岗位

新西兰的前200家公司和政府部门正面临着严重的DMARC合规性问题,使他们在全球范围内排名第36位。

近年来,世界上许多主要国家已经开始认识到电子邮件安全的重要性,以防止网络钓鱼攻击。在这种网络安全实践快速变化的环境下,新西兰在对全球安全趋势的认识和反应水平上一直落后于同行。

我们对公共和私人部门的332个组织领域进行了研究。在我们调查的领域中,有:

  • 德勤200强名单(2019年
  • 新西兰的顶级能源公司
  • 顶级电信公司
  • 新西兰注册银行
  • 新西兰政府(不包括皇家实体)。

通过研究他们的公共DNS记录和收集他们的SPF和DMARC状态的数据,我们能够收集到关于新西兰主要机构对欺骗行为的保护程度的数据。你可以下载我们的研究,了解这些数字背后的细节。

  • 只有37个域名,或11%,在隔离或拒绝级别上执行了DMARC,这是阻止域名欺骗的必要条件。
  • 不到30%的政府领域在任何级别上都正确实施了DMARC。
  • 观察到的14%的组织有无效的SPF记录,4%的组织有无效的DMARC记录--其中许多组织的记录有错误,有些组织甚至为同一个域名有多个SPF和DMARC记录。

我们的完整研究包含了对新西兰公司在有效实施DMARC时面临的最大障碍的深入探讨。

 

位于特拉华州的电子邮件安全供应商PowerDMARC已经与澳大利亚的一家主要信息安全公司携手合作。PowerDMARC与CyberSecOn的合作预计将提高澳大利亚和新西兰的DMARC合规率,此举有望使电子邮件安全意识成为主流。

"这是一个巨大的机会,"PowerDMARC的联合创始人Faisal Al Farsi说,"不仅仅是对CyberSecOn和我们来说,对整个DMARC来说也是如此。我们真的希望看到越来越多的公司采取反对电子邮件网络钓鱼的立场,而DMARC是他们能够做到这一点的方法。CyberSecOn和我们一样对此充满热情,我们迫不及待地想看到未来的发展。"

CyberSecOn总部位于澳大利亚墨尔本,一直在为企业和政府部门的大公司提供安全解决方案。作为全球网络联盟的积极成员,两家公司在网络安全领域一直在推动其共同使命,即保护企业和用户数据不被滥用。这种伙伴关系是他们努力缩小地理差距的最新成果,以便世界各地的公司能够更自由地分享和合作。

"CyberSecOn主任Shankar Arjunan说:"我们想把这看作是网络安全书中的新一页。"这是一个机会,让我们写一些我们可以共同自豪的东西。我们对他们的加入感到无比兴奋,我们希望这种合作关系对他们和对我们一样有效。"

Posts

New Zealand’s top 200 companies and government departments are facing serious DMARC compliance issues, putting them at 36th spot worldwide.

In recent years, many major countries around the world have begun to recognize the importance of email security to prevent phishing attacks. In this climate of rapid change in cybersecurity practices, New Zealand has been lagging behind its peers in its levels of awareness and response to global security trends.

We conducted a study of 332 domains of organizations both in the public and private sectors. Among the domains we surveyed were:

  • Deloitte Top 200 List (2019)
  • New Zealand’s top energy companies
  • Top telecom companies
  • NZ registered banks
  • The New Zealand Government (excluding Crown entities).

By studying their public DNS records and gathering data on their SPF and DMARC statuses, we were able to gather data on how well-protected major New Zealand organizations are against spoofing. You can download our study to find out the details behind these numbers:

  • Only 37 domains, or 11%, had enforced DMARC at a level of quarantine or reject, which is required to stop domain spoofing.
  • Less than 30% of Government domains had implemented DMARC correctly at any level.
  • 14% of organizations observed had invalid SPF records and 4% had invalid DMARC records — many of them had errors in their records, and some even had multiple SPF and DMARC records for the same domain.

Our full study contains an in-depth exploration of the biggest hurdles New Zealand companies face in effectively implementing DMARC.

 

PowerDMARC, the Delaware-based email security provider, has joined hands with one of Australia’s premier information security companies. In a move that’s expected to bring awareness about email security into the mainstream, PowerDMARC’s partnership with CyberSecOn is projected to boost DMARC compliance rates in Australia and New Zealand.

“This is a huge opportunity,” said Faisal Al Farsi, Co-Founder of PowerDMARC, “not just for CyberSecOn and us, but for DMARC as a whole. We really want to see more and more companies take a stand against email phishing, and DMARC is how they can do it. CyberSecOn are as enthusiastic as we are about this, and we can’t wait to see what the future holds for us.”

CyberSecOn are headquartered in Melbourne, Australia, and have been providing security solutions to major names in both the enterprise and government sector. As active members of the Global Cyber Alliance, both companies have been pushing boundaries in the field of cybersecurity in their mutual mission to protect corporate and user data from being misused. This partnership is the latest in their endeavors to bridge the geographic gap so companies around the world can share and collaborate more freely.

“We’d like to think of this as a new page in the book of cybersecurity,” said Shankar Arjunan, Director of CyberSecOn. “This is a chance for us to write something we can all collectively be proud of. We’re incredibly excited to have them join us, and we hope this partnership is as effective for them as it is for us.”