SSL和TLS

最近,你可能会在新闻中听到越来越多关于SSL和TLS的消息。这些术语被谷歌等公司使用,以使更多人意识到它们在浏览时的重要性(我说的是你,Chrome)。

SSL和TLS之间有明显的区别。两个协议对在互联网上发送的数据进行加密。这些协议是密码学家、网络安全专家和希望在网络服务器和浏览器之间建立加密链接的开发者的目标。

什么是SSL和TLS?

一个安全的连接是加密的。加密可以保护你发送和接收的数据,使其他人无法读取。

有两种类型的加密。SSL和TLS。每一种都有其优点和缺点,但都能提供安全的连接。

SSL,即传输层安全,是一种加密协议,在计算机网络上提供通信安全。它通过使用加密来保护数据的完整性和保密性。

TLS,即传输层安全,是一种在互联网上进行安全通信的标准。它允许客户/服务器应用程序以一种旨在防止窃听和篡改信息的方式在网络上通信。

为什么需要SSL/TLS证书?

SSL/TLS证书对你的网站和你的用户之间发送的数据进行加密。你发送的任何信息都是安全的,不被他人看到。这对保护敏感信息,如信用卡号码、密码和其他数据至关重要。

如果没有SSL/TLS证书,与你的网站处于同一网络的任何人都可以拦截你的服务器和用户的网络浏览器之间的通信。这可能会让他们看到所有正在交换的信息,甚至在发送之前改变它的方式。

SSL和TLS的区别

TLS和SSL在互联网上提供安全认证和数据传输。但TLS和SSL有什么不同?你需要关注它吗?

SSL

TLS

SSL是安全套接字层的缩写。  TLS是传输层安全的缩写。
网景公司在1995年创建了SSL。 互联网工程任务组(IETF)在1999年首次开发了TLS。
有三个版本。

  • SSL 1.0
  • SSL 2.0,
  • SSL 3.0.
有四个版本。

  • TLS 1.0
  • TLS 1.1
  • TLS 1.2
  • TLS 1.3
在所有版本的SSL中,都发现了漏洞,并且都已被废弃。  从2020年3月开始,TLS 1.0和1.1将不再被支持。

在大多数情况下,使用TLS 1.2。

网络服务器和客户端使用SSL进行安全通信,SSL是一种使用明确连接的加密协议。 使用TLS,网络服务器和客户端可以通过隐性连接进行安全通信。TLS已经取代了SSL。

SL和TLS工作中的其他一些主要区别如下。

信息验证

SSL和TLS的一个主要区别是消息认证。SSL使用消息认证码(MAC)来确保消息在传输过程中不被篡改。TLS不使用MAC进行保护,而是依靠其他手段,如加密,来防止篡改。

记录协议

记录协议是TLS和SSL中数据在安全通信信道上的携带方式,但它有一些小的区别。在TLS中,每个数据包只能采取一条记录,而在SSL中,每个数据包可以携带多条记录(尽管这很少被实施)。

此外,TLS的记录协议中的一些功能并不包括在SSL中,如压缩和填充选项。

密码套房

TLS支持各种密码套件,它们是用于加密和解密的算法。最著名的密码套件是基于椭圆曲线的短暂的Diffie-Hellman(DHE)密钥交换,它提供了完美的前向保密性(PFS),可用于任何密钥长度。其他一些密码套件也支持PFS,但使用不太广泛。SSL只支持一个具有PFS的密码套件,它使用1024位RSA密钥。

提醒信息

SSL协议使用警报信息来通知客户端或服务器在通信过程中出现的特定错误。TLS协议没有任何相应的机制。

简而言之,SSL已不再使用,而TLS是过时的SSL协议的新术语,是目前所有人都在使用的加密标准。尽管TLS在技术上更准确,但SSL被广泛使用。

为什么TLS取代了SSL?

为了保护在线应用或传输中的数据不被窃听和篡改,TLS加密现在是一个常规程序。TLS在2012年和2014年一直容易受到犯罪和Heartbleed等漏洞的影响。虽然它在效率和安全方面表现出显著的进步,但认为它是最安全的协议是不现实的。

Consensus Development的Christopher Allen和Tim Dierks创建了TLS 1.0协议,是对SSL 3.0的改进。

尽管名称的改变意味着两者之间有实质性的区别,但并没有多少。

根据 迪尔克斯的说法,微软改名是为了挽回面子。他表示。

为了避免给人留下IETF认可网景公司的协议的印象,我们不得不将SSL 3.0作为马术的一部分进行重塑(原因相同)。于是,TLS 1.0诞生了(也就是SSL 3.1)。当然,回过头来看,整个情况似乎很荒谬。

SSL正在被TLS所取代,实际上所有的SSL版本都因为有记录的安全缺陷而被认为已经过时了。一个例子是谷歌浏览器,它在2014年停止使用SSL 3.0。大多数当代在线浏览器根本不支持SSL。

为什么用TLS证书替换你的SSL证书?

替换你现有的 的主要原因用新的TLS证书替换现有的SSL证书的主要原因是它们彼此不兼容,它们使用不同的协议和算法。这意味着,任何使用一种协议的浏览器或客户端应用程序将无法与使用另一种协议的服务器安全连接,除非连接双方都进行了明确的配置更改。

最后的话

如果你比较一下,SSL和TLS证书都提供了相同的数据流加密功能。SSL的一个改进和更安全的版本是TLS。然而,网上广泛提供的SSL证书具有保护网站的相同功能。实际上,它们都提供HTTPS地址栏,这已被公认为是在线安全的显著特征。

而SSL和TLS则保障你的网站不受未经授权的使用。 DMARC保护你的电子邮件域名不被冒用。DMARC是一个电子邮件认证标准,使你能够对从未经授权的来源发送的、冒充你的域名的电子邮件采取行动。

开始你的道路,走向 落实使用PowerDMARC将使您能够完全管理您的域名,以最快的市场速度获得您的电子邮件渠道的可见性,并安全地过渡到更严格的政策

SSL and TLS

You may be hearing more and more about SSL and TLS in the news lately. These terms are being used by companies such as Google to make more people aware of their importance when browsing (I’m talking about you, Chrome).

There is a marked distinction between SSL and TLS. Two protocols encrypt data sent over the Internet. These protocols are objectives for cryptographers, network security experts, and developers who want to establish encrypted links between a web server and browsers.

What are SSL and TLS?

A secure connection is encrypted. The encryption protects the data you send and receive so that anyone else can’t read it.

There are two types of encryption: SSL and TLS. Each has its pros and cons, but both provide a secure connection.

SSL, or Transport Layer Security, is a cryptographic protocol that provides communication security over a computer network. It protects the integrity and confidentiality of data by using encryption.

TLS, or Transport Layer Security, is a standard for secure communication over the internet. It allows client/server applications to communicate over a network in a way designed to prevent eavesdropping and tampering with information.

Why Do You Need an SSL/TLS Certificate?

SSL/TLS certificates encrypt data sent between your website and your users. Any information you send is secure and not visible to others. This is vital for protecting sensitive information such as credit card numbers, passwords, and other data.

Without an SSL/TLS certificate, anyone on the same network as your website can intercept the traffic between your server and your user’s web browsers. This could allow them to see all the information being exchanged and even alter it before sending it along its way.

Difference Between SSL and TLS

TLS and SSL provide safe authentication and data transmission over the Internet. But how do TLS and SSL differ from one another? Do you need to be concerned about it?

SSL

TLS

The SSL stands for Secure Sockets Layer,  TLS stands for Transport Layer Security.
Netscape created SSL in 1995. Internet Engineering Taskforce (IETF) developed TLS for the first time in 1999.
Has three versions:

  • SSL 1.0
  • SSL 2.0,
  • SSL 3.0.
Has four versions:

  • TLS 1.0
  • TLS 1.1
  • TLS 1.2
  • TLS 1.3
In all versions of SSL, vulnerabilities have been found, and all have been deprecated.  From March 2020 onward, TLS 1.0 and 1.1 will no longer be supported.

In most cases, TLS 1.2 is used.

A web server and client communicate securely using SSL, a cryptographic protocol that uses explicit connections. Using TLS, the web server and client can communicate securely via implicit connections. TLS has replaced SSL.

Some other major differences in the working of SL and TLS are as follows:

Message Authentication

A primary difference between SSL and TLS is message authentication. SSL uses message authentication codes (MACs) to ensure messages are not tampered with during transmission. TLS does not use MACs for protection but instead relies on other means, such as encryption, to prevent tampering.

Record Protocol

The Record Protocol is how data is carried over a secure communications channel in both TLS and SSL, but it has some minor differences. In TLS, only one record may be taken per packet, while in SSL, multiple records may be carried per packet (though this was rarely implemented).

Additionally, some features in the Record Protocol of TLS are not included in SSL, such as compression and padding options.

Cipher Suites

TLS supports various cipher suites, which are algorithms used for encryption and decryption. The best-known cipher suite is the ephemeral Diffie-Hellman (DHE) key exchange based on elliptic curves, which provides perfect forward secrecy (PFS) and can be used with any key length. A few other cipher suites support PFS but are less widely used. SSL supports only one cipher suite with PFS, which uses a 1024-bit RSA key.

Alert Messages

The SSL protocol uses alert messages to inform the client or server about a specific error during communication. The TLS protocol does not have any equivalent mechanism.

In a nutshell, SSL is no longer in use, and TLS is the new term for the antiquated SSL protocol as a current encryption standard used by all. Although TLS is technically more accurate, SSL is widely used.

Why Did TLS Replace SSL?

To protect online applications or in-transit data from eavesdropping and alteration, TLS encryption is now a routine procedure. TLS has been vulnerable to breaches like Crime and Heartbleed in 2012 and 2014. Although it has demonstrated significant advances in efficiency and security, it is unrealistic to believe it is the most secure protocol.

Consensus Development’s Christopher Allen and Tim Dierks created the TLS 1.0 protocol, an improvement on SSL 3.0.

Even though the name change implies a substantial difference between the two, there weren’t many.

According to Dierks, Microsoft changed its name to save face. He stated:

To avoid giving the impression that the IETF was endorsing Netscape’s protocol, we had to rebrand SSL 3.0 as part of the horsetrading (for the same reason). And so, TLS 1.0 was created (which was SSL 3.1). Of course, looking back, the entire situation seems ridiculous.

SSL is being replaced with TLS, and practically all SSL versions have been deemed obsolete due to documented security flaws. One example is Google Chrome, which ceased using SSL 3.0 in 2014. The majority of contemporary online browsers do not support SSL at all.

Why Replace Your SSL Certificates with TLS Certificates?

The main reason for replacing your existing SSL certificates with new TLS certificates is that they are incompatible with each other — they use different protocols and algorithms. This means that any browser or client application that uses one protocol won’t be able to connect securely with a server using the other protocol without explicit configuration changes being made on both sides of the connection.

Final Words

Both SSL and TLS certificates provide the same function of encrypting data flow if you compare them. An improved and more secure version of SSL was TLS. However, SSL certificates, which are widely available online, have the same function of protecting your website. In actuality, they both provide the HTTPS address bar, which has come to be recognized as the distinguishing feature of online security.

While SSL and TLS safeguard your website from unauthorized usage, DMARC protects your email domain from impersonation. DMARC is an email authentication standard that enables you to take action against emails sent from unauthorized sources that impersonate your domain name.

Beginning your path towards DMARC enforcement with PowerDMARC will allow you to govern your domain fully, acquire visibility on your email channels at the quickest market rate, and safely transition to stricter policies!