dmarc for Office 365

作为一个域名所有者,你总是需要注意威胁者发动域名欺骗攻击和网络钓鱼攻击,利用你的域名或品牌名称进行恶意活动。无论你使用哪种电子邮件交换解决方案,保护你的域名不被欺骗和冒充都是当务之急,以确保品牌的可信度并维持你尊敬的客户群的信任。本博客将带你了解为Office 365用户设置DMARC记录的过程。

最近,大多数企业已经转向使用有效和强大的基于云的平台和托管电子邮件交换解决方案,如Office 365。随后,网络犯罪分子也升级了他们的恶意技术,通过避开集成在平台上的安全解决方案来进行电子邮件欺诈。这就是为什么微软在其所有的电子邮件平台上扩大了对DMARC等电子邮件认证协议的支持。但是,你应该知道如何正确实施Office 365的DMARC,以充分利用其优势。

为什么是DMARC?

可能出现的第一个问题是,既然反垃圾邮件解决方案和电子邮件安全网关已经集成到Office 365套件中以阻止虚假电子邮件,为什么还需要DMARC进行认证?这是因为,虽然这些解决方案专门防止发送到你的域名的入站钓鱼邮件,但DMARC认证协议赋予域名所有者权力,向接收的电子邮件服务器指定如何响应从你的域名发送的未通过认证检查的邮件。

DMARC利用两个标准的认证做法,即SPF和DKIM来验证电子邮件的真实性。通过设置强制执行的策略,DMARC可以提供高水平的保护,防止冒充攻击和直接域名欺骗。

在使用Office 365时,你真的需要DMARC吗?

企业中普遍存在一种误解,认为拥有Office 365解决方案可以确保免受垃圾邮件和网络钓鱼攻击的安全。然而,在2020年5月,对几个使用Office 365的中东保险公司进行的一系列网络钓鱼攻击造成了重大的数据损失和空前的安全漏洞。这就是为什么简单地依赖微软的集成安全解决方案,而不实施外部努力来保护你的领域,可能是一个巨大的错误

虽然Office 365的集成安全解决方案可以提供对入站安全威胁和网络钓鱼尝试的保护,但你仍然需要确保从你自己的域名发送的出站信息在落入你的客户和合作伙伴的收件箱之前得到有效验证。这就是DMARC的作用。

利用DMARC确保Office 365免受欺骗和冒充的影响

Office 365套件附带的安全解决方案作为垃圾邮件过滤器,不能保证你的域名不被冒充,这就突出了对DMARC的需求。DMARC作为DNS TXT记录存在于你的域名的DNS中。为了给你的域名配置DMARC,你需要。

第1步为你的域名确定有效的电子邮件来源
第2步。为你的域名设置SPF
第3步:为你的域名设置DKIM
第4步。 在你的域名的DNS中发布一个DMARC TXT记录

你可以使用PowerDMARC的免费DMARC记录生成器,用正确的语法即时生成一条记录,发布在你的DNS中,并为你的域名配置DMARC。然而,请注意,只有拒绝的执行策略才能有效地帮助你缓解冒名攻击和域名滥用。

但是,发布一个DMARC记录就够了吗?答案是否定的。这就把我们带到了最后一个环节,即DMARC报告和监控。

使用微软Office365时需要PowerDMARC的5个原因

微软Office 365为用户提供了大量基于云的服务和解决方案,以及集成的反垃圾邮件过滤器。然而,尽管有各种优势,但从安全角度来看,这些是你在使用它时可能面临的缺点。

  • 没有验证从你的域名发出的外发信息的解决方案
  • 没有关于认证检查失败的电子邮件的报告机制
  • 对你的电子邮件生态系统没有可见性
  • 没有仪表盘来管理和监控你的入站和出站邮件流
  • 没有机制来确保你的SPF记录总是在10个查询限制以下

使用PowerDMARC的DMARC报告和监控

PowerDMARC与Office 365无缝集成,为域名所有者提供先进的认证解决方案,防止复杂的社会工程攻击,如BEC和直接域名欺骗。当你与PowerDMARC签约时,你将签署一个多租户SaaS平台,它不仅集合了所有电子邮件认证的最佳实践(SPF、DKIM、DMARC、MTA-STS、TLS-RPT和BIMI),而且还提供一个广泛和深入的DMARC报告机制,为你的电子邮件生态系统提供完整的可视性。PowerDMARC仪表板上的DMARC报告以两种格式生成。

  • 汇总报告
  • 法证报告

我们通过解决各种行业问题,努力为您提供更好的认证体验。我们确保对您的DMARC取证报告进行加密,并以7种不同的视图显示汇总报告,以增强用户体验和清晰度。PowerDMARC帮助您监控电子邮件流和认证失败,并将来自世界各地的恶意IP地址列入黑名单。我们的DMARC分析工具可以帮助你为你的域名正确配置DMARC,并在短时间内从监控转变为执行!

As a domain owner you always need to look out for threat actors launching domain spoofing attacks and phishing attacks to use your domain or brand name for carrying out malicious activities. No matter what email exchange solution you use, protecting your domain from spoofing and impersonation is imperative to ensure brand credibility and maintain trust among your esteemed customer-base. This blog will take you through the process of setting up your DMARC record for Office 365 users.

In recent times, a majority of businesses have made a shift towards using effective and robust cloud-based platforms and hosted email exchange solutions such as Office 365. Subsequently, cybercriminals have also upgraded their malicious techniques to conduct email fraud by outmanoeuvring the security solutions that are integrated into the platform. This is why Microsoft has extended support towards email authentication protocols like DMARC across all of its email platforms. But you should know how to correctly implement DMARC for Office 365, in order to fully utilize its benefits.

Why DMARC?

The first question that might arise is that, with anti-spam solutions and email security gateways already integrated into the Office 365 suite to block fake emails, why would you require DMARC for authentication? This is because while these solutions specifically protect against inbound phishing emails sent to your domain, DMARC authentication protocol gives domain owners the power to specify to receiving email servers how to respond to emails sent from your domain that fail authentication checks.

DMARC makes use of two standard authentication practices, namely SPF and DKIM to validate emails for authenticity. With a policy set to enforcement, DMARC can offer a high level of protection against impersonation attacks and direct-domain spoofing.

Do you really need DMARC while using Office 365?

There’s a common misconception among businesses, that having an Office 365 solution ensures safety from spam and phishing attacks. However, in May 2020, a series of phishing attacks on several Middle Eastern insurance firms using Office 365 caused significant data loss and an unprecedented amount of security breach. This is why simply relying on Microsoft’s integrated security solutions and not implementing external efforts for protecting your domain can be a huge mistake!

While Office 365’s integrated security solutions can offer protection against inbound security threats and phishing attempts, you still need to ensure that outbound messages sent from your own domain are authenticated effectively before landing into the inboxes of your customers and partners. This is where DMARC steps in.

Securing Office 365 against Spoofing and Impersonation with DMARC

Security solutions that come with the Office 365 suite act as spam filters that cannot secure your domain from impersonation, highlighting the need for DMARC. DMARC exists as a DNS TXT record in your domain’s DNS. For configuring DMARC for your domain, you need to:

Step 1: Identify valid email sources for your domain
Step 2: Set up SPF for your domain
Step 3: Set up DKIM for your domain
Step 4: Publish a DMARC TXT record in your domain’s DNS

You can use PowerDMARC’s free DMARC record generator to generate a record instantly with the correct syntax to publish in your DNS and configure DMARC for your domain. However, note that only an enforcement policy of reject can effectively help you mitigate impersonation attacks and domain abuse.

But is publishing a DMARC record enough? The answer is no. This takes us to our last and final segment which is DMARC reporting and monitoring.

5 Reasons Why You need PowerDMARC while Using Microsoft Office365

Microsoft Office 365 provides users with a host of cloud-based services and solutions along with integrated anti-spam filters. However despite of the various advantages, these are the drawbacks you might face while using it from a security perspective:

  • No solution for validating outbound messages sent from your domain
  • No reporting mechanism for emails failing authentication checks
  • No visibility into your email ecosystem
  • No dashboard to manage and monitor your inbound and outbound email flow
  • No mechanism to ensure your SPF record is always under 10 lookup limit

DMARC Reporting and Monitoring with PowerDMARC

PowerDMARC seamlessly integrates with Office 365 to empower domain owners with advanced authentication solutions that protects against sophisticated social engineering attacks like BEC and direct-domain spoofing. When you sign up with PowerDMARC you are signing up for a multi-tenant SaaS platform that not only assembles all email authentication best practices (SPF, DKIM, DMARC, MTA-STS, TLS-RPT and BIMI), but also provides an extensive and in-depth dmarc reporting mechanism, that offers complete visibility into your email ecosystem. DMARC reports on the PowerDMARC dashboard are generated in two formats:

  • Aggregate Reports
  • Forensic reports

We have strived to make the authentication experience better for you by solving various industry problems. We ensure encryption of your DMARC forensic reports as well as display aggregate reports in 7 different views for enhanced user-experience and clarity. PowerDMARC helps you monitor email flow and authentication failures, and blacklist malicious IP addresses from all over the world. Our DMARC analyzer tool aids you in configuring DMARC correctly for your domain, and shifting from monitoring to enforcement in no time!