什么是 "鱼叉式网络钓鱼 "及如何阻止它?

你知道什么是鱼叉式网络钓鱼吗?如果你使用过互联网,你可能知道。在各种网络钓鱼骗局中,最常见的攻击方法是鱼叉式网络钓鱼,目前仍有65%的人利用这种方法。 65%所有已知的威胁行为者。不幸的是,大多数公司的反网络钓鱼策略往往有一个薄弱环节。

不清楚什么是鱼叉式网络钓鱼?你来对地方了!

鱼叉式网络钓鱼是一种针对个人或组织的攻击。这种方法使用电子邮件来说服收件人透露机密信息。它看起来像一封来自可信来源的电子邮件,例如受害者认识并信任的人。

在鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击中,犯罪分子使用社会工程学技术来实施攻击。他们收集有关公司及其员工的信息,以创建一个看似真实的电子邮件。网络犯罪分子可能会使用过去被攻破的机密员工数据来更有效地个性化他们的信息。

鱼叉式网络钓鱼可用于身份盗窃或欺诈,以及窃取知识产权和其他敏感数据。

鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击是如何工作的?

鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击可以通过各种方式进行。典型的技术包括。

  • 鱼叉式钓鱼者向目标发送一封电子邮件。电子邮件收件人可能会被提示访问任何恶意链接或附件,这将使他们的机器感染恶意软件或要求赎金。
  • 鱼叉式钓鱼者要求访问社交媒体账户或用户名和密码,同时冒充朋友、同事、主管或其他可靠的人,以收集他们将用于在其他地方渗出数据的信息。
  • 鱼叉式网络钓鱼者向受害者发送电子邮件,链接到一个虚假网站,并提示目标输入个人或敏感数据,如密码、登录凭证或访问代码。

鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击比传统攻击更难,因为它们需要攻击者付出更多的时间和精力。然而,它们也更有效,因为它们是个性化的,直接针对一个组织内的某个人(有时甚至是某个人)。

日益增长的 "鱼叉式 "网络钓鱼攻击的威胁

由于检测鱼叉式网络钓鱼的困难,远程工作队伍的普遍存在,以及技术安全的松懈,它已成为全世界网络犯罪分子的首选武器。

根据最近的数据,鱼叉式网络钓鱼正成为对人们和企业越来越严重的危害。

根据一项调查,在 2020年8月至10月期间进行的一项调查,全球87%的鱼叉式网络钓鱼尝试发生在工作日,通常是在工作周。周六和周日的攻击仅占所有攻击的13%。

鱼叉式钓鱼攻击可能涉及一封电子邮件,看起来像是来自受害者的银行或像亚马逊这样值得信赖的公司,让不明就里的人感到不舒服。该信息可能看起来是发货通知或要求确认交易,诱使读者点击有害链接或提供敏感的个人数据。

网络犯罪分子也以这种方式瞄准企业,经常只挑选某家公司的几个员工。这些消费者可能会收到一封令人信服的电子邮件,命令他们汇款、提供密码或泄露公司的敏感信息,并声称是来自他们的老板或其他公司主管。

在这两种情况下,鱼叉式网络钓鱼邮件往往传达出一种紧迫感。这意味着受害者有这样的想法:如果不迅速采取行动,他们将遭受最严重的影响。

什么有助于防止 "鱼叉式网络钓鱼"?

用DMARC认证你的邮件

电子邮件认证的一个普遍标准是DMARC。它使发件人能够确认电子邮件来自于它声称的那个人。这有助于减少垃圾邮件和鱼叉式网络钓鱼的尝试,这是当今最常见的两种网络犯罪。近年来,DMARC已被部署,其优势已被Gmail、雅虎和其他许多大型电子邮件供应商所称赞。

DMARC是如何阻止 "鱼叉式 "网络钓鱼的?

A DMARC政策p=reject的模式可以成为打击各种在线威胁的有用工具,如电子邮件网络钓鱼和直接域名欺骗。

DMARC有助于电子邮件的来源验证,并防止接收和打开假的电子邮件。但在实践中,只有一小部分公司遵循该协议,而成功做到这一点的就更少了。

为了使实施和监测对域名所有者来说不是一件难事,推荐的做法是配置一个 DMARC分析器.它可以帮助你全面了解你的电子邮件渠道,这是DMARC的一个主要好处。早些时候,公司只能在网络钓鱼攻击发生后才能了解到。DMARC通过不断的源头验证和监控,使其有可能在攻击开始之前就加以预防。客户可以在这些攻击中得到提醒,这要归功于 DMARC报告.

此外,当你在p=reject时,通过将你独特的品牌标志添加到单独发给客户的邮件中,你可以利用 BIMI 的视觉识别功能。

保持所有软件的更新

防范恶意软件(恶意软件)的最好方法是为你的操作系统和应用程序安装最新的安全更新。安全补丁将修复软件中任何已知的安全缺陷,所以你必须跟上它们。

教育你的员工了解鱼叉式网络钓鱼

对你的员工进行识别和避免鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击的培训是防止有人成为鱼叉式网络钓鱼的受害者的关键。例如,教他们合法的电子邮件与非法的电子邮件看起来像什么,可以帮助他们发现潜在的红旗。你还应该教他们如何报告可疑的电子邮件或电话,这样他们就知道在怀疑有什么不妥时应该采取什么行动。

尽量减少密码的使用

密码经常被用于鱼叉式网络钓鱼活动的初始攻击阶段,因此尽可能地减少密码的使用是很重要的。这可以通过使用多因素认证或基于设备类型或位置的访问限制来实现。

创建一个以安全为中心的文化

如果你希望挫败鱼叉式钓鱼者访问敏感数据或资源的企图,安全问题必须根植于每个员工的日常生活中。应该鼓励员工报告可疑的电子邮件,并询问来自外部的任何不寻常的信息要求。知道应该注意哪些迹象的人越多,你的组织就越能完全避免它们。

结束语

所以,现在你知道什么是鱼叉式网络钓鱼,它是如何工作的,以及你可以采取哪些预防措施来避免它。简而言之,鱼叉式网络钓鱼是定制的网络钓鱼。它是一种精心制作的尝试,试图愚弄你,让你交出信息。使其更加危险的是,它看起来是来自你认识和信任的人,而不是一些随机的垃圾邮件发送者。

避免成为这种类型的网络攻击的受害者的最好方法是警惕任何看起来可疑的信息。在与他们分享任何机密或个人的信息之前,一定要核实发件人。此外,用DMARC等工具来验证你的电子邮件。

What is Spear Phishing & How to Stop it?

Do you know what is spear phishing? You might know if you’ve used the Internet. The most common method of attack among the various phishing scams is spear phishing, which is still utilized by 65% of all known threat actors. Unfortunately, most firms’ anti-phishing strategies tend to have a weak spot in their workforce.

Not sure what is spear phishing? You’re in the right place!

Spear phishing is a targeted attack on an individual or organization. This method uses an email to persuade the recipient to reveal confidential information. It looks like an email comes from a trusted source, such as someone the victim knows and trusts.

In a spear phishing attack, criminals use social engineering techniques to carry out their attacks. They gather information about the company and its employees to create an email that seems authentic. Cybercriminals may use confidential employee data from past breaches to personalize their messages more effectively.

Spear phishing can be used for identity theft or fraud and for stealing intellectual property and other sensitive data.

How Does a Spear Phishing Attack Work?

Spear phishing attacks can be carried out in a variety of ways. Typical techniques include:

  • An email is sent to the target by a spear phisher. The email recipient may be prompted to access any malicious links or attachments, which will infect their machine with malware or demand ransom.
  • A spear phisher asks for access to social media accounts or usernames and passwords while posing as a friend, coworker, supervisor, or another reliable person to gather the information they will use to exfiltrate data elsewhere.
  • A spear phisher sends a victim an email that links to a fake website where the target is prompted to enter personal or sensitive data like PINs, login credentials, or access codes.

Spear phishing attacks are harder than traditional ones because they require more time and effort on behalf of the attacker. However, they’re also more effective because they’re personalized and targeted directly at someone within an organization (or sometimes even an individual).

The Growing Threat of Spear Phishing Attacks

Due to the difficulties of detecting spear phishing, the prevalence of remote workforces, and lax technical security, it has become the weapon of choice for cybercriminals worldwide.

According to recent data, spear phishing is becoming an increasingly serious hazard to people and businesses.

According to a survey done between August and October 2020, 87% of all spear-phishing attempts worldwide took place on business days, typically during the workweek. Attacks on Saturdays and Sundays accounted for just 13% of all attacks.

A spear-phishing assault could involve an email that appears to be from the victim’s bank or a trustworthy company like Amazon for the unwary person. The message can seem to be a shipping notice or a request for a confirmation of a transaction, alluring the reader to click a harmful link or provide sensitive personal data.

Cybercriminals also target businesses this way, frequently picking just a few employees at a particular corporation. These consumers may get a convincing email ordering them to send money, provide a password, or divulge sensitive company information, purporting to be from their boss or another company executive.

A spear-phishing email often conveys a sense of urgency in both situations. It means victims have the idea that they will suffer the most serious repercussions if prompt action is not taken.

What helps protect from Spear Phishing?

Authenticate Your Emails With DMARC

A universal standard for email authentication is DMARC. It enables senders to confirm that the email originates from the person it purports to be from. This helps reduce spam and spear phishing attempts, two of today’s most common cybercrimes. In recent years, DMARC has been deployed, and its advantages have been lauded by Gmail, Yahoo, and numerous other big email providers.

How Does DMARC Stop Spear Phishing?

A DMARC policy mode of p=reject can be a useful tool in the fight against a variety of online threats, such as email phishing and direct-domain spoofing.

DMARC aids in email origin verification and prevents the receipt and opening of fake emails. But in practice, only a small percentage of companies have followed the protocol, and even fewer have done so successfully.

To make implementation and monitoring a no-brainer for domain owners, the recommended practice is to configure a DMARC Analyzer. It helps you gain complete insight into your email channels, a major benefit of DMARC. Earlier, firms could learn about phishing attacks only after one had already occurred. DMARC makes it possible to prevent attacks before their inception through constant source verification and monitoring. Customers can be alerted about these attacks thanks to DMARC reports.

Additionally, by adding your distinctive brand logo to separate outgoing emails sent to your clients while you are on p=reject, you may take advantage of BIMI visual identification features.

Keep All Your Softwares Updated

The best way to protect against malicious software (malware) is to install the latest security updates for your operating system and applications. Security patches will fix any known security flaws in the software, so you must keep up with them.

Educate Your Employees About Spear Phishing

Training your employees on identifying and avoiding spear phishing attacks is key in preventing someone from falling victim to one. For example, teaching them what a legitimate email looks like versus an illegitimate one can help them spot potential red flags. You should also teach them how to report suspicious emails or phone calls so they know what action to take if they suspect something might be amiss.

Minimize Password Usage

Passwords are often used in the initial attack phase of a spear phishing campaign, so it’s important to minimize their use as much as possible. This can be done using multifactor authentication or restricting access based on device type or location.

Create a Security-centric Culture

Security must be ingrained into every employee’s daily routine if you hope to thwart spear phishers’ attempts to access sensitive data or resources. Employees should be encouraged to report suspicious emails and ask about any unusual requests for information from outside parties. The more people who know what signs to look out for, the better your organization can avoid them altogether.

Wrapping Up

So now you know what spear phishing is, how it works, and the preventive measures you can take to avoid it. In short, spear phishing is tailored phishing. It’s a carefully crafted attempt at fooling you into giving up information. What makes it even more dangerous is that it appears to have come from someone you know and trust, not some random spammer.

The best way to avoid being victimized by this type of cyber attack is to be on the lookout for any messages that look suspicious. Always verify the originator before sharing anything confidential or personal with them. Also, authenticate your emails with tools like DMARC.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)