岗位

你知道最近网络犯罪分子用电子邮件钓鱼的策略来引诱受害者吗?是的,没错,这与目前正在席卷全球的新发现的COVID-19 Omicron变种有很大关系。

自从COVID-19全球大流行病席卷全球以来,已经过去了2年,从那时起,企业一直在学习适应这种变化。电子邮件通信,曾经是一个事后的想法,现在已经成为生活的基础。最近的一项调查发现,全球电子邮件用户的数量被评估为在2022年达到43亿。这意味着网络钓鱼战术和电子邮件诈骗的发展,以及商业电子邮件泄露的更大风险。

2022年,网络犯罪分子是如何对用户进行钓鱼的?

在正在进行的全球大流行病中,自从它首次爆发以来,骗子们就没有休息过。他们一直在不断想出新的和进化的策略,以更容易和有效地引诱受害者。这一次,关于新发现的Omicron变种的消息一经传出,它就像野火一样在世界范围内蔓延,骗子们没有浪费时间,把它作为一种网络钓鱼工具。

攻击者冒充政府和公共卫生服务机构(如NHS),发送虚假电子邮件,为受害者提供免费的Omicron PCR测试。这些电子邮件经过精心制作,看起来和感觉都很真实,为受害者提供明显有用的信息,使信息可信,从而使网络钓鱼的引诱更加有效数以千计的Gmail用户和英国公民已经报告了各种这样的尝试性攻击,其频率只会不断上升。

通过点击邮件末尾提到的钓鱼网站链接,用户被转到一个欺骗性的登陆页面。这个页面看起来与一个属于任何知名公共卫生服务组织的原始网站非常相似。在这里,受害者被要求提供个人信息,如他们的姓名、电子邮件地址、手机号码、地址和出生日期,以及测试工具的交付费用。有时,还要求提供敏感信息,这可能使攻击者绕过银行网站的安全网关,剥夺受害者的钱。

2022年预防网络钓鱼:你应该知道这些

需要注意的是,目前没有任何公共卫生服务机构或政府卫生服务机构提供Omicron的PCR测试。因此,任何声称相同的电子邮件都是旨在欺骗你的假电子邮件。

此外,除非你100%确定网站的合法性,否则永远不要在网站上提交可用于对付你的敏感信息。

如何在网络钓鱼方面变得更加积极主动?

随着我们进入2022年,医疗保健部门仍然是被冒充最多的组织之一。CISA推荐DMARC作为一种有效的措施和健康的做法,适用于那些希望采取积极主动的措施应对电子邮件欺诈攻击的组织。为了打破围绕该协议的神话,即它很难实施,你现在可以 生成DMARC记录瞬间生成DMARC记录。

DMARC是一个协议,通过与SPF和/或DKIM保持一致来帮助验证你的电子邮件,使域名所有者有机会阻止钓鱼邮件到达他们的客户和员工。DMARC报告是协议本身的内部技术,它为域名所有者提供了大量有关企图的网络攻击、失败的电子邮件交付和其他与他们的电子邮件有关的问题的信息。这是一个多合一的解决方案,可以解决你所有的电子邮件安全问题。

如果你是一个医疗机构,正在寻找一个可靠的DMARC软件解决方案,以防止骗子冒充你的域名,请创建一个 DMARC记录今天就创建一个DMARC记录!如果你想在不花一分钱的情况下尝试一下,这里是你如何获得 免费的DMARC为您的域名。

营销人员是品牌形象的设计者,因此他们需要了解这5个著名的网络钓鱼术语,它们会对公司的声誉造成严重破坏。 网络钓鱼是一种攻击载体,它涉及到一个网站或电子邮件,看起来好像是来自一个有信誉的组织,但实际上是为了收集敏感信息,如用户名、密码和信用卡详细信息(也称为卡数据)。网络世界中,网络钓鱼攻击很常见。

当你的公司成为网络钓鱼攻击的受害者时,它可能会对品牌名称造成伤害,并干扰你的搜索引擎排名或转换率。对营销人员来说,防范网络钓鱼攻击应该是一个优先事项,因为它们直接反映了你公司的一致性。因此,作为营销人员,当涉及到网络钓鱼诈骗时,我们需要极其谨慎地行事。

网络钓鱼骗局已经存在了很多年。如果你以前没有听说过,不要担心,这不是你的错。有人说,网络骗局诞生于10年前,但网络钓鱼在2004年正式成为一种犯罪。随着网络钓鱼技术的不断发展,遇到新的网络钓鱼邮件很快就会变得混乱,有时很难分辨信息是否合法。通过对这五种常见的网络钓鱼技术保持警惕,你可以更好地保护自己和你的组织。

你需要知道的5个常见的网络钓鱼术语

1) 电子邮件网络钓鱼 

钓鱼邮件通常是从一个模仿合法域名的域名中批量发送的。一个公司可能有电子邮件地址[email protected],但钓鱼公司可能使用[email protected]。其目的是通过假装成与你有业务往来的真实公司,骗取你点击恶意链接或分享敏感信息。 一个假的域名往往涉及到字符替换,比如用'r'和'n'相邻来创造'rn'而不是'm'。

网络钓鱼攻击在不断发展,并且随着时间的推移越来越难以察觉。威胁者正在使用社会工程战术来欺骗域名,并从合法的域名发送欺诈性的电子邮件,以达到恶意的目的。

2) 鱼叉式网络钓鱼 

鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击是一种新的网络攻击形式,它利用虚假信息来获得对安全级别较高的账户的访问。专业攻击者的目标是损害一个受害者,为了实施这一想法,他们研究公司的社会概况以及该公司内员工的姓名和角色。与网络钓鱼不同,鱼叉式网络钓鱼是针对一个组织或个人的目标活动。这些活动是由威胁者精心构建的,其唯一目的是针对特定的人,以获得进入一个组织的机会。

3) 捕鲸

捕鲸是一种针对性很强的技术,可以破坏较高级别的同事的电子邮件。其目的与其他网络钓鱼方法类似,是诱使员工点击一个恶意链接。通过企业网络的最具破坏性的电子邮件攻击之一是捕鲸骗局。这些企图谋取私利的行为利用说服力降低受害者的抵抗力,诱使他们交出公司资金。捕鲸也被称为CEO欺诈,因为攻击者经常冒充公司CEO等独裁者。

4) 商业电子邮件的破坏 

商业电子邮件入侵(BEC)是一种网络犯罪形式,可能会给企业带来极大的损失。这种类型的网络攻击利用电子邮件欺诈来影响组织域参与欺诈活动,从而导致敏感数据的泄露和被盗。BEC的例子可以包括发票诈骗、域名欺骗和其他形式的冒充攻击。每年一个普通的组织可能因BEC诈骗而损失高达7000万美元,了解更多关于2020年BEC攻击的统计数据。在一个典型的攻击中,欺诈者通过发送一系列声称来自高级同事、客户或业务伙伴的欺诈性电子邮件,瞄准组织内的特定员工角色。他们可能会指示收件人进行付款或发布机密数据。

5) 垂钓者钓鱼 

许多公司有成千上万的客户,每天收到数以百计的投诉。通过社交媒体,公司能够摆脱其局限性的束缚,与他们的客户接触。这使公司能够灵活地适应客户的要求。钓鱼者网络钓鱼是指通过社交媒体联系不满的客户,并假装是公司的一部分的行为。钓鱼者网络诈骗是一种简单的伎俩,用于欺骗休闲的社交媒体用户,使其认为公司正在努力补救他们的问题,而实际上,另一端的人正在利用他们。

如何保护您的组织免受网络钓鱼和电子邮件欺诈之害

你的电子邮件服务提供商可能会将集成安全包作为其服务的一部分。然而,这些作为垃圾邮件过滤器,提供保护以防止入站的网络钓鱼企图。然而,当骗子使用你的域名向收件人的收件箱发送电子邮件时,如BEC、捕鲸和上述其他形式的冒充攻击,它们将无法达到目的。这就是为什么你需要立即利用电子邮件认证解决方案,如DMARC,并转变为执行政策。

  • DMARC通过使你的电子邮件与SPF和DKIM认证标准相一致来认证你的电子邮件。
  • 它向接收服务器指定了他们应该如何回应未能通过认证检查的电子邮件。
  • DMARC聚合(RUA)报告为您提供了对电子邮件生态系统和认证结果的增强可见性,并帮助您轻松监控您的域名。
  • DMARC取证(RUF)报告为您提供了DMARC失败结果的深入分析,帮助您更快地应对冒充攻击。

PowerDMARC如何帮助您的品牌?

PowerDMARC不仅仅是您的DMARC服务提供商,它是一个多用户的SaaS平台,提供广泛的认证解决方案和DMARC MSSP项目。我们使每一个组织,从小型企业到跨国企业的电子邮件认证变得简单易行。

  • 我们帮助你在短时间内从p=none转变为p=reject,从而保护你的品牌免受冒充攻击、域名欺骗和网络钓鱼的影响。
  • 我们帮助您轻松配置DMARC报告,并提供6种不同格式的综合图表和RUA报告视图,以方便使用和提高可见度。
  • 我们关心你的隐私,所以你可以用你的私人密钥对你的DMARC RUF报告进行加密。
  • 我们帮助你对你的认证结果生成预定的PDF报告
  • 我们提供像PowerSPF这样的动态SPF扁平化解决方案,使你永远不会超过10个DNS的查询限制。
  • 我们帮助你在SMTP中强制使用TLS加密,用MTA-STS来保护你的域名免受普遍的监控攻击
  • 我们通过BIMI帮助您在收件人的收件箱中使您的品牌在视觉上得到识别

今天就注册PowerDMARC,获得免费的DMARC分析工具试用,并从监控政策转变为执行政策,为您的域名提供最大的保护,防止BEC、网络钓鱼和欺骗攻击。

多年来,电子邮件网络钓鱼已经从游戏玩家发送恶作剧电子邮件发展到成为全世界黑客的一项高利润活动。

事实上,在90年代初至中期,美国在线经历了一些最早的大型电子邮件钓鱼攻击。随机信用卡生成器被用来窃取用户凭证,这使得黑客能够更广泛地进入美国在线的全公司数据库。

由于美国在线升级了他们的安全系统以防止进一步破坏,这些攻击被关闭了。这导致黑客开发了更复杂的攻击,使用了至今仍被广泛使用的冒充战术。

如果我们跳到今天,最近影响白宫和世卫组织的冒名攻击证明,任何实体在某些时候都容易受到电子邮件攻击。

根据Verizon的《2019年数据泄露调查报告》,在2019年经历的数据泄露事件中,约有32%分别包括电子邮件网络钓鱼和社交工程。

考虑到这一点,我们要看看不同类型的网络钓鱼攻击,以及为什么它们今天会对你的企业构成巨大威胁。

让我们开始吧。

1.电子邮件欺骗

电子邮件欺骗攻击是指黑客伪造电子邮件的标题和发件人地址,使其看起来像是来自他们信任的人。这种攻击的目的是哄骗收件人打开邮件,甚至可能点击一个链接或开始与攻击者对话。

这些攻击在很大程度上依赖于社会工程技术,而不是使用传统的黑客方法。

这可能看起来是一种相当不成熟或 "低技术 "的网络攻击方式。但在现实中,他们通过向毫无戒心的员工发送有说服力的电子邮件来引诱人们,非常有效。社会工程利用的不是一个系统的安全基础设施的缺陷,而是人类错误的不可避免性。

看一看。

2019年9月,丰田公司因电子邮件骗局损失了3700万美元

黑客能够欺骗一个电子邮件地址,并说服一名有财务权限的员工更改账户信息进行电子资金转账。

导致公司的巨大损失。

2.商业电子邮件破坏(BEC

根据联邦调查局的2019年互联网犯罪报告,BEC诈骗导致超过170万美元,占2019年经历的网络犯罪损失的一半以上。

BEC是指攻击者获得对商业电子邮件账户的访问权,并被用来冒充该账户的所有者,以对公司及其雇员造成损害。

这是因为BEC是一种非常有利可图的电子邮件攻击形式,它为攻击者带来高额回报,这就是为什么它仍然是一种流行的网络威胁。

科罗拉多州的一个小镇因BEC骗局而损失超过100万美元。

袭击者在当地网站上填写了一份表格,他们要求当地一家建筑公司接收电子付款,而不是接收他们目前在该镇所做工作的通常支票。

一名员工接受了该表格并更新了付款信息,结果向攻击者发送了超过一百万美元。

3.供应商电子邮件破坏(VEC

2019年9月,日经公司。日本最大的媒体机构损失了2900万美元。

日经公司美国办事处的一名员工根据骗子的指示将钱转走,而骗子则冒充管理干部。

VEC攻击是一种危害供应商公司员工的电子邮件骗局。如我们上面的例子。当然,也给企业带来了巨大的经济损失。

DMARC是什么?

世界各地的企业正在增加他们的网络安全预算,以限制我们上面列出的例子。根据IDC的预测,2022年全球安全解决方案的支出将达到1337亿美元

但事情的真相是,像DMARC这样的电子邮件安全解决方案的吸收速度很慢。

DMARC技术于2011年问世,有效地防止了有针对性的BEC攻击,正如我们所知,这对全世界的企业都是一种公认的威胁。

DMARC与SPF和DKIM一起工作,允许你决定对未经认证的电子邮件采取哪些行动,以保护你的域名的完整性。

阅读:什么是DMARC,为什么你的企业今天需要加入?

上述每个案例都有一些共同点......可见性。

这项技术可以减少电子邮件网络钓鱼活动对你的业务的影响。下面是方法。

  • 增加可视性。DMARC技术发送报告,为您提供整个企业的电子邮件活动的详细洞察力。PowerDMARC使用一个强大的威胁情报引擎,帮助产生欺骗性攻击的实时警报。这与完整的报告相结合,使你的企业对用户的历史记录有更大的洞察力。
  • 增加电子邮件的安全性。你将能够跟踪你公司的电子邮件,以发现任何欺骗和网络钓鱼的威胁。我们相信,预防的关键是快速行动的能力,因此,PowerDMARC拥有24/7的安全运营中心。他们有能力立即拉下滥用您的电子邮件的域名,为您的企业提供更高的安全水平。
    全球正处于COVID-19大流行的阵痛之中,但这只是为黑客提供了一个广泛的机会,让他们利用脆弱的安全系统。

最近对白宫和世卫组织的冒名攻击确实突出了更多使用DMARC技术的必要性。

 

鉴于COVID-19的流行和电子邮件钓鱼的增加,我们想为您提供3个月的免费DMARC保护。只需点击下面的按钮,现在就可以开始了👇

Posts

Are you aware of the recent email phishing tactics cybercriminals have been using to lure in victims? Yes, that’s right, it has everything to do with the newly discovered COVID-19 Omicron variant that is sweeping through the world currently.

It has been 2 years since the COVID-19 global pandemic took the world by storm, and since then businesses have been learning to adapt to the change. Email communications, which was once an afterthought, have now become the basis of life. A recent survey found that the number of email users worldwide has been evaluated to have reached 4.3 Billion in 2022. This means evolved phishing tactics and email scams, and greater risks at business email compromise.

How are cybercriminals phishing users in 2022?

Throughout the ongoing global pandemic, ever since it first broke out, scammers haven’t rested. They have been constantly coming up with new and evolved tactics to lure in victims more easily and effectively. This time around, as soon as news broke about the newly found Omicron-variant that has been making its way around the world and spreading like wildfire, scammers wasted no time in using it as a phishing tool.

Attackers are impersonating governmental and public-health services organizations such as the NHS, to send out fake emails offering victims a free Omicron PCR test. These emails are carefully crafted to look and feel genuine, providing victims with apparently useful information that makes the message believable, thereby making the phishing lure more effective! Thousands of Gmail users and UK citizens have reported various such attempted attacks, the frequency of which is only rising.

By clicking on the phishing link mentioned at the end of the email, users are being redirected to a spoofed landing page. This page appears very similar to an original website belonging to any well-known public-health service organization. Herein victims are asked for personal information like their name, email address, mobile number, address, and date of birth along with a test kit delivery charge. On occasions, sensitive information has also been demanded that may allow attackers to bypass security gateways on banking websites to strip victims off of their money.

Preventing Phishing in 2022: Here’s what you should know!

It is important to note that no public-health service or governmental health service organization is currently providing PCR tests for Omicron. Hence any email claiming the same is a fake email aimed at tricking you.

Moreover, never submit sensitive information that can be used against you on a website unless you are 100% sure of its legitimacy.

How to become more proactive regarding phishing?

The Healthcare sector continues to be one the most impersonated organizations as we progress into 2022. The CISA has recommended DMARC as an effective measure and a healthy practice for organizations who want to take proactive initiatives against email fraud attacks. To break the myth surrounding this protocol stating that it’s hard to implement, you can now generate DMARC record instantly with our tool!

DMARC is a protocol that helps authenticate your emails by aligning them with SPF and/or DKIM, giving domain owners the opportunity to block phishing emails from reaching their customers and employees. DMARC reporting is a technique internal to the protocol itself, that provides domain owners with a wealth of information regarding attempted cyber attacks, failed email deliveries, and other issues pertaining to their emails. It is an all-in-one solution that is the answer to all your email security concerns.

If you’re a healthcare organization looking for a reliable DMARC software solution to prevent scammers from impersonating your domain, create a DMARC record today! If you want to try it out without spending a dime, here’s how you get free DMARC for your domains.

Marketers are the designers of brand image, hence they need to be aware of these 5 famous Phishing terms, that can wreak havoc on a company’s reputation.  Phishing is a type of attack vector that involves a website or email that looks as if it is from a reputable organization but is actually created with the intent of gathering sensitive information such as usernames, passwords, and credit card details (also known as Card Data). Phishing attacks are common in the online world.

When your company falls victim to a phishing attack, it can cause brand name harm and interfere with your search engine ranking or conversion rate. It should be a priority for marketers to protect against phishing attacks because they are a direct reflection of your company’s consistencies. Hence, as marketers, we need to proceed with extreme caution when it comes to phishing scams.

Phishing scams have been around for many years. Don’t worry if you didn’t hear about it before, it isn’t your fault. Some say that the cyber scam was born 10 years ago but phishing officially became a crime in 2004. As Phishing techniques continue to evolve, encountering a new phishing email can quickly become confusing, and sometimes it’s hard to tell if the message is legitimate or not. You can better protect yourself and your organization by being alert to these five common phishing techniques.

5 Common Phishing Terms You Need to Know

1) Email Phishing 

Phishing emails are usually sent out in bulk from a domain that mimics a legitimate one. A company might have the email address [email protected], but a phishing company might use [email protected] The goal is to fool you into clicking on a malicious link or sharing sensitive information by pretending to be a real company you do business with.  A fake domain often involves character substitution, like using ‘r’ and ‘n’ next to each other to create ‘rn’ instead of ‘m’.

Phishing attacks are constantly evolving and getting more and more undetectable with time. Threat actors are using social engineering tactics to spoof domains and send fraudulent emails from a legitimate domain, for malicious ends.

2) Spear Phishing 

A spear phishing attack is a new form of cyberattack that uses false information to gain access to accounts that have a higher level of security. Professional attackers have a goal of compromising a single victim, and in order to carry out this idea, they research the company’s social profile and the names and roles of employees within that company. Unlike phishing, Spear phishing is a targeted campaign against one organization or individual. These campaigns are carefully constructed by threat actors with the sole purpose of targeting a specific person(s) to gain access into an organization.

3) Whaling

Whaling is a highly targeted technique that can compromise the emails of higher-level associates. The objective, which is similar to other phishing methods, is to trick employees into clicking on a malicious link. One of the most devastating email attacks to pass through corporate networks is the whaling scam. These attempts at personal gain using powers of persuasion to lower victims’ resistance, tricking them into handing over company funds. Whaling is also known as CEO fraud, as attackers often impersonate people in authoritarian positions such as the CEO of a company.

4) Business Email Compromise 

Business Email Compromise (BEC) is a form of cyber crime which can be extremely costly to businesses. This type of cyber attack uses email fraud to influence organizational domains into partaking in fraudulent activity resulting in the compromise and theft of sensitive data. Examples of BEC can include invoice scams, domain spoofing, and other forms of impersonation attacks. Each year an average organization can lose up to $70 million dollars to BEC scams, learn more about 2020 BEC attack statistics. In a typical attack, fraudsters target specific employee roles within an organization by sending a series of fraudulent emails that claim to be from a senior colleague, customer, or business partner. They may instruct recipients to make payments or release confidential data.

5) Angler Phishing 

Many corporations have thousands of customers and receive hundreds of complaints daily. Through social media, companies are able to escape the confines of their limitations and reach out to their customers. This enables a corporation to be flexible and adjust to the demands of its customers. Angler phishing is the act of reaching out to disgruntled customers over social media and pretending to be part of a company. The angler phishing scam is a simple ploy used to trick casual social media users into thinking that a company is trying to remedy their problems when in reality, the person on the other end is taking advantage of them.

How to Protect Your Organization from Phishing and Email Fraud

Your email service provider may come with integrated security packages as a part of their service. These however act as spam filters that offer protection against inbound phishing attempts. However, when an email is being sent by scammers using your domain name to recipient inboxes, like in the case of BEC, whaling, and other forms of impersonation attacks listed above, they won’t serve the purpose. This is why you need to avail of email authentication solutions like DMARC, immediately and shift to a policy of enforcement.

  • DMARC authenticates your emails by aligning them against SPF and DKIM authentication standards.
  • It specifies to receiving servers how they should respond to emails failing authentication checks.
  • DMARC aggregate (RUA) reports provide you with enhanced visibility into your email ecosystem and authentication results and helps you monitor your domains easily.
  • DMARC forensic (RUF) reports give you an in-depth analysis of your DMARC failure results, helping you respond to impersonation attacks faster.

How Can PowerDMARC Help Your Brand?

PowerDMARC is more than just your DMARC service provider, it is a multi-tenant SaaS platform that provides a wide range of authentication solutions and DMARC MSSP programs. We make email authentication easy and accessible for every organization, from small businesses to multinational enterprises.

  • We help you move from p=none to p=reject in no time, so as to protect your brand from impersonation attacks, domain spoofing, and phishing.
  • We help you easily configure DMARC reporting for your with comprehensive charts and tables and RUA report views in 6 different formats for ease of use and amplified visibility
  • We cared about your privacy, so you can encrypt your DMARC RUF reports with your private key
  • We help you generate scheduled PDF reports on your authentication results
  • We provide dynamic SPF flattening solution like PowerSPF so that you never exceed the 10 DNS lookup limit
  • We help you make TLS encryption mandatory in SMTP, with MTA-STS to protect your domain from pervasive monitoring attacks
  • We help you make your brand visually identifiable in your recipient inboxes with BIMI

Sign up with PowerDMARC today to get your free DMARC analyzer tool trial, and shift from a policy of monitoring to enforcement to provide your domain maximum protection against BEC, phishing, and spoofing attacks.

Email phishing has evolved over the years from gamers sending prank emails to it becoming a highly lucrative activity for hackers across the world.

In fact, in the early to mid-’90s AOL experienced some of the first big email phishing attacks. Random credit card generators were used to steal user credentials which allowed hackers to gain wider access into AOL’s company-wide database.

These attacks were shut down as AOL upgraded their security systems to prevent further damage. This then led hackers to develop more sophisticated attacks using impersonation tactics which are still widely used today.

If we jump forward to today, the impersonation attacks most recently affecting both the White House and the WHO prove that any entity is at some point or another is vulnerable to email attacks.

According to Verizon’s 2019 Data Breach Investigation Report, approximately 32% of data breaches experienced in 2019 included email phishing and social engineering respectively.

With that in mind, we’re going to take a look at the different types of phishing attacks and why they pose a huge threat to your business today.

Let’s get started.

1. Email spoofing

Email spoofing attacks are when a hacker forges an email header and sender address to make it look like the email has come from someone they trust. The purpose of an attack like this is to coax the recipient into opening the mail and possibly even clicking on a link or beginning a dialogue with the attacker

These attacks rely heavily on social engineering techniques as opposed to using traditional hacking methods.

This may seem a rather unsophisticated or ‘low-tech’ approach to a cyberattack. In reality, though, they’re extremely effective at luring people through convincing emails sent to unsuspecting employees. Social engineering takes advantage not of the flaws in a system’s security infrastructure, but in the inevitability of human error.

Take a look:

In September 2019, Toyota lost $37 million to an email scam.

The hackers were able to spoof an email address and convince an employee with financial authority to alter account information for an electronic funds transfer.

Resulting in a massive loss to the company.

2. Business Email Compromise (BEC)

According to the FBI’s 2019 Internet Crime Report, BEC scams resulted in over $1.7 million and accounted for more than half cybercrime losses experienced in 2019.

BEC is when an attacker gains access to a business email account and is used to impersonate the owner of that account for the purposes of causing damage to a company and its employees.

This is because BEC is a very lucrative form of email attack, it produces high returns for attackers and which is why it remains a popular cyber threat.

A town in Colorado lost over $1 million to a BEC scam.

The attacker filled out a form on the local website where they requested a local construction company to receive electronic payments instead of receiving the usual checks for work they were currently doing in the town.

An employee accepted the form and updated the payment information and as a result sent over a million dollars to the attackers.

3. Vendor Email Compromise (VEC)

In September 2019, Nikkei Inc. Japan’s largest media organization lost $29 million.

An employee based in Nikkei’s American office transferred the money on instruction from the scammers who impersonated a Management Executive.

A VEC attack is a type of email scam that compromises employees at a vendor company. Such as our above example. And, of course, resulted in huge financial losses for the business.

What about DMARC?

Businesses the world over are increasing their cybersecurity budgets to limit the examples we’ve listed above. According to IDC global spending on security solutions is forecasted to reach $133.7 billion in 2022.

But the truth of the matter is that the uptake of email security solutions like DMARC is slow.

DMARC technology arrived on the scene in 2011 and is effective in preventing targeted BEC attacks, which as we know are a proven threat to businesses all over the world.

DMARC works with both SPF and DKIM which allows you to determine which actions should be taken against unauthenticated emails to protect the integrity of your domain.

READ: What is DMARC and why your business needs to get on board today?

Each of the above cases had something in common… Visibility.

This technology can reduce the impact email phishing activity can have on your business. Here’s how:

  • Increased visibility. DMARC technology sends reports to provide you with detailed insight into the email activity across your business. PowerDMARC uses a powerful Threat Intelligence engine that helps produce real-time alerts of spoofing attacks. This is coupled with full reporting, allowing your business greater insight into a user’s historical records.
  • Increased email security. You will be able to track your company’s emails for any spoofing and phishing threats. We believe the key to prevention is the ability to act quickly, therefore, PowerDMARC has 24/7 security ops centers in place. They have the ability to pull down domains abusing your email immediately, offering your business an increased level of security.
    The globe is in the throes of the COVID-19 pandemic, but this has only provided a widespread opportunity for hackers to take advantage of vulnerable security systems.

The recent impersonation attacks on both the White House and the WHO really highlight the need for greater use of DMARC technology.

 

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic and the rise in email phishing, we want to offer you 3 months FREE DMARC protection. Simply click the button below to get started right now 👇