重要提示:谷歌和雅虎将从 2024 年 4 月起要求使用 DMARC。

使用MTA-STS确保安全的电子邮件发送

PowerDMARC 的托管MTA-STS可帮助您正确、轻松地配置 MTA-STS。如今,大多数电子邮件都采用传输层安全(TLS)加密技术,这是一种行业标准,甚至连消费者电子邮件也采用这种加密技术。但是,攻击者甚至可以在电子邮件加密之前就截获它。如果您的电子邮件不是通过安全连接传输,您的数据就可能被窃取,甚至被攻击者修改。 邮件传输代理-严格传输安全(MTA-STS) 可以解决这个问题,保证电子邮件的安全传输。

TLS加密是如何工作的?

当你从你的域名发送电子邮件时,你的邮件传输代理(MTA)会向接收服务器进行查询,检查它是否支持STARTTLS命令。当你的MTA确认接收方支持STARTTLS时,它就会切换到加密连接并安全地发送电子邮件。

但是,攻击者可以破坏这个过程,将电子邮件转发到他们控制的服务器上,或者使STARTTLS查询失败,促使你的MTA通过一个未加密的连接发送电子邮件。在这两种情况下,攻击者都可以完全访问你的电子邮件。

TLS加密是如何工作的?

为什么是MTA-STS?

MTA-严格传输安全(MTA-STS)是一个安全协议,旨在减轻MITM攻击。下面是它是如何做到这一点的。

  • 使用支持HTTPS的服务器

你的MTA通过DNS查询的MX记录与存储在MTA-STS策略文件中的记录进行比较,后者是通过HTTPS获取的。MTA也会缓存MTA-STS策略文件,这使得DNS欺骗攻击更难实现。

  • 强制性TLS

MTA-STS允许你的域名发布一个策略,使得发送电子邮件时必须使用加密的TLS。如果由于某种原因,发现接收服务器不支持STARTTLS,那么邮件将根本不会被发送。这样就无法进行SMTP降级。

Important Alert: Google and Yahoo will require DMARC starting from Feb 2024.

Ensure Secure Email Delivery with MTA-STS

PowerDMARC’s hosted MTA-STS helps you configure MTA-STS correctly and with ease. Most email today is secured with Transport Layer Security (TLS) encryption, an industry-standard adopted even by consumer email. But attackers can intercept your email even before it gets encrypted. If your email is not transported over a secure connection, your data could be stolen or even modified by an attacker.  Mail Transfer Agent-Strict Transport Security (MTA-STS)  fixes this, guaranteeing safe transit for your email.

How Does TLS Encryption Work?

When you send an email from your domain, your Mail Transfer Agent (MTA) performs a query to the receiving server to check if it supports the STARTTLS command. When your MTA confirms that the receiver supports STARTTLS, it switches to an encrypted connection and sends the email securely.

But an attacker can disrupt this process, rerouting the email to a server controlled by them, or make the STARTTLS query fail, prompting your MTA to send the email over an unencrypted connection. In either case, the attacker can have total access to your emails.

How Does TLS Encryption Work?

Why MTA-STS?

MTA-Strict Transport Security (MTA-STS) is a security protocol designed to mitigate both MITM attacks. Here’s how it does that:

  • Use of HTTPS-Enabled Servers

The MX records, which your MTA queries over DNS, are compared to the records stored in the MTA-STS policy file, which are fetched over HTTPS. MTAs also cache MTA-STS policy files, which make a DNS spoofing attack much harder to pull off.

  • Mandatory TLS

MTA-STS allows your domain to publish a policy that makes sending email with encrypted TLS compulsory. If for some reason the receiving server is found to not support STARTTLS, the email will not be sent at all. This makes it impossible to perform an SMTP downgrade.