如何优化SPF记录

在这篇文章中,我们将探讨如何为你的域名轻松优化SPF记录。对于拥有电子邮件域名的企业和小型企业来说,他们在客户、合作伙伴和雇员之间发送和接收信息,很可能默认存在一条 SPF 记录,这是由你的收件箱服务提供商设置的。不管你是有一个预先存在的SPF记录,还是需要创建一个新的记录,你都需要为你的域名正确地优化你的SPF记录,以确保它不会造成电子邮件的交付问题。

一些电子邮件收件人严格要求SPF,这表明如果你的域名没有发布SPF记录,你的电子邮件可能会在收件人的收件箱中被标记为垃圾邮件。此外,SPF有助于检测未经授权的来源以你的域名名义发送电子邮件。

让我们首先了解什么是SPF,为什么需要它?

发件人政策框架(SPF

SPF本质上是一个标准的电子邮件认证协议,它规定了被授权从你的域名发送电子邮件的IP地址。它的运作方式是将发件人地址与特定域名的授权发送主机和IP地址列表进行比较,该列表公布在该域名的DNS中。

SPF与DMARC(基于域的信息验证、报告和一致性)一起,旨在检测电子邮件发送过程中伪造的发件人地址,并防止欺骗性攻击、网络钓鱼和电子邮件诈骗。

需要知道的是,尽管你的主机提供商将默认的 SPF 集成到你的域名中,确保从你的域名中发送的邮件能够通过 SPF 认证,如果你有多个第三方供应商从你的域名中发送邮件,那么这个预先存在的 SPF 记录需要被定制和修改,以适应你的要求。你怎样才能做到这一点呢?让我们来探讨两种最常见的方法。

  • 创建一个全新的SPF记录
  • 优化现有的SPF记录

关于如何优化SPF记录的说明

创建一个全新的SPF记录

创建 SPF 记录,只是在你的域名的 DNS 中发布一条 TXT 记录,为你的域名配置 SPF。这是一个强制性的步骤,在你开始了解如何优化SPF记录之前。如果你刚开始接触认证,对语法没有把握,你可以使用我们免费的在线SPF 记录生成器,为你的域名创建 SPF 记录。

一个具有正确语法的SPF记录条目将看起来像这样。

v=spf1 ip4:38.146.237 include:example.com -all

v=spf1指定正在使用的SPF的版本
ip4/ip6这一机制指定了被授权从你的域名发送电子邮件的有效IP地址。
包括这个机制告诉接收服务器包括指定域的 SPF 记录的值。
全部这个机制规定,不符合 SPF 标准的邮件将被拒绝。这是你在发布 SPF 记录时可以使用的推荐标签。不过,你可以用 ~ 代替 SPF Soft Fail (不符合规定的邮件将被标记为软失败,但仍会被接受),也可以用 + 代替,这说明任何和每一个服务器都可以代表你的域名发送邮件,但这是非常不可取的。

如果你已经为你的域名配置了SPF,你也可以使用我们免费的SPF记录检查器来查询和验证你的SPF记录并检测问题。

配置SPF时的常见挑战和错误

1) 10个DNS查询限制 

域名所有者在为他们的域名配置和采用 SPF 认证协议时,面临的最常见的挑战是 SPF 对 DNS 查询的次数有限制,不能超过 10 次。对于依赖多个第三方供应商的域名来说,10个DNS查询的限制很容易超过,这反过来又会破坏SPF,并返回一个SPF PermError。在这种情况下,接收服务器会自动使你的 SPF 记录无效,并将其屏蔽。

启动DNS查询的机制。MX, A, INCLUDE, REDIRECT修改器

2) SPF无效查询 

无效查询是指返回 NOERROR 响应或 NXDOMAIN 响应(无效回答)的 DNS 查询。在实施 SPF 的过程中,我们建议首先确保 DNS 查询不会返回无效答案。

3) SPF 递归循环

这个错误表明,你指定的域的 SPF 记录包含一个或多个 INCLUDE 机制的递归问题。这发生在INCLUDE标签中指定的一个域中,该域的SPF记录包含原域的INCLUDE标签。这导致了一个永无止境的循环,使电子邮件服务器不断地对SPF记录进行DNS查询。这最终会导致超过10次的DNS查询限制,从而导致电子邮件无法通过SPF。

4) 语法错误 

一个 SPF 记录可能存在于你的域名的 DNS 中,但是如果它包含语法错误,那就没有用了。如果你的 SPF TXT 记录在输入域名或机制名称时包含了不必要的空白,那么在执行查询时,接收服务器会完全忽略多余的空格前的字符串,从而使 SPF 记录无效。

5) 同一域名的多个SPF记录

一个域名在 DNS 中只能有一条 SPF TXT 记录。如果你的域名包含一个以上的SPF记录,接收服务器会使所有的记录失效,从而导致邮件无法通过SPF。

6) SPF记录的长度 

一个 SPF 记录在 DNS 中的最大长度被限制为 255 个字符。然而,这个限制可以被超越,SPF的TXT记录可以包含多个字符串串联在一起,但不能超过512个字符的限制,以适应DNS的查询响应(根据RFC 4408)。尽管后来对此进行了修订,但依赖旧的DNS版本的收件人将无法验证从含有冗长的SPF记录的域名中发送的电子邮件。

优化你的SPF记录

为了及时修改你的SPF记录,你可以使用以下SPF最佳实践。

  • 试着在你的SPF记录中按重要性从左到右依次打下你的电子邮件来源
  • 从你的DNS中删除过时的电子邮件来源
  • 使用IP4/IP6机制而不是A和MX
  • 尽可能减少INCLUDE机制的数量,并避免嵌套式包含。
  • 不要在你的DNS中为同一个域名发布一个以上的SPF记录。
  • 确保你的SPF记录不包含任何多余的空白或语法错误。

注意:SPF扁平化不被推荐,因为它不是一次性的。如果你的电子邮件服务提供商改变了他们的基础设施,你将不得不相应地改变你的SPF记录,每次都是如此。

用PowerSPF轻松优化你的SPF记录

你可以继续尝试实施上述所有的修改来手动优化你的 SPF 记录,或者你可以忘记这些麻烦,依靠我们的动态 PowerSPF 来自动完成这一切PowerSPF可以帮助你一键优化你的 SPF 记录,在这里你可以。

  • 轻松地添加或删除发送源
  • 轻松地更新记录,而不必手动修改你的DNS
  • 只需点击一个按钮,就能获得一个优化的自动SPF记录
  • 始终保持在10个DNS查询限制之下
  • 成功地缓解了PermError
  • 忘记SPF记录的语法错误和配置问题
  • 我们代表你解决SPF限制的问题,减轻你的负担

今天就注册 PowerDMARC,永远告别SPF值的限制!

how to optimize SPF record

In this article, we will explore how to optimize SPF record easily for your domain. For enterprises as well as small businesses who are in possession of an email domain for sending and receiving messages among their clients, partners and employees, it is highly probable that an SPF record exists by default, which has been set up by your inbox service provider. No matter if you have a pre-existent SPF record or you need to create a new one, you need to optimize your SPF record correctly for your domain in order to ensure that it causes no email delivery issues.

Some email recipients strictly require SPF, which indicates that if you do not have an SPF record published for your domain your emails may be marked as spam in your receiver’s inbox. Moreover, SPF helps in detecting unauthorized sources sending emails on behalf of your domain.

Let us first understand what is SPF and why do you need it?

Sender Policy Framework (SPF)

SPF is essentially a standard email authentication protocol that specifies the IP addresses that are authorized to send emails from your domain. It operates by comparing sender addresses against the list of authorized sending hosts and IP addresses for a specific domain that is published in the DNS for that domain.

SPF, along with DMARC (Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance) is designed to detect forged sender addresses during email delivery and prevent spoofing attacks, phishing, and email scams.

It is important to know that although the default SPF integrated into your domain by your hosting provider ensures that emails sent from your domain are authenticated against SPF if you have multiple third-party vendors to send emails from your domain, this pre-existent SPF record needs to be tailored and modified to suit your requirements. How can you do that? Let’s explore two of the most common ways:

  • Creating a brand new SPF record
  • Optimizing an existing SPF record

Instructions on How to Optimize SPF Record

Create a Brand New SPF Record

Creating an SPF record is simply publishing a TXT record in your domain’s DNS to configure SPF for your domain. This is a mandatory step that comes before you start on how to optimize SPF record. If you are just starting out with authentication and unsure about the syntax, you can use our free online SPF record generator to create an SPF record for your domain.

An SPF record entry with a correct syntax will look something like this:

v=spf1  ip4:38.146.237 include:example.com -all

v=spf1Specifies the version of SPF being used
ip4/ip6This mechanism specifies the valid IP addresses that are authorized to send emails from your domain.
includeThis mechanism tells the receiving servers to include the values for the SPF record of the specified domain.
-allThis mechanism specifies that emails that are not SPF compliant would be rejected. This is the recommended tag you can use while publishing your SPF record. However it can be replaced with ~ for SPF Soft Fail (non-compliant emails would be marked as soft fail but would still be accepted) Or + which specifies that any and every server would be allowed to send emails on behalf of your domain, which is strongly discouraged.

If you already have SPF configured for your domain, you can also use our free SPF record checker to lookup and validate your SPF record and detect issues.

Common Challenges and Errors while Configuring SPF

1) 10 DNS Lookup limit 

The most common challenge faced by domain owners while configuring and adopting SPF authentication protocol for their domain, is that SPF comes with a limit on the number of DNS lookups, which cannot exceed 10. For domains relying on multiple third-party vendors, the 10 DNS lookup limit exceeds easily which in turn breaks SPF and returns an SPF PermError. The receiving server in such cases automatically invalidates your SPF record and blocks it.

Mechanisms that initiate DNS lookups: MX, A, INCLUDE, REDIRECT modifier

2) SPF Void Lookup 

Void lookups refer to DNS lookups which either return NOERROR response or NXDOMAIN response (void answer). While implementing SPF it is recommended to ensure DNS lookups do not return a void answer in the first place.

3) SPF Recursive loop

This error indicates that the SPF record for your specified domain contains recursive issues with one or more of the INCLUDE mechanisms. This takes place when one of the domains specified in the INCLUDE tag contains a domain whose SPF record contains the INCLUDE tag of the original domain. This leads to a never-ending loop causing email servers to continuously perform DNS lookups for the SPF records. This ultimately leads to exceeding the 10 DNS lookup limit, resulting in emails failing SPF.

4) Syntax Errors 

An SPF record may exist in your domain’s DNS, but it is of no use if it contains syntax errors. If your SPF TXT record contains unnecessary white spaces while typing the domain name or mechanism name, the string preceding the extra space would be completely ignored by the receiving server while performing a lookup, thereby invalidating the SPF record.

5) Multiple SPF records for the same domain

A single domain can have only one SPF TXT entry in the DNS. If your domain contains more than one SPF record, the receiving server invalidates all of them, causing emails to fail SPF.

6) Length of the SPF record 

The maximum length of a SPF record in the DNS is limited to 255 characters. However, this limit can be exceeded and a TXT record for SPF can contain multiple strings concatenated together, but not beyond a limit of 512 characters, to fit the DNS query response (according to RFC 4408). Though this was later revised, recipients relying on older DNS versions would not be able to validate emails sent from domains containing a lengthy SPF record.

Optimizing your SPF Record

In order to promptly modify your SPF record you can use the following SPF best practices:

  • Try typing down your email sources in decreasing order of importance from left to right in your SPF record
  • Remove obsolete email sources from your DNS
  • Use IP4/IP6 mechanisms instead of A and MX
  • Keep your number of INCLUDE mechanisms as low as possible and avoid nested includes
  • Do not publish more than one SPF record for the same domain in your DNS
  • Make sure your SPF record doesn’t contain any redundant white spaces or syntax errors

Note: SPF flattening is not recommended since it isn’t a one-time deal. If your email service provider changes their infrastructure, you’re going to have to change your SPF records accordingly, every single time.

Optimizing Your SPF Record Made Easy with PowerSPF

You can go ahead and try implementing all those above-mentioned modifications to optimize your SPF record manually, or you can forget the hassle and rely on our dynamic PowerSPF to do all that for you automatically! PowerSPF helps you optimize your SPF record with a single click, wherein you can:

  • Add or remove sending sources with ease
  • Update records easily without having to manually make changes to your DNS
  • Get an optimized auto SPF record with the single click of a button
  • Stay under the 10 DNS lookup limit at all time
  • Successfully mitigate PermError
  • Forget about SPF record syntax errors and configuration issues
  • We take away the burden of resolving SPF limitations on your behalf

Sign up with PowerDMARC today to bid adieu to SPF limitations forever!