什么是TLS加密?

安全连接现在是在线业务的一个必要条件。HTTP安全协议或TLS协议是网络浏览纯粹主义者采用的最新方法,他们赞成加密和安全高于一切。即使你对保护你的私人信息在网络上传播并不那么关心,你最终也可能会遇到使用该协议的网站--因此,了解什么是TLS加密以及标准TLS加密的工作原理会有所帮助。

什么是TLS加密?

TLS是传输层安全(Transport Layer Security)的缩写,是一种互联网安全协议,在两个通信的应用程序(如网络服务器)之间提供认证和加密服务。

TLS加密用于HTTPS连接,它使用SSL证书来保证安全。SSL证书对互联网上传输的数据进行加密,以保护敏感信息,如密码、信用卡号码等。因此,HTTPS连接确保在浏览网页或给你的朋友或家人发送电子邮件时,没有人可以窥探你的互联网流量。

虽然不能直接与SSL 3.0互通,但TLS最早是在 RFC 22461999年首次将TLS描述为一个与应用无关的协议,并在必要时提供了一个回退选项。相比之下,建议使用TLS 1.2来代替SSL 3.0,后者已被RFC 7568所废弃。 RFC 7568自2015年6月起被废弃。TLS 1.3在发布时将停止支持不太安全的算法(截至2015年12月)。

除了提供针对窃听攻击的安全,TLS还通过在通过公共互联网等不安全渠道进行安全通信的双方之间发生任何实际数据传输之前验证服务器(或对等体)的真实性,确保数据传输的完整性。

TLS加密是如何工作的?

我们在网上发送信息时遇到了三个重要的安全问题。

  • 我们能核实与我们交谈的人的身份吗?
  • 我们怎么能确定他们提供的数据在收到后没有被修改?
  • 我们怎样才能阻止未经授权的用户访问和查看数据?

这些问题很重要,尤其是在传递敏感或无价的信息时。为了解决这三个问题中的每一个,TLS加密采用了各种加密方法。它们共同使该协议能够验证连接中另一方的身份,检查数据的准确性,并提供加密。

让我们把事情简单化,想象一下你试图与一个住在全国各地的朋友沟通。如果信息是敏感的,上述三个主要问题将引起极大关注。

你不能仅仅发送一封信并希望得到最好的结果,特别是如果你认为攻击者会关注你的通信。相反,你需要一个系统,使你能够确认你的接收者的合法性,一个确定信息是否被篡改的机制,以及一个保护它们不被窥探的方法。

TLS使用各种技术来满足这些目标。这个过程从被称为TLS的握手开始,在这个过程中,密钥被创建,并进行认证。

与我们之前的信件比较一样,TLS的认证功能类似于通过快递员发送邮件,而快递员要求提供身份证明。当快递员递送信件时,将通过比较收件人的身份证和他们的脸来检查收件人的身份。

钥匙建立阶段可能类似于你想在未来通信中使用的PIN码,如果它只在你的信中部分出现。在回信中,你会要求你的收信人计算出另一半的数字并交给你。

一旦快递员确定了密码并确认了发件人的身份,你就会拥有安全传递信息所需的一切。 

  • 使用TLS与应用协议交换的信息是安全的。

根据我们的例子,通过TLS安全地发送数据,相当于写一封信,并将其密封。你会在封条上签上你的名字,以确保收件人能够发现信是否被篡改过。

然后信件会被放在一个带有密码锁的小金属容器里,密码是你和收件人共同选择的。你将通过快递员发送这个盒子,快递员在递送包裹前会验证身份。以同样的方式,你的收件人会做出回应,随后的任何对话也会如此。

  • TLS为我们三个问题中的每一个提供了基本相同的解决方案。 

快递员的工作是核实收件人的身份,并确保箱子被送到正确的人手中。上锁的盒子起到了一种加密的作用,使信件不被除你的爱人之外的所有人掌握。你可以通过查看签名信封来判断信息是否被篡改。

TLS与SSL

关于安全性,SSL和TLS长期以来一直是互联网加密的黄金标准。两者都用于加密两台计算机之间发送的数据,但它们之间有一些关键的区别。

SSL与TLS:你应该使用哪个?

以下是对最重要的差异的简要介绍。

TLS比SSL/TLS更安全。如果你想保护信用卡号码或医疗记录等敏感信息不被窃听,TLS是一种方法。它比SSL提供了更多的保护,因为它使用了一种较新的加密协议,称为椭圆曲线Diffie-Hellman(ECDHE)。这意味着用于加密数据的密钥对蛮力攻击更安全,这使得黑客更难破解。

TLS的性能比SSL/TLS更好--在某些情况下可提高40%!这意味着你的服务器的负载更少,等待页面加载的时间更短。更快的连接也意味着在线发送或接收信息时的滞后时间更短。

相关阅读 SSL和TLS的区别

最后的话

TLS协议已被采纳为安全网络加密的黄金标准,创造了一个几乎不可破解的系统--除非有人在宇宙中的某个地方找到一台无限强大的计算机。同时,在我们的浏览器和应用程序上安装了TLS,我们就没有什么可担心的了。有了这个协议,我们就可以放心大胆地上网了。

利用免费的 TLS-RPT记录检查器在PowerDMARC检查你的TLS-RPT记录配置,并验证你的记录。

我们的TLS-RPT记录检查器提供即时、精确的结果,让你立即知道你的TLS-RPT记录中是否存在任何错误。

what is TLS encryption?

Secure connections are now a necessity for online business. The HTTP Secure or TLS protocol is the latest method adopted by web-browsing purists, who favor encryption and security above all else. And even if you’re not that concerned about protecting your private information as it travels over the web, you’ll likely eventually run into sites using this protocol — so it helps to know what is TLS encryption and how standard  TLS encryption works.

What Is TLS Encryption?

TLS stands for Transport Layer Security, an Internet security protocol that provides authentication and encryption services between two communicating applications (e.g., web servers).

TLS encryption is used in HTTPS connections, which are secured using SSL certificates. SSL certificates encrypt data transmitted over the Internet to protect sensitive information such as passwords, credit card numbers, etc. Thus, HTTPS connections ensure that no one can snoop on your internet traffic while browsing the web or emailing your friends or family members.

While not directly interoperable with SSL 3.0, TLS was first described in RFC 2246 in 1999 as an applications-agnostic protocol and provided a fallback option if necessary. In contrast, TLS 1.2 is advised to be used instead of SSL 3.0, which has been deprecated by RFC 7568 since June 2015. TLS 1.3 will stop supporting less secure algorithms when released (as of December 2015).

In addition to providing security against eavesdropping attacks, TLS also ensures the integrity of data transmission by verifying the authenticity of the server (or peer) before any actual data transfer occurs between two parties who communicate securely over an insecure channel such as the public Internet.

How Does TLS Encryption Work?

We encounter three significant security issues while sending information online:

  • Can we verify the identity of the person we speak with?
  • How can we be certain that the data they gave wasn’t altered after they received it?
  • How can we stop unauthorized users from accessing and viewing the data?

These concerns are important, particularly when delivering sensitive or priceless information. To solve each of these three issues, TLS encryption employs a variety of cryptographic methods. Together, they enable the protocol to verify the identity of the other party in a connection, examine the accuracy of the data, and offer encryption.

Let’s keep things simple and imagine you attempting to communicate with a friend who lives across the nation. The abovementioned three main issues will cause great concern if the information is sensitive.

You can’t merely send a letter and hope for the best, especially if you think that attackers will focus on your communications. Instead, you require a system that enables you to confirm the legitimacy of your receiver, a mechanism to determine whether messages have been altered, and a way to shield them from snoopers.

TLS uses a variety of techniques to satisfy these objectives. The process begins with a handshake known as TLS, during which the keys are created, and authentication takes place.

In keeping with our earlier letter comparison, the authentication feature of TLS is similar to sending mail via a courier who requests identification. The recipient’s identity would be checked when the courier delivered the letter by comparing the recipient’s ID to their face.

The key establishment phase might resemble a PIN that you wanted to use in future communications if it were only partially present in your letter. In the return letter, you would request that your receiver calculate the other half of the number and give it to you.

You will have all you need to deliver information securely once the courier has established the PIN and confirmed the sender’s identity. 

  • Information exchanged with the application protocol using TLS is secure.

In keeping with our example, sending data securely through TLS is comparable to writing a letter and sealing it. You would sign your name across the seal to ensure the recipient could detect if the letter had been tampered with.

The letter would then be placed inside a little metal container with a combination lock, with the PIN you and the recipient jointly chose as the combination. You would send the box through the courier that verifies identification before delivering packages. In the same way, your recipient would respond, and so would any subsequent conversations.

  • TLS offers a largely identical solution to each of our three issues. 

The courier’s job is to verify the recipient’s identity and ensure that the box is delivered to the right person. The locked box acts as a type of encryption, keeping the letters out of the hands of everyone save your lover. You can tell whether or not the message has been tampered with by looking at the signature envelope.

TLS vs. SSL

Regarding security, SSL and TLS have long been the gold standard for Internet encryption. Both are used to encrypt data sent between two computers, but there are some key differences between them.

SSL vs. TLS: Which Should You Use?

Here’s a quick rundown of the most important differences:

TLS is more secure than SSL/TLS. If you want to protect sensitive information like credit card numbers or medical records from eavesdroppers, TLS is the way to go. It offers more protection than SSL because it uses a newer encryption protocol called Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman (ECDHE). This means that the keys used to encrypt the data are safer against brute force attacks, which makes them harder to crack by hackers.

TLS performs better than SSL/TLS — up to 40% better in some cases! This means less load on your servers and less time waiting for pages to load. The faster connections also mean less lag time when sending or receiving information online.

Related Read: Difference Between SSL and TLS

Final Words

The TLS protocol has been adopted as the gold standard for secure web encryption, creating a virtually unbreakable system—unless someone finds an infinitely powerful computer somewhere in the universe. In the meantime, we have nothing to worry about with TLS installed on our browsers and apps. With this protocol in place, we can surf the net with our peace of mind intact.

Utilize the free TLS-RPT Record Checker at PowerDMARC to examine your TLS-RPT record configuration and validate your record. 

Our TLS-RPT record checker provides immediate, precise results, letting you know immediately if there are any mistakes in your TLS-RPT record.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)