岗位

DMARC(Domain-based Message Authentication Reporting and Conformance)是一个电子邮件认证标准,为域名所有者提供了一种生成关于从一个域名发送到另一个域名的电子邮件的报告的方法。DMARC以DMARC报告的形式提供报告能力,让接收电子邮件的服务器向发送域提供有关传入电子邮件的数据,如合法和欺诈性邮件的数量。这有助于域名所有者以更快的速度对电子邮件交付能力问题和域名欺骗事件作出反应。

DMARC报告有两种主要类型。

在这篇博客中,我们将对这些DMARC报告进行逐一分析,并解释它们为我们提供了什么样的信息。

DMARC汇总报告如何帮助你?

DMARC聚合(RUA)报告帮助你跟踪从你的域名收到的所有电子邮件的交付状态。它们每天以XML格式发送,并提供关于从你的域名发送的电子邮件的状态的几个信息点。DMARC综合报告被发送到你指定的电子邮件地址,为从你的域名发送的电子邮件提供有用的总体分析。当你想了解你的邮件在送达方面的表现,以及哪些IP地址未能通过DMARC认证时,这些报告就会很有用。从这些报告中,你可以轻松地查看。

  • 所有的发送源,从你的域名发送邮件
  • 这些发送源背后的IP地址
  • 这些来源的地理位置
  • 报告组织的名称、联系信息和电子邮件地址
  • 为你的域名配置的DMARC策略
  • SPF和DKIM的验证结果

DMARC综合报告帮助你跟踪政策的实施,并避免任何可能对你的用户产生不利影响的收件箱中断,将你所有的电子邮件活动与你的接收方的认证失败的电子邮件的快照拉在一起。它可以帮助你跟踪DMARC的中断,了解你需要改进的地方。汇总的报告数据可以用来找出谁在欺骗你的域名。你将能够看到哪个发送源在欺骗,以及它背后的IP地址在一次又一次地试图冒充你的域名,你可以对这些实体采取行动。

DMARC鉴证报告如何帮助你?

任何事件的DMARC取证报告都是对导致网络钓鱼或欺骗攻击的细节的深入研究,包括所有的电子邮件交换和标题。DMARC使用术语 "通行证 "来描述已被正常接收的电子邮件。如果你的公司发送的电子邮件,根据DMARC政策不被认为是 "通过",你的服务器将产生一个取证报告。对DMARC失败报告的分析可以提供对邮件可送达性的取证见解,以及它在电子邮件服务器的垃圾邮件/垃圾文件夹中是如何被感知的。

虽然与DMARC汇总报告相比,取证报告并没有被邮箱提供商广泛实施,然而,它们可以被证明是一种有用的方式,可以获得关于电子邮件如何以及为什么会失败的DMARC的详细信息。它们还可以帮助解决各种发件人的电子邮件交付问题,为域名所有者提供最细化的分析,精确地说明有多少邮件在到达收件箱之前就被阻止了,以及为什么。

PowerDMARC的RUA和RUF报告机制有何不同?

PowerDMARC使DMARC报告对你来说更容易。汇总报告是以XML格式生成的,可能相当难以阅读。我们为您简化了这些报告,将其转换为图表,以便于理解。此外,PowerDMARC平台上的DMARC报告有7种不同的查看格式,可以帮助你按照发送源、组织、主机名、地理位置等进行报告分类。

如上所述,DMARC取证报告可能非常详细,并可能包含电子邮件内容。这就是为什么我们帮助你用只有你能访问的私钥对它们进行加密。

今天就注册PowerDMARC,配置你的DMARC分析器,并从今天开始利用DMARC报告的各种优势轻松了解你的DMARC报告。

是否需要DMARC?

如果你经营的组织每天都使用大量的电子邮件流,那么你有可能已经遇到了 "DMARC "一词。那么,什么是DMARC?基于域的信息验证、报告和一致性是你在接收方的电子邮件检查点,帮助你验证你的外发电子邮件,以及对这些电子邮件的合法性有疑问的情况作出反应。DMARC提供了几个优势,在当今世界,远程工作环境被采用,电子通信已成为企业最常用的互动方式,它尤其有用。让我们列出5个重要的原因,为什么在今天的背景下需要DMARC。

1) DMARC有助于缓解冒名顶替的攻击

自从2021年2月COVID-19疫苗的消息在全球范围内爆发后,网络攻击者就趁机利用真实的公司域名创建伪造的电子邮件,向员工和客户提供疫苗诱饵。一些用户,特别是老年公民成为诱饵的受害者,并最终损失了金钱。这解释了为什么现在比以往任何时候都更需要DMARC。

一种新形式的BEC(商业电子邮件破坏)最近在互联网上大行其道,它利用微软365的阅读收据中的漏洞,操纵认证协议来逃避垃圾邮件过滤器和安全网关。像这样复杂的社会工程攻击可以轻易地绕过强大的安全措施,欺骗毫无戒心的客户提交他们的凭证。

DMARC最大限度地减少了BEC和域名欺骗攻击的机会,并帮助确保你的电子邮件免受欺诈和冒充。这是因为DMARC的工作方式与你基于云的电子邮件交换服务中的普通集成安全网关不同,它为域名所有者提供了一种方式,以决定他们希望接收服务器如何回应未能通过SPF/DKIM电子邮件认证协议的电子邮件。

2) DMARC提高了电子邮件的送达率

当你的电子邮件域名被欺骗时,与你的品牌互动多年的接收者是最不会怀疑来自你的欺诈活动的人。因此,他们很容易打开被欺骗的电子邮件,成为这些攻击的牺牲品。然而,当他们下次收到你的电子邮件时,即使信息是真实的,而且是来自授权的来源,他们也会不愿意打开你的电子邮件。这将极大地影响你的电子邮件交付能力,以及你公司的电子邮件营销战略和议程。

然而,随着时间的推移,DMARC可以将电子邮件的送达率提高近10%!DMARC要求你通过选择哪些邮件被传递到收件人的收件箱,来保持对你的域名的完全控制。这使非法的电子邮件受到限制,并确保合法的电子邮件总是毫不拖延地被送达。

3) DMARC汇总报告帮助你获得可见性

DMARC汇总报告可以帮助你查看你的认证结果,并以更快的速度减少电子邮件交付的错误。它可以帮助你深入了解代表你的域名发送电子邮件的发送源和IP地址,以及认证失败的情况。这也有助于你追踪恶意的IP地址,解释为什么需要DMARC。

PowerDMARC的DMARC汇总报告在平台上有7种不同的视图,可以帮助您获得一个未经过滤的视角,了解您的电子邮件发送源和主机名,这是前所未有的此外,我们还为您提供了将DMARC报告即时转换为PDF文件的选项,您可以与您的整个团队分享,也可以创建一个时间表,定期将报告通过电子邮件发送给您。

4) DMARC鉴证报告帮助你应对鉴证事件

DMARC取证报告在取证事件被触发时就会产生,例如当出站邮件无法通过SPF或DKIM认证时。这样的事件可能在域名欺骗攻击的情况下被触发,当电子邮件域名被冒名顶替者使用恶意的IP地址伪造,向毫无戒心的接收者发送欺诈性的信息,而这些信息似乎来自于他们知道并可以信任的真实来源。取证报告提供了对可能试图欺骗你的恶意来源的详细分析,这样你就可以对他们采取行动,防止未来的事件。

请注意,取证报告是非常详细的,可能包含你的邮件正文。然而,你可以在查看DMARC取证报告时避免披露你的邮件内容,方法是用PowerDMARC的私人密钥加密你的报告,只有你能访问。

5) DMARC有助于提高你的域名声誉

作为域名所有者,一个好的域名信誉就像你帽子上的羽毛。一个好的域名信誉向接收电子邮件的服务器表明,你的电子邮件是合法的,而且来源可靠,因此不太可能被标记为垃圾邮件或落入垃圾文件夹。DMARC通过验证你的信息来源来帮助你提高你的域名声誉,并表明你的域名通过实施标准的电子邮件认证做法(如SPF和DKIM)来扩展对安全协议的支持。

由此可见,为什么需要DMARC,并且可以证明它对你的业务是有益的!因此,下一步是:

如何为你的域名配置DMARC?

PowerDMARC的DMARC分析器可以帮助你通过4个简单的步骤实现DMARC。

  • 在你的域名的DNS中发布你的SPF、DKIM和DMARC记录
  • 注册PowerDMARC,以获得你的DMARC汇总和取证报告,并监控你的电子邮件流。
  • 从监测政策转向DMARC执行,以获得对BEC和欺骗的最大保护
  • 用PowerSPF保持在SPF10的查询限制之下

今天就注册获得免费的DMARC分析器,今天就可以利用DMARC的多种好处了!

Posts

DMARC (Domain-based Message Authentication Reporting and Conformance) is an email authentication standard that provides domain owners with a way for generating reports about emails sent from one domain to another. DMARC provides reporting capability, in the form of DMARC reports, which lets receiving email servers provide back data to the sending domain about incoming emails, such as the volume of both legitimate and fraudulent messages. This helps domain owners respond to email deliverability issues and domain spoofing incidents at a faster pace.

DMARC reports are of two primary types:

In this blog we would be breaking down each of these DMARC reports and explaining what kind of information they provide us.

How Do DMARC Aggregate Reports Help You?

DMARC aggregate (RUA) reports help you keep track of the delivery status of all emails received from your domain. They’re sent in XML format daily and offer several points of information regarding the status of emails sent from your domain. DMARC aggregate reports are sent to your designated email address, providing a useful general analysis of emails sent from your domain. They come in handy when you want to see how well your emails are performing in terms of deliverability and which IP address(es) are failing DMARC authentication. From these Reports, you can easily view:

  • All the sending sources, sending emails from your domain
  • The IP addresses behind these sending sources
  • The geolocations of these sources
  • The reporting organization’s name, contact information, and email address
  • The DMARC policy configured for your domain
  • The SPF and DKIM verification results

DMARC aggregate reports help you track policy in effect, and avoid any inbox disruptions that could adversely affect your subscribers, pulling all of your email activity together with a snapshot of emails failing authentication on your receiver’s side. It helps you track DMARC breaks and understand where you need to improve. Aggregate report data can be used to find out who has been spoofing your domain. You will be able to see which sending source is spoofing and the IP address behind it is trying to impersonate your domain over and over again and you can take action against these entities.

How Do DMARC Forensic Reports Help You?

A DMARC forensic report of any incident is an in-depth look at the details that led up to a phishing or spoofing attack, including all email exchanges and headers. DMARC uses the term “pass” to describe an email that has been received as normal. If your company sends emails and they are not considered “passes” according to the DMARC policy, your server will generate a forensic report. Analysis of a DMARC failure report can provide forensic insights into the deliverability of a message and how it is perceived in an email server’s spam/junk folder.

Although in comparison to DMARC Aggregate Reports, forensic reports are not as widely implemented by mailbox providers, however, they can prove to be a useful way to get detailed information about how and why emails fail DMARC. They can also help with troubleshooting various senders’ email delivery issues providing domain owners with the most granular analysis, detailing precisely how many emails were stopped before they reached the inbox, and why.

How are PowerDMARC’s RUA and RUF Reporting Mechanisms Different?

PowerDMARC makes DMARC reporting easier for you. Aggregate reports are generated in XML format that can be quite difficult to read. We simplify them for you, by converting them into charts and tables for ease of understanding. Furthermore, DMARC reports on the PowerDMARC platform are available in 7 different viewing formats that help you sort out reports by sending sources, organizations, hostnames, geolocations and much more!

As explained above, DMARC forensic reports can be extremely detailed and may contain email content. This is why we help you encrypt them with a private key that only you have access to.

Sign up with PowerDMARC today to configure your DMARC analyzer and take advantage of the various benefits of DMARC reports, starting today! Understand your DMARC reports easily.

Is DMARC Required?

If you run an organization that makes use of a substantial amount of email flow on a daily basis, chances are you have already come across the term “DMARC”. So what is DMARC? Domain-Based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance is your email checkpoint on your receiver’s side that helps you authenticate your outbound emails as well as respond to situations where these emails have questionable legitimacy. DMARC offers several advantages and it is especially useful in today’s world where remote-working environments are being adopted and electronic communication has become the most commonly used method of interaction for businesses. Let’s list down the 5 important reasons why is DMARC required in the context of today:

1) DMARC Helps Mitigate Impersonation Attacks

Ever since the news of the COVID-19 vaccine broke out worldwide in February 2021, cyber attackers took advantage of the situation to create forged emails using authentic company domains, offering vaccine lures to employees and customers. Several users, especially aged citizens fell victim to the lures and ended up losing money. This explains why is DMARC required now more than ever.

A new form of BEC (Business Email Compromise) has recently taken the internet by storm, exploiting loopholes in Microsoft 365’s read receipts and manipulating authentication protocols to evade spam filters and security gateways. Sophisticated social engineering attacks like these can easily bypass robust security measures and trick unsuspecting customers into submitting their credentials.

DMARC minimizes the chances of BEC and domain spoofing attacks and helps secure your emails from fraud and impersonation. This is because DMARC works differently than your ordinary integrated security gateways that come with your cloud-based email exchange services, offering a way for domain owners to decide how they want receiving servers to respond to emails failing SPF/DKIM email authentication protocols.

2) DMARC Improves Email Deliverability

When your email domain gets spoofed, your receivers who have been interacting with your brand  for years are the last people to be suspicious of fraudulent activities from your side. Hence, they readily open the spoofed emails and fall prey to these attacks. However, the next time they receive an email from you, even if the message is authentic and from an authorized source they would be reluctant to open your email. This will drastically impact your email deliverability, as well as your company’s email marketing strategies and agendas.

However, DMARC can improve email deliverability by almost 10% over time! DMARC is required for you to remain in complete control of your domain by choosing which messages get delivered to your recipients’ inboxes. This keeps illegitimate emails at bay and makes sure legitimate emails always get delivered without delay.

3) DMARC Aggregate Reports Help You Gain Visibility

DMARC Aggregate reports can help you view your authentication results and mitigate errors in email delivery at a faster pace. It helps you gain insight on sending sources and IP addresses that are sending emails on behalf of your domain and failing authentication. This helps you track down malicious IP addresses as well, explaining why is DMARC required.

PowerDMARC’s DMARC aggregate reports are available in 7 distinctive views on the platform that helps you gain an unfiltered perspective on your email sending sources and hostnames, like never before! Additionally, we provide you with the option to instantly convert your DMARC reports into PDF documents that you can share with your whole team, as well as create a schedule for them to be emailed to you at regular intervals.

4) DMARC Forensic Reports Help You Respond to Forensic Incidents

DMARC forensic reports are generated whenever a forensic incident is triggered, such as when the outbound email fails SPF or DKIM authentication. Such an incident may be triggered in case of domain spoofing attacks when an email domain is forged by an impersonator using a malicious IP address to send a fraudulent message to an unsuspecting receiver that appears to be coming from an authentic source they know and can trust. Forensic reports provide in-detail analysis of malicious sources that may have attempted to spoof you, so that you can take action against them and prevent future incidents.

Note that forensic reports are highly detailed and may contain your mail body. However, you can avoid disclosing your email contents while viewing your DMARC forensic reports by encrypting your reports with a private key that only you have access to, with PowerDMARC.

5) DMARC Helps Improve Your Domain Reputation

A good domain reputation is like a feather in your cap, as the domain owner. A good domain reputation indicates to receiving email servers that your emails are legitimate and from reliable sources and hence are less likely to be marked as spam or land up in the junk folder. DMARC helps you improve your domain reputation by validating your message sources and indicates that your domain has extended support towards secure protocols by implementing standard email authentication practices like SPF and DKIM.

With this, it is evident why is DMARC required, and can prove to be beneficial for your business! So the next step is :

How to Configure DMARC for Your Domain?

PowerDMARC’s DMARC Analyzer can help you implement DMARC in 4 easy steps:

  • Publish your SPF, DKIM and DMARC record in your domain’s DNS
  • Sign up with PowerDMARC to gain access to your DMARC aggregate and forensic reports and monitor your email flow
  • Shift from a policy of monitoring to DMARC enforcement, to gain maximum protection against BEC and spoofing
  • Stay under the SPF 10 lookup limit with PowerSPF

Sign up today for your free DMARC Analyzer and avail of the multiple benefits of DMARC today!