岗位

多年来,电子邮件网络钓鱼已经从游戏玩家发送恶作剧电子邮件发展到成为全世界黑客的一项高利润活动。

事实上,在90年代初至中期,美国在线经历了一些最早的大型电子邮件钓鱼攻击。随机信用卡生成器被用来窃取用户凭证,这使得黑客能够更广泛地进入美国在线的全公司数据库。

由于美国在线升级了他们的安全系统以防止进一步破坏,这些攻击被关闭了。这导致黑客开发了更复杂的攻击,使用了至今仍被广泛使用的冒充战术。

如果我们跳到今天,最近影响白宫和世卫组织的冒名攻击证明,任何实体在某些时候都容易受到电子邮件攻击。

根据Verizon的《2019年数据泄露调查报告》,在2019年经历的数据泄露事件中,约有32%分别包括电子邮件网络钓鱼和社交工程。

考虑到这一点,我们要看看不同类型的网络钓鱼攻击,以及为什么它们今天会对你的企业构成巨大威胁。

让我们开始吧。

1.电子邮件欺骗

电子邮件欺骗攻击是指黑客伪造电子邮件的标题和发件人地址,使其看起来像是来自他们信任的人。这种攻击的目的是哄骗收件人打开邮件,甚至可能点击一个链接或开始与攻击者对话。

这些攻击在很大程度上依赖于社会工程技术,而不是使用传统的黑客方法。

这可能看起来是一种相当不成熟或 "低技术 "的网络攻击方式。但在现实中,他们通过向毫无戒心的员工发送有说服力的电子邮件来引诱人们,非常有效。社会工程利用的不是一个系统的安全基础设施的缺陷,而是人类错误的不可避免性。

看一看。

2019年9月,丰田公司因电子邮件骗局损失了3700万美元

黑客能够欺骗一个电子邮件地址,并说服一名有财务权限的员工更改账户信息进行电子资金转账。

导致公司的巨大损失。

2.商业电子邮件破坏(BEC

根据联邦调查局的2019年互联网犯罪报告,BEC诈骗导致超过170万美元,占2019年经历的网络犯罪损失的一半以上。

BEC是指攻击者获得对商业电子邮件账户的访问权,并被用来冒充该账户的所有者,以对公司及其雇员造成损害。

这是因为BEC是一种非常有利可图的电子邮件攻击形式,它为攻击者带来高额回报,这就是为什么它仍然是一种流行的网络威胁。

科罗拉多州的一个小镇因BEC骗局而损失超过100万美元。

袭击者在当地网站上填写了一份表格,他们要求当地一家建筑公司接收电子付款,而不是接收他们目前在该镇所做工作的通常支票。

一名员工接受了该表格并更新了付款信息,结果向攻击者发送了超过一百万美元。

3.供应商电子邮件破坏(VEC

2019年9月,日经公司。日本最大的媒体机构损失了2900万美元。

日经公司美国办事处的一名员工根据骗子的指示将钱转走,而骗子则冒充管理干部。

VEC攻击是一种危害供应商公司员工的电子邮件骗局。如我们上面的例子。当然,也给企业带来了巨大的经济损失。

DMARC是什么?

世界各地的企业正在增加他们的网络安全预算,以限制我们上面列出的例子。根据IDC的预测,2022年全球安全解决方案的支出将达到1337亿美元

但事情的真相是,像DMARC这样的电子邮件安全解决方案的吸收速度很慢。

DMARC技术于2011年问世,有效地防止了有针对性的BEC攻击,正如我们所知,这对全世界的企业都是一种公认的威胁。

DMARC与SPF和DKIM一起工作,允许你决定对未经认证的电子邮件采取哪些行动,以保护你的域名的完整性。

阅读:什么是DMARC,为什么你的企业今天需要加入?

上述每个案例都有一些共同点......可见性。

这项技术可以减少电子邮件网络钓鱼活动对你的业务的影响。下面是方法。

  • 增加可视性。DMARC技术发送报告,为您提供整个企业的电子邮件活动的详细洞察力。PowerDMARC使用一个强大的威胁情报引擎,帮助产生欺骗性攻击的实时警报。这与完整的报告相结合,使你的企业对用户的历史记录有更大的洞察力。
  • 增加电子邮件的安全性。你将能够跟踪你公司的电子邮件,以发现任何欺骗和网络钓鱼的威胁。我们相信,预防的关键是快速行动的能力,因此,PowerDMARC拥有24/7的安全运营中心。他们有能力立即拉下滥用您的电子邮件的域名,为您的企业提供更高的安全水平。
    全球正处于COVID-19大流行的阵痛之中,但这只是为黑客提供了一个广泛的机会,让他们利用脆弱的安全系统。

最近对白宫和世卫组织的冒名攻击确实突出了更多使用DMARC技术的必要性。

 

鉴于COVID-19的流行和电子邮件钓鱼的增加,我们想为您提供3个月的免费DMARC保护。只需点击下面的按钮,现在就可以开始了👇

 

 

当世界各地的组织设立慈善基金来对抗Covid-19时,一场不同的战斗正在互联网的电子渠道中展开。在冠状病毒大流行期间,世界各地数以千计的人已经成为电子邮件欺骗和Covid-19电子邮件诈骗的受害者。看到网络犯罪分子在他们的电子邮件中使用这些组织的真实域名以显示合法,已经变得越来越普遍。

在最近备受瞩目的冠状病毒骗局中,一封据称来自世界卫生组织(WHO)的电子邮件被发送到世界各地,要求向团结响应基金捐款。发件人的地址是 "[email protected]",其中 "who.int "是世界卫生组织的真实域名。这封电子邮件被证实是一个网络钓鱼骗局,但乍一看,所有迹象都表明发件人是真的。毕竟,该域名属于真正的世卫组织。

捐献响应基金

然而,这只是越来越多的网络钓鱼骗局中的一个,这些骗局利用与冠状病毒有关的电子邮件来窃取人们的金钱和敏感信息。但是,如果发件人使用的是真实的域名,我们如何区分合法的电子邮件和虚假的电子邮件?为什么网络犯罪分子能够如此轻易地对如此大的组织采用电子邮件域名欺骗?

而像世卫组织这样的实体如何发现有人利用其域名发起网络钓鱼攻击?

电子邮件是世界上使用最广泛的商业通信工具,但它是一个完全开放的协议。就其本身而言,几乎没有什么可以监控谁发送了什么电子邮件,以及从哪个电子邮件地址发送。当攻击者把自己伪装成一个值得信赖的品牌或公众人物,要求人们把钱和个人信息交给他们时,这就成为一个巨大的问题。事实上,近年来90%以上的公司数据泄露事件都涉及到这种或那种形式的电子邮件钓鱼。而电子邮件域名欺骗是其中的主要原因之一。

为了保证电子邮件的安全,开发了诸如发件人政策框架(SPF)域名密钥识别邮件(DKIM)等协议。SPF将发件人的IP地址与批准的IP地址列表进行交叉检查,而DKIM使用加密的数字签名来保护电子邮件。虽然这些都是单独有效的,但它们都有自己的一套缺陷。DMARC于2012年开发,是一个同时使用SPF和DKIM认证来保护电子邮件的协议,并有一个机制,每当电子邮件未能通过DMARC验证时,就会向域名所有者发送一份报告。

这意味着只要有未经授权的第三方发送的电子邮件,域名所有者就会得到通知。最重要的是,他们可以告诉电子邮件接收者如何处理未经认证的邮件:让它进入收件箱,隔离它,或直接拒绝它。从理论上讲,这应该可以阻止不良邮件充斥人们的收件箱,并减少我们面临的网络钓鱼攻击的数量。那么,为什么它没有呢?

DMARC能否防止域名欺骗和Covid-19电子邮件诈骗?

电子邮件认证要求发件人域名向DNS发布其SPF、DKIM和DMARC记录。根据一项研究,2018年只有44.9%的Alexa前100万个域名发布了有效的SPF记录,而只有5.1%的域名有有效的DMARC记录。而这是尽管没有DMARC认证的域名遭受欺骗的程度是有安全保障的域名的近四倍。整个商业领域缺乏认真的DMARC实施,而且这些年来也没有得到什么改善。甚至像联合国儿童基金会这样的组织也还没有在他们的域名中实施DMARC,而白宫和美国国防部的DMARC政策都是p = none,这意味着他们没有被执行。

弗吉尼亚理工大学的专家进行的一项调查揭示了尚未使用DMARC认证的大公司和企业所提到的一些最严重的问题。

  1. 部署困难。严格执行安全协议往往意味着在大型机构中需要高度的协调,而他们往往没有这样的资源。除此之外,许多机构对他们的DNS没有太多的控制,所以发布DMARC记录变得更加具有挑战性。
  2. 利益不超过成本。DMARC认证通常对电子邮件的收件人有直接的好处,而不是对域名所有者。由于缺乏采用新协议的严肃动机,许多公司没有将DMARC纳入其系统。
  3. 破坏现有系统的风险。DMARC的相对新颖性使得它更容易被不当实施,这就带来了合法邮件无法通过的真实风险。依靠电子邮件流通的企业无法承受这种情况的发生,因此根本不屑于采用DMARC。

认识到我们为什么需要DMARC

虽然企业在调查中表达的担忧有明显的道理,但这并不意味着DMARC的实施对电子邮件安全的重要性有所降低。企业在没有DMARC认证域名的情况下继续运作的时间越长,我们所有人就越容易暴露在电子邮件钓鱼攻击的真实危险中。正如冠状病毒邮件欺骗骗局告诉我们的那样,没有人可以避免被攻击或被冒充。把DMARC看作是一种疫苗--随着使用它的人越来越多,感染的几率就会急剧下降。

这个问题有真正的、可行的解决方案,可以克服人们对DMARC采用的担忧。以下是一些可以极大地促进实施的方案。

  1. 减少实施中的摩擦。阻碍公司采用DMARC的最大障碍是与之相关的部署成本。经济不景气,资源匮乏。这就是为什么PowerDMARC与我们的行业伙伴全球网络联盟(GCA)一起自豪地宣布在Covid-19大流行期间的限时优惠--3个月的全套应用、DMARC实施和反欺骗服务,完全免费。在几分钟内设置好你的DMARC解决方案,现在就开始使用PowerDMARC监控你的电子邮件。
  2. 提高感知的有用性。为了使DMARC对电子邮件安全产生重大影响,它需要有足够数量的用户来发布他们的SPF、DKIM和DMARC记录。通过奖励DMARC认证的域名的 "信任 "或 "验证 "图标(就像在网站中推广HTTPS一样),可以激励域名所有者为他们的域名获得一个积极的声誉。一旦达到一定的门槛,受DMARC保护的域名将比未受保护的域名更受青睐。
  3. 简化部署。通过使部署和配置反欺骗协议变得更容易,更多的领域将同意DMARC认证。一种方法是允许协议在 "监控模式 "下运行,允许电子邮件管理员在全面部署之前评估它对其系统的影响。

每一项新的发明都会带来新的挑战。每一个新的挑战都迫使我们找到一个新的方法来克服它。DMARC已经存在了一些年头了,然而网络钓鱼存在的时间要长得多。在最近几周,Covid-19的流行只是给了它一个新的面孔。在PowerDMARC,我们将帮助您迎战这一新的挑战。请在此注册您的免费DMARC分析器,这样,当您呆在家里不受冠状病毒影响时,您的域名也不会受到电子邮件欺骗。

Posts

Email phishing has evolved over the years from gamers sending prank emails to it becoming a highly lucrative activity for hackers across the world.

In fact, in the early to mid-’90s AOL experienced some of the first big email phishing attacks. Random credit card generators were used to steal user credentials which allowed hackers to gain wider access into AOL’s company-wide database.

These attacks were shut down as AOL upgraded their security systems to prevent further damage. This then led hackers to develop more sophisticated attacks using impersonation tactics which are still widely used today.

If we jump forward to today, the impersonation attacks most recently affecting both the White House and the WHO prove that any entity is at some point or another is vulnerable to email attacks.

According to Verizon’s 2019 Data Breach Investigation Report, approximately 32% of data breaches experienced in 2019 included email phishing and social engineering respectively.

With that in mind, we’re going to take a look at the different types of phishing attacks and why they pose a huge threat to your business today.

Let’s get started.

1. Email spoofing

Email spoofing attacks are when a hacker forges an email header and sender address to make it look like the email has come from someone they trust. The purpose of an attack like this is to coax the recipient into opening the mail and possibly even clicking on a link or beginning a dialogue with the attacker

These attacks rely heavily on social engineering techniques as opposed to using traditional hacking methods.

This may seem a rather unsophisticated or ‘low-tech’ approach to a cyberattack. In reality, though, they’re extremely effective at luring people through convincing emails sent to unsuspecting employees. Social engineering takes advantage not of the flaws in a system’s security infrastructure, but in the inevitability of human error.

Take a look:

In September 2019, Toyota lost $37 million to an email scam.

The hackers were able to spoof an email address and convince an employee with financial authority to alter account information for an electronic funds transfer.

Resulting in a massive loss to the company.

2. Business Email Compromise (BEC)

According to the FBI’s 2019 Internet Crime Report, BEC scams resulted in over $1.7 million and accounted for more than half cybercrime losses experienced in 2019.

BEC is when an attacker gains access to a business email account and is used to impersonate the owner of that account for the purposes of causing damage to a company and its employees.

This is because BEC is a very lucrative form of email attack, it produces high returns for attackers and which is why it remains a popular cyber threat.

A town in Colorado lost over $1 million to a BEC scam.

The attacker filled out a form on the local website where they requested a local construction company to receive electronic payments instead of receiving the usual checks for work they were currently doing in the town.

An employee accepted the form and updated the payment information and as a result sent over a million dollars to the attackers.

3. Vendor Email Compromise (VEC)

In September 2019, Nikkei Inc. Japan’s largest media organization lost $29 million.

An employee based in Nikkei’s American office transferred the money on instruction from the scammers who impersonated a Management Executive.

A VEC attack is a type of email scam that compromises employees at a vendor company. Such as our above example. And, of course, resulted in huge financial losses for the business.

What about DMARC?

Businesses the world over are increasing their cybersecurity budgets to limit the examples we’ve listed above. According to IDC global spending on security solutions is forecasted to reach $133.7 billion in 2022.

But the truth of the matter is that the uptake of email security solutions like DMARC is slow.

DMARC technology arrived on the scene in 2011 and is effective in preventing targeted BEC attacks, which as we know are a proven threat to businesses all over the world.

DMARC works with both SPF and DKIM which allows you to determine which actions should be taken against unauthenticated emails to protect the integrity of your domain.

READ: What is DMARC and why your business needs to get on board today?

Each of the above cases had something in common… Visibility.

This technology can reduce the impact email phishing activity can have on your business. Here’s how:

  • Increased visibility. DMARC technology sends reports to provide you with detailed insight into the email activity across your business. PowerDMARC uses a powerful Threat Intelligence engine that helps produce real-time alerts of spoofing attacks. This is coupled with full reporting, allowing your business greater insight into a user’s historical records.
  • Increased email security. You will be able to track your company’s emails for any spoofing and phishing threats. We believe the key to prevention is the ability to act quickly, therefore, PowerDMARC has 24/7 security ops centers in place. They have the ability to pull down domains abusing your email immediately, offering your business an increased level of security.
    The globe is in the throes of the COVID-19 pandemic, but this has only provided a widespread opportunity for hackers to take advantage of vulnerable security systems.

The recent impersonation attacks on both the White House and the WHO really highlight the need for greater use of DMARC technology.

 

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic and the rise in email phishing, we want to offer you 3 months FREE DMARC protection. Simply click the button below to get started right now 👇

 

 

As organisations set up charity funds around the world to fight Covid-19, a different sort of battle is being waged in the electronic conduits of the internet. Thousands of people around the world have fallen prey to email spoofing and covid-19 email scams during the coronavirus pandemic. It’s become increasingly common to see cybercriminals use real domain names of these organisations in their emails to appear legitimate.

In the most recent high-profile coronavirus scam, an email supposedly from the World Health Organization (WHO) was sent around the world, requesting donations to the Solidarity Response Fund. The sender’s address was ‘[email protected]’, where ‘who.int’ is the real domain name for WHO. The email was confirmed to be a phishing scam, but at first glance, all signs pointed to the sender being genuine. After all, the domain belonged to the real WHO. Read more.

donate response fund

However, this has only been one in a growing series of phishing scams that use emails related to coronavirus to steal money and sensitive information from people. But if the sender is using a real domain name, how can we distinguish a legitimate email from a fake one? Why are cybercriminals so easily able to employ email domain spoofing on such a large organisation?

And how do entities like WHO find out when someone is using their domain to launch a phishing attack?

Email is the most widely used business communication tool in the world, yet it’s a completely open protocol. On its own, there’s very little to monitor who sends what emails and from which email address. This becomes a huge problem when attackers disguise themselves as a trusted brand or public figure, asking people to give them their money and personal information. In fact, over 90% of all company data breaches in recent years have involved email phishing in one form or the other. And email domain spoofing is one of the leading causes of it.

In an effort to secure email, protocols like Sender Policy Framework (SPF) and Domain Keys Identified Mail (DKIM) were developed. SPF cross-checks the sender’s IP address with an approved list of IP addresses, and DKIM uses an encrypted digital signature to protect emails. While these are both individually effective, they have their own set of flaws. DMARC, which was developed in 2012, is a protocol that uses both SPF and DKIM authentication to secure email, and has a mechanism that sends the domain owner a report whenever an email fails DMARC validation.

This means the domain owner is notified whenever an email sent by an unauthorised third party. And crucially, they can tell the email receiver how to handle unauthenticated mail: let it go to inbox, quarantine it, or reject it outright. In theory, this should stop bad email from flooding people’s inboxes and reduce the number of phishing attacks we face. So why doesn’t it?

Can DMARC Prevent Domain Spoofing and Covid-19 Email Scams?

Email authentication requires sender domains to publish their SPF, DKIM and DMARC records to DNS. According to a study, only 44.9% of Alexa top 1 million domains had a valid SPF record published in 2018, and as little as 5.1% had a valid DMARC record. And this is despite the fact that domains without DMARC authentication suffer from spoofing nearly four times as much as domains that are secured. There’s a lack of serious DMARC implementation across the business landscape, and it’s not gotten much better over the years. Even organisations like UNICEF have yet to implement DMARC with their domains, and the White House and US Department of Defense both have a DMARC policy of p = none, which means they’re not being enforced.

A survey conducted by experts at Virginia Tech has brought to light some of the most serious concerns cited by major companies and businesses that have yet to use DMARC authentication:

  1. Deployment Difficulties: The strict enforcement of security protocols often means a high level of coordination in large institutions, which they often don’t have the resources for. Beyond that, many organisations don’t have much control over their DNS, so publishing DMARC records becomes even more challenging.
  2. Benefits Not Outweighing the Costs: DMARC authentication typically has direct benefits to the recipient of the email rather than the domain owner. The lack of serious motivation to adopt the new protocol has kept many companies from incorporating DMARC into their systems.
  3. Risk of Breaking the Existing System: The relative newness of DMARC makes it more prone to improper implementation, which brings up the very real risk of legitimate emails not going through. Businesses that rely on email circulation can’t afford to have that happening, and so don’t bother adopting DMARC at all.

Recognising Why We Need DMARC

While the concerns expressed by businesses in the survey have obvious merit, it doesn’t make DMARC implementation any less imperative to email security. The longer businesses continue to function without a DMARC-authenticated domain, the more all of us expose ourselves to the very real danger of email phishing attacks. As the coronavirus email spoofing scams have taught us, no one is safe from being targeted or impersonated. Think of DMARC as a vaccine — as the number of people using it grows, the chances of catching an infection go down dramatically.

There are real, viable solutions to this problem that might overcome people’s concerns over DMARC adoption. Here are just a few that could boost implementation by a large margin:

  1. Reducing Friction in Implementation: The biggest hurdle standing in the way of a company adopting DMARC are the deployment costs associated with it. The economy is in the doldrums and resources are scarce. This is why PowerDMARC along with our industrial partners Global Cyber Alliance (GCA) are proud to announce a limited-time offer during the Covid-19 pandemic — 3 months of our full suite of apps, DMARC implementation and anti-spoofing services, completely free. Get your DMARC solution set up in minutes and start monitoring your emails using PowerDMARC now.
  2. Improving Perceived Usefulness: For DMARC to have a major impact on email security, it needs a critical mass of users to publish their SPF, DKIM and DMARC records. By rewarding DMARC-authenticated domains with a ’Trusted’ or ‘Verified’ icon (like with the promotion of HTTPS among websites), domain owners can be incentivised to get a positive reputation for their domain. Once this reaches a certain threshold, domains protected by DMARC will be viewed more favourably than ones that aren’t.
  3. Streamlined Deployment: By making it easier to deploy and configure anti-spoofing protocols, more domains will be agreeable to DMARC authentication. One way this could be done is by allowing the protocol to run in a ’Monitoring mode’, allowing email administrators to assess the impact it has on their systems before going for a full deployment.

Every new invention brings with it new challenges. Every new challenge forces us to find a new way to overcome it. DMARC has been around for some years now, yet phishing has existed for far longer. In recent weeks, the Covid-19 pandemic has only given it a new face. At PowerDMARC, we’re here to help you meet this new challenge head-on. Sign up here for your free DMARC analyzer, so that while you stay home safe from coronavirus, your domain is safe from email spoofing.