如何从勒索软件攻击中恢复?

在整个2021年和2022年,勒索软件是一个主要的新闻话题。你可能听说过重要企业、组织或政府机构被攻击的故事,或者你可能亲自成为你的设备被勒索软件攻击的受害者。 根据一项研究2021年1月至2月期间进行的一项研究,勒索软件攻击影响了全球约37%的企业。

你的所有文件和数据被扣为人质,直到你付款为止,这是一个严重的问题,也是一个可怕的想法。今天我们讨论如何从勒索软件攻击中恢复,以防你已经成为勒索软件的牺牲品。  

勒索软件。概述、定义和实例

赎金软件是一种恶意软件,它锁定你的电脑或文件,并要求支付赎金以解锁它们。勒索软件可以通过钓鱼邮件、虚假广告或从不值得信赖的网站下载的软件安装。一旦安装,赎金软件可能会加密你的所有文件,使你无法使用它们。

与其他病毒或恶意软件不同,勒索软件对在暗网上偷窃或出售数据不感兴趣。它的存在只是为了通过挟持受害者的信息来勒索钱财,直到他们收到他们想要的付款来换取信息的释放。

最新的勒索软件攻击实例。Kaseya - 2021年7月

2021年7月,卡西亚公司发生了近期最重大的勒索软件攻击事件之一。通过感染约50个利用卡西亚产品的管理服务提供商,针对该IT公司的攻击蔓延到1500个组织。

卡西亚拒绝支付臭名昭著的REvil集团7000万美元的要求,以弥补损失。尽管一家第三方安全公司创建了一个通用的解密密钥来阻止攻击,但国土安全部仍然对它感兴趣,因为它的规模巨大。不到两周后,网络安全和基础设施安全局(CISA)发布了勒索软件规则。

预防勒索软件攻击的方法

如何避免勒索软件攻击?

首先,你的主要目标应该是防范勒索软件。以下是一些可能有助于避免勒索软件攻击的方法。

  • 一个安全的备份解决方案。
  • 保持你的防病毒软件与最新的病毒定义保持同步。
  • 确保你使用管理服务提供者(MSP)来控制你的系统和数据。
  • 对你的IT员工进行安全最佳实践培训,确保他们了解最新的威胁以及如何避免这些威胁。
  • 考虑投资于安全的网络网关、电子邮件安全解决方案和其他终端保护软件,在攻击生命周期的各个阶段(预防、检测、阻止)防止恶意软件的感染。
  • 使用电子邮件认证方法,如 DMARC.

DMARC有什么帮助?

DMARC是基于域的消息认证、报告和一致性的简称。它的目的是通过域对齐检测和防止欺骗。

DMARC使用SPF和DKIM认证标准来检测恶意的IP地址、伪造和域名冒充。

如果你使用DMARC,当一封电子邮件未能通过认证(因为它看起来像是由发件人以外的人发送的),它就会被归类为垃圾邮件,并在到达你的收件箱之前被删除。 

在发送电子邮件时,如果你已经设置了DMARC,并强制执行了 政策模式(p=拒绝/隔离),不合格的电子邮件将被拒绝或被指定为垃圾邮件,从而减少你的收件人成为勒索软件攻击受害者的可能性。

这保护了你公司的声誉、敏感数据和财政资源。

如何从勒索软件攻击中恢复?

为了摆脱困境,你必须知道如何从勒索软件攻击中恢复。让我们来看看快速策略。

步骤1:不要惊慌

如果你被勒索软件击中,没有必要惊慌失措。虽然勒索软件可能具有破坏性,但从攻击中恢复并不总是不可能的。如果文件有备份,并且不涉及法律问题--例如,如果你没有使用盗版软件--那么恢复之路可能是非常简单的。

第2步:不要支付赎金

你不需要支付任何费用。这是由几个因素造成的。

  • 只要记住,你是在和罪犯打交道。即使你支付赎金,你也不一定能拿回你的数据。
  • 你正在展示攻击者方法的有效性,这将促使他们把目标对准其他公司,而这些公司将效仿你的做法并进行赔偿--这是一个恶性循环。
  • 在支付赎金的情况下,处理攻击的成本是双倍的。即使你设法找回了你的数据,感染仍将存在于你的服务器上,需要进行全面的清理。除了赎金外,你还将负责支付停机时间、员工时间、设备成本等。

步骤#3:从备份中恢复文件

如果你有定期的数据备份存放在异地,以备灾难发生时,你可以在攻击后恢复这些数据。 

第4步:停止所有进入的连接

赎金软件通常利用IE浏览器或其他浏览器的漏洞来访问你的电脑。如果发生这种情况,立即拔掉你的调制解调器或关闭你设备上的Wi-Fi,与互联网断开连接。 

第5步:审计你的安全实践

一个好的步骤是对你的安全实践进行审计,看看哪些地方需要改进。虽然必须做出改变以解决眼前的问题,但同样重要的是,不要忽视你的网络中可能存在漏洞的其他领域。 

第6步:更改您的所有密码

这包括电子邮件和社交媒体账户的密码,以及任何被这次攻击破坏的账户--包括可能存储有信用卡号码等敏感信息的财务报表。你还应该更改连接到互联网的设备的密码,这些设备没有被勒索软件感染。

第6步:请来专家

如果你的组织被勒索软件击中,请找那些知道如何处理这种类型的恶意软件的专家。他们可以帮助你评估所发生的事情,并确定在允许员工再次进入网络之前是否还有什么需要做的(或者他们是否应该再进入)。他们很可能会对如何最好地防止未来的攻击提出建议。

最后的话

你很可能会在某个时候遭遇勒索软件攻击。重要的是要知道如何从勒索软件攻击中恢复,并能够在恶意软件从你的系统中被完全清除后安全地恢复你的数据。

配置一个 诊断仪今天是获得对勒索软件威胁保护的第一步!在PowerDMARC,我们帮助你轻松快速地过渡到DMARC执行,这将保护你免受电子邮件用户每天倾向于面对的各种攻击。

Ahona Rudra的最新文章(查看全部)

How to recover from a ransomware attack?

Throughout 2021 and into 2022, ransomware was a major news topic. You may have heard tales of assaults on significant businesses, organizations, or governmental bodies, or you may have personally been the victim of a ransomware attack on your device. According to a study conducted between January and February 2021, ransomware attacks affected around 37% of enterprises worldwide.

Having all of your files and data kept hostage until you pay is a serious issue and a terrifying thought. Today we discuss how to recover from a ransomware attack in case you have already fallen prey to one.  

Ransomware: Overview, Definition, & Examples

Ransomware is malicious software that locks your computer or files and demands a ransom to unlock them. Ransomware can be installed through phishing emails, fake ads, or software downloaded from untrustworthy websites. Once installed, the ransomware may encrypt all your files, preventing you from using them.

Unlike other viruses or malware, ransomware isn’t interested in stealing or selling data on the dark web. It only exists to extort money from its victims by holding their information hostage until they receive their desired payment in exchange for its release.

Latest Ransomware Attack Example: Kaseya – July 2021

In July 2021, Kaseya had one of the most significant ransomware assaults in recent memory. By infecting around 50 managed service providers utilizing Kaseya’s products, the attack against the IT company spread to 1,500 organizations.

Kaseya refused to pay the infamous REvil group’s $70 million demand to repair the damage. Although a third-party security company created a universal decryption key to stop the attack, Homeland Security was still interested in it because of its sheer size. Less than two weeks later, the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) released ransomware rules.

Ways To Prevent a Ransomware Attack

How to Avoid a Ransomware Attack?

First of all, your main goal should be protection against ransomware. Here are some ways that might help in avoiding ransomware attacks:

  • A secure backup solution.
  • Keep your antivirus software up to date with the latest virus definitions.
  • Make sure you control your systems and data using a managed service provider (MSP).
  • Train your IT staff on security best practices to ensure they are aware of the latest threats and how to avoid them.
  • Consider investing in secure web gateways, email security solutions, and other endpoint protection software to protect against malware infections at all stages of the attack lifecycle (prevent, detect, block).
  • Use email authentication methods like DMARC

How Does DMARC Help?

DMARC is short for Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting, and Conformance. It’s designed to detect and prevent spoofing through domain alignment.

DMARC uses SPF and DKIM authentication standards to detect malicious IP addresses, forgeries, and domain impersonations.

If you’re using DMARC, when an email fails authentication (because it looks like it was sent by someone other than the sender), it’s classified as spam and dropped before it reaches your inbox. 

While sending email, if you have set up DMARC with an enforced DMARC policy mode (p=reject/quarantine), emails that fail it will either be rejected or designated as spam, reducing the likelihood that your recipients may fall victim to a ransomware assault.

This protects your company’s reputation, sensitive data, and financial resources.

How to Recover from a Ransomware Attack?

To get out of the mess, you must know how to recover from a ransomware attack. Let’s have a look at quick strategies:

Step #1: Don’t Panic

There’s no need to panic if you get hit by ransomware. While ransomware can be damaging, recovering from an attack is not always impossible. If the files are backed up and no legal issues are involved — for example, if you’re not using pirated software — then the road to recovery may be pretty straightforward.

Step #2: Don’t Pay the Ransom

You don’t need to pay anything. This is due to a few factors:

  • Just keep in mind that you are dealing with a criminal. You won’t always get your data back, even if you pay the ransom.
  • You’re demonstrating the effectiveness of the attacker’s method, which will motivate them to target other firms who will follow your lead and make restitution — it’s a vicious cycle.
  • Dealing with an attack costs twice as much when the ransom is paid. Even if you manage to retrieve your data, the infection will still be present on your servers, necessitating a comprehensive cleaning. In addition to the ransom, you will be responsible for paying for downtime, staff time, device costs, etc.

Step #3: Restore Files from Backups

If you have regular backups of your data stored offsite in case of disaster, you can restore them after the attack. 

Step #4: Stop All Incoming Connections

Ransomware often uses a vulnerability in Internet Explorer or another browser to access your computer. If this happens, immediately disconnect from the Internet by unplugging your modem or turning off the Wi-Fi on your device. 

Step #5: Audit Your Security Practices

A good step is to conduct an audit of your security practices to see what needs to be improved. While it’s essential to make changes that address the immediate problem, it’s also important not to overlook other areas of your network that might be vulnerable. 

Step #6: Change All of Your Passwords

This includes passwords for email and social media accounts and any account compromised by this attack — including financial statements where sensitive information such as credit card numbers may be stored. You should also change passwords for devices connected to the internet that were not infected by ransomware.

Step #6: Call in the Experts

If your organization has been hit by ransomware, call in experts who know how to deal with this type of malware. They can help you assess what happened and determine whether there’s anything more that needs to be done before allowing employees back into the network again (or whether they should even go back in). And they’ll likely have suggestions on how best to protect against future attacks.

Final Words

You’re likely to experience a ransomware attack at some point. The important thing is to know how to recover from a ransomware attack and to be able to securely restore your data when the malware has been completely removed from your system.

Configuring a DMARC analyzer today is the first step to acquiring protection against ransomware threats! At PowerDMARC, we help you easily and quickly transition to DMARC enforcement that will protect you against a wide range of attacks that email users tend to face daily.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)