欺骗是当今最普遍的一种攻击方式。欺诈者就喜欢在电子邮件网络(例如Hotmail、Gmail)上接管姓名和电子邮件地址,以发送数以千计的假电子邮件,看起来好像是由你认识的人发出的--比如你所在行业的另一家公司的CEO或高管。

不要让身份窃贼欺骗你的电子邮件地址。了解如何保护自己免受电子邮件欺骗,以及为什么你应该关心这一严重的信息安全威胁。让我们进入正题!

欺骗性的电子邮件。它们是什么?

欺骗性的电子邮件不是一个新事物,但也似乎不会很快消失。在某些情况下,技术的进步实际上帮助了欺诈者作弊。一封电子邮件被认为是被欺骗的原因有很多。最常见的情况是,攻击者劫持了一个真正的服务器,并利用它来发送欺骗性的电子邮件。最常见的发送电子邮件的方法是利用脆弱的SMTP服务器。一旦他们破坏了SMTP服务器,他们就可以向任何人发送欺骗性的电子邮件。

欺骗是一个严重的问题,而且这个问题只会越来越严重。欺骗的影响可能是深远的,并对大品牌造成损害,但最近网络钓鱼的泛滥已经在用户中引起恐慌。通过提供关于如何避免电子邮件欺骗的指南,你正在帮助你的用户(和你自己)摆脱这种威胁,并为你的技术支持名单上的人建立最佳实践。

欺骗性的电子邮件如何伤害你?

你还记得你上次点击电子邮件中的一个链接,说是来自你信任的公司吗?你可能发现自己在一个你以前从未访问过的网站上,因为发件人指示你点击一个链接。你怎么知道这个新地址不是一个窥探你个人数据的邪恶企图?答案很简单。合法的企业永远不会通过电子邮件要求提供私人信息,如用户名、密码和信用卡号码。

然而,如果一个欺诈性来源伪造你的地址,向你的客户发送这种恶意信息,请放心,这将损害你的业务。你辛辛苦苦建立的信誉和声誉将遭受这种攻击的打击,你的客户在打开你的合法营销邮件之前会犹豫不决。

如何阻止从我的电子邮件地址连续发送欺骗性的电子邮件?

让电子邮件认证协议成为你的电子邮件套件的一部分!

  1. SPF:电子邮件认证的基础之一是SPF,它将帮助你避免欺骗性的电子邮件。虽然配置它不费吹灰之力,但维护它是一个挑战。通常存在着超过10个DNS查询限制的风险,这导致电子邮件尽管被证明是真实的,但却无法认证。我们为你提供一个快速的解决方案,用我们的动态SPF扁平化工具绕过这个问题。今天就可以免费创建一个SPF记录,用我们的 SPF记录生成器.
  2. DKIM:DKIM是一种签署所有外发邮件的方法,以帮助防止电子邮件欺骗。欺骗是一种常见的未经授权使用电子邮件的行为,因此一些电子邮件服务器要求使用DKIM来防止电子邮件欺骗。使用DKIM后,你所有的外发邮件都将得到数字签名的认证,让邮件服务器知道它确实来自你。
  3. DMARC: DMARC是一个电子邮件认证标准,为组织提供保护,使其免受利用电子邮件欺骗收件人采取某些行动的欺骗和网络钓鱼攻击。DMARC作为SPF和DKIM之上的一层,帮助电子邮件接收者识别电子邮件不是来自公司批准的域名,并提供关于如何安全处理未经授权的电子邮件的指示。

如果你想开始建立你对欺骗的防御,我们建议你试用一下我们的 DMARC报告分析器.它将帮助你以最快的市场速度加入协议,及时了解错误,并在一个多用途的DMARC仪表盘上轻松监控你的域名。

Syuzanna Papazyan的最新文章(查看全部)

Spoofing is one of the most universal kinds of attacks today. Fraudsters just love to take over names and email addresses on an email network (for example, Hotmail, Gmail) to send out thousands of fake emails that appear as if they were sent from someone you know – like the CEO or an executive at another company in your industry.

Don’t let identity thieves spoof your email address. Learn how to protect yourself from email spoofing and why you should care about this serious information security threat. Let’s get into it!

Spoofing emails: What are they?

Spoofing email is not a new thing but also doesn’t seem to be going away anytime soon. In some cases, the advancement of technology actually helps the fraudsters cheat. There are many reasons an email can be considered to be spoofed. The most common scenario is when an attacker hijacks a genuine server and uses it to send spoofed emails. The most common method to send emails is by exploiting a vulnerable SMTP server. Once they have compromised the SMTP server they can send spoofed emails to anyone.

Spoofing is a serious problem and one that’s only getting worse. The implications of spoofing can be far-reaching and damaging to big brands, but the recent flood of phishing had already been causing panic among the users. By providing a guide on how to avoid email spoofing, you’re helping your users (and yourself) get rid of this menace, and setting up best practices for those on your tech support list.

How can spoofed emails harm you?

Do you remember the last time you clicked a link in an email that said it was from a company you trusted? You probably found yourself on a website you had never visited before because the sender instructed you to click on a link. How did you know that this new address wasn’t a nefarious attempt to spy on your personal data? The answer is simple: Legitimate businesses will never ask for private information like usernames, passwords, and credit card numbers via email.

However, if a fraudulent source forges your address to send such malicious messages to your customers, rest assured that it will harm your business. The credibility and reputation that you have worked so hard to build will suffer the blows of such attacks, and your clients would hesitate before opening your legitimate marketing emails.

How to stop continuous spoofing emails from being sent from my email address?

Make email authentication protocols a part of your email suite!

  1. SPF: One of the basics of email authentication that will help you avoid spoofing emails is SPF. While configuring it is effortless, maintaining it is a challenge. There is often a risk of exceeding the 10 DNS lookup limit, which results in emails failing authentication despite proven authenticity. We offer you a quick solution to bypass this issue with our dynamic SPF flattening tool.Create an SPF record today for free, with our SPF record generator.
  2. DKIM: DKIM is a method to sign all outgoing messages to help prevent email spoofing. Spoofing is a common unauthorized use of email, so some email servers require DKIM to prevent email spoofing. With its use, all of your outbound mail will get authenticated with a digital signature that lets mail servers know that it actually came from you.
  3. DMARC: DMARC is an email authentication standard for organizations to help protect them from spoofing and phishing attacks that use email to trick the recipient into taking some action. DMARC works as a layer on top of SPF and DKIM to help email receivers recognize when an email isn’t coming from a company’s approved domains, and provide instructions on how to safely dispose of unauthorized email.

If you want to start building up your defenses against spoofing, we recommend you take a trial for our DMARC report analyzer. It will help you in onboarding the protocols at the fastest market speed, staying abreast of errors, and monitoring your domains easily on a multi-purpose DMARC dashboard.