岗位

将自己置于丢失数据风险中的最简单方法之一是使用电子邮件。不,说真的--因为电子邮件钓鱼骗局而面临数据泄露或被黑客攻击的企业数量是惊人的。那么,为什么我们还在使用电子邮件呢?为什么不使用一种更安全的通信模式,做同样的工作,只是安全性更高?

这很简单:电子邮件是令人难以置信的方便,每个人都在使用它。几乎每一个组织都使用电子邮件进行沟通或营销。电子邮件是商业运作方式不可或缺的。但是,电子邮件的最大缺陷是不可避免的:它需要人类与之互动。当人们打开电子邮件时,他们阅读内容,点击链接,甚至输入个人信息。而且,由于我们没有时间或能力仔细检查每一封邮件,所以有可能其中的一封最终成为网络钓鱼攻击。

攻击者冒充知名的、值得信赖的品牌,向毫无戒心的人发送电子邮件。这被称为域名欺骗。收件人相信这些邮件是真实的,并点击恶意链接或输入他们的登录信息,使自己处于攻击者的摆布之下。只要这些钓鱼邮件继续进入人们的收件箱,电子邮件的使用就不会完全安全。

DMARC是如何使电子邮件安全的?

DMARC(基于域的消息认证、报告和一致性)是一个电子邮件认证协议,旨在打击域名欺骗。它使用两个现有的安全协议--SPF和DKIM--来保护用户不接收欺诈性的电子邮件。当一个组织通过他们的域名发送电子邮件时,接收电子邮件的服务器会检查他们的DNS是否有DMARC记录。然后,服务器根据SPF和DKIM验证该电子邮件。如果电子邮件成功通过验证,它就会被送到目的地的收件箱。

 

 使用Power Toolbox免费查询和生成DMARC、SPF、DKIM等记录!

 

只有授权的发件人才会通过SPF和DKIM进行验证,这意味着如果有人试图欺骗他们的域名,邮件将无法通过DMARC认证。如果发生这种情况,域名所有者设置的DMARC策略会告诉接收服务器如何处理该邮件。

什么是DMARC政策?

当实施DMARC时,域名所有者可以设置他们的DMARC策略,这告诉接收电子邮件的服务器如何处理DMARC失败的电子邮件。有3种策略。

  • p=none
  • p=检疫
  • p = 拒绝

如果你的DMARC策略被设置为无,即使没有通过DMARC的邮件也会被送到收件箱。这几乎等同于根本就没有DMARC的实施。你的策略应该只在你刚刚建立DMARC并想监控你的域中的活动时设置为无。

将你的DMARC策略设置为隔离,会将邮件发送到垃圾邮件文件夹,而拒绝则会直接将邮件从接收者的收件箱中阻断。你需要将你的DMARC策略设置为p=quarantine或p=reject,以便完全执行。如果不执行DMARC,收到你的邮件的用户仍然会收到来自未经授权的发件人欺骗你的域名的邮件。

但所有这些都提出了一个重要问题。为什么每个人都不使用SPF和DKIM来验证他们的邮件?为什么还要使用DMARC呢?这个问题的答案是...

DMARC报告

如果说SPF和DKIM有一个关键的缺点,那就是它们不能给你关于电子邮件如何被处理的反馈。当一封来自你的域名的邮件不能通过SPF或DKIM时,你真的没有办法知道,也没有办法解决这个问题。如果有人试图欺骗你的域名,你甚至都不知道这件事。

这就是DMARC的报告功能改变游戏规则的原因。DMARC每周都会向所有者指定的电子邮件地址生成汇总报告。这些报告包含详细的信息,如哪些邮件没有通过认证,它们是从哪些IP地址发送的,以及更多有用的、可操作的数据。拥有这些信息可以帮助域名所有者了解哪些邮件认证失败以及原因,甚至可以识别欺骗的企图。

到目前为止,非常清楚的是,DMARC通过保护电子邮件收件人免受未经授权的网络钓鱼邮件的侵害,使他们受益。但是,正在实施它的是域名所有者。当企业部署DMARC时,他们能得到什么好处?

品牌安全的DMARC

尽管DMARC并不是为了这个目的而创建的,但组织通过实施它可以获得一个主要的优势:品牌保护。当攻击者冒充一个品牌发送恶意邮件时,他们实际上是在利用该品牌的知名度和商誉来兜售骗局。在IBID集团进行的一项调查中,83%的客户表示,他们担心从一个曾经被入侵的公司购买产品。

交易中的无形因素往往可以和任何硬数据一样强大。消费者对他们购买的组织非常信任,如果这些品牌成为网络钓鱼骗局的代言人,他们不仅会失去被钓鱼的客户,还会失去许多从新闻中得知的其他客户。品牌安全是脆弱的,为了企业和客户的利益,必须加以保护。

 

品牌安全不仅仅是DMARC,还有更多。BIMI让用户在他们的邮件旁边看到你的标志看看吧。

 

DMARC使品牌能够重新控制谁可以通过他们的域名发送电子邮件。通过将未经授权的发件人拒之门外,企业可以确保只有安全、合法的电子邮件才会向公众发送。这不仅提高了他们的域名在电子邮件供应商那里的声誉,而且在确保品牌和消费者之间建立在信任和可靠基础上的关系方面也有很大的作用。

DMARC:让每个人都能安全地使用电子邮件

DMARC的目的一直大于帮助品牌保护他们的域名。当每个人都采用DMARC时,它创造了一个完整的电子邮件生态系统,以防止网络钓鱼攻击。它的作用就像疫苗一样--执行该标准的人越多,其他人落入虚假邮件陷阱的机会就越小。每一个得到DMARC保护的域,电子邮件作为一个整体都会变得更加安全。

通过使电子邮件对自己安全,我们可以帮助其他人更自由地使用它。我们认为这是一个值得坚持的标准。

 

 

根据Ponemon研究所和IBM安全公司的《2019年数据泄露成本报告》,全球数据泄露的平均成本为392万美元!

这种网络攻击业务是一个有利可图的业务。 

事实上,商业电子邮件破坏产生的投资回报率比任何其他网络攻击都。根据《2019年互联网犯罪报告》,它报告的损失超过17亿美元。

网络安全措施和协议对于业务连续性来说,现在比以往任何时候都更加重要。

根据Verizon 2019年数据泄露调查报告94%的恶意软件是通过电子邮件传递的。

进入基于域的消息认证、报告和一致性(DMARC)。 

是的,这是一个相当大的口号。但现在是保护你的商业电子邮件的时候了。

什么是DMARC? DMARC是一项相对较新的技术。 它是一种技术验证策略,其设置是为了帮助保护电子邮件发送者和接收者免受所有电子邮件垃圾邮件的影响。

dmarc illustration| DMARC,DKIM,SPF

DMARC是一个建立在发件人政策框架(SPF)和域名密钥识别邮件(DKIM)解决方案之上的解决方案。这项技术允许你的组织围绕你的电子邮件认证过程发布一个特定的安全政策,然后指示你的邮件服务器如何执行这些政策。

 

DMARC有三个主要的策略设置。 

  • 监控策略 - p=none。这个策略意味着在DMARC检查失败的情况下,将不采取任何行动。
  • 隔离政策 - p=quarantine。这个策略意味着所有未能通过DMARC检查的邮件都需要被视为可疑邮件,这可能会看到一些邮件落入你的垃圾邮件文件夹。
  • 拒绝策略 - p=reject.这个策略被设置为拒绝所有没有通过你的DMARC检查的邮件。

这些政策的设置方式完全取决于你的组织以及你想如何处理未经认证的电子邮件。

根据2019年全球DMARC采用报告,只有20.3%的域名发布了某种程度的DMARC政策,其中只有6.1%制定了拒绝政策。

为什么DMARC对你的业务很重要?

在这一点上,你会想,如果你已经有了SPF和DKIM,你是否真的需要DMARC。

简短的回答是肯定的。

但还有更多...

截至2019年,有超过39亿个电子邮件账户,当你考虑到94%的恶意软件攻击是通过电子邮件发生的,尽最大努力保护你的电子邮件绝对有商业意义。

虽然企业对DMARC的接受程度很慢,但必须注意到,Facebook和PayPal等数字巨头已经采用了DMARC技术。

  • 报告。DMARC提供的报告使你的组织能够更深入地了解你的电子邮件渠道。他们将帮助你的组织监控你的组织正在发送和接收什么电子邮件。DMARC报告将使你深入了解你的域名是如何被使用的,并能在开发更强大的电子邮件通信中发挥作用。
  • 加强控制。DMARC允许你完全控制从你的域名发送的电子邮件。如果滥用电子邮件,你将立即在报告中看到它,使你能够纠正任何认证问题。

主要收获

我们生活在一个网络攻击成为每个企业现实的时代。

如果不有效地保护你的电子邮件,你就会让你的企业面临各种漏洞。

不要让你的人成为下一个。

 

 

看看PowerDMARC今天如何帮助你保护你的商业电子邮件。

只需点击下面的按钮,今天就可以与电子邮件安全专家交谈。

Posts

One of the easiest ways to put yourself at risk of losing your data is to use email. No, seriously — the sheer number of businesses that face data breaches or get hacked because of an email phishing scam is staggering. So why do we still use email, then? Why not just use a more secure mode of communication that does the same job, only with better security?

It’s simple: email is incredibly convenient and everyone uses it. Pretty much every organization out there uses email either for communication or marketing. Email is integral to how business works. But the biggest flaw of email is something that’s unavoidable: it requires humans to interact with it. When people open emails, they read the contents, click on links, or even enter personal information. And because we don’t have the time or ability to carefully scrutinize every email, there’s a chance that one of them ends up being a phishing attack.

Attackers impersonate well-known, trusted brands to send emails to unsuspecting individuals. This is called domain spoofing. The recipients believe the messages to be genuine and click on malicious links or enter their login information, putting themselves at the attacker’s mercy. As long as these phishing emails continue entering people’s inboxes, email won’t be totally safe to use.

How Does DMARC Make Email Secure?

DMARC (Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance) is an email authentication protocol designed to combat domain spoofing. It uses two existing security protocols—SPF and DKIM—to protect users from receiving fraudulent email. When an organization sends email through their domain, the receiving email server checks their DNS for a DMARC record. The server then validates the email against SPF and DKIM. If the email successfully authenticates, it gets delivered to the destination inbox.

 

 Look up and generate records for DMARC, SPF, DKIM and more with Power Toolbox for free!

 

Only authorized senders are validated through SPF and DKIM, which means if someone tried to spoof their domain, the email would fail DMARC authentication. If that happens, the DMARC policy set by the domain owner tells the receiving server how to handle the email.

What is a DMARC Policy?

When implementing DMARC, the domain owner can set their DMARC policy, which tells the receiving email server what to do with an email that fails DMARC. There are 3 policies:

  • p=none
  • p=quarantine
  • p = reject

If your DMARC policy is set to none, even emails that don’t pass DMARC get delivered to the inbox. This is almost like not having a DMARC implementation at all. Your policy should only be set to none when you’re just setting up DMARC and want to monitor the activity in your domain.

Setting your DMARC policy to quarantine sends the email to the spam folder, while reject outright blocks the email from the receiver’s inbox. You need to have your DMARC policy set to either p=quarantine or p=reject in order to have full enforcement. Without enforcing DMARC, users receiving your emails will still receive emails from unauthorized senders spoofing your domain.

But all of this raises an important question. Why doesn’t everyone just use SPF and DKIM to verify their emails? Why bother with DMARC at all? The answer to that is…

DMARC Reporting

If there’s one key shortcoming of SPF and DKIM, it’s that they don’t give you feedback on how emails are being processed. When an email from your domain fails SPF or DKIM, there’s really no way to tell, and no way to fix the issue. If someone’s trying to spoof your domain, you wouldn’t even know about it.

That’s what makes DMARC’s reporting feature such a game-changer. DMARC generates weekly Aggregate Reports to the owner’s specified email address. These reports contain detailed information about which emails failed authentication, which IP addresses they were sent from, and lots more useful, actionable data. Having all this information can help the domain owner see which emails are failing to authenticate and why, and even identify spoofing attempts.

So far, it’s pretty clear that DMARC benefits email recipients by protecting them from unauthorized phishing emails. But it’s the domain owners that are implementing it. What advantage do organizations get when they deploy DMARC?

DMARC For Brand Safety

Although DMARC wasn’t created with this purpose, there’s one major advantage organizations stand to gain by implementing it: brand protection. When an attacker impersonates a brand to send malicious emails, they’re effectively co-opting the brand’s popularity and goodwill to peddle a scam. In a survey conducted by the IBID Group, 83% of customers said that they’re concerned about purchasing from a company that was previously breached.

The intangible elements of a transaction can often be as powerful as any hard data. Consumers put a lot of trust in the organizations they buy from, and if these brands become the face of a phishing scam, they stand to lose not only the customers who got phished, but many others who heard about it in the news. Brand safety is fragile, and must be guarded for the sake of the business and the customer.

 

There’s more to brand safety than just DMARC. BIMI lets users see your logo next to their emails! Check it out:

 

DMARC enables brands to take back control of who gets to send emails through their domain. By shutting out unauthorized senders from exploiting them, organizations can ensure only safe, legitimate emails go out to the public. This not only boosts their domain’s reputation with email providers, but it also goes a long way in ensuring a relationship built on trust and reliability between the brand and consumers.

DMARC: Making Email Safe for Everyone

DMARC’s purpose has always been greater than helping brands safeguard their domains. When everyone adopts DMARC, it creates an entire email ecosystem inoculated against phishing attacks. It works exactly like a vaccine — the more people that enforce the standard, the smaller the chances of everyone else falling prey to fake emails. With each domain that gets DMARC-protected, email as a whole becomes that much safer.

By making email safe for ourselves, we can help everyone else use it more freely. And we think that’s a standard worth upholding.

 

 

According to the 2019 Cost of Data Breach Report, from Ponemon Institute and IBM Security, the global average cost of a data breach is $3.92 million!

This cyberattack business is a lucrative one. 

In fact, Business Email Compromise generates higher ROI than any other cyberattack. According to the 2019 Internet Crime Report, it reported losses of over $1.7 billion. 

Cybersecurity measures and protocols are crucial to business continuity now more than ever.

According to the Verizon 2019 Data Breach Investigations Report, 94% of malware was delivered by email.

Enter Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting, and Conformance (DMARC). 

Yes, it’s quite a mouthful. But the time to protect your business email is now.

What is DMARC? DMARC is a relatively new technology.  It’s a technical validation policy that’s set to help protect email senders and receivers from all email spam.

dmarc illustration| DMARC,DKIM,SPF

DMARC is a solution that builds on both the Sender Policy Framework (SPF) and Domain Key Identified Mail (DKIM) solutions. This technology allows your organisation to publish a specific security policy around your email authentication processes and then instructs your mail server on how to enforce them.

 

DMARC has three main policy settings: 

  • Monitor policy – p=none. This policy means that no action will be taken in the light of failing the DMARC checks.
  • Quarantine policy – p=quarantine. This policy means that all emails that fail your DMARC check need to be treated as suspicious, this could see some emails landing up on your spam folder.
  • Reject policy – p=reject. This policy is set up to reject all emails that do not pass your DMARC checks.

The ways these policies are set up is entirely up to your organisation and how you want to handle unauthenticated emails.

According to the 2019 Global DMARC Adoption Report, only 20.3% of domains are publishing some level of DMARC policy of that only 6.1% have a reject policy in place.

Why DMARC is important for your business?

At this point, you’re wondering if you really need DMARC if you already have SPF and DKIM.

The short answer is yes.

But there’s more…

As of 2019, there were over 3.9 billion email accounts, and when you consider that 94% of malware attacks occurred through email, it absolutely makes business sense to do your very best to protect your email.

While the corporate uptake of DMARC has been slow, it’s essential to note that digital giants such as Facebook and PayPal have adopted DMARC technology.

  • Reporting. The reporting offered with DMARC allows your organisation greater insights into your email channels. They will help your organisation monitor what emails are being sent and received by your organisation. DMARC reports will give you insights into how your domain is being used and can play a role in developing more robust email communications.
  • Enhanced control. DMARC allows you full control over what emails are being sent from your domain. If email abuse is taking place, you will immediately see it in the report allowing you to correct any authentication issues.

Key Takeaways

We’re living in an era where cyberattacks are every businesses reality.

By not securing your email effectively you are opening your business up to all kinds of vulnerabilities.

Don’t let yours be next.

 

 

Take a look at how PowerDMARC can help you secure your business email today.

Simply click the button below to speak to an email security expert today