岗位

电子邮件作为B2B线索生成和客户沟通的一个重要渠道,但它也是网络攻击和电子邮件诈骗最广泛的目标渠道之一。网络犯罪分子一直在创新他们的攻击,以窃取更多的信息和金融资产。随着企业继续以更强大的安全措施进行反击,网络犯罪分子必须不断发展他们的战术,改进他们的网络钓鱼和欺骗技术。

2021年,来自世界各地的安全研究人员发现,基于机器学习(ML)和人工智能(AI)的网络钓鱼攻击的使用急剧增加,这些攻击没有被传统的电子邮件安全解决方案所发现。这些攻击的主要目的是操纵人类行为,诱使人们执行未经授权的行动--比如把钱转到欺诈者的账户。

虽然基于电子邮件的攻击和电子邮件欺诈的威胁总是在不断发展,但不要落后。了解接下来几年在欺诈者战术、工具和恶意软件方面将发生的电子邮件欺诈趋势。通过这篇博文,我将向你展示网络犯罪分子如何发展他们的战术,并解释你的企业如何防止这种电子邮件攻击的发生。

2021年应注意的电子邮件欺诈类型

1.商业电子邮件破坏(BEC

COVID-19迫使各组织实施远程工作环境,并转向员工、合作伙伴和客户之间的虚拟通信。虽然这有一些好处可以列举,但最明显的缺点是在过去一年中BEC惊人的上升。BEC是一个更广泛的术语,用于指电子邮件欺诈攻击,如电子邮件欺骗和网络钓鱼。

常见的想法是,网络攻击者使用你的域名向你的合作伙伴、客户或员工发送电子邮件,试图窃取企业证书,以获取机密资产或启动电汇。在过去一年中,BEC已经影响了70%以上的组织,并导致了价值数十亿美元的公司资产的损失。

2.进化的电子邮件钓鱼攻击

在过去的几年里,电子邮件钓鱼攻击已经发生了巨大的变化,尽管其动机保持不变,它是操纵你信任的合作伙伴、员工和客户点击封装在看似由你发出的电子邮件中的恶意链接的媒介,以启动恶意软件的安装或凭据盗窃。进化的电子邮件诈骗者正在发送难以察觉的钓鱼邮件。从编写无懈可击的主题词和无错误的内容到创建具有高度准确性的假登陆页面,人工追踪他们的活动在2021年已变得越来越困难。

3.中间人"(Man-In-The-Middle)

攻击者发送写得很差的电子邮件的日子已经一去不复返了,即使是外行人也能识别为欺诈行为。现在的威胁者正在利用SMTP的安全问题,如在两个通信的电子邮件服务器之间的电子邮件交易中使用机会主义加密,在成功地将安全连接回滚到未加密的连接之后,窃听对话。像SMTP降级和DNS欺骗这样的MITM攻击在2021年已经越来越流行了。

4.首席执行官的欺诈行为

首席执行官欺诈是指正在进行的针对高级管理人员的计划,以获取机密信息。攻击者通过冒充实际的人,如首席执行官或首席财务官的身份,向组织内较低级别的人、合作伙伴和客户发送信息,诱使他们泄露敏感信息。这种类型的攻击也被称为商业电子邮件破坏或捕鲸。在商业环境中,一些犯罪分子通过冒充组织的决策者,冒险创建一个更可信的电子邮件。这使他们能够要求轻松地进行资金转移或提供有关公司的敏感信息。

5.COVID-19 疫苗诱饵

安全研究人员发现,黑客仍在试图利用与COVID-19大流行病相关的恐惧。最近的研究揭示了网络犯罪分子的心态,揭示了他们对围绕COVID-19大流行病的恐慌状态的持续兴趣,以及针对公司领导人的网络钓鱼和商业电子邮件泄露(BEC)攻击的可衡量的上升。实施这些攻击的媒介是一个假的COVID-19疫苗诱饵,立即引起电子邮件接收者的兴趣。

如何加强电子邮件安全?

  • 用SPF、DKIM和DMARC等电子邮件认证标准配置你的域名
  • 从DMARC监测转向DMARC执行,以获得对BEC、CEO欺诈和演变的网络钓鱼攻击的最大保护
  • 始终如一地监测电子邮件流和认证结果,不定期地进行监测
  • 使用MTA-STS对SMTP进行强制加密,以减轻MITM攻击。
  • 通过SMTP TLS报告(TLS-RPT ),定期获得有关电子邮件交付问题的通知,并详细了解其根本原因。
  • 始终保持在10个DNS查询限制以下,以缓解SPF的错误。
  • 用BIMI帮助你的收件人在他们的收件箱中直观地识别你的品牌

PowerDMARC是您的单一电子邮件认证SaaS平台,它将所有的电子邮件认证协议,如SPF、DKIM、MTA-STS、TLS-RPT和BIMI集合在一块玻璃上。今天就注册,获得免费的DMARC分析器!

加密在SMTP中是可选的,这意味着电子邮件可以以明文形式发送。邮件传输代理-严格传输安全(MTA-STS)是一个相对较新的标准,它使邮件服务提供商能够强制执行传输层安全(TLS)以保证SMTP连接的安全,并指定发送SMTP服务器是否应拒绝向不支持TLS的MX主机发送邮件。它已被证明能够成功地缓解TLS降级攻击和中间人(MITM)攻击。

启用MTA-STS是根本不够的,因为你需要一个有效的报告机制来检测建立加密通道的失败。SMTP TLS报告(TLS-RPT)是一个标准,能够报告发送电子邮件的应用程序所遇到的TLS连接问题,并检测错误的配置。它能够报告当电子邮件没有用TLS加密时发生的电子邮件交付问题。

用PowerMTA-STS轻松实现MTA-STS

实施MTA-STS是一项艰巨的任务,在采用过程中涉及很多复杂的问题。从生成策略文件和记录到维护网络服务器和托管证书,这是一个漫长的过程。PowerDMARC已经为您提供了保障!我们的托管MTA-STS服务提供了以下好处。

  • 只需点击几下就能发布你的DNS CNAME记录
  • 我们负责维护政策网络服务器和托管证书。
  • 你可以通过PowerDMARC仪表板即时、轻松地进行MTA-STS策略更改,而无需手动对DNS进行更改。
  • PowerDMARC的托管MTA-STS服务符合RFC标准并支持最新的TLS标准。
  • 从生成证书和MTA-STS策略文件到策略执行,我们帮助您规避采用该协议所涉及的巨大的复杂性。

为什么电子邮件在传输过程中需要加密?

由于安全问题不得不在SMTP中进行改造,以确保其向后兼容,增加了STARTTLS命令来启动TLS加密,如果客户端不支持TLS,通信就会退回到明文。这样一来,传输中的电子邮件就会成为MITM等普遍监控攻击的牺牲品,网络犯罪分子可以窃听你的信息,并通过替换或删除加密命令(STARTTLS)来改变和篡改信息,使通信回滚为明文。

这就是MTA-STS的用武之地,它使TLS加密成为SMTP的必经之路。这有助于减少MITM、DNS欺骗和降级攻击的威胁。

在为你的域名成功配置MTA-STS后,你需要的是一个有效的报告机制,帮助你以更快的速度检测和应对由于TLS加密问题而导致的电子邮件交付问题。PowerTLS-RPT正是为你做到了这一点!

使用PowerTLS-RPT接收邮件发送问题报告

TLS-RPT完全集成到PowerDMARC安全套件中,因此,只要你注册了PowerDMARC并为你的域名启用SMTP TLS报告,我们就会把包含你的电子邮件交付问题报告的复杂的JSON文件转换为简单、可读的文件,使你可以轻松地浏览和理解!

在PowerDMARC平台上,TLS-RPT汇总报告以两种格式生成,以方便使用,提高洞察力,并增强用户体验。
  • 每个结果的汇总报告
  • 每个发送源的汇总报告

此外,PowerDMARC的平台会自动检测并随后传达你所面临的问题,以便你能及时处理和解决这些问题。

为什么你需要SMTP TLS报告?

如果由于TLS加密的问题而导致电子邮件交付失败,通过TLS-RPT,你将得到通知。TLS-RPT为你的所有电子邮件渠道提供了更强的可见性,使你能更好地了解你的域名中的所有情况,包括未能交付的邮件。此外,它还提供深入的诊断报告,使你能够识别并找到电子邮件交付问题的根源,并毫不拖延地加以解决。

要获得关于MTA-STS和TLS-RPT实施和采用的实践知识,请立即查看我们的详细指南!

使用PowerDMARC为你的域名配置DMARC,并部署电子邮件验证的最佳做法,如SPF、DKIM、BIMI、MTA-STS和TLS-RPT,所有这些都在一个屋檐下。今天就注册一个免费的DMARC试验

1982年,当SMTP首次被指定时,它不包含任何在传输层面提供安全的机制,以保证邮件传输代理之间的通信安全。然而,在1999年,STARTTLS命令被添加到SMTP中,反过来支持服务器之间的电子邮件加密,提供了将非安全连接转换成使用TLS协议加密的安全连接的能力。

然而,在SMTP中,加密是可选的,这意味着即使是明文的电子邮件也可以被发送。 邮件传输代理-严格的传输安全(MTA-STSTLS是一个相对较新的标准,它使邮件服务提供商能够执行传输层安全(TLS),以确保SMTP连接的安全,并指定发送SMTP服务器是否应拒绝向不提供TLS与可靠服务器证书的MX主机发送电子邮件。它已被证明可以成功地缓解TLS降级攻击和中间人(MITM)攻击。 SMTP TLS报告(TLS-RPT)是一个标准,能够报告发送电子邮件的应用程序所遇到的TLS连接问题,并检测错误配置。它能够报告当电子邮件没有用TLS加密时发生的电子邮件交付问题。2018年9月,该标准首次被记录在RFC 8460中。

为什么你的电子邮件需要在传输中加密?

主要目标是提高SMTP通信过程中的传输级安全,确保电子邮件流量的隐私。此外,入站和出站信息的加密增强了信息安全,使用密码学来保护电子信息。 此外,中间人(MITM)和TLS降级等加密攻击在近来越来越流行,并成为网络犯罪分子的常见做法,通过执行TLS加密和扩展对安全协议的支持,可以规避这些攻击。

MITM攻击是如何发起的?

由于加密必须加装到SMTP协议中,所以加密传输的升级必须依靠以明文发送的STARTTLS命令。一个MITM攻击者可以很容易地利用这一特点,通过篡改升级命令对SMTP连接进行降级攻击,迫使客户端退回到以明文发送邮件。

在截获通信后,MITM攻击者可以很容易地窃取解密的信息并访问电子邮件的内容。这是因为SMTP作为邮件传输的行业标准,采用了机会主义的加密方式,这意味着加密是可选的,邮件仍然可以以明文形式传递。

TLS降级攻击是如何发起的?

由于加密必须加装到SMTP协议中,所以加密传输的升级必须依靠以明文发送的STARTTLS命令。一个MITM攻击者可以通过篡改升级命令对SMTP连接进行降级攻击来利用这一特性。攻击者可以简单地将STARTTLS替换成一个客户无法识别的字符串。因此,客户端很容易退回到以明文发送电子邮件。

简而言之,降级攻击通常是作为MITM攻击的一部分而发起的,目的是通过替换或删除STARTTLS命令,将通信回滚为明文,从而创造出一种在通过最新版本的TLS协议加密的连接情况下无法实现的攻击途径。

除了加强信息安全和减轻无孔不入的监控攻击外,在传输过程中对信息进行加密还可以解决多种SMTP安全问题。

用MTA-STS实现对邮件的强制TLS加密

如果你没有通过安全连接来传输你的电子邮件,你的数据可能会受到影响,甚至被网络攻击者修改和篡改。这里就是MTA-STS介入并解决这个问题的地方,通过强制执行TLS加密,使您的电子邮件能够安全传输,并成功地减轻加密攻击,增强信息安全。简单地说,MTA-STS强制要求电子邮件通过TLS加密途径传输,如果不能建立加密连接,电子邮件根本不会被传递,而会以明文方式传递。此外,MTA存储MTA-STS策略文件,使攻击者更难发起DNS欺骗攻击。

 

MTA-STS提供了针对.NET的保护。

  • 降级攻击
  • 中间人(MITM)攻击
  • 它解决了多个SMTP安全问题,包括过期的TLS证书和缺乏对安全协议的支持。

主要的邮件服务提供商,如微软、Oath和谷歌都支持MTA-STS。谷歌作为最大的行业参与者,在采用任何协议时都处于中心位置,谷歌采用MTA-STS表明对安全协议的支持延伸,并强调了电子邮件在传输中加密的重要性。

用TLS-RPT解决邮件发送中的问题

SMTP TLS报告为域名所有者提供诊断报告(JSON文件格式),详细说明已经发送到你的域名并面临交付问题的邮件,或者由于降级攻击或其他问题而无法交付的邮件,以便你能主动解决问题。一旦你启用TLS-RPT,默许的邮件传输代理将开始发送有关通信服务器之间的电子邮件交付问题的诊断报告给指定的电子邮件域。这些报告通常每天发送一次,涵盖并传达发件人观察到的MTA-STS策略、流量统计以及电子邮件交付失败或问题的信息。

部署TLS-RPT的必要性 :

  • 如果电子邮件由于递送中的任何问题而未能发送给你的收件人,你将得到通知。
  • TLS-RPT为你的所有电子邮件渠道提供了更强的可见性,这样你就能更好地了解你的域名中发生的所有事情,包括未能送达的邮件。
  • TLS-RPT提供深入的诊断报告,使你能够识别并找到电子邮件交付问题的根源,并毫不拖延地解决它。

通过PowerDMARC使采用MTA-STS和TLS-RPT变得简单而迅速

MTA-STS需要一个具有有效证书的HTTPS网络服务器,DNS记录,以及持续的维护。PowerDMARC通过完全在后台为您处理所有这些,使您的生活变得更加轻松--从生成证书和MTA-STS策略文件到策略执行,我们帮助您避免了采用该协议所涉及的巨大的复杂性。一旦我们帮助你设置了它,只需点击几下,你甚至不必再考虑这个问题。

在PowerDMARC的电子邮件认证服务的帮助下你可以在你的组织中部署托管MTA-STS,而不需要麻烦,而且速度非常快,在它的帮助下,你可以强制要求电子邮件通过TLS加密的连接发送到你的域,从而使你的连接安全,并保持MITM攻击。

PowerDMARC通过使SMTP TLS报告(TLS-RPT)的实施过程变得简单而迅速,使您的生活更加轻松。只要您注册了PowerDMARC,并为您的域名启用了SMTP TLS报告,我们就会把包含您的电子邮件交付问题报告的复杂的JSON文件转换为简单的,可读的文件(每个结果和每个发送源),您可以轻松地浏览和理解PowerDMARC的平台会自动检测并随后传达您在电子邮件发送中所面临的问题,这样您就可以在短时间内及时处理并解决这些问题!

今天就注册,获得免费的DMARC!

Posts

Email serves as a critical channel for B2B lead generation and customer communications, but it is also one of the most widely targeted channels for cyberattacks and email fraud scams. Cybercriminals are always innovating their attacks in order to steal more information and financial assets. As organizations continue to fight back with stronger security measures, cybercriminals must constantly evolve their tactics and improve their phishing and spoofing techniques.

In 2021, a drastic increase in the use of machine learning (ML) and artificial intelligence (AI) based phishing attacks that are going undetected by traditional email security solutions have been detected by security researchers from around the world. The main aim of these attacks are to manipulate human behaviour and trick people into performing unauthorized actions – like transferring money to fraudsters’ accounts.

While the threat of email-based attacks and email fraud are always evolving, don’t stay behind. Know the email fraud trends that will take place in the following years in terms of fraudster tactics, tools, and malware. Through this blog post I’ll show you how cybercriminals are developing their tactics, and explain how your business can prevent this kind of email attack from taking place.

Types Of Email Fraud Scams to Beware of in 2021

1. Business Email Compromise (BEC)

COVID-19 has compelled organizations to implement remote-working environments and shift to virtual communication between employees, partners, and customers. While this has a few benefits to list down, the most apparent downside is the alarming rise in BEC over the past year. BEC is a broader term used for referring to email fraud attacks like email spoofing and phishing.

The common idea is that a cyber attacker uses your domain name to send emails to your partners, customers, or employees trying to steal corporate credentials to gain access to confidential assets or initiate wire transfers. BEC has affected more than 70% of organizations over the past year and has led to the loss of billions of dollars worth of company assets.

2. Evolved Email Phishing Attacks

Email phishing attacks have drastically evolved in the past few years although the motive has remained the same, it is the medium to manipulate your trusted partners, employees and clients into clicking on malicious links encapsulated within an email that appears to be sent from you, in order to initiate the installation of malware or credential theft. Evolved email scammers are sending phishing emails that are hard to detect. From writing impeccable subject lines and error-free content to creating fake landing pages with a high level of accuracy, manually tracing their activities have become increasingly difficult in 2021.

3. Man-In-The-Middle

Gone are the days when attackers sent out poorly-written emails that even a layman could identify as fraudulent. Threat actors these days are taking advantage of SMTP security problems like the use of opportunistic encryption in email transactions between two communicating email servers, by eavesdropping on the conversation after successfully rolling back the secured connection to an unencrypted one. MITM attacks like SMTP downgrade and DNS spoofing have been increasingly gaining popularity in 2021.

4. CEO Fraud

CEO fraud refers to the schemes that are being conducted that target high-level executives in order to gain access to confidential information. Attackers do this by taking the identities of actual people such as CEOs or CFOs and sending a message to people at lower levels within the organization, partners and clients, tricking them into giving away sensitive information. This type of attack is also called Business Email Compromise or whaling. In a business setting, some criminals are venturing to create a more believable email, by impersonating the decision-makers of an organization. This allows them to ask for easy money transfers or sensitive information about the company.

5. COVID-19 Vaccine Lures

Security researchers have unveiled that hackers are still trying to capitalize on the fears tied to the COVID-19 pandemic. Recent studies shed light on the cybercriminal mindset, revealing a continued interest in the state of panic surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and a measurable uptick in phishing and business email compromise (BEC) attacks targeting company leaders. The medium for perpetrating these attacks is a fake COVID-19 vaccine lure that instantly raises interest among email receivers.

How Can You Enhance Email Security?

  • Configure your domain with email authentication standards like SPF, DKIM and DMARC
  • Shift from DMARC monitoring to DMARC enforcement to gain maximum protection against BEC, CEO fraud and evolved phishing attacks
  • Consistently monitor email flow and authentication results from time to time
  • Make encryption mandatory in SMTP with MTA-STS to mitigate MITM attacks
  • Get regular notifications on email delivery issues with details on their root causes with SMTP TLS reporting (TLS-RPT)
  • Mitigate SPF permerror by staying under the 10 DNS lookup limit at all times
  • Help your recipients visually identify your brand in their inboxes with BIMI

PowerDMARC is your single email authentication SaaS platform that assembles all email authentication protocols like SPF, DKIM, MTA-STS, TLS-RPT and BIMI on a single pane of glass. Sign up today to get your free DMARC analyzer! 

Encryption is optional in SMTP which implies that emails can be sent in plaintext. Mail Transfer Agent-Strict Transport Security (MTA-STS) is a relatively new standard that enables mail service providers to enforce Transport Layer Security (TLS)  to secure SMTP connections, and to specify whether the sending SMTP servers should refuse to deliver emails to MX hosts that do not support TLS. It has been proven to successfully mitigate TLS downgrade attacks and Man-In-The-Middle (MITM) attacks.

Enabling MTA-STS is simply not enough as you require an effective reporting mechanism to detect failures in establishing an encrypted channel. SMTP TLS Reporting (TLS-RPT) is a standard that enables the reporting of issues in TLS connectivity that is experienced by applications that send emails and detect misconfigurations. It enables the reporting of email delivery issues that take place when an email isn’t encrypted with TLS.

Easy MTA-STS Implementation with PowerMTA-STS

Implementing MTA-STS is an arduous task that involves a lot of complexities during adoption. From generating policy files and records to maintaining the web server and hosting certificates, it is a long drawn process. PowerDMARC has got you covered! Our hosted MTA-STS services provide the following benefits:

  • Publish your DNS CNAME records with just a few clicks
  • We take the responsibility of maintaining the policy web server and hosting the certificates
  • You can make MTA-STS policy changes instantly and with ease, through the PowerDMARC dashboard, without having to manually make changes to the DNS
  • PowerDMARC’s hosted MTA-STS services are RFC compliant and support the latest TLS standards
  • From generating certificates and MTA-STS policy files to policy enforcement, we help you evade the tremendous complexities involved in adopting the protocol

Why Do Emails Require Encryption in Transit?

Since security had to be retrofitted in SMTP to make sure it was backward compatible by adding the STARTTLS command to initiate TLS encryption, in case the client doesn’t support TLS the communication falls back to cleartext. This way emails in transit can fall prey to pervasive monitoring attacks like MITM, wherein cybercriminals can eavesdrop on your messages, and alter and tamper with information by replacing or deleting the encryption command (STARTTLS), making the communication roll back to plaintext.

This is where MTA-STS comes to the rescue, making TLS encryption mandatory in SMTP. This helps in reducing the threats of MITM, DNS Spoofing and Downgrade attacks.

After successfully configuring MTA-STS for your domain, what you need is an efficient reporting mechanism that would help you detect and respond to issues in email delivery due to problems in TLS encryption at a faster pace. PowerTLS-RPT does exactly that for you!

Receive Reports on Email Delivery Issues with PowerTLS-RPT

TLS-RPT is fully integrated into the PowerDMARC security suite so that as soon as you sign up with PowerDMARC and enable SMTP TLS Reporting for your domain, we take the pain of converting the complicated JSON files containing your reports of email delivery issues, into simple, readable documents that you can go through and understand with ease!

On the PowerDMARC platform, TLS-RPT aggregate reports are generated in two formats for ease of use, better insight, and enhanced user-experience:
  • Aggregate Reports Per Result
  • Aggregate Reports Per Sending Source

Moreover, PowerDMARC’s platform automatically detects and subsequently conveys the issues you are facing, so that you can promptly address and resolve them in no time.

Why Do You Need SMTP TLS Reporting?

In case of failures in email delivery due to issues in TLS encryption, with TLS-RPT you will get notified. TLS-RPT provides enhanced visibility on all your email channels so that you gain better insight on all that is going on in your domain, including messages that are failing to be delivered. Furthermore, it provides in-depth diagnostic reports that enable you to identify and get to the root of the email delivery issue and fix it without any delay.

For getting hands-on knowledge on MTA-STS and TLS-RPT implementation and adoption, view our detailed guide today!

Configure DMARC for your domain with PowerDMARC, and deploy email authentication best practices like SPF, DKIM, BIMI, MTA-STS and TLS-RPT, all under one roof. Sign up for a free DMARC Trial today!

In 1982, when SMTP was first specified, it did not contain any mechanism for providing security at the transport level to secure communications between the mail transfer agents. However, in 1999, the STARTTLS command was added to SMTP that in turn supported the encryption of emails in between the servers, providing the ability to convert a non-secure connection into a secure one that is encrypted using TLS protocol.

However, encryption is optional in SMTP which implies that emails can be sent even in plaintext. Mail Transfer Agent-Strict Transport Security (MTA-STS) is a relatively new standard that enables mail service providers the ability to enforce Transport Layer Security (TLS)  to secure SMTP connections, and to specify whether the sending SMTP servers should refuse to deliver emails to MX hosts that that does not offer TLS with a reliable server certificate. It has been proven to successfully mitigate TLS downgrade attacks and Man-In-The-Middle (MITM) attacks. SMTP TLS Reporting (TLS-RPT) is a standard that enables the reporting of issues in TLS connectivity that is experienced by applications that send emails and detect misconfigurations. It enables the reporting of email delivery issues that take place when an email isn’t encrypted with TLS. In September 2018 the standard was first documented in RFC 8460.

Why Do Your Emails Require Encryption in Transit?

The primary goal is to improve transport-level security during SMTP communication and ensuring the privacy of email traffic. Moreover, encryption of inbound and outbound messages enhances information security, using cryptography to safeguard electronic information.  Furthermore, cryptographic attacks such as Man-In-The-Middle (MITM)  and TLS Downgrade have been gaining popularity in recent times and have become a common practice among cybercriminals, which can be evaded by enforcing TLS encryption and extending support to secure protocols.

How Is a MITM Attack Launched?

Since encryption had to be retrofitted into SMTP protocol, the upgrade for encrypted delivery has to rely on a STARTTLS command that is sent in cleartext. A MITM attacker can easily exploit this feature by performing a downgrade attack on the SMTP connection by tampering with the upgrade command, forcing the client to fall back to sending the email in plaintext.

After intercepting the communication a MITM attacker can easily steal the decrypted information and access the content of the email. This is because SMTP being the industry standard for mail transfer uses opportunistic encryption, which implies that encryption is optional and emails can still be delivered in cleartext.

How Is a TLS Downgrade Attack Launched?

Since encryption had to be retrofitted into SMTP protocol, the upgrade for encrypted delivery has to rely on a STARTTLS command that is sent in cleartext. A MITM attacker can exploit this feature by performing a downgrade attack on the SMTP connection by tampering with the upgrade command. The attacker can simply replace the STARTTLS with a string that the client fails to identify. Therefore, the client readily falls back to sending the email in plaintext.

In short, a downgrade attack is often launched as a part of a MITM attack, so as to create a pathway for enabling an attack that would not be possible in case of a connection that is encrypted over the latest version of TLS protocol, by replacing or deleting the STARTTLS command and rolling back the communication to cleartext.

Apart from enhancing information security and mitigating pervasive monitoring attacks, encrypting messages in transit also solves multiple SMTP security problems.

Achieving Enforced TLS Encryption of Emails with MTA-STS

If you fail to transport your emails over a secure connection, your data could be compromised or even modified and tampered with by a cyber attacker. Here is where MTA-STS steps in and fixes this issue, enabling safe transit for your emails as well as successfully mitigating cryptographic attacks and enhancing information security by enforcing TLS encryption. Simply put, MTA-STS enforces the emails to be transferred over a TLS encrypted pathway, and in case an encrypted connection cannot be established the email is not delivered at all, instead of being delivered in cleartext. Furthermore, MTAs store MTA-STS policy files, making it more difficult for attackers to launch a DNS spoofing attack.

 

MTA-STS offers protection against :

  • Downgrade attacks
  • Man-In-The-Middle (MITM) attacks
  • It solves multiple SMTP security problems, including expired TLS certificates and lack of support for secure protocols.

Major mail service providers such as Microsoft, Oath, and Google support MTA-STS. Google being the largest industry player, attains centre-stage while adopting any protocol, and the adoption of MTA-STS by google indicates the extension of support towards secure protocols and highlights the importance of email encryption in transit.

Troubleshooting Issues in Email Delivery with TLS-RPT

SMTP TLS Reporting provides domain owners with diagnostic reports (in JSON file format) with elaborate details on emails that have been sent to your domain and are facing delivery issues, or couldn’t be delivered due to a downgrade attack or other issues, so that you can fix the problem proactively. As soon as you enable TLS-RPT, acquiescent Mail Transfer Agents will begin sending diagnostic reports regarding email delivery issues between communicating servers to the designated email domain. The reports are typically sent once a day, covering and conveying the MTA-STS policies observed by senders, traffic statistics as well as information on failure or issues in email delivery.

The need for deploying TLS-RPT :

  • In case an email fails to be sent to your recipient due to any issue in delivery, you will get notified.
  • TLS-RPT provides enhanced visibility on all your email channels so that you gain better insight on all that is going on in your domain, including messages that are failing to be delivered.
  • TLS-RPT provides in-depth diagnostic reports that enable you to identify and get to the root of the email delivery issue and fix it without any delay.

Adopting MTA-STS and TLS-RPT Made Easy and Speedy by PowerDMARC

MTA-STS requires an HTTPS-enabled web server with a valid certificate, DNS records, and constant maintenance. PowerDMARC makes your life a whole lot easier by handling all of that for you, completely in the background- from generating certificates and MTA-STS policy file to policy enforcement, we help you evade the tremendous complexities involved in adopting the protocol. Once we help you set it up with just a few clicks, you never even have to think about it again.

With the help of PowerDMARC’s Email Authentication Services, you can deploy Hosted MTA-STS at your organization without the hassle and at a very speedy pace, with the help of which you can enforce emails to be sent to your domain over a TLS encrypted connection, thereby making your connection secure and keeping MITM attacks at bay.

PowerDMARC makes your life easier by making the process of implementation of SMTP TLS Reporting (TLS-RPT) easy and speedy, at your fingertips! As soon as you sign up with PowerDMARC and enable SMTP TLS Reporting for your domain, we take the pain of converting the complicated JSON files containing your reports of email delivery issues, into simple, readable documents (per result and per sending source), that you can go through and understand with ease! PowerDMARC’s platform automatically detects and subsequently conveys the issues you are facing in email delivery, so that you can promptly address and resolve them in no time!

Sign up to get your free DMARC today!