钓鱼网站

让我们来谈一谈欺骗问题。当你听到 "网络钓鱼"、"商业电子邮件泄露 "或 "网络犯罪 "这样的字眼时,你脑海中首先浮现的是什么?大多数人都会想到与电子邮件安全有关的东西,而且很可能你也会这样做。这是完全正确的:我刚才提到的每一个术语都是网络攻击的形式,犯罪分子利用社会工程和其他技术来获取敏感信息和金钱。显然,这是不好的,组织应该尽其所能保护自己免受其害。

但这还有另一面,一些组织根本没有考虑到这一点,而这一点对他们同样重要。网络钓鱼不仅使你面临更高的数据和金钱损失风险,而且你的品牌也有同样大的损失机会。事实上,这种机会高达63%:这就是很多消费者在经历了一次不满意的经历后可能会停止购买一个品牌

电子邮件钓鱼攻击如何危害你的品牌?

了解网络钓鱼如何损害你的组织的系统是相当简单的。但一次网络攻击的长期影响?就不那么简单了。

这样想一想吧。在大多数情况下,用户在检查他们的电子邮件时,很可能会点击一封来自他们熟悉和信任的人或品牌的电子邮件。如果邮件看起来足够逼真,他们甚至不会注意到假的和不假的区别。这封邮件甚至可能有一个链接,通向一个看起来和你的组织的登录门户一模一样的页面,他们在那里输入他们的用户名和密码。

后来,一旦他们听说他们的信用卡资料和地址被泄露给公众,除了你的组织,他们就无处可寻了。毕竟,是 "你的电子邮件 "导致了这场灾难,是你缺乏安全保障。当你自己的客户对你的品牌和它的信誉完全失去信心时,会给你的品牌的光学效果带来巨大的问题。你不仅仅是那个被黑客攻击的公司,你是那个允许他们的数据通过你发送的电子邮件被盗的公司。

不难看出,从长远来看,这可能会严重损害你的底线,特别是当新的、潜在的客户被成为你的电子邮件的另一个受害者的前景所拒绝。网络犯罪分子利用你的客户对你的品牌的信任和忠诚度,并积极利用它来对付你。这就是商业电子邮件入侵(BEC)比技术安全问题更重要的原因。

哪些是受影响最严重的行业?

医药公司是一些最频繁的网络钓鱼和网络攻击的目标企业。根据一项对财富500强制药公司的研究,仅在2018年的最后3个月,每家公司平均面临71次电子邮件欺诈攻击。这是因为制药公司拥有关于新化学品和医药产品的宝贵知识产权。如果攻击者能够窃取这些信息,他们可以在黑市上出售这些信息,以获取巨额利润。

建筑和房地产公司也不遑多让。金融服务企业和金融机构尤其面临着敏感数据或大笔资金通过精心策划的商业以及供应商电子邮件破坏(VEC)攻击 而被盗的持续威胁。

所有这些行业都从客户对其品牌的信任中受益匪浅,他们与品牌的关系直接影响到他们与公司的业务。如果消费者觉得该公司没有能力保护他们的数据、金钱或其他资产的安全,这将对该品牌造成损害,有时甚至是无法弥补的。

了解更多关于你的特定行业的电子邮件安全。

如何拯救你的品牌?

营销就是要建立你的品牌形象,让受众不仅记住,而且与质量和可靠性联系起来。而实现这一目标的第一步是确保你的域名。

网络犯罪分子欺骗你的组织的域名并冒充你的品牌,所以当他们向毫无戒心的用户发送电子邮件时,它看起来就像来自你。与其指望用户识别哪些邮件是真的,哪些是假的(这在很多时候几乎是不可能的,特别是对于外行人来说),你可以完全阻止这些邮件进入用户的收件箱。

DMARC是一个电子邮件认证协议,它就像一个接收电子邮件服务器的说明书。每次从你的域名发送电子邮件时,接收方的电子邮件服务器都会检查你的DMARC记录(在你的DNS上公布),并验证该电子邮件。如果电子邮件是合法的,它就 "通过 "DMARC认证,并被送到用户的收件箱中。

如果该邮件来自未经授权的发件人,根据你的DMARC政策,该邮件可能被直接发送到垃圾邮件中,甚至被直接阻止。

在此了解更多关于DMARC的工作原理。

DMARC几乎可以完全消除所有来自你的域名的垃圾邮件,因为它不是在假邮件离开你的域名时进行阻止,而是在邮件到达接收者的服务器时检查其真实性。

如果你已经实施了DMARC,并且正在寻找方法使你的品牌安全更进一步,那么就有了信息识别的品牌指标(BIMI)。这个新的电子邮件安全标准将你的品牌标志贴在每一封来自你的域名并经过DMARC认证的电子邮件旁边。

现在,当你的客户看到你发送的电子邮件时,他们会将你的标志与你的品牌联系起来,提高品牌记忆。而当他们看到你的标志时,他们会学会只信任旁边有你的标志的邮件。

在此了解更多关于BIMI的信息。

Let’s talk about spoofing for a minute. When you hear words like ‘phishing’, ‘business email compromise’ or ‘cybercrime’, what’s the first that pops into your head? Most people would think about something on the lines of email security, and chances are, you did, too. And that’s absolutely right: each of the terms I just mentioned are forms of cyberattack, where a criminal uses social engineering and other techniques to gain access to sensitive information and money. Obviously that’s bad, and organizations should do everything they can to protect themselves against it.

But there’s another side to this, one that some organizations simply don’t consider, and it’s one that’s equally important to them. Phishing doesn’t just put you at a higher risk of losing data and money, but your brand stands an equally large chance of losing out, too. In fact, that chance is as high as 63%: that’s how many consumers are likely to stop shopping a brand after just a single unsatisfactory experience.

How Do Email Phishing Attacks Harm Your Brand?

Understanding how phishing can compromise your organization’s systems is fairly straightforward. But the long-term effects of a single cyberattack? Not so much.

Think about it this way. In most cases, a user checking their email is likely going to click on an email from a person or brand they know and trust. If the email looks realistic enough, they wouldn’t even notice the difference between one that’s fake and one that’s not. The email might even have a link leading to a page that looks exactly like your organization’s login portal, where they type in their username and password.

Later on, once they hear that their credit card details and address have been leaked to the public, there’s nowhere to turn to but your organization. After all, it was ‘your email’ that caused the disaster, your lack of security. When your own customers totally lose faith in your brand and its credibility, it can cause huge problems for the optics of your brand. You’re not just the company that got hacked, you’re the company that allowed their data to be stolen through an email you sent.

It’s not hard to see how this could seriously hurt your bottom line in the long run, especially when new, potential customers are turned off by the prospect of being another victim of your emails. Cybercriminals take the trust and loyalty that your customers have in your brand, and actively use it against you. And that’s what makes Business Email Compromise (BEC) so much more than a technical security issue.

What Are Some of the Worst-Hit Industries?

Pharmaceutical companies are some of the most frequently targeted businesses for phishing and cyberattacks. According to a study of Fortune 500 pharmaceutical companies, in just the last 3 months of 2018, each company faced on average 71 email fraud attacks. That’s because drug companies hold valuable intellectual property on new chemicals and pharmaceutical products. If an attacker can steal this information, they can sell them on the black market for a hefty profit.

Construction and real estate companies aren’t too far behind, either. Financial service companies and financial institutions in particular face the constant threat of having sensitive data or large sums of money stolen from them through carefully planned Business as well as Vendor Email Compromise (VEC) attacks. 

All these industries benefit greatly from customers trusting their brands, and their relationship with the brands directly influences their business with the companies. If a consumer were to feel like that company wasn’t capable of keeping their data, money or other assets safe, it would be detrimental to the brand, and sometimes, irreparably so.

Learn more about email security for your specific industry.

How Can You Save Your Brand?

Marketing is all about building your brand image into something that audiences won’t just remember, but associate with quality and reliability. And the first step towards that is by securing your domain.

Cybercriminals spoof your organization’s domain and impersonate your brand, so when they send an email to an unsuspecting user, it will appear like it’s coming from you. Rather than expecting users to identify which emails are real and which ones aren’t (which very often is almost impossible, particularly for the layman), you can instead prevent those emails from entering users’ inboxes entirely.

DMARC is an email authentication protocol that acts like an instruction manual for a receiving email server. Every time an email is sent from your domain, the receiver’s email server checks your DMARC records (published on your DNS), and validates the email. If the email is legitimate, it ‘passes’ DMARC authentication, and gets delivered to the user’s inbox.

If the email is from an unauthorized sender, depending on your DMARC policy, the email can be either sent directly to spam, or even blocked outright.

Learn more about how DMARC works here.

DMARC can almost completely eliminate all spam emails that originate from your domain, because instead of blocking fake emails as they leave your domain, it instead checks for authenticity as the email arrives in the receiver’s server.

If you’ve already implemented DMARC and are looking for ways to take your brand security even further, there’s Brand Indicators for Message Identification (BIMI). This new email security standard affixes your brand’s logo next to every email from your domain that’s been authenticated by DMARC.

Now, when your customers see an email you’ve sent, they’ll associate your logo with your brand, improving brand recall. And when they see your logo, they’ll learn to only trust emails that have your logo next to them.

Learn more about BIMI here.