岗位

企业和初创公司通常喜欢将他们的业务和营销电子邮件外包。这涉及到第三方服务,这些服务处理从列表管理到跟踪事件,再到送达率监控的一切。但是,这些第三方服务也增加了风险,因为它们为恶意行为者提供了机会,使其能够通过域名欺骗和对毫无戒心的接收者进行网络钓鱼攻击来冒充品牌。

据报道,在互联网上流传的所有垃圾邮件中,约有三分之一含有与商业有关的内容。如果企业和组织未能实施适当的保障措施,就会成为这些信息的受害者,而使用第三方供应商发送电子邮件信息可能是一个重要的促成因素。

整合 与所有第三方的DMARC政策,可以帮助你防止渗透到你的域名中的欺骗、网络钓鱼和恶意软件攻击。

为什么调整你的电子邮件发送源很重要?

电子邮件对任何企业的成功都至关重要,因为它使企业能够与他们的客户和潜在客户保持联系。它被广泛用作沟通和市场研究的主要手段,而且随着时间的推移,其重要性只会增加。无论你使用什么电子邮件供应商来发送你的电子邮件,一定要检查他们是否支持代表你发送符合DMARC标准的电子邮件。 

DMARC是一个电子邮件安全协议,有助于防止网络钓鱼攻击、域名欺骗和BEC。但要真正有效,公司需要与所有第三方密切合作,以便所有电子邮件都符合DMARC标准。

让你的第三方供应商符合DMARC标准

为了建立一个有效的DMARC政策,你应该联系你的第三方供应商,让他们与你一起研究处理验证失败的电子邮件的最佳方法。事实证明,解释DMARC的优势,回答关于它如何工作的问题,以及推荐有助于他们全面实施DMARC的解决方案,都是有益的。

每个第三方都是不同的,都有自己的SPF和DKIM设置过程,你需要对此进行规划。为了确定最佳策略,你需要了解每个合作伙伴如何发送电子邮件营销活动,此外还需要了解他们的技术跟踪能力、报告功能和整合能力。虽然这个过程可能看起来很麻烦,很乏味,但有几个简单的方法可以从你这边加速。

  • 你可以为你的每个电子邮件供应商设置一个自定义子域,并让他们为该域处理SPF和DKIM认证。在这种情况下,电子邮件供应商使用他们的邮件服务器来发送你的电子邮件。供应商在你的子域的DNS中公布了他们的SPF和DKIM记录。如果你不为这个委托的子域配置一个单独的DMARC策略,你的主域的DMARC策略就会自动征用在你的子域上。
  • 另外,第三方供应商可以使用你的邮件服务器,同时从你的域名向你的客户发送电子邮件。这在默认情况下,如果你为你的域名制定了DMARC政策,发出的电子邮件将自动符合DMARC标准。请确保你更新你的SPF和DKIM记录,以包括上述第三方,确保他们被列为授权的发送源。 

为你的第三方供应商设置SPF、DKIM和DMARC记录

  • 确保你正在更新你现有的SPF记录,以包括这些电子邮件发送源。例如,如果你使用MailChimp作为电子邮件供应商,代表你的组织发送营销电子邮件,你需要更新你现有的SPF记录,或者创建一个新的记录(如果你没有的话),将MailChimp作为一个授权发件人。这可以通过添加一个include: 机制或供应商在发送邮件时使用的特定IP地址来完成。
  • 接下来,你将需要要求你的供应商为你的自定义域名生成一个DKIM密钥对。他们会在发送邮件时使用私钥对你的邮件进行签名,而公钥则需要由你在面向公众的DNS上公布。在验证过程中,你的收件人会将私钥与你DNS中的公钥进行匹配。

你可以阅读我们的 电子邮件认证知识库文章,以获得关于如何为你可能使用的各种第三方供应商设置DMARC、SPF和DKIM的简单易行、循序渐进的说明。

在PowerDMARC,我们提供DMARC部署和监测的解决方案,以帮助你确保最大限度地遵守DMARC。我们提供可扩展的DMARC监控解决方案,具有市场上最深入的功能,帮助你管理你的发送行为,与你的供应商的发送行为相协调。 

凭借我们的资源和专业知识,我们可以在DMARC合规性方面进行猜测,同时提供分析报告,以确定那些合规和那些不合规。注册获取您的免费 DMARC试用今天就注册

Posts

Enterprises and startups alike often prefer outsourcing their business and marketing emails. This involves third-party services which handle everything from list management to tracking events through to deliverability monitoring. But these third-party services also increase risk by opening up opportunities for malicious actors to impersonate brands via domain spoofing and deploying phishing attacks on unsuspecting receivers.

It has been reported that around one-third of all spam messages circulating on the internet contain business-related content. Businesses and organizations can fall victim to these messages if they fail to implement the appropriate safeguards, and the use of third-party vendors for sending email messages may be a significant contributing factor.

Integrating DMARC policies with all your third parties can help you prevent spoofing, phishing, and malware attacks that infiltrate your domain.

Why is it important to align your email sending sources?

Email is critical to the success of any business because it enables businesses to stay in contact with their customers and prospects. It is widely used as a primary means of communication and market research, and its importance will only increase as time progresses. Whatever email vendor you use to send your emails, be sure to check whether they support sending DMARC compliant emails on your behalf. 

DMARC is an email security protocol to help prevent phishing attacks, domain spoofing, and BEC. But to be truly effective, a company needs to work closely with all its third parties, so that all emails are DMARC compliant.

Making Your Third-party Vendors DMARC-Compliant

To establish an effective DMARC policy, you should contact your third-party providers to work together with you on the best way to handle email that fails validation. It can prove to be beneficial to explain the advantages of DMARC, answer questions about how it works, and recommend solutions that will help them to fully implement DMARC.

Each third party is different, with its own SPF and DKIM setup process that you’ll need to plan for. To determine the best strategy, you need to be aware of how each partner sends email marketing campaigns, in addition to their technical tracking abilities, reporting features, and integration capabilities. While the process might seem cumbersome and tedious, there are a few easy ways you can speed things up from your side:

  • You can set up a custom subdomain for each of your email vendors and let them handle SPF and DKIM authentication for that domain. In this case, the email vendor uses their mail server to send your emails. The vendor publishes their SPF and DKIM records in the DNS of your subdomain. If you don’t configure a separate DMARC policy for this consigned subdomain, the DMARC policy for your main domain gets automatically levied on your subdomain.
  • Alternatively, the third-party vendor can use your mail servers while sending emails to your clients from your domain. This by default ensures that if you have a DMARC policy for your domain in place, the outgoing emails would be automatically DMARC-compliant. Make sure you update your SPF and DKIM records to include the said third parties to ensure that they are enlisted as an authorized sending source. 

Setting Up SPF, DKIM, and DMARC records for your third-party vendors

  • Make sure you are updating your existing SPF record to include these email sending sources. For example, if you use MailChimp as an email vendor to send marketing emails on behalf of your organization, you need to update your existing SPF record or create a new record (in case you don’t have one in place) that includes MailChimp as an authorized sender. This can be done by either adding an include: mechanism or specific IP addresses used by the vendor while sending your emails.
  • Next, you would need to request your vendor to generate a DKIM key pair for your custom domain. They would use the private key to sign your emails while sending them, and the public key needs to be published by you on your public-facing DNS. The private key is matched against the public key in your DNS by your receivers, during verification.

You can read our email authentication knowledgebase articles to get easy-to-follow, step-by-step instructions on how to set up DMARC, SPF, and DKIM for various third-party vendors that you might be using. 

At PowerDMARC, we provide solutions for DMARC deployment and monitoring to help you ensure maximum DMARC compliance. We provide scalable DMARC monitoring solutions with the most in-depth capabilities on the market to help you manage your sending practices in coordination with your vendors’ sending practices. 

With our resources and expertise, we can take the guesswork out of DMARC compliance while delivering analytical reports that identify those that are and those that are not compliant. Sign up for your free DMARC trial today!