电子邮件到达收件人收件箱的速度被称为电子邮件可送达率。当邮件最终进入垃圾邮件文件夹或被接收服务器屏蔽时,这一比率可能会减慢或延迟,甚至导致发送失败。它本质上是一个重要的参数,用来衡量你的邮件是否成功到达你想要的收件人的收件箱而不被标记为垃圾邮件。 电子邮件认证绝对是认证新手可以采用的选项之一,随着时间的推移,电子邮件送达率会有很大的改善。

在这篇博客中,我们将和你谈谈如何轻松地提高你的电子邮件送达率,同时讨论最佳的行业实践,以确保信息在你所有的电子邮件渠道中顺利流动

什么是电子邮件认证?

电子邮件认证是用来验证你的电子邮件的真实性的技术,与所有允许从你的域名发送电子邮件的授权来源进行比较。它还有助于验证参与传输或修改电子邮件的任何邮件传输代理(MTA)的域名所有权。

为什么你需要电子邮件认证?

简单邮件传输协议(SMTP)是电子邮件传输的互联网标准,它不包含验证入站和出站电子邮件的功能,使网络犯罪分子可以利用SMTP缺乏安全协议的特点。这可以被威胁者用来实施电子邮件钓鱼诈骗、BEC和域名欺骗攻击,他们可以冒充你的品牌并损害其声誉和公信力。电子邮件认证增强了你的域名的安全性,以防止假冒和欺诈,向接收服务器表明你的电子邮件符合DMARC标准,并来自有效和真实的来源。它也是一个检查点,以防止未经授权和恶意的IP地址从你的域名发送电子邮件。

为了保护你的品牌形象,最大限度地减少网络威胁,BEC和确保提高送达率,电子邮件认证是必须的!

电子邮件认证的最佳实践

发件人政策框架(SPF

SPF以TXT记录的形式出现在你的DNS中,显示所有被授权从你的域名发送邮件的有效来源。每一封离开你的域名的电子邮件都有一个IP地址,用来识别你的服务器和你的域名所使用的电子邮件服务提供商,该地址在你的DNS中被列为SPF记录。接收者的邮件服务器根据你的SPF记录来验证邮件,并相应地将该邮件标记为SPF通过或失败。

请注意,SPF 有一个 10 次的 DNS 查询限制,超过这个限制会返回一个 PermError 结果,导致 SPF 失败。这可以通过使用PowerSPF来缓解,使其始终保持在查询限制之下。

域名密钥识别邮件(DKIM

DKIM是一个标准的电子邮件认证协议,它分配了一个加密签名,使用私钥创建,以验证接收服务器中的电子邮件,其中接收方可以从发件人的DNS中检索公钥来验证邮件。与SPF很相似,DKIM的公钥也作为TXT记录存在于域名所有者的DNS中。

基于域的消息认证、报告和一致性(DMARC

仅仅实施SPF和DKIM是不够的,因为域名所有者没有办法控制接收服务器如何回应未能通过认证检查的电子邮件。

DMARC是目前使用最广泛的电子邮件认证标准,其目的是让域名所有者有能力向接收服务器指定他们应该如何处理那些不能通过SPF或DKIM或两者的邮件。这反过来有助于保护他们的域名免受未经授权的访问和电子邮件欺骗攻击。

DMARC如何提高电子邮件的送达率?

  • 当在你的域名的DNS中发布DMARC记录时,域名所有者要求支持DMARC的接收服务器对他们收到的该域名的电子邮件进行反馈,自动向接收服务器表明你的域名对电子邮件的安全协议和认证标准的支持,如DMARC、SPF和DKIM。
  • DMARC汇总报告帮助你获得对你的电子邮件生态系统的更多可见性,使你能够查看你的电子邮件认证结果,检测认证失败和缓解交付问题。
  • 通过执行你的DMARC政策,你可以阻止冒充你的品牌的恶意邮件进入你的接收者的邮箱。

关于提高电子邮件送达率的其他提示。

  • BIMI在收件人的收件箱中实现对你的品牌的视觉识别
  • 确保用MTA-STS 对传输中的邮件进行TLS加密
  • 通过TLS-RPT实现广泛的报告机制,检测和应对电子邮件交付问题

PowerDMARC是一个单一的电子邮件认证SaaS平台,它结合了所有的电子邮件认证最佳实践,如DMARC、SPF、DKIM、BIMI、MTA-STS和TLS-RPT,在同一个屋檐下。今天就注册使用PowerDMARC,并见证我们增强的电子邮件安全和认证套件在电子邮件交付能力方面的显著改善。

The rate at which emails make it through to the recipients’ inboxes is called the email deliverability rate. This rate can get slowed down or delayed or even lead to failure in delivery when emails end up in the spam folder or get blocked out by receiving servers. It is essentially an important parameter to measure the success of your emails reaching your desired receivers’ inboxes without being marked as spam. Email authentication is definitely one of the options authentication novices out there can resort to, to see a substantial improvement in email deliverability over time.

In this blog we are here to talk to you about how you can improve your email deliverability rate with ease and also discuss the best industry practices to ensure smooth flow of messages across all your email channels!

What is Email Authentication?

Email authentication is the technique used for validating your email for authenticity against all authorized sources that are allowed to send emails from your domain. It further helps in validating the domain ownership of any Mail Transfer Agent (MTA) involved in transferring or modifying an email.

Why Do You Need Email Authentication?

Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP) which is the internet standard for email transfer, contains no feature to authenticate inbound and outbound emails, allowing cybercriminals to exploit the lack of secure protocols in SMTP. This can be used by threat actors to perpetrate email phishing scams, BEC and domain spoofing attacks wherein they can impersonate your brand and harm its reputation and credibility. Email authentication enhances the security of your domain against impersonation and fraud, indicating to receiving servers that your emails are DMARC compliant and arise from valid and authentic sources. It also serves as a checkpoint for unauthorized and malicious IP addresses sending emails from your domain.

To protect your brand image, minimize cyber threats, BEC and ensure improved deliverability rate, email authentication is a must!

Email Authentication Best Practices

Sender Policy Framework (SPF)

SPF is present in your DNS as a TXT record, displaying all the valid sources that are authorized to send emails from your domain. Every email that leaves your domain has an IP address that identifies your server and the email service provider used by your domain that is enlisted within your DNS as an SPF record. The receiver’s mail server validates the email against your SPF record to authenticate it and accordingly marks the email as SPF pass or fail.

Note that SPF has a 10 DNS lookup limit, exceeding which can return a PermError result and lead to SPF failure. This can be mitigated by using PowerSPF to stay under the lookup limit at all times!

DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM)

DKIM is a standard email authentication protocol that assigns a cryptographic signature, created using a private key, to validate emails in the receiving server, wherein the receiver can retrieve the public key from the sender’s DNS to authenticate the messages. Much like SPF, the DKIM public key also exists as a TXT record in the DNS of the domain owner.

Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance (DMARC)

Simply implementing SPF and DKIM is just not enough since there is no way for domain owners to control how receiving servers respond to emails that fail authentication checks.

DMARC is the most widely used email authentication standard in the current time, which is designed to empower domain owners with the ability to specify to receiving servers how they should handle messages that fail SPF or DKIM or both. This in turn helps in protecting their domain from unauthorized access and email spoofing attacks.

How Can DMARC Improve Email Deliverability?

  • When publishing a DMARC record in your domain’s DNS, the domain owner requests receiving servers supporting DMARC, to send feedback on the emails which they receive for that domain, automatically indicating to receiving servers that your domain extends support towards secure protocols and authentication standards for emails, like DMARC, SPF and DKIM.
  • DMARC aggregate reports help you gain increased visibility into your email ecosystem, enabling you to view your email authentication results, detect authentication failures and mitigate delivery issues.
  • By enforcing your DMARC policy you can block malicious emails impersonating your brand from landing into the inboxes of your receivers.

Additional Tips on Improving Email Deliverability:

  • Enable visual identification of your brand in your receivers’ inboxes with BIMI
  • Ensure TLS encryption of emails in transit with MTA-STS
  • Detect and respond to email delivery issues by enabling extensive reporting mechanism with TLS-RPT

PowerDMARC is a single email authentication SaaS platform that combines all email authentication best practices such as DMARC, SPF, DKIM, BIMI, MTA-STS and TLS-RPT, under the same roof. Sign up today with PowerDMARC and witness a considerable improvement in email deliverability with our enhanced email security and authentication suite.