Gartner DMARC

根据Gartner公司的数据,DMARC是十大安全项目之一!当你像我们一样在网络安全领域工作了这么久,你会开始注意到一些组织如何看待安全的目的的模式。很多人认为网络安全措施更多的是满足合规标准的一种方式,而不是真正保护他们的数字流程。这是一种相当近视的看待方式,因为它未能正确传达安全在现实世界中的效用。

在Gartner最近的一篇文章中,他们列出了2020-2021年的10大安全项目。根据安全和风险管理领导人的说法,这些是企业最重要的战略,不仅可以减轻品牌的风险,而且可以实际推动企业价值的提升。"关键是要优先考虑业务启用和减少风险,"卡西-帕内塔写道," 并将这些优先事项有效地传达给企业。"

其中,DMARC被列为组织可以利用其业务的最重要安全措施之一。那么,这究竟是如何工作的呢?从长远来看,它应该如何提高你的商业价值?让我们来了解一下。

DMARC不仅仅是关于电子邮件

当然,如果我们要讲技术,那么是的。DMARC是一个电子邮件认证协议,帮助接收服务器剔除从你的域名发送的假邮件。但是,如果实施得当,DMARC是一个品牌可以用来通过他们的数字通信建立信任、可信度和真实性的工具。这也是一种确保你所要传达的品牌信息不会被冒名顶替的企图所冲淡或削弱的方法。

普通用户很难分辨出他们是否被欺骗了,因为这些邮件通常看起来很无害。它们可以很简单,要求你的客户登录到你的在线服务来更新信息,就像这些大规模的Office 365网络钓鱼骗局,泄露了成千上万的账户。或者它可能像2019年的沉默的椋鸟攻击那样复杂和精心策划

DMARC保护不仅仅是为了防止垃圾邮件进入你的客户的收件箱。它是你如何确保你的客户在看到你的邮件时有信心点击它们。电子邮件认证不只是带来可衡量的好处,如增加送达率,它为你的品牌提供现实世界的好处,而不是图表上的数字。

DMARC对企业的5个好处 | Gartner DMARC

1.信息

这是DMARC最具体和可衡量的好处,它以DMARC报告的形式出现。一旦你设置了DMARC,你就可以开始在你的电子邮件中接收关于哪些电子邮件没有通过SPF、DKIM和DMARC的报告。

它还提供其他有用的信息,如发件人的IP地址,所以你可以看到他们是否是一个授权发件人。你可以看到你的电子邮件有多大比例被认证,这将影响送达率,你还可以检查每个IP发送了多少邮件,以防出现可疑的活动。

2.控制权

当你拥有信息时,你也有控制权。你可以看到你是否因为DMARC而出现递送问题,在这种情况下,你可以立即采取行动来纠正这个问题,并提高你的电子邮件递送能力。

此外,如果你发现一个滥用的IP在欺骗你的域名,你甚至可以联系他们的主机提供商,让他们撤下,消除威胁。当你控制了你的沟通渠道,你也就夺回了对你品牌的控制权。

3.安全问题

这是DMARC最明显的好处,因为它创建的目的是为了确保电子邮件发送者和接收者免受网络钓鱼的危险。有了DMARC,安全方面的好处是双重的:你的员工和客户都受到保护,免受垃圾邮件的侵害。

冒充你的老板或CEO的攻击者向你的员工发送钓鱼邮件,让他们转移资金或访问敏感数据。在其他情况下,他们冒充你的品牌,向客户或公众发送虚假的电子邮件。

在这两种情况下,如果电子邮件来自未经授权的来源,DMARC将识别它,如果你是100%的DMARC执行者,该电子邮件将被自动拒绝。

4.可见性

DMARC使使用BIMI(信息识别的品牌指标)成为可能。这个协议将你的品牌标志附在你发送的每封电子邮件旁边。如果你的电子邮件被DMARC验证,用户将在收件箱中看到你的标志。

这有两个原因。品牌知名度,和客户信任。在经常看到你的标志后,用户不仅会认识到你的品牌并感到熟悉,而且他们会知道,只有旁边有你的标志的电子邮件才是真实的。

5.可交付性

实施DMARC告诉你的电子邮件服务提供商,你使用的安全级别比大多数域名要高。这将提高你的域名在服务商那里的声誉,并使你真正的、经过认证的邮件不容易被标记为垃圾邮件。

更多的邮件进入你的客户的收件箱,这意味着更多的点击和参与。而这从来没有伤害,不是吗?

DMARC之旅是一个精心调整的过程,它着眼于你的电子邮件使用模式的所有方面。通过仔细的监测和分析,你可以在短短几周内从零到100%地执行DMARC。以下是它是如何工作的。

 

现在就与我们联系,了解更多信息,或开始免费试用,以便我们为你提供一个快速实现DMARC的途径。

When you’re in the cybersecurity space for as long as we’ve been, you start to notice patterns in how some organizations view the purpose of security. A lot of people see cybersecurity measures more as a way to meet compliance standards than to actually secure their digital processes. This is a rather myopic way of looking at it, because it fails to properly convey the real-world utility security has.

In a recent article by Gartner, they listed 10 top security projects for 2020-2021. According to security and risk management leaders, these are the most important strategies for organizations to not only mitigate the risk to their brand, but actually drive up their business value. “The key is to prioritize business enablement and reduce risk,” writes Kasey Panetta, ” and communicate those priorities effectively to the business.”

Among others, DMARC was listed as one of the most important security measures organizations can leverage for their business. So how does that work exactly? How is it supposed to improve your business value in the long run? Let’s find out.

DMARC is About More Than Just Email

Sure, if we’re going to be technical, then yes. DMARC is an email authentication protocol that helps receiving servers weed out fake email sent from your domain. But when properly implemented, DMARC is a tool brands can use to build trust, credibility and authenticity through their digital communications. It’s also a way to ensure that the brand message you’re trying to convey isn’t diluted or dampened by impersonation attempts.

It’s incredibly difficult for the average user to tell when they’re being spoofed, because of how innocuous the emails often look. They can be as simple as asking your customer to log in to your online service to update information, like these massive Office 365 phishing scams that compromised thousands of accounts. Or it could be as complex and carefully orchestrated as the Silent Starling attack of 2019.

DMARC protection isn’t just going to keep the spam email out of your customers’ inboxes. It’s how you’re going to ensure that your customers have the confidence to click on your emails when they see them. Email authentication doesn’t just bring measurable benefits like increased delivery rates, it offers real-world benefits to your brand that go beyond numbers on a graph.

5 Benefits of DMARC for Business

1. Information

This is the most tangible and measurable benefit of DMARC, and it comes in the form of DMARC reports. Once you set up DMARC, you can start receiving reports to your email about which emails failed SPF, DKIM and DMARC.

It also provides other useful information, such as the sender’s IP address, so you can see if they’re an authorized sender or not. You can see what percentage of your emails are being authenticated, which will affect deliverability, and you can check how many emails each IP sends, in case of suspicious activity.

2. Control

When you have information, you also have control. You can see if you’re having delivery issues due to DMARC, in which case you can take immediate action to rectify the problem and boost your email deliverability.

Additionally, if you spot an abusive IP spoofing your domain, you can even contact their hosting provider and have them taken down, eliminating the threat. When you have control over your communication channels, you’re also taking back control of your brand.

3. Security

This is the most obvious benefit of DMARC, since it was created with the intention of securing email senders and receivers from the dangers of phishing. With DMARC, the security benefits are twofold: both your staff and customers are protected from spam.

Attackers that impersonate your boss or CEO send phishing emails to your employees to get them to transfer money or give access to sensitive data. In other cases, they impersonate your brand and send fake emails to customers or the public.

In both scenarios, if the email comes from an unauthorized source, DMARC will identify it, and if you’re 100% DMARC enforced, the email will be automatically rejected.

4. Visibility

DMARC makes it possible to use BIMI (Brand Indicators for Message Identification). This protocol attaches your brand’s logo next to every email you send. If your email is validated by DMARC, the user will see your logo in the inbox.

This is useful for two reasons: Brand visibility, and Customer trust. Not only will users come to recognize and feel familiar with your brand after regularly seeing your logo, but they’ll know that only emails with your logo next to them are genuine.

5. Deliverability

Implementing DMARC tells your email service provider that you’re using a higher level of security than most domains. This will increase your domain’s reputation with the provider, and it will make it less likely for your genuine, authenticated emails to accidentally be marked as spam.

More emails make it to your customers’ inboxes, which means more clicks and engagement. And that never hurt, did it?

The DMARC journey is a carefully tuned process that looks at all aspects of your email usage patterns. Through careful monitoring and analysis, you can go from zero to 100% DMARC enforcement in just a couple of weeks. Here’s how it works.

 

Get in touch with us now to know more or start a free trial in order for us to provide you a fast track path to DMARC enforcement.