为什么SPF认证失败

你见过SPF失败的邮件吗?如果你见过,那么我将告诉你SPF认证失败的确切原因。发件人政策框架,或称SPF,是我们多年来用来阻止垃圾邮件的电子邮件验证标准之一。即使你没有意识到这一点,我敢打赌,如果我检查你在Facebook的登录账户设置,很可能会显示你 "选择加入 "了 "仅来自朋友的电子邮件"。这实际上与SPF是一回事。

SPF是一个电子邮件认证协议,用于验证电子邮件发件人与他们在邮件发件人字段中的域名是否相符。发送的MTA将使用DNS查询预先配置的SPF服务器列表,以检查发送IP是否被授权为该域名发送电子邮件。SPF记录的设置方式可能存在不一致,这对于理解为什么电子邮件可能无法通过SPF验证,以及你可以发挥什么作用来确保问题不会发生在你自己的电子邮件营销工作中至关重要。

为什么SPF认证会失败。无,中性,硬失败,软失败,TempError,和PermError

SPF 认证失败可能是由于以下原因发生的。

  • 接收的MTA未能在你的DNS中找到发布的SPF记录
  • 你在你的DNS中为同一个域名发布了多个SPF记录
  • 你的ESP已经改变或增加了他们的IP地址,而这些地址没有在你的SPF记录上更新
  • 如果你超过了SPF的10个DNS查询限制
  • 如果你超过了允许的最大数量的无效查询限制2
  • 你的扁平化的 SPF 记录长度超过了 255 个 SPF 字符的限制。

以上是SPF认证失败的各种情况。你可以用我们的DMARC分析器监控你的域名,以获得SPF认证失败的报告。当你启用了DMARC报告时,接收的MTA会根据你的邮件SPF失败的原因,返回以下任何一种SPF认证失败的结果。让我们更好地了解它们。

案例1:返回SPF无的结果

在第一种情况下,如果接收邮件的服务器进行了 DNS 查询,但无法在 DNS 中找到该域名,就会返回一个无的结果。如果在发件人的 DNS 中没有发现 SPF 记录,也会返回 None,这意味着发件人没有为这个域名配置 SPF 认证。在这种情况下,你的邮件的 SPF 认证就会失败。

现在就用我们免费的SPF记录生成工具生成你的无错误的SPF记录,以避免这种情况。

案例2:返回SPF中立的结果

在为你的域名配置 SPF 时,如果你在你的 SPF 记录中加入了 "所有 "机制,这意味着无论你的出站邮件的 SPF 认证检查得出什么结论,接收的 MTA 都会返回一个中立的结果。这是因为当你的 SPF 处于中立模式时,你没有指定授权代表你发送邮件的 IP 地址,而是允许未经授权的 IP 地址也发送邮件。

案例3:SPF软失败的结果

与 SPF neutral 类似,SPF softfail 是通过 ~all 机制来识别的,这意味着接收的 MTA 会接受邮件并将其送入收件人的收件箱,但如果 IP 地址没有被列入 DNS 中的 SPF 记录,它就会被标记为垃圾邮件,这可能是你的邮件 SPF 认证失败的一个原因。下面是一个 SPF 软失败的例子。

 v=spf1 include:spf.google.com ~all

案例4:SPF硬失败的结果

SPF hardfail,也被称为 SPF fail,是指接收的 MTA 会丢弃来自任何不在你 SPF 记录中的发送源的邮件。我们建议你在你的 SPF 记录中配置 SPF hardfail,如果你想获得对域名冒充和邮件欺骗的保护。下面是一个 SPF Hardfail 的例子。

v=spf1 include:spf.google.com -all

案例5:SPF TempError(SPF临时错误)。

SPF 认证失败的一个非常常见的原因是 SPF TempError (临时错误),它是由 DNS 错误引起的,比如在接收 MTA 进行 SPF 认证检查时,DNS 超时了。因此,正如它的名字所暗示的,它通常是一个返回 4xx 状态代码的临时错误,会导致 SPF 的暂时性失败,但是在以后再次尝试时,会产生 SPF 的通过结果。

案例 6:SPF PermError(SPF永久错误)。

域名错误面临的另一个常见结果是 SPF PermError。这就是为什么在大多数情况下,SPF 认证会失败。这发生在你的 SPF 记录被接收的 MTA 无效的时候。在执行 DNS 查询时,SPF 可能会出现故障并被 MTA 宣布无效,这有很多原因。

  • 超过了10个SPF查询的限制
  • SPF记录的语法不正确
  • 同一域名有一个以上的SPF记录
  • 超过SPF记录长度限制的255个字符
  • 如果你的SPF记录没有随着你的ESPs的变化而更新

注意:当一个 MTA 对一封邮件进行 SPF 检查时,它会查询 DNS 或进行 DNS 查询,以检查邮件来源的真实性。理想情况下,在 SPF 中,你最多可以进行 10 次 DNS 查询,超过这个次数将导致 SPF 失败,并返回一个 PermError 结果。

动态SPF扁平化如何解决SPF PermError?

与其他的 SPF 错误不同,SPF PermError 的解决方式更为棘手和复杂。PowerSPF 借助于自动 SPF 平坦化,可以帮助你轻松地缓解它。它可以帮助你。

  • 保持在SPF的硬限值之下
  • 即时优化你的SPF记录
  • 将你的记录扁平化为一个单一的包括声明
  • 确保你的SPF记录总是在你的ESP所做的改变中得到更新

想测试一下你的域名是否已经正确配置了SPF?今天就试试我们免费的SPF记录查询工具吧!

why SPF authentication fails

Have you ever seen an email fail SPF? If you have, then I’m going to tell you exactly why SPF authentication fails. Sender Policy Framework, or SPF, is one of the email verification standards we’ve all used for years to stop spam. Even if you weren’t aware of it, I’ll bet if I checked your login account settings for Facebook it would likely show you “opt-in” to “email from friends only”. That is effectively the same thing as SPF.

SPF is an email authentication protocol that is used to verify that the email sender matches with their domain name in the From: field of the message. The sending MTA will use DNS to query a preconfigured list of SPF servers to check if the sending IP is authorized to send email for that domain. There may be inconsistencies in how SPF records are setup, which is critical to understanding why emails can fail SPF verification, and what part you can play to ensure issues don’t occur in your own email marketing efforts.

Why SPF Authentication Fails : None, Neutral, Hardfail, Softfail, TempError, and PermError

SPF authentication failures can happen due to the following reasons:

  • The receiving MTA fails to find an SPF record published in your DNS
  • You have multiple SPF records published in your DNS for the same domain
  • Your ESPs have changed or added to their IP addresses which have not been updated on your SPF record
  • If you exceed the 10 DNS lookup limit for SPF
  • If you exceed the maximum number of permitted void lookup limit of 2
  • Your flattened SPF record length exceeds the 255 SPF characters limit

Given above are various scenarios of why SPF authentication fails. You can monitor your domains with our DMARC analyzer to get reports on SPF authentication failures. When you have DMARC reporting enabled, the receiving MTA returns any one of the following SPF authentication failure results for the email depending on the reason for which your email failed SPF. Let’s get to know them better:

Case 1: SPF None result is Returned

In the first case scenario,- if the receiving email server performs a DNS lookup and is unable to find the domain name in the DNS, a none result is returned. None is also returned in case no SPF record is found in the sender’s DNS, which implies that the sender doesn’t have SPF authentication configured for this domain. In this case SPF authentication for your emails fails.

Generate your error-free SPF record now with our free SPF record generator tool to avoid this.

Case 2: SPF Neutral Result is Returned

While configuring SPF for your domain, if you have affixed a ?all mechanism to your SPF record, this means that no matter what the SPF authentication checks for your outbound emails conclude, the receiving MTA returns a neutral result. This happens because when you have your SPF in neutral mode, you are not specifying the IP addresses that are authorized to send emails on your behalf and allowing unauthorized IP addresses to send them as well.

Case 3: SPF Softfail Result

Similar to SPF neutral, SPF softfail is identified by ~all mechanism which implies that the receiving MTA would accept the mail and deliver it into the inbox of the recipient, but it would be marked as spam, in case the IP address is not listed in the SPF record found in the DNS, which can be a reason why SPF authentication fails for your email. Given below is an example of SPF softfail:

 v=spf1 include:spf.google.com ~all

Case 4: SPF Hardfail Result

SPF hardfail, also known as SPF fail is when receiving MTAs would discard emails originating from any sending source that is not listed within your SPF record. We recommend you to configure SPF hardfail in your SPF record, if you want to gain protection against domain impersonation and email spoofing. Given below is an example of SPF hardfail:

v=spf1 include:spf.google.com -all

Case 5: SPF TempError (SPF Temporary Error)

One of the very common and often harmless reasons why SPF authentication fails is SPF TempError (temporary error) which is caused due to a DNS error such as a DNS timeout while an SPF authentication check is being performed by the receiving MTA. It is therefore, just as the name suggests, usually an interim error returning a 4xx status code that can cause temporary SPF failure, however yielding an SPF pass result when tried again later.

Case 6: SPF PermError (SPF Permanent Error)

Another common result that domain errors are faced with is SPF PermError. This is why SPF authentication fails in most case scenarios. This happens when your SPF record gets invalidated by the receiving MTA. There are many reasons why SPF might break and be rendered invalid by the MTA while performing DNS lookups:

  • Exceeding the 10 SPF lookup limit
  • Incorrect SPF record syntax
  • More than one SPF record for the same domain
  • Exceeding the SPF record length limit of 255 characters
  • If your SPF record is not up to date with changes made by your ESPs

Note: When an MTA performs an SPF check on an email, it queries the DNS or conducts a DNS lookup to check for the authenticity of the email source. Ideally, in SPF you are allowed a maximum of 10 DNS lookups, exceeding which will fail SPF and return a PermError result.

How Can Dynamic SPF Flattening Resolve SPF PermError?

Unlike the other SPF errors, SPF PermError is much more tricky and complicated to resolve. PowerSPF helps you mitigate it easily with the help of automatic SPF flattening. It helps you:

  • Stay under the SPF hard limit
  • Instantly optimize your SPF record
  • Flatten your record to a single include statement
  • Make sure your SPF record is always updated on changes made by your ESPs

Want to test if you have SPF configured correctly for your domain? Try out our free SPF record lookup tool today!