网络钓鱼与欺骗

网络钓鱼与欺骗一直是一个令人担忧的话题。网络钓鱼和欺骗是两种不同类型的网络犯罪,在未经训练的人看来可能非常相似。然而,它们之间是有区别的,作为一个消费者,你应该如何处理它们。

当有人试图使用一个有效用户的身份时,这被称为欺骗。另一方面,网络钓鱼是指犯罪分子使用欺骗性的社会工程技术来窃取用户的私人和敏感数据。

你是否曾对这两者感到困惑?你可能想知道网络钓鱼和欺骗之间有什么区别。让我们来看看这两者的区别!

欺骗与网络钓鱼:概述

由于技术的进步和互联网的普及,现在经常利用网络入侵来实施身份盗窃、数据泄露和信用卡欺诈等白领犯罪。网上犯罪分子或欺诈者破坏、操纵或摧毁计算机系统或网络并造成经济损失的最流行技术是网络钓鱼和欺骗性电子邮件。 

欺骗和网络钓鱼都与电子制作或伪造的文件有关。因此,它们在某种程度上是可以互换的术语。虽然欺骗的方法经常被用于网络钓鱼,但欺骗并不总是被视为网络钓鱼。

什么是网络钓鱼?

网络钓鱼是指未经授权的一方试图欺骗你披露个人信息。它通常发生在你收到一封看似合法的电子邮件,但其中的链接或附件将你引向一个旨在窃取你的个人信息,如密码和信用卡号码的欺诈性网站。 

大约25%的数据泄露事件涉及网络钓鱼,85%的数据泄露事件有人为因素。, 根据Verizon的2021年DBIR报告.

钓鱼邮件可能看起来像来自银行、在线购物网站或其他值得信赖的公司的官方信息,要求你更新个人信息--如账户用户名、密码或安全问题。因此,在点击这些电子邮件中的任何链接之前,仔细检查是很重要的。

什么是欺骗?

欺骗是网络犯罪分子用来冒充有信誉或知名来源的一种方法。攻击者使用虚假的电子邮件域名作为合法来源。欺骗可以有多种形式,包括伪造电子邮件、电话、DNS欺骗、GPS欺骗、网站和电子邮件。

通过这种方式,对手可以与目标互动,访问他们的系统或设备,最终目的是窃取数据,索要钱财,或用恶意软件或其他恶意软件感染设备。

欺骗攻击的目的是获取敏感信息,如你的用户名和密码、信用卡号码或银行账户信息。欺骗也常用于网络钓鱼攻击中。而几乎 90%的网络活动涉及欺骗。

网络钓鱼 Vs 欺骗。关键区别

技术

欺骗和网络钓鱼是两种类型的攻击,可用于提取用户的敏感信息。两者都使用欺诈性的电子邮件来欺骗用户泄露个人信息或下载恶意软件,但它们在操作方式上有所不同。

  • 欺骗,也被称为身份盗窃,涉及发送看似来自合法来源的虚假电子邮件。其目的是让收件人透露密码或信用卡号码等个人信息。网络钓鱼是欺骗的一种形式;它涉及发送虚假的电子邮件,要求收件人点击链接或下载附件,以提供更多关于自己的信息。
  • 网络钓鱼通常涉及使用社会工程技术,并侧重于通过制造紧迫感或怜悯感,从受害者那里获得情感反应。欺骗的技术性更强,通常涉及为受害者创建一个外观相同的收件箱,这样他们就不可能分辨出哪个邮件是真的,哪个是假的。

宗旨

  • 欺骗是为了获得一个新的身份:其背后的想法是欺骗受害者,使其相信他们正在与他们认识和信任的人进行交流。这可以通过电子邮件、即时通讯或社交媒体(如Facebook)进行。
  • 网络钓鱼是为了获取机密信息:其目的是欺骗你交出你的个人信息。这可能是密码和信用卡信息,使你相信你收到的信息是来自你的银行或其他受信任的机构或服务提供商。

防止欺骗的方法

有几种方法可以防止欺骗性攻击在你的组织中发生,包括。

发件人政策框架(SPF

SPF是一种打击 电子邮件欺骗行为.它用于验证一个电子邮件发件人是否被授权代表一个域名发送邮件。如果不是,接收服务器可以立即拒绝该邮件。

SPF记录包含一个授权为某个域发送邮件的IP地址列表。该记录被放置在每个域的DNS区域文件中。你可以使用 免费的SPF检查器工具的工具。

域名密钥识别邮件(DKIM

DKIM 验证电子邮件是合法的,在传输过程中没有被篡改过。它使用在传输过程中添加到邮件中的数字签名来实现这一目的,接收服务器的DNS记录可以验证。

基于域的消息验证、报告和一致性(DMARC)

DMARC 允许你为你的组织如何处理那些声称来自你的公司但并非来自你的组织的服务器的欺诈性电子邮件设置政策。这些政策包括设置投诉处理程序,以及你希望互联网服务提供商如何处理来自你的域名的可疑欺骗性电子邮件的指示。

预防网络钓鱼的方法

网络钓鱼攻击可以非常有说服力。它们往往来自看起来像官方的电子邮件地址,包含熟悉的标志和图像,甚至听起来像真的。为了避免上当受骗。

  • 如果你不知道是谁发的邮件,就不要打开附件或点击邮件中的链接。
  • 寻找那些声称来自知名公司的电子邮件中的拼写、语法和格式化错误。
  • 定期检查你的信用卡账单,以确保没有任何看起来不对劲的地方。如果你看到可疑的东西,请立即联系你的银行。
  • 不要使用咖啡馆或酒店的公共Wi-Fi,因为黑客可以在坐在你旁边的同一网络中访问你的数据。

最后的话

简而言之,网络钓鱼是指你试图通过冒充一个值得信赖的代理人来收集目标的敏感信息。欺骗是指你故意试图欺骗信息的接收者,使其认为信息来自某人或其他地方。正如你所看到的,这些术语之间有明显的区别,但两者都会对你的个人信息和信誉造成严重伤害。

自我防范的最好方法是与PowerDMARC的专家交谈,并使用他们的解决方案来确保你的安全。

Phishing vs Spoofing

Phishing vs Spoofing has always been a concerning topic. Phishing and Spoofing are two different types of cybercrime that can look very similar to the untrained eye. However, there are differences between them and how you should handle them as a consumer.

When someone attempts to use the identity of a valid user, it is called spoofing. Phishing, on the other hand, is a situation when a criminal uses deceptive social engineering techniques to steal a user’s private and sensitive data.

Have you ever been confused about both? You might want to know what the differences are between Phishing and Spoofing. Let’s have a look at both!

Spoofing vs Phishing: An Overview

Cyber incursions are now frequently utilized to perpetrate white-collar crimes like identity theft, data leak, and credit card fraud, thanks to technological advances and widespread internet access. The most popular techniques for online criminals or fraudsters to damage, manipulate, or destroy a computer system or network and inflict financial loss are phishing and spoofing emails. 

Both spoofing and phishing pertain to electronically produced or faked papers. Hence they are somewhat interchangeable terms. Although spoofing methods are frequently used in phishing, Spoofing is not always regarded as phishing.

What is Phishing?

Phishing is an attempt by an unauthorized party to trick you into disclosing personal information. It usually happens when you receive an email that appears legitimate but contains links or attachments that direct you to a fraudulent website designed to steal your personal information, such as passwords and credit card numbers. 

Around 25% of all data breaches involve phishing, and 85% of data breaches have a human component, according to Verizon’s 2021 DBIR.

Phishing emails may look like official messages from banks, online shopping sites, or other trusted companies asking you to update personal information — such as account usernames, passwords, or security questions. So it’s important to double-check any links contained within these emails before clicking on them.

What is Spoofing?

Spoofing is a method used by cybercriminals to pose as reputable or well-known sources. Attackers use fake email domains as legitimate sources. Spoofing can take many forms, including fake emails, calls, DNS spoofing, GPS spoofing, websites, and emails.

By doing this, the adversary can interact with the target and access their systems or devices with the ultimate purpose of stealing data, demanding money, or infecting the device with malware or other malicious software.

The spoofing attack aims to access sensitive information, such as your username and password, credit card number, or bank account details. Spoofing is also commonly used in phishing attacks. And almost 90% of cyber activities involve spoofing.

Phishing Vs Spoofing: Key Differences

Techniques

Spoofing and phishing are two types of attacks that can be used to extract sensitive information from users. Both use fraudulent email messages to trick users into divulging personal information or downloading malware, but they differ in how they operate.

  • Spoofing, also known as identity theft, involves sending out fake emails that appear to come from a legitimate source. The goal is to get the recipient to reveal personal information like passwords or credit card numbers. Phishing is one form of Spoofing; it involves sending out fake emails that request recipients to click on links or download attachments to provide more information about themselves.
  • Phishing typically involves using social engineering techniques and focusing on creating an emotional response from the victim by creating urgency or pity. Spoofing is more technical and often involves creating an identical-looking inbox for the victim so that it’s impossible for them to tell which email is real and which one isn’t.

Purpose

  • Spoofing is done to get a new identity: The idea behind it is to trick the victim into believing that they are communicating with someone they know and trust. This can be done through email, instant messaging, or social media, like Facebook.
  • Phishing is done to get confidential information: The goal is to trick you into giving up your personal information. It could be passwords and credit card details, making you believe that the message you received is from your bank or another trusted institution or service provider.

Ways to Prevent Spoofing

There are several ways to prevent spoofing attacks from happening in your organization, including:

Sender Policy Framework (SPF)

SPF is a method of combating email spoofing. It’s used to verify whether or not an email sender is authorized to send messages on behalf of a domain. If it’s not, the receiving server can reject the message immediately.

The SPF record contains a list of IP addresses authorized to send mail for a domain. The record is placed in the DNS zone file for each domain. You can use the free SPF checker tool by PowerDMARC. 

DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM)

DKIM verifies that an email is legitimate and hasn’t been tampered with during transmission. It does this using digital signatures added to the message during transit, which the receiving server’s DNS records can verify.

Domain-Based Message Authentication, Reporting & Conformance (DMARC)

DMARC allows you to set policies for how your organization handles fraudulent emails that claim to be from your company but aren’t coming from your organization’s servers. These policies include things like setting up complaint-handling procedures and instructions for how you want ISPs should handle suspected spoofed emails from your domain.

Ways to Prevent Phishing

Phishing attacks can be very convincing. They often come from official-looking email addresses, contain familiar logos and images, and even sound like the real thing. To avoid falling for these tactics:

  • Don’t open attachments or click on links in emails if you don’t know who sent them.
  • Look for spelling, grammar, and formatting errors in emails that claim to be from reputable companies.
  • Check your credit card statements regularly to ensure nothing looks out of place. If you see something suspicious, contact your bank immediately.
  • Don’t use public Wi-Fi at cafes or hotels because hackers can access your data while sitting next to you on the same network.

Final Words

Put succinctly, and phishing is where you attempt to gather sensitive information from a target by impersonating a trustworthy agent. Spoofing is when you intentionally try to deceive the message’s recipient into thinking it came from someone or somewhere else. As you can see, there’s a distinct difference between the terms, but both can cause severe harm to your personal information and credibility.

The best way to prevent yourself is to talk to experts at PowerDMARC and use their solutions to ensure that you’re on the safe side.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)