什么是尾随攻击?

尾随攻击 "是一种社会工程的形式,强调物理元素而不是虚拟元素。尾随攻击本质上是一种社会工程攻击,攻击者跟随合法个人进入他们不被允许进入的禁区。在考虑数据泄露问题时,人们经常想象邪恶的网络犯罪分子从远处行动。然而,允许未经授权的人进入你的财产,可能是通过尾随攻击,使企业处于机密或敏感信息被泄露的危险之中。

大多数网络攻击是社会工程风险的结果。根据研究,这些攻击正变得越来越频繁。网络钓鱼,一种常见的社会工程类型,是超过 90%成功的网络威胁的开始。

大多数人都能认出一个直接的网络钓鱼骗局。但你或你的同事能发现尾随者吗?

让我们深入了解什么是追尾行为以及你如何能够防止它。

尾牙的定义

在一个有形的。 社会工程 在一种被称为 "尾随 "的攻击中,一个人试图进入一个对他们来说是禁区的空间。

在现实世界中,追尾的意思是指一辆车非常紧密地跟随另一辆车,给前面的驾驶者带来危险和不适。

尾随攻击包括在利用另一个人的时候潜入一个禁止的地方。可以通过紧紧跟随某人("嘿!请把住门。与网络钓鱼或借口攻击一样,攻击者也可以通过冒充他人来欺骗人们。

然而,尾随者与其他社会工程攻击不同。为了获得私人信息、金钱等,是一种物理入侵。在这种情况下,它更类似于诱骗。

尾随者是哪种类型攻击的例子?

尾随是社会工程攻击的一个例子。

社会工程是一种黑客攻击的形式,它通过利用人性和做决定的弱点来攻击人。社会工程师使用操纵手段来获取你的数据和资源。

攻击者使用受害者的凭证来访问网络。尾随是指某人与另一个有合法授权进入建筑物或房间的人一起进入建筑物或房间,但在他们身后保持足够近的距离,以便他们可以在不被安全措施质疑的情况下进入。

例如,如果你必须输入你的用户名和密码才能进入一个安全区域,有人可能站在你身后,看着你输入信息。然后,他们可以自己使用这些信息来进入。

什么是尾牙社会工程?

尾随式社会工程是一种利用双方信任和熟悉程度的攻击。

尾随社会工程是通过跟随授权用户进入受限区域或设施的一种物理入侵行为。它也被称为尾随或捎带,盗贼通常用它来进入受限制的建筑物和区域,如数据中心、仓库和工厂。

尾随社会工程的例子

尾随社会工程的一个例子是,攻击者在没有扫描授权用户的凭证的情况下跟随他们进门。这通常比冒充某人更容易,也更难被安全人员发现,因为它需要足够接近受害者而不显眼。

在另一个例子中,黑客们使用 鱼叉式网络钓鱼恶意附件的电子邮件,这些附件含有对Adobe Reader或Microsoft Office等常见软件程序的漏洞的利用。该附件也可能是一个含有恶意软件的ZIP文件,如果你打开它,就会感染你的电脑。打开这些附件允许黑客访问你的电脑。它允许他们收集信息,如密码或个人资料,他们可以在未来对你或使用同一网络的其他人进行攻击。

哪些是常见的尾牙方法?

尾随网络攻击的一个标准方法是用类似的服装或外表冒充员工,如穿上制服或背上与员工使用的相同的背包,然后跟着他们进门。

其他常见的方法包括。

  • 使用与目标组织发放的徽章有类似标记(如标识)的假身份证。攻击者在与保安或接待人员交谈时,也可能冒充他人的徽章号码。
  • 使用从另一个人那里偷来的凭证;以及
  • 使用从专门从事身份盗窃和数据泄露的犯罪分子那里在线购买的假凭证。

如何防止尾随者?

如果你能意识到这一点,追尾是很容易预防的。以下是一些确保安全追尾的提示。

培训你的员工

防止尾随的最关键步骤是教育你的员工遵守安全程序的重要性。定期开展培训课程,确保所有员工了解他们在保持设施安全方面的作用。

改善实体安全

确保所有的入口和出口都是安全的,有良好的物理安全措施,如锁、警报器、监控摄像头,必要时还有警卫。这将有助于确保只有被授权的人才能进入你的建筑或校园的这些区域。

了解社会工程

人们尾随的原因之一是他们认识在公司工作的人,他们认为这个人会让他们通过而不检查他们的证书。这被称为社会工程,你应该确保你的所有员工都知道其中的危险。如果他们知道,如果他们让别人在不检查其证书的情况下通过,他们可能会被解雇,这将使他们不愿意这样做。

使用安全摄像头

保安摄像机可以帮助阻止尾随者,因为它们被安装在每一栋有报警系统的建筑物的每个入口和出口处。这样,保安人员可以查看录像,看到谁试图未经授权进入大楼,并立即报告,以便一旦他们通过尚未安装安全摄像头的前门或大厅区域进入大楼,他们可以阻止他们进一步进入大楼。

访客证书

访客凭证允许某人以有限的特权进入你的设施。例如,他们可能被允许进入某些区域,而只有在有适当凭证的员工陪同下才能进入其他区域。

最后的话

尾随攻击是依靠对计算机系统或网络具有有限或中等权限访问的未经授权的用户,通过搭上另一个用户的授权访问,获得对系统敏感区域的相同访问。它对企业网络安全至关重要,特别是对公共系统和高风险企业。

因此,最好对你下载的东西小心谨慎,并用复杂的密码来保护你的游戏账户。

what is a tailgating attack?

A “tailgating attack” is a form of social engineering that emphasizes physical elements over virtual ones. Tailgating is essentially a social engineering attack in which the attacker follows a legitimate individual into a prohibited area where they are not allowed to be. People frequently picture nefarious cybercriminals acting from afar when considering data breaches. However, allowing someone without authorization to enter your property, possibly through a tailgating attack, puts businesses in danger of having their confidential or sensitive information leaked.

Most cyberattacks are the result of social engineering risks. According to research, these attacks are becoming more frequent. Phishing, a common type of social engineering, is where more than 90% of successful cyber threats begin.

Most people can recognize a straightforward phishing scam. But can you or your coworker spot tailgating?

Let’s dive in to learn what is tailgating and how you can prevent it yourself. 

Tailgating Definition

In a physical, social engineering attack known as tailgating, a person tries to enter a space that is off-limits to them.

In the real world, tailgating meaning is when a car follows another very closely, posing danger and discomfort to the front motorist.

A tailgating attack involves sneaking into a prohibited place while using another person. It is possible to do so by closely following someone (“Hey! Please hold the door. As with phishing or pretexting, attackers can also trick people by posing as someone else.

However, tailgating is not like other Social Engineering attacks. To gain access to private information, money, etc., is a physical intrusion. In this way, it resembles baiting more.

Tailgating Is an Example of What Type of Attack?

Tailgating is an example of a social engineering attack.

Social engineering is a form of hacking that targets people by exploiting human nature and weaknesses in making decisions. Social engineers use manipulation to get access to your data and resources.

The attacker uses the victim’s credentials to access the network. Tailgating occurs when someone enters a building or room with another person who has legitimate authorization to access the building or room but remains close enough behind them so that they can enter without being challenged by security measures.

For example, if you have to enter your username and password to get into a secure area, someone could stand behind you and watch as you type in your information. They could then use that information themselves to gain entry.

What Is Tailgating Social Engineering?

Tailgating social engineering is an attack that takes advantage of the trust and familiarity between two parties.

Tailgating social engineering is a physical intrusion by following an authorized user into a restricted area or facility. It’s also known as piggybacking or piggybacking, and thieves commonly use it to access restricted buildings and areas, such as data centers, warehouses, and factories.

Examples of Tailgating Social Engineering

An example of tailgating social engineering is when an attacker follows an authorized user through the door without scanning their credentials. This is generally easier than impersonating someone and harder for security personnel to detect because it requires being close enough to the victim without being obvious.

In another example, hackers use spear phishing emails with malicious attachments that hold exploits for vulnerabilities in common software programs like Adobe Reader or Microsoft Office. The attachment may also be a ZIP file containing malware that can infect your computer if you open it. Opening these attachments allows hackers access to your computer. It allows them to collect information, such as passwords or personal details, that they can use in future attacks against you or others who use the same network.

What Are Common Tailgating Methods?

A standard method of tailgating cyber attacks is to impersonate an employee with similar clothing or appearance, such as wearing a uniform or carrying a backpack identical to those used by employees, and then following them through the door.

Other common methods include:

  • Using a fake ID badge with similar markings as those issued by your target organization (e.g., logos). The attacker may also impersonate someone else’s badge number when speaking with security guards or receptionists;
  • Using stolen credentials from another individual; and
  • Using fake credentials purchased online from criminals specializing in identity theft and data breaches.

How To Prevent Tailgating?

Tailgating can be easy to prevent if you’re aware of it. Here are some tips to ensure security tailgating :

Train Your Employees

The most crucial step in preventing tailgating is educating your employees on the importance of following security procedures. Conduct regular training sessions and ensure all employees understand their role in keeping your facility safe.

Improve Physical Security

Ensure all entrances and exits are secure with good physical security measures such as locks, alarms, surveillance cameras, and guards if necessary. This will help ensure that only authorized people can access these areas of your building or campus.

Know About Social Engineering

One of the reasons why people tailgate is because they know someone who works in the company, and they think this person will let them go through without checking their credentials. This is called social engineering, and you should ensure all your employees are aware of the dangers involved. If they know that they might get fired if they let someone go through without checking their credentials, it will discourage them from doing so.

Use Security Cams

Security cameras can help deter tailgating because they’re installed at every entrance and exit of every building with an alarm system. This way, security personnel can view the footage and see who’s trying to get into the building without authorization and report it immediately so that they can stop them from entering further into the building once they’ve gained access through the front entrance or lobby area where security cams aren’t installed yet.

Visitors Credentials

A visitor’s credential allows someone access to your facility with limited privileges. For example, they may be allowed in certain areas and only in others if accompanied by an employee with proper credentials.

Final Words

The tailgating attack relies on unauthorized users with limited or moderately privileged access to a computer system or network to gain the same access to sensitive areas of the system by piggybacking on the authorized access of another user. It is essential for corporate network security, especially for public systems and high-risk enterprises.

So, it’s always better to be careful with what you download and to protect your gaming account with a complex password.