什么是数据泄露?

截至2022年,美国数据分支的平均成本是在美国是 944万美元,而2021年为905万美元。毋庸置疑,数据对每个组织都至关重要,从长远来看,数据泄露会影响你的所有战略和行动方案。一般来说,数据泄露发生是由于脆弱的技术和未受教育的劳动力。随着技术使我们的设备相互连接,数据泄露的可能性增加,因为黑客得到了更多可利用的入口。

最近的数据泄露事件不亚于一个响亮的警报,公司必须投入时间和精力来保护他们的数据。因此,本博客将帮助你了解预防数据泄露的9种方法。但让我们先了解什么是数据泄露。

什么是数据泄露?

数据泄露是一种网络攻击,私人和敏感信息被披露给一个未经授权的实体。重要的文件在未经所有者许可的情况下被分享、查看和复制。通常情况下,恶意行为者利用薄弱的技术和粗心的用户行为,进入系统窃取或截获数据。

根据HIPAA杂志。 4,419医疗数据泄露事件在2009年至2021年期间,有4,419起500条或更多记录的医疗数据泄露事件被报道。这些违规事件导致314,063,186份医疗记录的丢失、被盗、暴露或不允许的披露。医疗保健数据泄露是非常普遍的,因为这些信息对黑客来说是有价值的。他们在暗网上出售这些信息,或利用这些信息来购买处方,接受治疗,或进行虚假医疗索赔。

数据泄露的目标是什么?

威胁者所针对的常见漏洞是。

薄弱的凭证

如果黑客拥有你的用户名和密码,他们可以解锁许多账户和文件夹。因此,千万不要设置容易被猜到的密码,并在多个账户中重复使用。他们可以尝试蛮力攻击,即使用试错技术来破解密码、登录凭证和 加密的电子邮件.

被破坏的资产

黑客实施 恶意软件攻击他们否定了用于保护计算机的认证工具。他们关闭防病毒和反恶意软件程序,在你不知情和不同意的情况下攻击你的系统。

支付卡诈骗

安装在读卡器上的盗卡器收集卡号,被网络犯罪分子滥用,以恢复并使用这些信息进行欺诈性消费。  

第三方访问

尽管采取了预防措施,以保持你的网络和数据安全,但坏的行为者利用第三方供应商进入你的系统,以达到恶意的目的。 

移动设备

雇员经常使用他们的个人移动设备用于专业用途。这些设备没有安全保障,无法下载注入恶意软件的链接,让黑客试图入侵数据。

如果你的数据被攻破会怎样?

数据泄露的代价不仅仅限于损失金钱;它还会阻碍你的品牌价值和客户关系。以下是如果你的数据被泄露会发生什么。

公司

竞争对手的公司可以利用被破坏的信息来阻止你的销售和营销策略,骗取源代码,获得客户数据的洞察力,等等。 

互联网服务公司雅虎! 互联网服务公司, 数据泄露名单上名列前茅 造成最大的损害。它遭受了两次重大的数据泄露事件(2013年8月和2016年9月),影响了数百万的账户。黑客窃取并滥用了姓名、电子邮件地址、电话号码、加密和未加密的安全问题、出生日期和散列密码等细节。

政府

泄露的政府数据可能将敏感信息暴露给外国方面和恐怖组织。这可能影响军事和金融行动,并对公民构成威胁。

个人

数据泄露会泄露你的个人信息,如社会保险号码、银行信息、医疗记录、登录凭证等。黑客可以滥用这些细节,以你的名义从事不同类型的欺诈活动,包括 网络钓鱼和欺骗.

数据泄露的类型

现在你对什么是数据泄露有了足够的了解以及它如何影响你,现在是时候了解它的类型了。

跨站脚本(XSS)攻击

跨站脚本,或称XSS,是一种攻击,网络犯罪分子将恶意脚本注入原本安全的可信网站中。当受害者访问一个被破坏的网站时,他们就容易受到这种攻击的影响。

这是医疗数据泄露事件中常见的一种技术。XSS的执行是为了窃取cookies,劫持用户会话,利用账户,拦截和窃取敏感信息,或访问你的设备的地理位置,麦克风,网络摄像头,蓝牙等。

SQL注入攻击

SQL是结构化查询语言的缩写,在这种攻击中,不良分子将恶意代码注入现有的SQL元素,以操纵系统给予访问。这是在试图拦截数据或找到管理证书并完全接管一个系统。 

MITM攻击

MITM即中间人攻击,是一种窃听攻击,威胁者干扰发送方和接收方的服务器之间的通信和数据传输。

防止数据泄露的9种方法

数据泄露的平均成本 小企业的平均成本也高达 298万美元.想象一下,对于一个大型企业来说,这可能是一个什么样的结果!

因此,每个企业主,无论规模大小,都应采取以下预防措施,以避免数据泄露。

1.数据备份和恢复

在最近的数据泄露事件中中,黑客窃取并加密数据,试图进行 勒索软件攻击他们要求高额赎金以换取解密密钥。这就是为什么你必须使用3-2-1规则来备份数据,根据该规则,你必须有3份数据副本;2份在不同的存储介质上(例如,笔式驱动器和硬盘),1份异地副本用于灾难恢复。

2.限制对你最有价值和最敏感的数据的访问

将机密文件的访问权交给需要它们来完成任务的人。这将使你宝贵和敏感的数据不容易被黑客利用。限制访问特定数据的员工数量,最终会缩小有人意外点击恶意链接的机会。

3.第三方供应商的合规性

限制你的第三方供应商可以访问的数据;你永远不知道谁打算把信息卖给你的对手或网络犯罪分子。 

4.保持你的软件更新

保持你的软件更新,因为他们有新漏洞的补丁,否则就会被利用。还要确保你的网站安全,无论它是用WordPress还是其他CMS建立的,因为网站漏洞是数据泄露的最大门径之一。你可以使用专门的程序,对所有软件的更新进行检查。这些都是有效但价格合理的。 

5.创建和更新政策

创建数据泄露政策,并持续更新它们。确保你对不遵守政策的人进行严格处罚。这将向你的员工表明,你对数据泄漏非常不自由,因此他们也应该认真对待。

6.教育你的员工

在所有级别的员工中传播什么是数据泄露的意识以及如何在第一时间防止它。你可以定期进行模拟演习,检查他们如何应对这种情况。帮助他们了解浏览器卫生和如何设置强密码。

7.处置前销毁

确保你使用旨在永久清除设备上的数据的软件来适当处理机密细节。你不能 仅仅通过删除文件或重新格式化设备来 完全防止 数据泄露

8.数据加密

如果你通过电子邮件分享机密数据,一定要对其进行加密。此外,避免使用公共Wi-Fi来分享和访问敏感数据。

9.保护便携式设备

丢失或偷窃闪存盘、智能手机、平板电脑、笔记本电脑和其他便携式设备是很容易的。因此,要设置强大和不可猜测的密码,并安装防盗应用程序。

As of 2022, the average cost of data branches in the USA is 9.44 million dollars, as against 9.05 million dollars in 2021. Undoubtedly, data is crucial to every organization, and its breach can affect all your strategies and course of action in the long run. Generally, data breaches happen due to vulnerable technology and an uneducated workforce. As technology enables us to interconnect our devices, the possibility of data slip-throughs increases because hackers get more entry points to exploit.

Recent data breach incidents have been no less than a loud alarm that companies must invest time and effort in safeguarding their data. Thus this blog will help you know 9 ways to prevent data breaches. But let’s start by understanding what a data breach is. 

What is a Data Breach?

A data breach is a cyberattack where private and sensitive information is disclosed to an unauthorized entity. The important documents are shared, viewed, and copied without the owner’s permission. Usually, malicious actors take advantage of weak technology and careless user behaviour to enter a system to steal or intercept data. 

As per HIPAA Journal, 4,419 healthcare data breaches of 500 or more records have been reported between 2009 and 2021. Those breaches have resulted in the loss, theft, exposure, or impermissible disclosure of 314,063,186 healthcare records. Healthcare data breaches are very common as the information is valuable to hackers. They sell it on the dark web or use it to purchase prescriptions, receive treatments, or make fake medical claims. 

What is Targeted in Data Breaching?

Common vulnerabilities targeted by threat actors are:

Weak Credentials

If hackers have your username and password, they can unlock many accounts and folders. So, never set passwords that are easily guessable and reused for multiple accounts. They can attempt brute force attacks, where they use trial and error techniques to crack passwords, login credentials, and encrypted emails

Compromised Assets

Hackers commit malware attacks where they negate authentication tools used to protect computers. They turn off antivirus and anti-malware programs to attack your system without your knowledge and consent.

Payment Card Fraud

Card skimmers installed on card readers collect card numbers that are misused by cyberactors to recover and use the information to make fraudulent purchases.  

Third-Party Access

Despite taking precautions to keep your network and data safe, bad actors use third-party vendors to enter your system for malicious purposes. 

Mobile Devices

Employees often use their personal mobile devices for professional purposes. These devices aren’t secured to download malware-injected links, letting hackers attempt data breaching.

What happens If Your Data Gets Breached?

The cost of data breaches isn’t limited to losing money only; it hampers your brand value and customer relationships as well. Here’s what can happen if your data gets breached.

Companies

Rival companies can use the breached information to forestall your sales and marketing strategies, cheat source codes, get insights on customer data, etc. 

Yahoo! the internet service company, tops the list of data breaches causing maximum damage. It suffered two major data breaches (in August 2013 and September 2016) that affected millions of accounts. Hackers stole and misused details like names, email addresses, phone numbers, encrypted and unencrypted security questions, date of birth, and hashed passwords. 

Government

Leaked government data can expose sensitive information to foreign parties and terrorist groups. This can impact military and financial operations and pose a threat to citizens.

Individuals

Data breaches can leak your personal information like social security numbers, banking details, medical history, login credentials, etc. Hackers can misuse the details to engage in different types of fraudulent activities in your name, including phishing and spoofing

Types of Data Breaches

Now that you know enough about what is a data breach and how it can impact you, it’s time to learn its types. 

Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) Attack

Cross-site scripting, or XSS, is an attack where cybercriminals inject malicious scripts into a trusted website that is otherwise safe. When victims visit a corrupted website, they become susceptible to this attack.

It’s a common technique witnessed in healthcare data breaches. XSS is executed to steal cookies, hijack users’ sessions, exploit accounts, intercept and steal sensitive information, or access your device’s geolocation, microphone, webcam, Bluetooth, etc. 

SQL Injection Attack

SQL stands for Structured Query Language, an attack where bad actors inject malicious codes into existing SQL elements to manipulate systems into giving access. This is attempted to intercept data or locate admin credentials and take over a system completely. 

MITM Attack

MITM, or man-in-the-middle attack, is an eavesdropping attack where threat actors disturb communication and data transfer between the sender and receiver’s servers.

9 Ways to Prevent Data Breaches

The average cost of data breaches for small businesses is also as high as $2.98 million. Imagine what it could be for a large business!

Thus, every business owner, irrespective of size, should practice the following preventive measures to steer clear of data breaches.

1. Data Backup and Recovery

In recent data breaches, hackers steal and encrypt data to attempt a ransomware attack where they demand hefty ransom in exchange for a decryption key. That’s why you must backup data using the 3-2-1 rule, according to which you must have 3 copies of your data; 2 on different storage media (for example, pen drive and hard drive) and 1 off-site copy for disaster recovery. 

2. Limit Access to Your Most Valuable and Sensitive Data

Give access to confidential files to people who require them to complete tasks. This will make your valuable and sensitive data less prone to hackers’ exploitation. Limiting the number of employees accessing specific data will eventually narrow the chances of someone accidentally clicking on malicious links.

3. Third-Party Vendor Compliance

Limit what data your third-party vendors can access; you never know who intends to sell the information to your rivals or cyber criminals. 

4. Keep Your Software Updated

Keep your software updated as they have patches for new vulnerabilities which can be exploited otherwise. You can use special programs that keep a check on updates of all the software. These are effective yet reasonably priced. 

5. Create and Update Policies

Create data breach policies and update them consistently. Make sure you levy strict penalties on anyone not abiding by them. This will show your employees that you’re very illiberal about data leakage, and hence they should also take it seriously.

6. Educate Your Workforce

Spread awareness among employees of all seniority levels on what is a data breach and how to prevent it in the first place. You can conduct regular mock drills to check how they respond to such situations. Help them learn about browser hygiene and how to set strong passwords.  

7. Destroy Before Disposal

Ensure you properly dispose of confidential details using software designed to permanently wipe data off devices. You can’t be fully protected against data breaching by just deleting the files or reformatting the devices. 

8. Data Encryption

Always encrypt confidential data if you’re sharing it over email. Also, avoid using public Wi-Fi for sharing and accessing sensitive data.

9. Safeguard Portable Devices

Losing or stealing flash drives, smartphones, tablets, laptops, and other portable devices is easy. So, set strong and unguessable passwords and install anti-theft applications.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)