电子邮件是什么时候发明的?电子邮件的历史

电子邮件在我们的个人和职业生活中不可或缺。从组织会议到支付电话费,收到你孩子的进度报告,以及交换机密的官方文件,如今一切都以电子邮件为主。但是,你知道电子邮件是什么时候发明的,电子邮件是什么时候开始发送的吗?

本博客讨论了雷-汤姆林森如何发送他的第一封电子邮件 以及这些年来它们是如何演变的。

电子邮件的简史

你有没有想过,第一封电子邮件是什么时候发出的?

它是在1971年发出的。雷-汤姆林森是这一革命性步骤背后的人。他想出了一个名为SNDMSG的创新软件。他把这封创造历史的电子邮件发送到他自己房间里的桌面上,以便检查软件的效率。他是在发送电子邮件时开始使用"@"符号的人。 

然而,值得注意的是,"电子邮件 "一词是在更晚的时候创造出来的。 

电子邮件旅程中的里程碑

让我们简单看看电子邮件的一些主要里程碑。

1971- 电子邮件是什么时候发明的?

如果你想知道电子邮件是什么时候发明的那就是在1971年由汤姆林森发明的。他开发了一个程序,让用户向作为ARPANET系统一部分的不同计算机发送信息。

ARPANET,即高级研究计划局网络,是由美国国防部机构制作的。它使用分组交换技术来发送和接收数据,并有内置的纠错和打包装配。它实际上是互联网系统的第一个架构。

1973年--第一个电子邮件标准

在Darpa,提出了第一个电子邮件标准的建议。这包括基本的东西,如收件人和发件人的字段,电子邮件转发,等等。 

1976年--女王首次发送电子邮件

伊丽莎白二世女王在访问皇家信号和雷达机构时,在ARPANET的电子邮件程序上发送了第一封电子邮件。她使用的用户名是HME2(伊丽莎白二世陛下),是第一个这样做的首脑。

1978年 - 第一封垃圾邮件

1978年,Gary Thuerk通过向多个ARPANET用户发送电子邮件营销信息,成为 "垃圾邮件之父"。根据他的说法,加里通过发送电子邮件赚取了多达1300万美元的收入。 钓鱼和垃圾邮件电子邮件。

1979年--制定电子邮件计划

Shiva Ayyadurai在14岁时创建了一个办公室之间的程序,当时他在新泽西医科和牙科大学。他把这个程序命名为 "EMAIL"。他接着在1982年为这个词申请了版权。 

1988年--微软邮件

微软邮件于1988年为MAC OS用户出现。这个邮件服务是为了让AppleTalk网络的用户互相发送信息。微软后来在1991年发布了第二个版本,它更像是Outlook的祖先。

1989年--电子邮件有了声音

正是在1989年,人们开始收到语音通知--"您有一封邮件."埃尔伍德-爱德华兹令人印象深刻的声音为他赢得了很多关注。同时,它也增加了收到电子邮件的人的热情和兴奋。

1991年--太空中的电子邮件

有史以来第一封来自太空的电子邮件是由亚特兰蒂斯号航天飞机的机组人员在将近31年前发送的。他们使用Macintosh Portable来发送该信息。 

1992 - 多用途互联网邮件扩展

MIME或多用途互联网邮件扩展允许人们发送不同格式的电子邮件,如字符集和多媒体附件(音频、图像、视频等)。

1993年--网络邮件的诞生

哈拉姆-贝克,一位网络安全专家和欧洲核子研究中心雇员,发现了有史以来第一个版本的网络邮件。这只是一个测试版本,不可能进入公共领域。 

2002年--无线电子邮件

黑莓5810是在2002年发布的。第一批电子邮件 是通过2002年的这些黑莓设备进行的。

2003年--CAN-SPAM法案

当时的总统乔治-W-布什通过了《CAN-SPAM法案》。该法案也被称为 "控制非请求的色情制品和营销的攻击",旨在监管商业电子邮件。 

2004 - Gmail

Gmail是在2004年推出的。它完全改变了游戏规则,给网络邮件竞争对手带来了激烈的竞争。那时,Gmail曾提供价值1GB的存储空间。Gmail还引入了电子邮件线程和增强的搜索选项等功能。 

2010年--响应式电子邮件

随着智能手机和iPhone的普及,最大的挑战是使电子邮件对智能手机友好。2010年前后,人们开始努力使这些电子邮件具有响应性。智能手机用户现在可以在他们的智能手机上打开电子邮件。 

2012年--总统的电子邮件成功

奥巴马一直是现代化的火炬手。在2012年的连任竞选中,奥巴马团队接受了电子邮件营销和社会媒体营销,以接触到普通人。他的电子邮件的主题总是写着:"嘿!"。"

电子邮件是否安全?

不!不能认为电子邮件是100%安全的。虽然电子邮件认证协议,如 DMARC使电子邮件对商业更加安全.仍然有一些潜在的威胁,你必须注意。

  • 一封邮件要经过多个网络

当一封电子邮件被发送时,它要经过多个网络和服务器。在每个服务器或网络上,都存在着电子邮件被黑客拦截的潜在威胁。 

  • 电子邮件的发送者完全没有控制权

发送电子邮件后,你就完全失去了对它的控制。威胁者可以访问它,试图进行恶意活动,如 诈骗.他们还可以通过创建以下内容将其转发给你的潜在客户和顾客 恶意附件.由于邮件正文说的是你的公司,你将对所有的邪恶活动负责。

  • 电子邮件加密并不是百分之百的万无一失

电子邮件加密容易受到黑客攻击。此前,在Outlook中,发现了一个名为EFAIL的故障。后来在2019年,人们发现攻击者可以冒充管理员运行命令。 

  • 网络钓鱼风险与日俱增

网络钓鱼经常被用来收集用户的个人信息,如信用卡信息、用户名和密码。冒名顶替者利用网络钓鱼电子邮件欺骗你分享机密和敏感的细节,利用这些细节试图以你的名义进行邪恶的活动或进行金钱交易。即使是垃圾邮件过滤器也不能完全阻止网络钓鱼的企图。 

如何防止基于电子邮件的网络钓鱼和欺骗攻击?

幸运的是,使用SPF、DKIM、DMARC和BIMI等电子邮件认证协议,可以将基于电子邮件的网络钓鱼和欺骗行为降到最低。

SPF

SPF或发件人政策框架,指定他们用来发送电子邮件的服务器。这使得恶意行为者在欺骗发件人信息方面具有挑战性。

DKIM

DKIMDKIM是DomainKeys Identified Mail的缩写,它基于公钥密码学,通过在邮件头添加数字签名来工作。

DMARC

A DMARC 帮助指定当一封邮件未能通过SPF和DKIM检查时的处理方式,选择其中一个策略--无,拒绝,或隔离。DMARC的DNS记录还规定了如果一封邮件未能通过验证,收件人如何向域名所有者报告。

BIMI

BIMI是 "信息识别的品牌指标 "的简称,该协议通过你的品牌的电子邮件域名将你的独家品牌标识贴在你的所有电子邮件上。

最后的思考

电子邮件已经成为我们生活中不可或缺的一部分。我们将其用于专业以及个人目的。从1970年代到2022年,电子邮件已经走过了漫长的道路。在这些年里,电子邮件经历了革命性的变化。在电子邮件的历史上。程序员和计算机专家对一次又一次地改造电子邮件作出了重大贡献。

when was email invented? History of email

Emails are integral to our personal and professional life. From organizing a meeting to paying phone bills, receiving your kid’s progress report, and exchanging confidential official documents, everything is email-based these days. But do you when was email invented and when did email start being sent?

This blog discusses how Ray Tomlinson sent out his first emails and how they evolved over the years. 

Brief History of Email

Have you wondered when was the first email sent?

It was sent in 1971. Ray Tomlinson was the man behind this revolutionary step. He came up with an innovative software called SNDMSG. He sent this history-making email to a desktop that was present in his own room in order to check the efficiency of the software. He was the one who started using the “@” symbol while sending emails. 

However, the noteworthy thing is that the term “email” was coined much later. 

Milestones In The Email Journey

Let’s have a brief look at some of the major milestones of emails:

1971- When was email invented?

If you are wondering when email was invented, it was in 1971 by Tomlinson. He developed a program that let users send messages to different computers that were a part of the ARPANET system. 

ARPANET, or Advanced Research Projects Agency Network, was produced by the U.S. Department of Defense Agency. It uses packet-switch technology to send and receive data with built-in error correction and package assembly. It’s actually the first architecture of the internet system.

1973 – First Email Standard

At Darpa, the proposal for the first email standard was made. This included basic things like the fields of to and from, email forwarding, etc. 

1976 – The Queen Sent Her First-Ever Email

Queen Elizabeth II sent the first email on ARPANET’s electronic mail program on her visit to the Royal Signals and Radar Establishment. She used the username HME2 (Her Majesty Elizabeth II) and was the first head to do so.

1978 – First Ever Spam Email

In 1978, Gary Thuerk became the “Father of Spam” by sending an email marketing message to multiple ARPANET users. As per his claims, Gary made as much as $13 million by sending phishing and spam emails. 

1979 – Development of Email Program

Shiva Ayyadurai created an interoffice program at the age of 14 while he was at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. He named this program “EMAIL.” He went on to copyright the term in 1982. 

1988 – Microsoft Mail

Microsoft Mail came up in 1988 for MAC OS users. This mail service was meant for AppleTalk Networks users to send messages to each other. Microsoft released the second version later in 1991, which was more like the ancestor of Outlook.

1989 – Email Got a Voice

It was in 1989 that people started getting a voice notification – “You’ve got a mail.” The impressive voice of Elwood Edwards garnered him lots of attention. And at the same time, it increased the enthusiasm and excitement of people who received emails.

1991 – Email in Space

The first-ever email from space was sent almost 31 years ago by the crew of the Atlantis space shuttle. They used a Macintosh Portable to send the message. 

1992 – Multipurpose Internet Mail Extension

MIME or Multipurpose Internet Mail Extension allows people to send emails in different formats such as character sets and multimedia attachments (audio, images, videos etc.)

1993 – The Birth of Webmail

Hallam-Baker, a cybersecurity professional and CERN employee, discovered the first-ever version of webmail. It was just a test version and could not make it to the public arena. 

2002 – Wireless email

Blackberry 5810 was released in the year 2002. The first emails to go wireless was through these Blackberry devices in 2002.  

2003 – CAN-SPAM Act

The then president George W. Bush passed the CAN-SPAM Act. Also known as Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography And Marketing, this Act aimed at regulating commercial emails. 

2004 –  Gmail

Gmail was launched in the year 2004. It became a complete game changer and gave tough competition to webmail competitors. Back then, Gmail used to offer a storage space worth 1 GB. Gmail also introduced features like email threads and enhanced search options. 

2010 – Responsive Emails

With easy accessibility to smartphones and iPhones, the biggest challenge was making email smartphone friendly. 2010 was the time around which efforts started being made to make these emails responsive. Smartphone users could now open emails on their smartphones. 

2012 – Presidential Email Success

Obama has always been a torchbearer of modernization. In 2012 during his re-election campaigns, team Obama embraced email marketing and social media marketing to reach out to the common people. The subject on his emails always read, “Hey!” 

Are Emails Safe?

No! Emails cannot be considered 100% safe. Although email authentication protocols like DMARC make emails safer for business. There are still some potential threats that you must be aware of. 

  • An Email Goes Through Multiple Networks

When an email is sent, it goes through multiple networks and servers. At each server or network, there is a potential threat of the email getting intercepted by hackers. 

  • The Sender of an Email Has Absolutely No Control

After sending an email, you lose control over it completely. Threat actors can access it to attempt malicious activities like scamming. They can also forward it to your prospects and clients by creating malicious attachments. Since the email body speaks about your company, you’ll be held accountable for all the nefarious activities.

  • Email Encryption is Not 100% Fail-Proof

Email encryption is vulnerable to hacking. Previously, in Outlook, a glitch was discovered called EFAIL. Later in 2019, it was discovered that attackers could run commands posing as admins. 

  • Phishing Risk is Increasing With Every Passing Day

Phishing is often used to gather users’ personal information, such as credit card details, usernames, and passwords. Phishing emails are used by imposters to trick you into sharing confidential and sensitive details, which are exploited to attempt nefarious activities in your name or make monetary transactions. Even spam filters fail to block phishing attempts completely. 

How To Prevent Email-Based Phishing and Spoofing Attacks?

Fortunately, email-based phishing and spoofing can be minimized using email authentication protocols like SPF, DKIM, DMARC, and BIMI.

SPF

SPF or Sender Policy Framework specifies the email servers they use to send emails. This makes it challenging for malicious actors to spoof sender information.

DKIM

DKIM is short for DomainKeys Identified Mail, which is based on public key cryptography and works by adding a digital signature to the message header.

DMARC

A DMARC helps specify what to do if an email fails both SPF and DKIM checks by choosing one of the policies- none, reject, or quarantine. The DMARC DNS record also specifies how the recipient can report to the domain owner if an email fails authentication. 

BIMI

BIMI is short for Brand Indicators for Message Identification, a protocol that affixes your exclusive brand logo to all your emails via your brand’s email domain. 

Final Thoughts

Emails have become an integral part of our lives. We use it for professional as well as personal purposes. From the 1970s to 2022, emails have traversed a long way. In all these years, emails have undergone revolutionary changes. In the history of email, programmers and computer experts have contributed significantly to revamping emails time and again.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)