凭证式网络钓鱼

凭证式网络钓鱼战术并不新鲜。事实上,只要有电子邮件存在,这种类型的社会工程攻击就已经被用来欺骗人们透露安全信息了。现在唯一的区别是网络犯罪分子思考如何设计这些攻击的方式。他们依靠新技术和更可信的社会工程战术。但其核心是,凭证式网络钓鱼攻击之所以有效,是因为它们利用了人类对组织的信任。

DMARC是一个可行的解决方案,域名所有者可以利用它来保护他们的组织免受凭证式网络钓鱼攻击。

什么是凭证式网络钓鱼?

就像鱼叉式网络钓鱼和捕鲸一样,凭证式网络钓鱼是攻击者发起的一种流行的网络攻击形式,他们利用数字操纵,往往与心理压力的力量相结合,打破用户的防御,使他们成为他们战术的牺牲品。近来,96%的网络钓鱼攻击都是从欺诈性电子邮件开始的,这些电子邮件往往是披着可信组织的外衣发送的。在这方面,凭证式网络钓鱼也不例外。

它通常使用假的电子邮件,通过醒目的主题词在接收者中制造一种紧迫感。这些电子邮件的设计采用了复杂的社会工程策略,通过欺骗有效的组织域名,可以很容易地避开垃圾邮件过滤器和通用安全网关。在电子邮件正文中,通常有一个恶意链接,点击后会将接收者重定向到一个要求提供以下凭证的页面。

  • 银行凭证,然后攻击者利用这些凭证向攻击者控制的银行账户汇钱。
  • 公司凭证(如果受害者是被欺骗公司的雇员),然后攻击者利用这些凭证进入公司数据库,窃取敏感信息和资产。

无论是哪种方式,凭证式网络钓鱼活动都会在电子邮件接收者中激起一种紧迫感,而攻击者在冒充知名组织时发起的攻击会极大地影响公司的可信度和良好声誉。它也可能导致数据和金融资产的损失,并损害电子邮件营销工作。

DMARC如何防止凭证式网络钓鱼?

DMARC是一个强大的电子邮件验证系统,是为了解决网络钓鱼攻击和提高整个互联网的电子邮件安全而创建的。DMARC建立在SPF和DKIM等已有的协议之上。它们通过检查电子邮件标题的域名一致性,帮助验证你的外发电子邮件。DMARC允许域名所有者为虚假电子邮件制定政策,并选择是否要隔离它们或将它们阻挡在外。因此,它可以使凭证式网络钓鱼攻击远离并将其成功率降至最低。

配置DMARC涉及到改变一些DNS配置,在你的域名的DNS中发布一个DMARC记录。手动创建记录可能会留下人为错误的空间,因此,你可以使用DMARC记录生成器来达到这个目的。DMARC有助于减少你的域名上的欺诈活动的风险,同时随着时间的推移,你的电子邮件交付率将提高近10%。

如何轻松地阅读你的DMARC报告?

在为你的域名配置DMARC时,你可以选择为它们启用DMARC报告。 DMARC汇总报告提供了关于电子邮件发送源的细化细节,帮助你查看认证结果,衡量电子邮件性能,并更快地跟踪恶意发送者。网站管理员、电子邮件服务提供商和发送域使用DMARC聚合报告来监测和评估他们发送的电子邮件是否被认证,以及这些电子邮件的表现如何。这些报告帮助他们监控不合规的域名和发件人,衡量他们认证的成功率,并及时发现任何新的威胁。

然而,DMARC报告是以可扩展标记语言(Extensible Markup Language)发送的,这对非技术人员来说可能显得难以辨认。DMARC报告分析器为你提供了一个平台,这些XML文件被解析成更简单、可读和有组织的格式,帮助你在一个丰富多彩的仪表板上查看报告。它还允许你在同一时间查看多个域和发送源的结果,并通过以下方式过滤结果。

每个发送源 

每个主机

每个结果 

每个国家 

每个组织 

地理定位

详细的统计资料

今天就注册DMARC分析器,让您的组织得到应有的电子邮件安全的提升。

credential phishing

Credential phishing tactics are not new. In fact, this type of social engineering attack has been used to trick people into revealing secure information for as long as email has existed. The only difference now is the way cybercriminals are thinking about how to design these attacks. They’re relying on new technology and more believable social engineering tactics. But at its core credential phishing attacks work because they play on human’s trust in an organization.

DMARC is a viable solution that can be leveraged by domain owners to protect their organization against credential phishing attacks..

What is Credential Phishing?

Just like spear-phishing and whaling, credential phishing is a popular form of phishing attack launched by attackers wherein they use digital manipulation, often combined with the force of psychological pressure to break a user’s defenses and make them fall prey to their tactics. In recent times, 96% of all phishing attacks start with fraudulent emails that are often sent in the garb of trusted organizations. Credential phishing is no different in that aspect.

Often perpetrated using fake emails, it creates a sense of urgency among receivers with eye-catching subject lines. These emails are designed using sophisticated social engineering tactics that can easily evade spam filters and generic security gateways by spoofing valid organizational domains. Inside the email body, there is often a malicious link which when clicked on redirects the receiver to a page asking for either of the following credentials:

  • Banking credentials which the attacker then uses to wire money transfers into an attacker-controlled bank account
  • Corporate credentials (in case the victim is an employee of the spoofed company) which the attacker then uses to gain access to company databases and steal sensitive information and assets

Either way, credential phishing campaigns instigates a sense of exigency among email receivers, while launched by attackers while impersonating a reputed organization can drastically impact the company’s credibility and good name. It can lead to the loss of data and financial assets, as well, and hurt email marketing efforts.

How Does DMARC Prevent Credential Phishing?

DMARC is a powerful email validation system that was created to address phishing attacks and improve email security across the Internet. DMARC builds on pre-existing protocols like SPF and DKIM. They help validate your outbound emails by checking email headers for domain alignment. DMARC allows domain owners to set down a policy for fake emails, and choose whether they want to quarantine them or block them out. Subsequently, it keeps credential phishing attacks at bay and minimizes its success rate.

Configuring DMARC involves changing a few DNS configurations by publishing a DMARC record in your domain’s DNS. Manually creating a record can leave room for human error, hence, you can use a DMARC record generator to serve the purpose. DMARC helps reduce the risk of fraudulent activities on your domain while improving your email deliverability rate by almost 10% over time.

How to Read Your DMARC Reports Easily?

When configuring DMARC for your domains, you have the choice to enable DMARC reporting for them.  DMARC aggregate reports provide granular details on email sending sources helping you view your authentication results, measure email performances and track malicious senders faster. Webmasters, email service providers, and sending domains use DMARC aggregate reports to monitor and evaluate whether the emails they send are being authenticated and how those email messages are performing. These reports help them monitor non-compliant domains and senders, measure the success rate of their authentication and identify any new threats in a timely manner.

However, DMARC reports are sent in Extensible Markup Language, which can appear indecipherable to non-technical individuals. A DMARC report analyzer provides you with a platform where these XML files are parsed into a simpler, readable, and organized format that helps you view your reports on a colorful dashboard. It also allows you to view the results for multiple domains and sending sources at the same time, and filter results by:

Per sending source 

Per host

Per result 

Per country 

Per organization 

Geolocation

Detailed stats

Give your organization the boost of email security it rightfully deserves, by signing up for your DMARC analyzer today!