岗位

在我们讨论 "如何设置DMARC "之前,我们应该退一步理解DMARC的概念,以及它是如何在过去几年中成为信息和电子邮件安全领域最流行的解决方案。企业可以被认为是巨大的电子邮件交换机构,他们的客户群、商业伙伴和雇员之间的电子邮件流量很大。

然而,在运行你的电子邮件营销活动时,很难监控所有从你的域名发送的电子邮件是否合法。每14秒就有一个组织的域名被攻击者欺骗,向信任他们的收件人发送钓鱼邮件。这就是为什么电子邮件认证是对你的安全的一个强制性补充。

为什么在目前的情况下需要DMARC?

联邦调查局2020年互联网犯罪投诉中心(FBI IC3报告2020)报告说,在美国收到了28500份与基于电子邮件的攻击有关的投诉。联邦调查局调查了描述冠状病毒援助、救济和经济安全法案(CARES法案)的电子邮件诈骗攻击,该法案力图在大流行期间为小企业提供援助。这些攻击特别针对失业保险、工资保护计划(PPP)贷款和小企业经济伤害灾难贷款。

你知道吗?

  • 2020年,来自世界各地的75%的组织域名被欺骗,向受害者发送网络钓鱼邮件
  • 其中74%的网络钓鱼活动是成功的
  • 自去年以来,BEC的频率增加了15%。
  • IBM报告称,去年每5家公司中就有一家经历了由恶意邮件引起的数据泄露事件

现在就检查你的域名,看看你对电子邮件欺诈的保护程度如何

如何手动设置DMARC?

为了学习如何设置DMARC,你需要从创建一个DMARC记录开始。虽然听起来很复杂,但这一过程相对来说要简单得多!DMARC是一个DNS TXT(文本)记录,可以在你的DNS中发布,为你的域名配置协议。

DMARC记录示例。

v=DMARC1; p=reject; adkim=s; aspf=s; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; pct=100; fo=0;

注意。 在开始你的电子邮件认证之旅时,你可以将你的DMARC政策(p)保持在无,而不是拒绝,以监测你的电子邮件流,并在转变为严格的政策之前解决问题。

了解如何发布DMARC记录

如何用PowerDMARC轻松地设置DMARC

有了PowerDMARC,你不需要深入了解这些机制来手动创建你的DMARC记录,因为我们的平台会自动完成。你所需要做的就是使用我们免费的DMARC记录生成工具,并填写你所需要的标准。点击 "生成记录",立即创建一个无错误的DMARC记录,发布在你的DNS中。

创建记录后,只需打开你的DNS管理控制台,导航到你想要的域名并粘贴TXT记录。保存修改过程,你就完成了!

如何利用DMARC来防止域名欺骗

请注意,如果你配置DMARC是为了阻止你的域名被欺骗并防止网络钓鱼和BEC攻击,我们建议你在使用我们的DMARC记录生成工具生成DMARC记录时选择以下标准。

将你的DMARC策略设置为p=拒绝

当你通过选择拒绝策略在你的组织中执行DMARC时,这意味着每当从你的域名发送的电子邮件未能通过DMARC认证检查,并且未能通过DMARC,恶意的电子邮件将立即被接收的MTA拒绝,而不是被传递到你的接收者的收件箱。

你想考虑的另一个因素是获得你的电子邮件流的可见性,并监测通过和未通过认证的电子邮件。DMARC报告确保你永远不会错过你的域名上的恶意活动,你可以随时了解情况。要享受电子邮件认证的好处,并以有效保护你的域名的方式来设置DMARC,今天就注册DMARC分析器吧!

了解如何发布一个DMARC记录

在我们着手发布DMARC记录之前,重要的是要了解什么是DMARC记录?DMARC记录只不过是一个DNS TXT记录,可以在你的域名的DNS(域名命名系统)中发布,以便为你的域名配置基于域的消息认证、报告和一致性或DMARC。通过为你的域名配置DMARC,你作为域名所有者现在有能力向接收服务器指定他们应该如何回应从未经授权或非法来源发送的电子邮件。

生成您的DMARC记录的说明

如果你使用我们免费的DMARC记录生成工具,生成你的DMARC DNS记录的过程非常简单。你所需要做的就是填写以下标准。

  • 选择你的DMARC策略模式(如果你刚开始使用电子邮件认证,我们建议你先使用p=none的策略,这样你就可以监控你的电子邮件流。
  • 为你的子域选择DMARC政策模式(我们建议你只激活这个标准,如果你想为你的子域选择不同的政策,否则,默认情况下,它与你的主域采用相同的政策)。
  • 键入您想要的电子邮件地址,您希望您的DMARC RUA(汇总)和RUF(取证)报告被传递到那里
  • 选择你的DKIM对准模式(对于严格对准,电子邮件标题中的DKIM签名必须与来自标题中的域名完全匹配。对于宽松的对齐方式,两个域必须共享相同的组织域)
  • 选择你的SPF对齐方式(对于严格的对齐方式,返回路径头中的域必须与来自头中的域完全匹配。对于宽松的对齐方式,这两个域必须只共享同一个组织域)
  • 选择你的法医选项(这代表你想在哪些情况下收到你的法医报告。

一个典型的无错误的DMARC记录看起来是这样的。

v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=none; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=1。

生成的记录现在要发布在你的域名的DNS中的子域上。_dmarc.YOURDOMAIN.com

如何发布你的DMARC记录? 

为了发布你生成的DMARC记录,你将需要登录到你的DNS控制台,并导航到你想配置DMARC的特定域。

在你的DNS管理控制台中导航到该域后,你将需要指定主机名和资源类型。由于DMARC作为DNS TXT记录存在于你的域中,它的资源类型是 TXT,在这种情况下,要指定的主机名是 。 _dmarc

最后,你需要添加你的DMARC记录的值(你之前生成的记录)。 v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=none; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=1。

保存对整个过程的修改,你就成功地为你的域名配置了DMARC!

我的下一步应该是什么?

在你完成发布你的DMARC记录后,你的下一步应该是专注于保护你的域名免受骗子和冒名顶替者的侵害。这是你在实施安全协议和电子邮件认证服务时的主要议程。简单地发布一个带有p=none策略的DMARC记录并不能提供任何保护,以防止域名欺骗攻击和电子邮件欺诈。为此,你需要转向DMARC的执行。

什么是DMARC的执行?

如果你实施了p=拒绝或p=隔离的DMARC策略模式,你可以实现DMARC的执行。为了最大限度地保护域名欺骗攻击和BEC,我们建议采用拒绝的策略模式。 然而,实现DMARC强制执行的过程并不像将你的策略模式从监控改为强制执行那么简单。为了获得对冒充攻击的免疫力,同时确保你的电子邮件交付能力不受影响,你需要做的是。

  • 注册PowerDMARC,为你的域名启用DMARC报告
  • 每天获得关于电子邮件认证结果的DMARC RUA报告,有一系列的查看选项,便于理解。
  • 每当电子邮件认证失败时,在仪表板上获得取证报告更新
  • 保持在SPF的硬限制之下,以确保你的SPF记录永不失效

有了DMARC汇总和取证报告,对于域名所有者来说,从监控到执行变成了小菜一碟,因为你可以从PowerDMARC平台上直观地监控你的邮件流,跟踪并即时响应可传递性问题。今天就注册获取您的免费DMARC分析器试用版!

作为一个域名所有者,你总是需要注意威胁者发动域名欺骗攻击和网络钓鱼攻击,利用你的域名或品牌名称进行恶意活动。无论你使用哪种电子邮件交换解决方案,保护你的域名不被欺骗和冒充都是当务之急,以确保品牌的可信度并维持你尊敬的客户群的信任。本博客将带你了解为Office 365用户设置DMARC记录的过程。

最近,大多数企业已经转向使用有效和强大的基于云的平台和托管电子邮件交换解决方案,如Office 365。随后,网络犯罪分子也升级了他们的恶意技术,通过避开集成在平台上的安全解决方案来进行电子邮件欺诈。这就是为什么微软在其所有的电子邮件平台上扩大了对DMARC等电子邮件认证协议的支持。但是,你应该知道如何正确实施Office 365的DMARC,以充分利用其优势。

为什么是DMARC?

可能出现的第一个问题是,既然反垃圾邮件解决方案和电子邮件安全网关已经集成到Office 365套件中以阻止虚假电子邮件,为什么还需要DMARC进行认证?这是因为,虽然这些解决方案专门防止发送到你的域名的入站钓鱼邮件,但DMARC认证协议赋予域名所有者权力,向接收的电子邮件服务器指定如何响应从你的域名发送的未通过认证检查的邮件。

DMARC利用两个标准的认证做法,即SPF和DKIM来验证电子邮件的真实性。通过设置强制执行的策略,DMARC可以提供高水平的保护,防止冒充攻击和直接域名欺骗。

在使用Office 365时,你真的需要DMARC吗?

企业中普遍存在一种误解,认为拥有Office 365解决方案可以确保免受垃圾邮件和网络钓鱼攻击的安全。然而,在2020年5月,对几个使用Office 365的中东保险公司进行的一系列网络钓鱼攻击造成了重大的数据损失和空前的安全漏洞。这就是为什么简单地依赖微软的集成安全解决方案,而不实施外部努力来保护你的领域,可能是一个巨大的错误

虽然Office 365的集成安全解决方案可以提供对入站安全威胁和网络钓鱼尝试的保护,但你仍然需要确保从你自己的域名发送的出站信息在落入你的客户和合作伙伴的收件箱之前得到有效验证。这就是DMARC的作用。

利用DMARC确保Office 365免受欺骗和冒充的影响

Office 365套件附带的安全解决方案作为垃圾邮件过滤器,不能保证你的域名不被冒充,这就突出了对DMARC的需求。DMARC作为DNS TXT记录存在于你的域名的DNS中。为了给你的域名配置DMARC,你需要。

第1步为你的域名确定有效的电子邮件来源
第2步。为你的域名设置SPF
第3步:为你的域名设置DKIM
第4步。 在你的域名的DNS中发布一个DMARC TXT记录

你可以使用PowerDMARC的免费DMARC记录生成器,用正确的语法即时生成一条记录,发布在你的DNS中,并为你的域名配置DMARC。然而,请注意,只有拒绝的执行策略才能有效地帮助你缓解冒名攻击和域名滥用。

但是,发布一个DMARC记录就够了吗?答案是否定的。这就把我们带到了最后一个环节,即DMARC报告和监控。

使用微软Office365时需要PowerDMARC的5个原因

微软Office 365为用户提供了大量基于云的服务和解决方案,以及集成的反垃圾邮件过滤器。然而,尽管有各种优势,但从安全角度来看,这些是你在使用它时可能面临的缺点。

  • 没有验证从你的域名发出的外发信息的解决方案
  • 没有关于认证检查失败的电子邮件的报告机制
  • 对你的电子邮件生态系统没有可见性
  • 没有仪表盘来管理和监控你的入站和出站邮件流
  • 没有机制来确保你的SPF记录总是在10个查询限制以下

使用PowerDMARC的DMARC报告和监控

PowerDMARC与Office 365无缝集成,为域名所有者提供先进的认证解决方案,防止复杂的社会工程攻击,如BEC和直接域名欺骗。当你与PowerDMARC签约时,你将签署一个多租户SaaS平台,它不仅集合了所有电子邮件认证的最佳实践(SPF、DKIM、DMARC、MTA-STS、TLS-RPT和BIMI),而且还提供一个广泛和深入的DMARC报告机制,为你的电子邮件生态系统提供完整的可视性。PowerDMARC仪表板上的DMARC报告以两种格式生成。

  • 汇总报告
  • 法证报告

我们通过解决各种行业问题,努力为您提供更好的认证体验。我们确保对您的DMARC取证报告进行加密,并以7种不同的视图显示汇总报告,以增强用户体验和清晰度。PowerDMARC帮助您监控电子邮件流和认证失败,并将来自世界各地的恶意IP地址列入黑名单。我们的DMARC分析工具可以帮助你为你的域名正确配置DMARC,并在短时间内从监控转变为执行!

Posts

Before we get to “how to setup DMARC?” we should take a step back and understand the concept of DMARC and how it has emerged as the most trending solution in the world of information and email security in the past few years. Organizations can be considered as huge email exchanging bodies with major influx in email flow across their client-base, and among  their business partners and employees.

However, while running your email marketing campaigns, it is difficult to monitor whether all the emails being sent from your domain are legitimate. Every 14 seconds, an organizational domain is spoofed by an attacker to send out phishing emails to receivers who trust them. This is why email authentication is a mandatory addition to your security.

Why is DMARC Needed in the Current Situation?

The FBI’s Internet Crime Complaint Center of 2020 (FBI IC3 Report 2020) reported that 28,500 complaints were received in the US pertaining to email-based attacks. The FBI investigated e-mail scam attacks describing the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act), which strived to provide assistance to small businesses during the pandemic. These attacks specifically targeted unemployment insurance, Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans, and Small Business Economic Injury Disaster Loans.

Did You Know?

  • 75% of organizational domains from all around the world were spoofed in 2020 to send phishing emails to victims
  • 74% of those phishing campaigns were successful
  • The frequency of BEC has increased by 15% since last year
  • IBM reported that one in every 5 companies in the last year has experienced data breaches caused by malicious emails

Check your domain right now to see how protected you are against email fraud!

How to Setup DMARC Manually?

In order to learn how to setup DMARC, you need to start by creating a DMARC record. As complicated as it may sound, the process is comparatively much simpler! DMARC is a DNS TXT (text) record that can be published in your DNS to configure the protocol for your domain.

DMARC record example:

v=DMARC1; p=reject; adkim=s; aspf=s; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; pct=100; fo=0;

Note: While beginning your email authentication journey, you can keep your DMARC policy (p) at none instead of reject, to monitor your email flow and resolve issues before shifting to a strict policy.

Learn how to publish DMARC record

How to Setup DMARC Easily with PowerDMARC

With PowerDMARC, you don’t need to understand the mechanisms in depth to manually create your DMARC record, as we do it automatically on our platform. All you need to do is use our free DMARC record generator tool and fill in your desired criteria. Click on Generate Record and instantly create an error-free DMARC record to publish in your DNS:

After creating your record, simply open your DNS management console, navigate to your desired domain and paste the TXT record. Save changes to the process and you are done!

How to Leverage DMARC to Prevent Domain Spoofing

Note that if you are configuring DMARC to stop your domain from being Spoofed and keep phishing and BEC attacks at bay, we recommend you the select the following criterion while generating your DMARC record with our DMARC record generator tool:

Set your DMARC policy to p=reject

When you are opting for DMARC enforcement at your organization by choosing a reject policy, this means that whenever an email sent from your domain fails DMARC authentication checks and fails DMARC, the malicious email would be instantly rejected by the receiving MTA, instead of being delivered to your receiver’s inbox.

Another factor that you would want to consider is gaining visibility on your email flow and monitoring emails passing and failing authentication. DMARC reporting ensures that you never miss a malicious activity on your domain and you stay informed at all times. To enjoy the benefits of email authentication, and setup DMARC in a way that would effectively protect your domain, sign up with DMARC analyzer today!

Learn how to Publish a DMARC record

Before we proceed towards publishing a DMARC record, it is important to understand what is a DMARC record? A DMARC record is nothing but a DNS TXT record that can be published in your domain’s DNS (Domain Naming System) so as to configure Domain-Based Message Authentication, Reporting, and Conformance or DMARC for your domain. By configuring DMARC for your domain you as the domain owner now have the ability to specify to receiving servers how they should respond to emails that are sent from unauthorized or illegitimate sources.

Instructions for Generating Your DMARC Record

The process for generating your DMARC DNS Record is extremely simple if you use our free DMARC record generator tool for this purpose. All you need to do is fill up the following criteria:

  • Choose your DMARC policy mode(if you are just starting out with email authentication, we recommend a policy of p=none for you to begin with so you can monitor your email flow)
  • Choose the DMARC policy mode for your subdomains ( we recommend you to only activate this criteria if you wish to opt for a different policy for your subdomains, else, by default it takes up the same policy as your main domain)
  • Type in your desired email addresses wherein you want your DMARC RUA (aggregate) and RUF (Forensic) reports to be delivered to
  • Choose your DKIM alignment mode (for strict alignment the DKIM signature in the email header has to match exactly with the domain found in the from header. For relaxed alignment the two domains must share the same organizational domain only)
  • Choose your SPF alignment mode (for strict alignment the domain in the Return-path header has to match exactly with the domain found in the from header. For relaxed alignment the two domains must share the same organizational domain only)
  • Choose your forensic options (this represents under which circumstances you want to receive your forensic reports)

A typical error-free DMARC record looks something like this:

v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=none; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=1;

The generated record is now to be published in your domain’s DNS on the subdomain: _dmarc.YOURDOMAIN.com

How to Publish Your DMARC Record? 

In order to publish your generated DMARC record, you will need to log in to your DNS console and navigate to the specific domain for which you want to configure DMARC.

After navigating to the domain in your DNS management console, you will need to specify the hostname and the resource type. Since DMARC exists in your domain as a DNS TXT record, the resource type for it is TXT, and the hostname to be specified in this case is : _dmarc 

Finally, you need to add the value of your DMARC record (the record you generated previously): v=DMARC1; p=none; sp=none; rua=mailto:[email protected]; ruf=mailto:[email protected]; fo=1;

Save changes to the whole process and you have successfully configured DMARC for your domain!

What Should be My Next Steps?

After you are done publishing your DMARC record your next step should be to focus on protecting your domain from scammers and impersonators. That is your main agenda anyway when you are implementing security protocols and email authentication services. Simply publishing a DMARC record with a p=none policy doesn’t offer any protection against domain spoofing attacks and email fraud. For that you need to shift to DMARC enforcement.

What is DMARC Enforcement?

You can achieve DMARC enforcement if you implement a DMARC policy mode of p=reject or p=quarantine. For maximum protection from domain spoofing attacks and BEC, we recommend a policy mode of reject.  However, the process for achieving DMARC enforcement isn’t as simple as changing your policy mode from monitoring to enforcement. To gain immunity from impersonation attacks all while making sure that your email deliverability doesn’t get impacted, what you need to do is:

  • Sign up with PowerDMARC and enable DMARC reporting for your domain
  • Get daily DMARC RUA reports on email authentication results available in an array of viewing options for ease of understanding
  • Get forensic report updates on the dashboard whenever emails fail authentication
  • Stay under the SPF hard limit to ensure your SPF record never gets invalidated

With DMARC aggregate and forensic reports, moving from monitoring to enforcement becomes a cakewalk for domain owners, as you can visually monitor your email flow and track and respond to deliverability issues instantaneously from the PowerDMARC platform. Sign up today for your free DMARC analyzer trial!

As a domain owner you always need to look out for threat actors launching domain spoofing attacks and phishing attacks to use your domain or brand name for carrying out malicious activities. No matter what email exchange solution you use, protecting your domain from spoofing and impersonation is imperative to ensure brand credibility and maintain trust among your esteemed customer-base. This blog will take you through the process of setting up your DMARC record for Office 365 users.

In recent times, a majority of businesses have made a shift towards using effective and robust cloud-based platforms and hosted email exchange solutions such as Office 365. Subsequently, cybercriminals have also upgraded their malicious techniques to conduct email fraud by outmanoeuvring the security solutions that are integrated into the platform. This is why Microsoft has extended support towards email authentication protocols like DMARC across all of its email platforms. But you should know how to correctly implement DMARC for Office 365, in order to fully utilize its benefits.

Why DMARC?

The first question that might arise is that, with anti-spam solutions and email security gateways already integrated into the Office 365 suite to block fake emails, why would you require DMARC for authentication? This is because while these solutions specifically protect against inbound phishing emails sent to your domain, DMARC authentication protocol gives domain owners the power to specify to receiving email servers how to respond to emails sent from your domain that fail authentication checks.

DMARC makes use of two standard authentication practices, namely SPF and DKIM to validate emails for authenticity. With a policy set to enforcement, DMARC can offer a high level of protection against impersonation attacks and direct-domain spoofing.

Do you really need DMARC while using Office 365?

There’s a common misconception among businesses, that having an Office 365 solution ensures safety from spam and phishing attacks. However, in May 2020, a series of phishing attacks on several Middle Eastern insurance firms using Office 365 caused significant data loss and an unprecedented amount of security breach. This is why simply relying on Microsoft’s integrated security solutions and not implementing external efforts for protecting your domain can be a huge mistake!

While Office 365’s integrated security solutions can offer protection against inbound security threats and phishing attempts, you still need to ensure that outbound messages sent from your own domain are authenticated effectively before landing into the inboxes of your customers and partners. This is where DMARC steps in.

Securing Office 365 against Spoofing and Impersonation with DMARC

Security solutions that come with the Office 365 suite act as spam filters that cannot secure your domain from impersonation, highlighting the need for DMARC. DMARC exists as a DNS TXT record in your domain’s DNS. For configuring DMARC for your domain, you need to:

Step 1: Identify valid email sources for your domain
Step 2: Set up SPF for your domain
Step 3: Set up DKIM for your domain
Step 4: Publish a DMARC TXT record in your domain’s DNS

You can use PowerDMARC’s free DMARC record generator to generate a record instantly with the correct syntax to publish in your DNS and configure DMARC for your domain. However, note that only an enforcement policy of reject can effectively help you mitigate impersonation attacks and domain abuse.

But is publishing a DMARC record enough? The answer is no. This takes us to our last and final segment which is DMARC reporting and monitoring.

5 Reasons Why You need PowerDMARC while Using Microsoft Office365

Microsoft Office 365 provides users with a host of cloud-based services and solutions along with integrated anti-spam filters. However despite of the various advantages, these are the drawbacks you might face while using it from a security perspective:

  • No solution for validating outbound messages sent from your domain
  • No reporting mechanism for emails failing authentication checks
  • No visibility into your email ecosystem
  • No dashboard to manage and monitor your inbound and outbound email flow
  • No mechanism to ensure your SPF record is always under 10 lookup limit

DMARC Reporting and Monitoring with PowerDMARC

PowerDMARC seamlessly integrates with Office 365 to empower domain owners with advanced authentication solutions that protects against sophisticated social engineering attacks like BEC and direct-domain spoofing. When you sign up with PowerDMARC you are signing up for a multi-tenant SaaS platform that not only assembles all email authentication best practices (SPF, DKIM, DMARC, MTA-STS, TLS-RPT and BIMI), but also provides an extensive and in-depth dmarc reporting mechanism, that offers complete visibility into your email ecosystem. DMARC reports on the PowerDMARC dashboard are generated in two formats:

  • Aggregate Reports
  • Forensic reports

We have strived to make the authentication experience better for you by solving various industry problems. We ensure encryption of your DMARC forensic reports as well as display aggregate reports in 7 different views for enhanced user-experience and clarity. PowerDMARC helps you monitor email flow and authentication failures, and blacklist malicious IP addresses from all over the world. Our DMARC analyzer tool aids you in configuring DMARC correctly for your domain, and shifting from monitoring to enforcement in no time!