This however is just one of the reasons why is DMARC failing.

DMARC Alignment Mode 

Your protocol alignment mode also plays a huge role in your messages passing or failing DMARC. You can choose from the following alignment modes for SPF authentication:

  • Relaxed: This signifies that if the domain in the Return-path header and the domain in the From header is simply an organizational match, even then SPF will pass.
  • Strict: This signifies that only if the domain in the Return-path header and the domain in the From header is an exact match, only then SPF will pass.

You can choose from the following alignment modes for DKIM authentication:

  • Relaxed: This signifies that if the domain in the DKIM signature  and the domain in the From header is simply an organizational match, even then DKIM will pass.
  • Strict: This signifies that only if the domain in the DKIM signature and the domain in the From header is an exact match, only then DKIM will pass.

Note that for emails to pass DMARC authentication, either SPF or DKIM need to align.  

Not Setting Up Your DKIM Signature 

A very common case in which your DMARC may be failing is that you haven’t specified a DKIM signature for your domain. In such cases, your email exchange service provider assigns a default DKIM signature to your outbound emails that doesn’t align with the domain in your From header. The receiving MTA fails to align the two domains, and hence, DKIM and DMARC fails for your message (if your messages are aligned against both SPF and DKIM).

Not Adding Sending Sources to Your DNS 

It is important to note that when you set up DMARC for your domain, receiving MTAs perform DNS queries to authorize your sending sources. This means that unless you have all your authorized sending sources listed in your domain’s DNS, your emails will fail DMARC for those sources that are not listed, since the receiver would not be able to find them in your DNS. Hence, to ensure that your legitimate emails are always delivered be sure to make entries on all your authorized third party email vendors that are authorized to send emails on behalf of your domain, in your DNS.

In Case of Email Forwarding

During email forwarding the email passes through an intermediary server before it ultimately gets delivered to the receiving server. During email forwarding SPF check fails since the IP address of the intermediary server doesn’t match that of the sending server, and this new IP address is usually not included within the original server’s SPF record. On the contrary, forwarding emails usually don’t impact DKIM email authentication, unless the intermediary server or the forwarding entity makes certain alterations in the content of the message.

As we know that SPF inevitably fails during email forwarding, if in case the sending source is DKIM neutral and solely relies on SPF for validation, the forwarded email will be rendered illegitimate during DMARC authentication. To resolve this issue, you should immediately opt for full DMARC compliance at your organization by aligning and authenticating all outgoing messages against both SPF and DKIM, as for an email to pass DMARC authentication, the email would be required to pass either SPF or DKIM authentication and alignment.

Your Domain is Being Spoofed

If you have your DMARC, SPF and DKIM protocols properly configured for your domain, with your policies at enforcement and valid error-free records, and the problem isn’t either of the above-mentioned cases, then the most probable reason why your emails are failing DMARC is that your domain is being spoofed or forged. This is when impersonators and threat actors try to send emails that appear to be coming from your domain using a malicious IP address.

Recent email fraud statistics have concluded that email spoofing cases are on the rise in recent times and are a very big threat to your organization’s reputation. In such cases if you have DMARC implemented on a reject policy, it will fail and the spoofed email will not be delivered to your recipient’s inbox. Hence domain spoofing can be the answer to why is DMARC failing in most cases.

We recommend that you sign up with our free DMARC Analyzer and start your journey of DMARC reporting and monitoring.

  • With a none policy you can monitor your domain with DMARC (RUA) Aggregate Reports and keep a close eye on your inbound and outbound emails, this will help you respond to any unwanted delivery issues
  • After that we help you shift to an enforced policy that would ultimately aid you in gaining immunity against domain spoofing and phishing attacks
  • You can take down malicious IP addresses and report them directly from the PowerDMARC platform to evade future impersonation attacks, with the help of our Threat Intelligence engine
  • PowerDMARC’s DMARC (RUF) Forensic reports help you gain detailed information about cases where your emails have failed DMARC so that you can get to the root of the problem and fix it

Prevent domain spoofing and monitor your email flow with PowerDMARC, today!