什么是 "姓名权"(Typosquatting)?

拼写错误是指使用拼写错误的域名来欺骗用户,使其认为他们试图访问的网站是合法的。其结果是什么?用户被引导到带有恶意软件或网络钓鱼的网站,这可能导致身份被盗和其他严重问题。

在这篇文章中,我们将告诉你所有你需要知道的关于错别字权益的事情,它是如何运作的,以及如何防止它。 

什么是 "姓名权"(Typosquatting)?

盗版是指注册与目标网站的URL相似的网址,目的是诱使用户错误地输入合法的URL并登陆到钓鱼网站的页面。

在大多数情况下,"盗版者 "注册的域名与知名商标或版权短语相似。

例如,打字员可能会注册 "addidas.com",作为真正的商标 "adidas.com "的替代。

抢注域名有多种原因:欺骗人们认为他们在访问原网站,利用谷歌的排名算法,甚至只是因为域名所有者想使用该域名。

冒名顶替是如何进行的?

盗版涉及建立一个与真实网站几乎相同的网站,但在URL地址上有错别字。这些错别字是为了欺骗人们,让他们以为是在访问真正的网站。

为了避免被发现,盗版网站经常试图让自己看起来像一个更大的组织或企业的一部分。他们经常使用特定的颜色、字体、标识和主题,使他们的网站看起来像属于一个实际的公司。

下面是一个打字员如何打字的情况。

  1. 拼写错误者注册了一个匹配的域名
  2. 打字员注册了一个匹配的电子邮件地址
  3. 打字员向人们发送营销电子邮件,使他们相信他们收到的是他们信任的企业或组织的真实信息。
  4. 盗版者欺骗用户点击电子邮件中的链接,从而将他们引向盗版网站,该网站可能承载恶意软件或欺骗用户输入其个人信息。
  5. 当人们点击这些链接并输入他们的信息时,这些信息会被直接送回给打字员,他们可能会利用这些信息进行非法活动,如信用卡欺诈或在黑帽论坛上出售受害者的个人信息。

盗用商标的主要目的

Typosquatters可能会对用户造成伤害,(例如)使用虚假信息窃取信用卡号码,欺骗从事合法贸易的企业,或损害确实存在的合法企业主的声誉。

然而,许多不法之徒在注册错别字域名时并无恶意,而只是为了抢注等目的而使用这些域名。

窃取用户信息。 冒名顶替的目的是窃取用户信息,如用户名、密码、SSN和信用卡号码。冒名顶替使钓鱼网站看起来是合法的,这使得用户在输入他们的详细信息时更难识别。

诱饵和交换。 这涉及到一个假的网站,向你出售你可能在正确的网址上购买的东西。这些网上购物很难在你的信用卡账单上提出异议,因为它们从未在正确的网址上购买过。然而,买家仍然会付钱(因为他们一开始就相信这是合法的),但却没有得到他们想要的东西。

赚取流量。一些打字员通过打字引用高度知名的网站来获取流量,并为其被误认为是原网站的网页创造收入。在某些情况下,甚至搜索引擎也倾向于认为被打错的网站属于原网站,所以他们会在排名中给予更多的权重。

贬低目标网站的价值。 网络犯罪分子总是想蒙蔽观众的眼睛。他们想让人觉得他们的网站是真实的,而实际上他们并不关心他们所窃取的网站的声誉。他们想制造混乱和不确定性,所以他们会试图通过排版使这些网站看起来是合法的。这也会使真正的网站贬值,因为这将使人们相信冒牌网站(可能有很多垃圾和成人内容)才是原创网站。

赚取联营公司的佣金。商标犯罪分子经常在域名上打错字,以赚取快钱。他们利用这些网站通过联盟链接将流量转到该品牌的真实网站,从 "打字 "购物者的每笔购买中赚钱。

域名抢注。 抢注或域名抢注是指注册一个与其他公司的商标或公司名称相对应的域名的行为。抢注者将购买相匹配的域名,然后以更多的钱将其卖给真正的品牌所有者。抢注的目的是利用域名从另一方的品牌、声誉或商誉中获利。

盗版与IDN同源词攻击。有什么区别?

IDN同音字攻击是一种针对非ASCII字符的攻击类型。它与错别字攻击不同,因为它使用同音字而不是错别字,这使得它更难被发现,但它有相同的效果:劫持域名。

攻击者使用一个现有的同音字能力(或IPA能力)的域名来创建一个具有相同发音和拼写,但不同Unicode的新域名。

例如,一个名叫Xudong Zheng的技术怪胎负责在URL https://www.xn--80ak6aa92e.com/中创建一个模仿apple.com的假版本的苹果网站。

他的域名的真实版本https://www.xn--80ak6aa92e.com/(这不是苹果网站的实际URL),当你在一个旧的浏览器中加载URL时,看起来与apple.com完全一样。

最新版本的Chrome浏览器已经开发了一种安全机制,可以检测同源域名,但如果你从旧的浏览器加载上述URL,该URL会出人意料地显示为apple.com

Typosquatting Vs Domain Spoofing?

窃取别人的域名主要有两种方式:一是错别字抢注,或者干脆用错别字代替自己的真实域名;二是域名欺骗,即攻击者创建一个假的竞争对手的网站,看起来与原网站一模一样,但使用不同的URL。

在这两种情况下,目的是混淆谷歌和其他搜索引擎,使你的网站在搜索引擎结果中出现的位置比实际应该出现的位置高。

两者之间的区别是,拼写错误涉及到将别人的域名拼写得非常糟糕,以至于使他们的网站看起来像是被业余人员入侵的--这意味着往往会有与之相关的安全问题。相比之下,域名欺骗更有说服力,因为网站看起来与目标同行完全一样,但使用了一些轻微的差异(比如在主页上有拼写错误的单词),使其看起来更合法。

如果你的电子邮件域名不断地被欺骗或伪造,而且你的客户投诉收到你从未发送的假邮件。 DMARC执行是你缓解这一问题的最好办法。

保护你的在线业务不受 "姓名权 "的影响

你的在线业务正处于危险之中。不是来自你门前的一个穿风衣的人。或者一个神秘的黑客对其数据库的攻击。不,没有人试图从你那里偷走任何东西。这种威胁要微妙得多。它被称为错别字权益,它可能毁掉你的一切努力。

这里有一些关于如何保护你的在线业务免受排版侵权的提示。

为你的域名申请商标

当你保护你的企业名称时,对该名称进行商标注册也很重要。这对网站来说也是如此--不仅因为它可以防止错别字,而且还因为它可以为你提供法律保护,防止他人使用你的域名试图窃取你的客户。

商标的作用就像对其产品或服务的保证,因此,如果有人试图未经许可将你的某个产品或服务冒充为他们的产品或服务,他们将不仅侵犯你的商标权,而且还违反了联邦法律。

将您的域名托管给提供排版保护的ISP

当有人试图搜索有错别字的域名时,这些服务会自动将流量转到正确的网站。这意味着,打错字的尝试将失败。其次,如果有人试图注册一个名称中有拼写错误的域名(以类似于一个真正的商标),他们的注册将被拒绝。

向WIPO提出申诉

世界知识产权组织(WIPO)有一个统一的域名争议解决政策(UDRP)。这项政策允许真正的商标持有人对恶意使用其商标的用户提出投诉。这包括那些注册域名并在未经商标持有人许可的情况下使用该域名来推广其业务的人。

使用反欺骗性的电子邮件技术

大多数盗版犯罪活动是通过向正在寻找 "目标 "企业信息的人发送电子邮件,但却收到一封带有虚假链接或内容的电子邮件,这些内容误认为是 "目标 "企业,而实际上不是。

你可以采取措施,通过使用反欺骗技术来防止输入法活动,如 DMARC分析器.这使合法的企业主能够识别欺骗性的电子邮件,并在它们被传递到其他网络之前将其阻止。因此,防止这些类型的攻击可能造成的任何声誉或收入损失。

用PowerDMARC引领对抗欺骗性攻击的斗争

网络犯罪分子利用域名欺骗攻击来欺骗企业的手段已经变得越来越复杂。通过部署到位的反欺骗安全技术,可以防止这些攻击。

你是否担心你的电子邮件域名会成为欺骗性攻击的受害者?

成为一个 成为DMARC MSP可以提供帮助。

我们知道保护您的客户免受此类欺诈有多么重要,这就是为什么我们提供DMARC技术作为我们服务的一部分。

通过使用DMARC,你可以确保你的电子邮件域名不被任何第三方欺骗--更重要的是,让你的企业名称保持干净,在客户中保持良好的声誉。

我们提供 为我们的客户提供免费的DMARC试用,所以如果你想实时检查自己或他人的账户是否有恶意活动,那么今天就注册吧!

Ahona Rudra的最新文章(查看全部)

What is Typosquatting?

Typosquatting is the use of misspelled domain names to deceive users into thinking that the site they’re trying to access is legitimate. The result? Users are directed to sites with malware or phishing attempts, which can lead to identity theft and other serious problems.

In this article, we’ll tell you everything you need to know about typosquatting, how it works and how to prevent it. 

What is Typosquatting?

Typosquatting is the practice of registering web addresses that are similar to the target site’s URL, with the intent of tricking users into mistyping the legitimate URL and landing on a phishing page.

In most cases, the “typosquatter” registers a domain name that resembles a well-known trademarked or copyrighted phrase.

For example, the typosquatter might register “addidas.com” to serve as an alternative to the genuine and trademarked one “adidas.com.”

Typosquatting can be used for a variety of reasons: to trick people into thinking they’re accessing the original site, to take advantage of Google’s rankings algorithms, and even just because the owner wanted to use that domain name.

How Does Typosquatting Work?

Typosquatting involves setting up a website that’s almost identical to the real site, but with typos in the URL address. The typos are meant to trick people into thinking they’re visiting the real site.

To avoid detection, typosquatting sites often try to look like they’re part of a larger organization or business. They often use specific colors, fonts, logos, and themes to make their sites look like they belong to an actual company.

Here’s how a typosquatter might typosquat:

  1. The typosquatter registers a matching domain name
  2. The typosquatter registers a matching email address
  3. The typosquatter sends marketing emails to people, convincing them that they are receiving real messages from a business or organization that they trust.
  4. The typosquatter tricks users into clicking on links in the emails, which directs them to the typosquatted website that might be hosting malware or deceiving users to enter their personal information.
  5. When people click on one of these links and enter their information, it’s sent directly back to the typosquatter who may use it for illegitimate activities like credit card fraud or selling the victim’s personal information on blackhat forums.

Main Purposes of Typosquatting

Typosquatters may cause harm to users, (for example) by using fake information to steal credit card numbers, defrauding businesses engaged in legitimate trade, or damaging the reputation of legitimate business owners who do exist.

However, many unscrupulous individuals register typo domains with no malicious intent and instead use them solely for purposes like cybersquatting.

Stealing User Information: The purpose of typosquatting is to steal user information like usernames, passwords, SSNs, and credit card numbers. Typosquatting makes phishing sites look legitimate, which makes it harder for users to recognize when they are entering their details.

Bait and Switch: It involves a fake website that sells you something you might have bought at the correct URL. These online purchases are difficult to dispute on your credit card statement because they were never made at the correct URL. However, the buyer will still pay for it (because they believed it to be legitimate in the first place) and doesn’t get what they wanted.

Monetize Traffic: Some typosquatters typosquat highly famous websites to monetize traffic and generate revenue for their webpages that have been misidentified as the original site. In some cases, even search engines tend to think that the typoquoted site belongs to the original site, so they’ll give it more weight in their rankings.

Devalue a Target Site: Cybercriminals are always looking to pull the wool over their audience’s eyes. They want to make it seem as if their site is genuine when in reality they don’t care about the reputation of the site they’re stealing from. They want to create confusion and uncertainty, so they will try to make these sites look like they’re legitimate by typosquatting them. This will also devalue the genuine site, as it will make people believe that the impostor site (which could have lots of junk and adult content) is the original one.

Earn Affiliate Commissions: Trademark criminals often typo-squat on domain names to make a quick buck. They use these sites to redirect traffic to the brand’s real website through affiliate links, earning money for each purchase made by “typo” shoppers.

Domain Squatting: Cybersquatting or Domain Squatting is the act of registering a domain name that corresponds to the trademark or company name of another company. A cybersquatter will purchase the matching domain name to sell it to the real brand owner for more money. The goal of cybersquatting is to use a domain name to profit from another party’s brand, reputation, or goodwill.

Typosquatting vs IDN Homograph Attack: What’s The Difference?

An IDN Homograph Attack is a type of attack that targets non-ASCII characters. It’s different from typosquatting in that it uses homographs instead of typos, which makes it harder to detect, but it has the same effect: hijacking the domain.

The attacker uses an existing domain name that is homograph-competent (or IPA-competent) to create a new domain name with the same pronunciation and spelling, but a different Unicode.

For example, a tech geek named Xudong Zheng is responsible for creating a fake version of Apple’s website in the URL https://www.xn--80ak6aa92e.com/ which mimics apple.com

His domain’s real version https://www.xn--80ak6aa92e.com/ (which is not the actual URL of Apple’s website) appears exactly like apple.com when you load the URL in an old browser.

The most recent versions of Chrome have developed a security mechanism that detects homographic domains, but if you load the above URL from an old browser, the URL will surprisingly show as apple.com

Typosquatting Vs Domain Spoofing?

There are two main ways to steal someone else’s domain name: typosquatting, or simply using a typo instead of their real one; and domain spoofing, where an attacker creates a fake version of their competitor’s website that looks exactly like the original but uses a different URL.

In both cases, the goal is to confuse Google and other search engines so that your site will appear higher in search engine results than it actually should.

The difference between the two is that typosquatting involves misspelling someone else’s domain name so badly that it makes their site look like it was hacked by an amateur—which means there are often security issues associated with them. In contrast, domain spoofing is much more convincing because the website looks exactly like its target counterpart but uses some slight differences (like having misspelled words on the home page) that make it seem more legitimate.

If your email domain is continously being spoofed or forged and you’re getting complaints from your customers about receiving fake messages that you never sent, DMARC enforcement is your best shot at mitigating it. 

Protecting Your Online Business from Typosquatting

Your online business is in danger. Not from a man in a trench coat on your doorstep. Or an attack on its database by a mysterious hacker. Nope, no one’s trying to steal anything from you. The threat is much more subtle. It’s called typosquatting and it could ruin everything you worked for.

Here are some tips on how to protect your online business from typosquatting:

Trademark Your Domain Name

When you’re protecting your business name, it’s important to trademark that name as well. This is also true for websites—not only because it prevents typosquatting, but also because it gives you legal protection against others using your domain name in an attempt to steal your customers.

Trademarks act like guarantees on their product or service, so if someone tries to pass off one of your products or services as theirs without permission, they’ll be violating not just your trademark rights but also federal law.

Host Your Domain With an ISP that Offers Typosquatting Protection

These services will automatically redirect traffic to the correct site when someone tries to search a domain with a typo. This means that typosquatting attempts will fail. Secondly, if someone tries to register a domain with a spelling error in the name (to resemble a real trademark), their registration will be denied.

File a Complaint at WIPO

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has a Uniform Domain-Name Dispute-Resolution Policy (UDRP). This policy allows real trademark holders to file complaints against users who are using their trademarks in bad faith. This includes people who register a domain name and use it to promote their business without permission from the trademark holder.

Use Anti-Spoofing Email Technology

Most typosquatting criminal activities are performed by sending emails to people who are looking for information about a “target” business but instead get an email with a fake link or content that misrepresents itself as the “target” business when it’s not.

You can take steps to prevent typosquatting activities by using anti-spoofing technologies like DMARC analyzer. This allows legitimate business owners to identify spoofed emails and block them before they’re delivered to other networks. Thereby, preventing any loss of reputation or revenue that might result from these types of attacks.

Lead The Fight Against Spoofing Attacks with PowerDMARC

Cybercrooks have become increasingly sophisticated at using domain name spoofing attacks to deceive businesses. These attacks can be prevented by deploying anti-spoofing security technologies in place.

Are you worried about your email domain name can becoming a victim of spoofing attacks?

Becoming a DMARC MSP can help.

We know how important it is to protect your customers from such fraud, which is why we offer DMARC technology as part of our services.

By using DMARC, you can ensure that your email domain names are not being spoofed by any third party—and more importantly, allow you to keep your business name clean and in good standing with customers.

We offer free DMARC trial for our customers, so if you’d like to check yourself or others’ accounts for malicious activity in real-time then sign up today! 

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)