我可以在我的域名上有多个SPF记录吗?

在你的域名上有多个 SPF 记录可以吗?答案是否定的,因为拥有多个 SPF 记录是域名所有者最常遇到的 SPF 错误之一,它可以使你的 SPF 完全失效,并导致 SPF PermError。要了解为什么会发生这种情况,我们需要了解 SPF 的功能,以及为什么拥有多条 SPF 记录会导致认证方面的问题。今天就进行你的SPF 记录检查,找出你的 SPF 记录配置中的错误。

SPF是如何工作的?

发件人策略框架或SPF是一个流行的电子邮件认证协议,它通过列出所有允许代表你的域名发送电子邮件的授权发送源而发挥作用。SPF通过执行DNS查询请求或DNS查找来工作,其中接收的MTA通过与驻扎在你的域名DNS中的SPF记录中提到的IP地址列表相匹配,来查找并验证你的电子邮件的返回路径地址

如果发现有匹配的,该邮件就能通过SPF,否则就不能通过SPF。

因此,配置SPF只是发布一个以 "v=spf1 "语法开头的DNS TXT记录。

什么是 SPF PermError?

当一个接收的 MTA 开始对一封邮件进行 SPF 认证时,它会获取所有以 "v=spf1 "开头的 DNS TXT 记录。如果发送域没有配置 SPF,并且在 DNS 中没有发现 SPF 记录,那么就会返回一个 None 的结果。相反,如果发现同一域名存在多个以 "v=spf1 "开头的 SPF 记录,将返回PermError结果。

错误的方式。 

记录类型域名记录值TTL
TXT考试网v=spf1 include:_spf.zoho.com -all违约
TXT考试网v=spf1 include:_spf.google.com -all违约

在这个例子中,对于域名 exampledomain.com 来说,有 2 个独立的 DNS TXT 记录被公布在该域名的 DNS 中。在这种情况下,由于 SPF PermError,SPF 认证失败。

 

正确的方式。 

记录类型域名记录值TTL
TXT考试网v=spf1 include:_spf.zoho.com include:_spf.google.com -all违约

在这个例子中,域名 exampledomain.com 通过在一条记录中加入所有的包含机制,在 DNS 中只发布了一条 SPF DNS TXT 记录。这条记录是有效的,在这种情况下,SPF 不会返回一个 PermError 的结果。了解如何以正确的方式优化你的 SPF记录,以避免将来出现 SPF 记录错误。

影响SPF的其他因素:SPF错误的类型

如上所述,拥有多条 SPF 记录是一个常见的 SPF 错误,会导致你的 SPF 记录无效,无法通过 SPF 认证。所以,"我的域名上可以有多个 SPF 记录吗?"答案很简单:不可以。在确保你的 DNS 中只发布了一条 SPF 记录之后,仍然可能有其他因素导致 SPF 错误。

  • 超过 SPF 10 的查询限制,也会返回 SPF PermError 并破坏 SPF。
  • 手动平铺你的SPF记录,拉出你的包含机制背后的所有IP地址,会导致记录过长,可能超过255个字符的限制。
  • 你的电子邮件服务提供商,如Zoho、Gmail或Outlook,可以改变或添加到他们的IP地址,使你的SPF记录无效
  • 你的SPF记录可能包含语法错误

为了避免上述错误,使用PowerSPF来自动平整你的SPF记录,并保持在10个DNS查询限制之下。

你可以使用我们免费的SPF记录生成器生成你的无错误的SPF记录。今天就注册DMARC分析器,为你的域名正确配置SPF,避免所有SPF错误。

Can I Have Multiple SPF Records on My Domain

Is it okay to have multiple SPF records on your domain? The answer is no, since having multiple SPF records is one of the most common SPF errors that domain owners come across, it can completely invalidate your SPF and lead to SPF PermError. To understand why this happens we need to know how SPF functions and why having more than one SPF record can cause issues in the authentication. Conduct your domain record check today to find errors in your SPF record configuration.

How Does SPF Work?

Sender Policy Framework or SPF is a popular email authentication protocol that works by listing all of the authorized sending sources that are allowed to send emails on behalf of your domain. SPF works by performing DNS query requests, or DNS lookups wherein the receiving MTA looks up and validates your email’s Return-path address by matching it against the list of IP addresses mentioned in the SPF record that resides in your domain’s DNS.

If there is a match found, the email passes SPF, else it fails SPF.

Hence, configuring SPF is simply publishing a DNS TXT record that starts with “v=spf1” syntax.

What is SPF PermError?

When a receiving MTA begins to perform SPF authentication on an email, it fetches all the DNS TXT records that begin with “v=spf1”. In case SPF is not configured for the sending domain, and no SPF record is found in the DNS, a None result is returned. On the contrary, if multiple SPF records beginning with “v=spf1” are found to exist for the same domain, an SPF PermError result is returned.

SPF record multiple include : Which is the right way to publish the record?

The wrong way: 

Record TypeDomain NameRecord ValueTTL
TXTexampledomain.comv=spf1 include:_spf.zoho.com -alldefault
TXTexampledomain.comv=spf1 include:_spf.google.com -alldefault

In this example, for domain exampledomain.com, there are 2 separate DNS TXT records that have been published in the domain’s DNS to incorporate the SPF multiple include, separately. In this case, SPF authentication fails with a permanent error result returned for your domain. Each of these includes is treated as separate records resulting in multiple SPF records on the same domain.

 

The right way: 

Record TypeDomain NameRecord ValueTTL
TXTexampledomain.comv=spf1 include:_spf.zoho.com include:_spf.google.com -alldefault

In this example, the domain exampledomain.com has only a single SPF DNS TXT record instead of multiple SPF records. This is achieved by adding the SPF multiple include mechanisms in a single record. The record is valid and SPF would not return a PermError result in this case. Learn how to optimize your SPF record the correct way to avoid SPF record errors in the future.

Other Factors Affecting SPF: Types of SPF Errors

As discussed above, having multiple SPF records is a common SPF error that can render your SPF record invalid and fail SPF authentication. So the answer to “Can I have multiple SPF records on my domain?” is plain and simple: no you cannot. After ensuring that you have only one SPF record published in your DNS, there can still be other factors causing SPF errors.

  • Exceeding the SPF 10 lookup limit can also return SPF PermError and break SPF.
  • Manually flattening your SPF record to pull through all the IP addresses behind your include mechanism can lead to a lengthy record that may exceed the character string limit of 255 characters
  • Your email service providers like Zoho, Gmail, or Outlook can change or add to their IP addresses that invalidates your SPF record
  • Your SPF record might contain syntax errors

In order to avoid multiple SPF records and other common errors, use PowerSPF to automatically flatten your SPF record and stay under the 10 DNS lookup limit. Want to know if you’re abiding by all the SPF rules? Check your SPF record using our SPF record checker for free.

You can generate your error-free SPF record using our free SPF record generator. Sign up today for DMARC Analyzer to configure SPF correctly for your domain and avoid all SPF errors.