尽管活跃网站的确切数量不断变化,但平均而言。 175个新网站 每分钟都有175个新网站被创建!这就意味着每天有252,000个新网站。不用说,用户必须输入一个网站的URL才能到达所需的页面;这就是DNS SOA记录的作用的开始。

我们已经讨论过什么是 DNS记录和它的类型。在这篇文章中,你会知道什么是DNS SOA记录。继续阅读到最后,了解它的重要性,结构,程序,以及更多。

什么是DNS SOA记录?

SOA记录或Start of Authority记录是DNS记录的一种类型,包含关键信息,如管理员的电子邮件地址、刷新服务器的时间框架、域名更新历史等。在你各自的DNS中配置一个SOA记录对于与IETF(互联网和工程任务组)标准保持一致是很重要的。 

DNS SOA记录是成功转移区域的必要条件,因为你必须将它们从主服务器发送到辅助服务器。 

典型的DNS SOA记录中包括什么?

一个标准的DNS SOA记录将包括以下细节。

  • 域的主名称服务器。
  • 一个域名的责任方的对应关系。
  • 一个时间戳,以记录所有的更新。
  • 区域刷新的剩余秒数。
  • 丢弃失败刷新的剩余秒数。
  • 在一个区被标记为非权威性之前,以秒为单位的上限。
  • 负面的结果是TTL或生存时间。TTL是指一个数据包或数据存活的时间。 

为什么你需要一个SOA记录?

一个DNS SOA记录持有关于你的区域的详细信息。DNS名称服务器通常被设置在集群中,数据库使用内部区域传输进行同步。任何没有SOA记录的区域都不符合IETF的协议,而且区域传输也不可能。因此,由IT驱动的企业主必须知道什么是DNS SOA记录。

什么是DNS中的区域转移?

要了解SOA记录如何工作,你必须知道DNS中的区域转移是什么。 

区域转移是在整个DNS服务器上复制主服务器上任何区域的内容的过程。这消除了在多个服务器上编辑信息的需要。因此,你可以在主服务器上编辑信息,并将其复制到其他服务器上,节省时间和精力。 

SOA记录是如何工作的?

DNS是一个分散的系统,按照层次结构工作。因此,名称服务器通过管理所有的区域文件,向专用于特定区域的服务器提供信息。这些是简单的文本文件,包含有关所有DNS记录的详细信息。这些记录提供了一些问题的信息,如是否已请求正确的服务器来解决一个责任。 

DNS SOA记录对于服务器集群是必要的,因为它们在设备之间分配请求。这避免了可能导致系统故障的特定服务器的过载。

区域转移必须定期进行,以使区域文件在所有涉及的服务器上保持活跃。然而,从属服务器(位于层次结构较低的服务器)必须与主服务器(特定域中维护权威地图的单一主机)同时进行。

它指导了区域转移应该如何进行和监管。因此,DNS SOA记录接收所有类型的信息。

SOA记录结构

现在你知道什么是DNS SOA记录,现在是时候了解一下它的结构了。

如前所述,DNS SOA记录有与特定DNS区域或域相关的重要信息。该记录以一种有组织的方式排列,容易被服务器和浏览器所理解。以下是标准SOA记录结构中包括的内容。

系列号

这是一个区域文件的修订号,每次文件改变时都会改变。这个值应该被改变,以便所做的改变将分布在所有DNS服务器上。在大多数系统中,这个过程是自动的。

主名称服务器

顾名思义,它是一个区域的主要DNS服务器。如果你输入一个无效的主域名服务器,它将变回默认的。

DNS管理员电子邮件

它是负责管理特定DNS和区域文件的人的电子邮件地址。如果你输入了错误的电子邮件地址,它会变回默认地址。

刷新率

刷新率是指二级服务器在查询一级DNS SOA记录的更新之前所等待的时间,单位为秒。刷新率从1200到43200秒不等。

重试率

重试率是指辅助服务器在重试失败的区域传输之前所等待的时间(秒)。通常,刷新率比重试率要高,默认的刷新率是1800秒。然而,它可以在180到2419200秒之间变化。 

过期时间

这是一个辅助服务器试图完成区域转移的时间,以秒为单位。如果这个时间在区域转移完成之前过期,其区域文件也将过期。次级服务器不会响应查询,因为它认为数据已经过期。默认的过期时间是1,209,600秒。

默认TTL

TTL是Time-to-Live的缩写,是指一个数据包或数据生存的时间段。其他服务器使用这个值来知道他们应该在缓存中保留多久的数据。默认值是3600秒或1小时。

SOA记录检查

你可以使用专门的工具或网络服务来检查你网站的DNS SOA记录。你只需要输入一个相关的域名,下面的页面将显示'A'记录。你可以在相应的领域选择'SOA'来检查记录。 

公共DNS甚至允许你与DNS建立额外的有效连接;然而,只有有限的资源提供这个。通过DNS收到的信息从发起人那里流过,安全协议在理论上是不能被操纵的。 

这种类型的SOA记录检查请求是使用 "问题和答案 "的格式进行的。你可以寻求主服务器,管理员的电子邮件地址,以及时间规格。 

当你在PowerDMARC平台上注册时,你可以使用我们的SOA记录查询工具验证你的SOA记录。这个过程是即时和准确的,其结果可以突出你的记录中的错误,帮助你更快地排除问题! 

最后的思考

DNS SOA记录包含敏感信息,如管理员的电子邮件地址、服务器刷新时间框架、域名更新历史等。这些记录有助于区域转移,即在所有二级DNS服务器上复制任何区域的内容的过程。这节省了手动复制内容的时间和精力。SOA记录在各个服务器之间分配请求,以避免拥堵和故障。 

信息技术驱动的企业必须遵守 DMARC政策基于SPF和DKIM协议的工作。你必须在DNS中发布一条DMARC记录,指示收件人的邮箱如何按照设定的政策处理你的电子邮件。你可以使用 DMARC分析器来深入了解与之相关的几个问题。

Although the exact number of active websites keeps changing, on average, 175 new websites are created every minute! This translates into 252,000 new websites each day. Needless to say, users have to enter a website’s URL to reach the desired page; this is where the role of the DNS SOA record begins. 

We’ve already discussed what is a DNS record and its types previously. In this post, you’ll know what is a DNS SOA record. Keep reading till the end to know its importance, structure, procedure, and more. 

What is a DNS SOA Record?

SOA record or Start of Authority record is a type of DNS record containing crucial information like the administrator’s email address, refreshing server timeframe, domain updating history, etc. Configuring an SOA record in your respective DNS is important to align with the IETF (Internet and Engineering Task Force) standards. 

DNS SOA records are needed for successful zone transfers as you’ve to send them from a primary server to a secondary server. 

What is Included in a Typical DNS SOA Record?

A standard DNS SOA record will include the following details:

  • Primary name server of a domain.
  • Correspondence of the responsible party of a domain.
  • A timestamp to capture all the updates made.
  • The number of seconds left for zone refreshment.
  • The number of seconds left for discarding a failed refresh.
  • The upper limit in seconds before a zone is labeled as inauthoritative.
  • The negative result TTL or Time-to-Live. TTL is the amount of time that a packet or data survives for. 

Why Do You Need an SOA Record?

A DNS SOA record holds details about your zone. DNS name servers are usually set up in clusters, and the database is synchronized using internal zone transfers. Any zone without an SOA record fails to comply with IETF’s protocols, and zone transfer isn’t possible. Thus IT-driven business owners must know what is a DNS SOA record.

What is Zone Transfer in DNS?

To understand how SOA records work, you must know what zone transfer is in DNS. 

Zone transfer is the process of replicating any zone’s content on a primary server across DNS servers. This eliminates the need to edit information on multiple servers. So, you can edit information on the main server and copy it to others, saving time and effort. 

How Do SOA Records Work?

DNS is a decentralized system working as per a hierarchy. So, name servers supply information to the servers dedicated to a particular zone by administering all the zone files. These are simple text files containing details regarding all the DNS records. These records offer information on the number of issues, like if the right server has been requested to resolute a responsibility or not. 

DNS SOA records are necessary for server clusters as they distribute requests among devices. This averts the overloading of a specific server that may lead to system failure.

A zone transfer must be performed regularly for zone files to remain active on all the involved servers. However, slaves (servers situated lower on the hierarchy) must be contemporized with the master server (the single host in a particular domain that maintains the authoritative maps).

It directs how a zone transfer should be carried out and regulated. Thus, a DNS SOA record receives all types of information.

SOA Record Structure

Now that you know what is a DNS SOA record, it’s time to know a bit about its structure.

As already stated, a DNS SOA record has vital information related to a specific DNS zone or domain. This record is aligned in an organized manner that is easily comprehended by servers and browsers. Here’s what is included in a standard SOA record structure:

Serial Number

It’s the revision number of a zone file, which changes every time a file changes. This value should be changed so that changes made will be distributed across all DNS servers. In most systems, this process is automatic.

Primary Name Server

As the name says, it’s the primary DNS server of a zone. It changes back to the default one if you enter an invalid primary name server.

DNS Admin Email

It’s the email address of the person responsible for administering particular DNS and zone files. If you enter the wrong email address, it changes back to the default one.

Refresh Rate

Refresh rate is the time in seconds for which a secondary server waits before querying the primary DNS SOA record for updates. The refresh rate varies from 1200 to 43,200 seconds.

Retry Rate

Retry rate is the time in seconds for which a secondary server waits before retrying a failed zone transfer. Typically, the refresh rate is more than the retry rate, and the default rate is 1800 seconds. However, it can vary between 180 and 2,419,200 seconds. 

Expire Time

It’s the time in seconds that a secondary server tries to finish a zone transfer. If this time expires before the completion of a zone transfer, its zone files will also be expired. The secondary server won’t respond to queries as it perceives the data to be old. The default expiration time is 1,209,600 seconds.

Default TTL

TTL stands for Time-to-Live, which is the time period for which a packet or data lives for. Other servers use this value to know how long they should keep the data in the cache. The default value is 3,600 seconds or 1 hour.

SOA Record Check

You can use special tools or web services to check your website’s DNS SOA record. All you need to do is enter a relevant domain, and the following page will display the ‘A’ record. You can select ‘SOA’ in the appropriate field to check records. 

Public DNS allows you even to establish additional efficient connections with DNS; however, only limited resources offer this. The information received via DNS flows from the originator, and the security protocols can’t be manipulated theoretically. 

This type of SOA record check request is performed using the ‘Question and Answer’ format. You can seek the master server, the admin’s email address, and the time specifications. 

You can verify your SOA record using our SOA record lookup tool when you sign up on the PowerDMARC platform. The process is instantaneous and accurate, with results that highlight errors in your record, helping you troubleshoot issues faster! 

Final Thoughts

DNS SOA record contains sensitive information like an administrator’s email address, server refreshing timeframe, domain update history, etc. These records help in zone transfer, the process of copying any zone’s content across all the secondary DNS servers. This saves time and effort in manually replicating content. SOA records distribute requests among various servers to avoid congestion and breakdown. 

Infotech-driven businesses must comply with a DMARC policy that works based on SPF and DKIM protocols. You’ve to publish a DMARC record in the DNS to instruct recipients’ mailboxes on how to deal with your emails per the policies set. You can use the DMARC analyzer to gain insights on several issues related to it.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)