什么是 "药剂攻击"?

植入式攻击 是一种难以追踪的网络攻击,因为它很难设置。根据 Pharming的定义, 它是一种攻击,威胁者通过将用户重定向到看起来像原始网站的恶意网站而破坏数据。

在2021年9月,超过 50家金融公司 的人成为了一次复杂的 钓鱼式攻击的受害者 ,该攻击针对美国、欧洲和亚太地区的在线客户。每天有近1,000台设备被感染,持续了三天,然后才 识别并关闭 了pharming 恶意软件。

像这样的事件使我们更有必要了解 什么是这些类型的攻击 以及如何防止它们。因此,请将该博客读到最后,以了解有关这种现代网络犯罪的一切。

什么是 "药剂攻击"?

药剂攻击 是一种操纵你的DNS的做法,以便你访问一个虚假的网站,在那里,不良分子可以窃取或拦截你的敏感信息。这包括你的财务细节、社会安全号码、医疗细节、电话号码、电子邮件地址等。

你很容易上当受骗,因为非法克隆的网站几乎没有任何区别,让你认为它是一个真正的网站。一旦坏人窃取了你的详细资料,他们就可以进行购买、转账,利用你的身份进行网络犯罪,等等。 

诈骗 是两个词的组合,即网络钓鱼和养殖。这是因为黑客为受害者进行钓鱼,并为他们的数据进行养殖,以窃取或拦截他们提交的信息。

药剂和网络钓鱼是一样的吗?

现在让我们来讨论一下 网络营销与网络钓鱼, 因为人们经常交替使用这些术语。虽然它们有一些相似之处,但 网络营销 和网络钓鱼是两种不同类型的网络犯罪。然而,两者的目的都是为了获取用户的个人信息进行滥用。

网络钓鱼是试图使用电子邮件或恶意软件,将你带到具有不同URL的虚假网站。你可以通过仔细检查URL来防止成为受害者,这些URL通常包括拼写的改变或类似的邪恶伎俩。例如,使用0(零)而不是O(英语字母表的第15个字母)。 

钓鱼式攻击 是在DNS层面上执行的,你会被重定向到一个具有确切地址的克隆网站。这意味着即使你仔细检查URL,也无法发现一个假网站。恶意行为者必须投入更多的精力来进行 钓鱼攻击

制药技术和方法

那么, 盗版的技术 是什么?它的工作原理是改变你在搜索栏中输入的网址,把你送到错误的IP上,这样你就登陆了一个复制的网站。让我们来看看 pharming攻击者使用什么技术和方法

施药恶意软件

威胁者向你发送含有恶意软件链接或附件的非法电子邮件。他们甚至可以引导你到另一个网站,从那里可以将恶意软件安装到你的设备上。他们试图用各种诙谐的方式使你更难避免点击这种被破坏的链接。

一旦你的电脑被感染,恶意软件开始覆盖主机文件。这将误导你的浏览器,只要你输入一个特定的网址,就会把你带到另一个恶意网站。药剂攻击 之所以如此普遍和成功,是因为一旦恶意软件开始重写主机文件,就很难将其摆脱。运行一个反恶意软件程序是不够的;你必须对你的设备进行深度清洁。

DNS中毒

DNS 钓鱼 攻击比基于恶意软件的 钓鱼攻击 更复杂 。在这种情况下,网络犯罪分子会攻击你的DNS服务器,在你不同意和不知道的情况下改变你的路线。这个过程不包括恶意软件。

大多数黑客选择这种技术,尽管它更费力,因为它可以同时窃取成千上万用户的信息。 

施药攻击的迹象

如果你注意到以下任何活动,你必须提高警惕。

  • 你不承认的金融活动。例如;信用卡交易或银行转账。
  • 收到不是由你发起的电子邮件的回复。
  • 在你的社交媒体账户上有不寻常的或未被认可的活动。
  • 停用了防病毒、防恶意软件和其他安全软件。
  • 注意到你的设备上有不是你安装的新软件。
  • 频繁的弹出窗口,将你重定向到一个虚假的网站。
  • 改变你的浏览器主页设置。
  • 系统经常崩溃或挂起,因为 噬人的恶意软件会消耗大量的空间。
  • 设备在启动时显示不寻常的信息或程序;这是一个恶意软件的迹象。 

为什么制药业的危险性更大?

网络攻击与网络钓鱼之间 ,前者更危险,因为这些攻击可以迅速成为病毒。此外,检测和遏制它们也很有挑战性。因此,你必须遵循下面分享的关于减轻网络攻击的提示 ,以保护你的企业形象。

如何减轻药剂攻击的影响?

现在你对 什么是盗版攻击有了足够的了解 ,是时候学习一些实用的技术来预防它了。以下是你可以做的事情。

使用安全的网络连接

不要使用你的路由器附带的默认密码和设置。一般的用户名和密码都是公共记录,使你的路由器很容易被破坏。 

选择一个值得信赖的互联网服务提供商

挑选一个知名的互联网服务提供商,因为你的机密信息可能会被泄露。如果你的ISP不可靠,黑客可以访问你的大部分文件。

浏览时要谨慎

在浏览互联网时要小心。只关注来自已知和可信赖来源的链接,否则你可能会登陆到非法的假克隆网站,并成为 噬人攻击的 受害者

避免访问HTTP网址

请注意HTTPS中的 "S"。以HTTPS开头的URL是安全的,因为它表示一个经过认证和安全的网站。一个HTTP网站可能是潜在的恶意或传染性的。

注意URL中的错别字

黑客通过提供有小的、不易察觉的改动的URL链接来欺骗你。起初,你可能无法注意到它,但如果仔细观察,你可以瞪大眼睛看到错误。

使用双因素认证

双因素认证是一种电子认证方法,其作用是在密码之外增加一个额外的安全层。因此,如果你的密码被盗,第二层将避免未经授权的访问。它可以是OTP或一次性密码,也可以是使用你的指纹、面部识别和视网膜识别的生物识别技术。在某些情况下,它也可以是一个QR码。 

警惕 "好得不能再好 "的交易和优惠

你可能经常会看到广告或收到电子邮件,用大折扣、抽奖、赞助度假等交易来诱惑你。你必须忽略它们,因为它们是把你带到一个虚假网站的诱饵,攻击者会在那里捕获你的敏感信息。

最后的思考

药剂攻击 可能很难被发现,然而,安全的浏览方法可以为你抵御它们。 黑客可以使用知名公司的域名来发送欺诈性电子邮件,以便受害者信任他们并进行下一步的操作。在攻击成功的情况下,你的品牌形象会受到损害。你必须实施 SPF、DKIM和 DMARC 协议,以便只有真正的电子邮件能够进入收件人的邮箱。记住,网络攻击是可以通过谨慎的态度来预防的。

Pharming is a type of cyberattack that’s difficult to trace as it’s hard to set up. As per pharming’s definition, it’s an attack where threat actors breach data by redirecting users to malicious websites that look like original ones. 

In September 2021, over 50 financial companies were victims of a sophisticated pharming attack that targeted online customers in the US, Europe, and APAC region. Nearly 1,000 devices per day were infected for three days before the pharming malware was recognized and shut down. 

Incidents like this make it even more important to know what is a pharming attack and how to prevent it. So, read the blog till the end to know everything about this modern cybercrime. 

What is a Pharming Attack?

A Pharming attack is a practice of manipulating your DNS so that you visit a fake website where bad actors can steal or intercept your sensitive information. This includes your financial details, social security numbers, medical details, phone numbers, email addresses, etc. 

You can get tricked easily as the illegitimate clone of a website is nearly indistinguishable, making you perceive it as a genuine one. Once bad actors steal your details, they can make purchases, transfer money, conduct cybercrimes using your identity, etc. 

Pharming is a combination of two words, phishing and farming. This is because a hacker phishes for a victim and farms for their data to steal or intercept information submitted by them. 

Are Pharming and Phishing the Same?

Now let’s discuss pharming vs phishing, as people often use these terms interchangeably. Although they’ve a few similarities, pharming and phishing are two distinct types of cybercrimes. However, both aim to acquire users’ personal information for misuse. 

Phishing is attempted using emails or malware that take you to fake websites with different URLs. You can prevent being a victim by carefully checking the URLs, which usually include spelling alterations or similar wicked tricks. For example- using 0 (zero) instead of O (the 15th letter of the English alphabet). 

Whereas a pharming attack is executed at the DNS level where you’re redirected to a clone of a website with the exact address. This means you can’t detect a fake website even if you check the URL carefully. A malicious actor has to put more effort for pharming.

Pharming Techniques and Methods

So, what is pharming’s technique? It works by changing the web address you enter in the search bar, sending you to the wrong IP so you land on a replicated website. Let’s see what techniques and methods pharming attackers use.

Pharming Malware

Threat actors send you illegitimate emails with links or attachments containing malware. They can even direct you to another website from which a malware can be installed on your device. They attempt various witty ways to make it harder for you to avoid clicking on such corrupted links.

Once your computer is infected, the malware starts overwriting host files. This misdirects your browser to take you to another malicious website whenever you type a specific web address. Pharming attacks are so prevalent and successful because it’s tough to get rid of them once malware starts rewriting host files. Running an anti-malware program won’t be enough; you’ve to get your device cleaned deeply.

DNS Poisoning

A DNS pharming attack is more complex than a malware-based pharming attack. In this, cybercriminals attack your DNS server to reroute you without your consent and knowledge. This process doesn’t include malware. 

Most hackers choose this technique despite it being more effort-taking because it can steal information from thousands of users at once. 

Signs of a Pharming Attack

If you notice any of the following activities, you must put your guard on.

  • Financial activities that you don’t recognize. For example; credit card transactions or bank transfers.
  • Receiving replies to emails not initiated by you.
  • Unusual or unrecognized activities on your social media accounts.
  • Deactivated antivirus, anti-malware, and other security software.
  • Noticing new software on your device that aren’t installed by you.
  • Frequent pop-ups redirecting you to a fake website.
  • Changes in your browser’s homepage settings.
  • System crashing or hanging frequently as pharming malware consumes a lot of space.
  • Device showing unusual messages or programs upon starting up; it’s a sign of a malware. 

Why is Pharming More Dangerous?

Between pharming vs phishing, the former is more dangerous as these attacks can quickly become viral. Moreover, it’s challenging to detect and contain them. So, you must follow the below-shared tips on mitigating pharming attacks to protect your business image.  

How to Mitigate Pharming Attacks?

Now that you know enough about what is a pharming attack, it’s time to learn some practical techniques to prevent it. Here’s what you can do:

Use a Secure Web Connection

Don’t use default passwords and settings that come with your router. The general usernames and passwords are public records, making your router easy to be compromised. 

Choose a Trusted Internet Service Provider

Pick a reputed internet service provider as your confidential information can get leaked. Hackers can access most of your files if your ISP isn’t reliable.

Be Cautious While Browsing

Be careful while browsing the internet. Follow links from known and trusted sources only otherwise you might land on illegitinmate fake clones of websites and become a pharming attack victim.. 

Refrain Visiting HTTP URLs

Pay attention to the ‘S’ in HTTPS. URLs starting with HTTPS are safe as it denotes a certified and secured site. An HTTP website can be potentially malicious or infectious.

Pay Attention to Typos in URLs

Hackers trick you by offering links to URLs with small, unnoticeable alterations. At first, you might fail to notice it, but you can glare at errors if seen carefully.

Use Two-factor Authentication

Two-factor authentication is an electronic authentication method that works by adding an additional layer of security other than passwords. So, if your password is stolen, the second layer will avert unauthorized access. It can be an OTP or one time password or biometrics using your fingerprint, facial recognition, and retina recognition. In some cases, it can be a QR code too. 

Be Wary of Too-Good-To-Be-True Deals and Offers

You may often see ads or receive emails luring you with deals like heavy discounts, lotteries, sponsored vacations, etc. You must ignore them as they’re baits to bring you on a fake website where attackers will capture your sensitive information.

Final Thoughts

Pharming attacks can be hard to detect, however safe browsing practices can defend you against them. Hackers can use domains of reputed companies to send fraudulent emails so that victims trust them and proceed with the next steps. In case of a successful pharming attack, your brand image can get tarnished. You must implement SPF, DKIM, and DMARC protocols so that only genuine emails can land into recipient’s mailboxes. Remember, cyberattacks can be prevented with cautiousness.

Latest posts by Ahona Rudra (see all)