DMARC与DKIM

今天我们来谈谈DMARC与DKIM。DMARC和DKIM都是电子邮件认证协议,帮助组织对抗冒名攻击和电子邮件泄露。 DMARC和DKIM都是保护你的品牌的重要工具,但它们不能相互取代。因此,在决定哪一个最适合你的需要之前,你必须了解每一个的作用。

DMARC和DKIM代表什么?

首先,让我们来分析一下这些缩写词。

DMARC是基于域的消息认证报告和一致性的首字母缩写。它是一个使用SPF和/或DKIM记录来验证电子邮件的协议。它还允许你监测和控制从你的域名发送的未经认证的电子邮件的情况。

DKIM是DomainKeys Identified Mail的首字母缩写。它是一种使用加密验证的方法来验证电子邮件的真实性。

DMARC的定义和工作原理 

DMARC是基于SPF(发件人政策框架)和DKIM的。它验证邮件是否符合这些标准。DMARC允许拒绝欺诈性邮件,它还允许将报告从收件人的邮件服务器通过电子邮件发送给你。它是一个协议,允许一个组织说 "如果你从我的域名发送邮件,我将对其进行认证"。它还在发件人和收件人之间建立了一个反馈回路,让双方知道对方是否遵循了指定的政策。

电子邮件的发送者和接收者都可以使用DMARC。如果一封邮件没有通过DMARC检查,接收方可以采取不同的行动,如拒绝该邮件或将其发回给发件人,并附上通知,解释为什么认证失败。DMARC的目标是减少电子邮件的泄露,同时仍然让合法的电子邮件通过。

DMARC是如何工作的?

首先,DMARC的基本功能是确定一封电子邮件是否应该被传递给它的目标收件人。为了做到这一点,它决定为一个特定的域存储什么样的DNS记录。DMARC记录本身包含如果电子邮件未能通过SPF或DKIM检查,应将其发送到何处的指示。

它还提供了在认证失败的情况下应该传递多少信息的指示。这里有三个可能的选项。 

  • '无'表示所有失败的信息都应被视为正常信息。
  • 隔离 "意味着信息的某些部分应该被送达,但仅有警告。
  • 拒绝 "是指信息的任何部分都不应该被传递。

DKIM的定义和它的工作原理 

DKIM是DomainKeys Identified Mail的缩写,由雅虎在2004年开发,是一种验证电子邮件真实性的方法。它的工作原理与SPF类似(见下文),但它不是随每封邮件发送认证签名,而是在你的服务器发送的每封邮件的标题上签名,这样收件人就可以使用与你的域名相关的DNS记录中列出的公钥来验证其真实性。

DKIM是一种加密方法,用于验证电子邮件是否来自授权服务器。这是通过用私钥对每封电子邮件进行加密签名来实现的,然后允许收件人用公钥对其进行验证。与DMARC相比,DKIM在电子邮件认证中发挥了不同的作用。DKIM是电子邮件认证的一种形式,允许你验证一封邮件是否由使用你的域名的人发送。

DKIM是如何工作的?

这种验证是通过向从你的服务器发送的每封邮件添加数字签名来完成的。这个签名是通过在电子邮件中添加一个包含几个关键信息的头来添加的。

  • 用来发送电子邮件的域名
  • 如果有多条DKIM记录发布,DKIM选择器用于帮助定位DNS中的DKIM公钥。
  • 公钥将被收件人的邮件服务器用来解密信息的一部分,并与信息的另一部分进行比较,以验证它是从一个授权的服务器发送的。
  • 从信息的部分内容生成一个哈希值,以便这些部分可以被任何有授权访问的人验证。 

DMARC与DKIM:何时使用哪一种?

DMARC和DKIM都是电子邮件认证技术,有助于提高你的电子邮件的安全性和可传递性。虽然它们经常被混淆,许多公司也很难理解这两个协议之间的区别,但DMARC和DKIM实际上是截然不同的,如上所述。

值得注意的是 这两个协议都不是相互依赖的,可以单独配置。 让我们来看看如何。

配置与SPF配对的DMARC

你可以跳过为你的域名设置DKIM,仍然通过与SPF配对来配置DMARC。这是因为你的电子邮件要通过DMARC,需要SPF或DKIM的标识符对接。要实施没有DKIM的DMARC。 

  • 编制一份你所有授权的发送源清单 
  • 使用我们的免费SPF记录生成器创建一个SPF记录 SPF记录生成器并包括你所有的发送源以授权他们
  • 将记录粘贴在你的DNS上 
  • 使用我们免费的DMARC TXT记录为您的域名创建一个 DMARC记录生成器
  • 在你的DNS上复制并粘贴此记录以激活DMARC

自行配置DKIM

如果你想跳过DMARC配置,你可以选择自行实现DKIM。要做到这一点,请前往PowerDMARCDKIM记录生成工具,并输入以下信息。 

  • 一个唯一的DKIM选择器密钥(可以是1024或2048位长的字母数字值)。 
  • 你的域名(没有任何前缀,例如,如果你的网站URL是 https://www.domainname.com,你的域名将是 domainname.com)

一旦你点击生成记录的按钮,我们的人工智能就会生成你的DKIM TXT记录,以及如何在你的DNS上发布它以激活该协议的说明。 

DMAC VS DKIM VS SPF

SPF是发件人政策框架的缩写,由AOL在2001年创建,是一种让电子邮件发件人告诉收件人邮件服务器哪些IP地址被授权发送邮件的方法。

当你试图找出哪种电子邮件认证方法最适合你的企业时,这个决定可能会变得有点混乱。有很多事情需要考虑。SPF、DKIM和DMARC都在确保你的电子邮件按照预期的方式被传递和接收方面发挥着重要作用。

DMARC是保护你的品牌免受网络钓鱼诈骗的最佳方法,但它在阻止垃圾邮件方面不如DKIM或SPF有效。DKIM在防止垃圾邮件方面比DMARC好,但它在阻止网络钓鱼诈骗方面没有那么好。SPF比任何其他方法都能更好地阻止网络钓鱼诈骗,但它对垃圾邮件或勒索软件没有什么作用。

DMARC、SPF和DKIM:它们如何协同工作以实现全面的电子邮件保护

 

我们相信,拥有一个多因素的电子邮件认证方法可以在域名和信息安全方面改变游戏规则。这就是为什么业内专家建议组织实施DMARC、SPF以及DKIM,以实现全面的电子邮件保护。 

根据SPF和DKIM认证标准调整你的电子邮件,同时使用DMARC进行特殊说明和反向反馈,可以帮助你的电子邮件获得100%的合规性。它还有助于建立信任,为你的组织的域名创建一个坚实的基础,并确保可交付性。 

PowerDMARC电子邮件认证套件在配置你的协议时给你一个自动化的体验。我们的DMARC服务与SPF和DKIM配对,使你的电子邮件的安全性达到新的水平。注册参加我们的 免费的DMARC今天就注册我们的免费DMARC,亲自体验一下它的好处

Syuzanna Papazyan的最新文章(查看全部)

DMARC vs DKIM

Today we are here to talk about DMARC vs DKIM. Both DMARC and DKIM are email authentication protocols helping organizations combat impersonation attacks and email compromise.  Both DMARC and DKIM are important tools for protecting your brand, but they do not replace each other. So it’s important that you understand what each one does before deciding on which one works best for your needs.

What do DMARC and DKIM stand for?

First, let’s break down the acronyms:

DMARC is an acronym for Domain-based Message Authentication Reporting and Conformance. It is a protocol that uses SPF and/or DKIM records to authenticate emails. It also allows you to monitor and control what happens to unauthenticated emails sent from your domain.

DKIM is an acronym for DomainKeys Identified Mail. It is a method of verifying the authenticity of emails using cryptographic authentication.

DMARC definition & how it works 

DMARC is based on SPF (Sender Policy Framework) and DKIM. It verifies if the message aligns with these standards. DMARC allows for the rejection of fraudulent messages and it also allows for reports to be emailed to you from the recipient’s mail server. It is a protocol that allows an organization to say “if you send mail from my domain, I will authenticate it.” It also creates a feedback loop between the sender and receiver that lets both parties know if the other party is following the specified policy.

DMARC can be used by both senders and receivers of emails. If a message fails DMARC checks, the receiver can take different actions, like rejecting the message or sending it back to the sender with a notice explaining why it failed authentication. The goal of DMARC is to reduce email compromise while still letting legitimate emails through.

How does DMARC work?

To begin with, the basic function of DMARC is to determine whether or not an email should be delivered to its intended recipient. In order to do this, it determines what kind of DNS records are stored for a particular domain. The DMARC record itself contains instructions as to where the email should be sent if it fails either SPF or DKIM checks.

It also provides instructions as to how much of the message should be delivered if it fails authentication. There are three possible options here: 

  • ‘none’ means that all failed messages should be treated as normal
  • ‘quarantine’ means that some portion of the message should be delivered, but only with a warning
  • ‘reject’ means that no part of the message should be delivered at all

DKIM definition & how it works 

DKIM stands for DomainKeys Identified Mail and was developed by Yahoo! back in 2004 as a way to verify that an email is authentic. It works similarly to SPF (see below), but instead of sending an authentication signature with each message, it signs the headers of every message sent by your server so that recipients can verify their authenticity using public keys listed in DNS records associated with your domain name.

DKIM is a cryptographic method of verifying that an email is sent from an authorized server. This is done by cryptographically signing each email with a private key, which then allows it to be verified by the recipient using a public key. DKIM performs a different role in email authentication as opposed to DMARC. DKIM is a form of email authentication that allows you to verify if a message has been sent by someone using your domain name.

How does DKIM work?

The verification is done by adding a digital signature to each message sent from your server. This signature is added by adding a header to the email that contains a few key pieces of information:

  • The domain name used to send the email
  • A DKIM selector is used to help locate the DKIM public keys in the DNS in case there are multiple DKIM records published
  • The public key will be used by the recipient’s mail server to decrypt part of the message and compare it against another part of the message in order to verify that it was sent from an authorized server
  • A hash value is generated from parts of the message so that those parts can be verified by anyone who has authorized access 

DMARC Vs DKIM: Which to use and when?

DMARC and DKIM are both email authentication techniques that help improve the security and deliverability of your emails. While they’re often confused, and many companies have a hard time understanding the differences between these two protocols, DMARC and DKIM are actually quite distinct from each other as explained above.

It is important to note that neither of the two protocols is interdependent, and can be configured individually. Let’s find out how: 

Configuring DMARC paired with SPF

You can skip setting up DKIM for your domain and still configure DMARC by pairing it up with SPF. This is because for your emails to pass DMARC, either SPF or DKIM identifier alignment is required. To implement DMARC without DKIM: 

  • Make a list of all your authorized sending sources 
  • Create an SPF record using our free SPF record generator and include all your sending sources to authorize them
  • Paste the record on your DNS 
  • Create a DMARC TXT record for your domain using our free DMARC record generator 
  • Copy and paste this record on your DNS to activate DMARC

Configuring DKIM on its own

If you want to skip DMARC configuration, you can choose to implement DKIM on its own. To do so head over to the PowerDMARC DKIM record generator tool and enter the following information: 

  • A unique DKIM selector key (it can be a 1024 or 2048 bits long alphanumeric value) 
  • Your domain name (without any prefixes, for example, if your website URL is https://www.domainname.com, your domain name will be domainname.com)

Once you hit the generate record button our AI generates your DKIM TXT record along with instructions on how to publish it on your DNS to activate the protocol. 

DMARC VS DKIM VS SPF

SPF stands for Sender Policy Framework and was created by AOL back in 2001 as a way for email senders to tell recipient mail servers which IP addresses are authorized to send mail from.

When you’re trying to figure out which email authentication method is best for your business, the decision can get a little confusing. There are a lot of things to consider: SPF, DKIM, and DMARC all play important roles in ensuring that your emails are delivered and received as intended.

DMARC is the best method for protecting your brand from phishing scams, but it’s not as effective at stopping spam as DKIM or SPF. DKIM is better than DMARC for preventing spam, but it’s not as good at stopping phishing scams. SPF stops phishing scams better than any other method, but it doesn’t do much against spam or ransomware.

DMARC, SPF, and DKIM: How they can work in unison for well-rounded email protection

 

We believe that having a multi-factor approach to email authentication can be a game-changer in terms of domain and information security. This is why experts in the industry recommend organizations implement DMARC, SPF as well DKIM for well-rounded email protection. 

Aligning your emails against both SPF and DKIM authentication standards while using DMARC for special instructions and reverse feedback can help you gain 100% compliance on your emails. It also helps build trust and create a solid foundation for your organization’s domain, and ensure deliverability. 

The PowerDMARC email authentication suite gives you an automated experience while configuring your protocols. Our DMARC services come paired with SPF and DKIM to take your email’s security to the next level. Sign up for our free DMARC today to try out the benefits yourself!