岗位

勒索软件、恶意软件和网络钓鱼是已经存在多年的三种类型的在线威胁。这三种威胁都可以通过电子邮件部署,对一个组织不利,并可能导致金融或信息资产的损失。它们可能很难区分,但我们的勒索软件与恶意软件和网络钓鱼指南在此强调它们之间的一些关键区别。 

这里有一个细目。

勒索软件VS恶意软件VS网络钓鱼:定义

勒索软件与恶意软件

赎金软件是一种恶意软件,它可以加密你的文件,然后使它们无法访问,除非你向发送它的网络犯罪分子支付赎金。问题是,这不是普通的恶意软件--它是专门设计的,通过控制你的电脑和挟持你的文件,直到你付钱为止,让你付钱。赎金软件也可以作为一种服务来运作,通常被称为 RaaS.

 

恶意软件是另一种类型的威胁,可以感染你的电脑并使其无法使用。在大多数情况下,恶意软件并不要求以付款来换取从你的设备中移除自己--相反,它在接管你的系统后,会在你的硬盘或笔记本电脑上留下不需要的程序或文件。

勒索软件和恶意软件VS网络钓鱼

网络钓鱼攻击涉及发送带有链接或附件的电子邮件,这些链接或附件看似来自Facebook或Gmail等受信任的网站,但却指向由网络犯罪分子控制的恶意网站,这些犯罪分子想窃取你或互联网上其他人的信息,以便日后实施身份欺诈(如试图购买机票时)。

攻击预防和缓解方面的差异

预防勒索软件攻击 

勒索软件可以通过电子邮件、社交媒体和其他在线服务传播,也可以从网站下载。它经常被用来向受害者勒索钱财,也就是所谓的 "勒索软件攻击"。

防止勒索软件攻击的最好方法是使用强密码和其他保护你的系统和电子邮件的安全措施,如可靠的防病毒软件和电子邮件认证协议,如 DMARC,分别。

阅读我们关于DMARC和勒索病毒的完整指南。

缓解勒索软件攻击

如果你受到勒索软件攻击的影响,有一些事情你可以马上去做。

  1. 确保你的电脑上的所有文件都被备份并保存在其他地方(如外部硬盘)。
  2. 从你的电脑中删除任何可疑的软件,在感染被完全清除之前(或至少在没有风险之前)不要安装新的软件。
  3. 不要打开任何要钱的电子邮件--也不要点击其中的链接! 
  4. 如果可能的话,与可以使用电脑的朋友或家人联系,这样他们可以在你完成后帮助清理。 
  5. 如果可能的话,考虑让别人接管你的账户,这样就只有一个人可以同时访问它;这将使他们更容易清理

预防恶意软件攻击

  1. 第一步是安装 杀毒软件在你的电脑上。杀毒软件可以检测并清除你电脑中的病毒和其他类型的恶意软件。这应该在你感染了恶意软件后尽快进行,以便在对你的计算机造成任何损害之前将其删除。
  2. 防止恶意软件攻击的另一个方法是保持你的操作系统是最新的。大多数操作系统都有自动更新功能,当网上有新的病毒和其他类型的恶意软件时,自动下载它们,或通过你电脑上的更新应用程序,帮助它们保持安全,防止新病毒和其他类型的恶意软件。如果一个操作系统没有可用的更新,那么最好不要安装任何东西,直到该特定版本的OS(操作系统)的更新发布。
  3. 防止恶意软件攻击的第三个方法是尽可能使用强密码,而不是使用12345这样的简单密码。

缓解恶意软件攻击

如果你的电脑感染了恶意软件,不要再等了!在尝试任何其他步骤之前,用一个反病毒程序进行全面扫描。 

当一台电脑感染了恶意软件,它可以迅速传播,并导致更多的问题,而不仅仅是使你的电脑变慢。因此,在尝试任何其他从恶意软件攻击中恢复的方法之前,请确保你运行一个全面扫描。

预防网络钓鱼攻击

DMARC是打击这种类型的攻击的最有效方法之一,因为它可以帮助防止攻击者掌握你的域名,这将使他们能够冒充你的网站或服务,从而获得你的客户的数据。然而,你需要在一个强制的 DMARC政策p=reject,以防止攻击。

缓解网络钓鱼攻击

如果你的客户收到似乎来自你的域名的钓鱼邮件,你需要一个机制来追踪这些恶意的IP。DMARC报告是监测你的发送源并追踪这些IP以更快地将其列入黑名单的绝佳方式。 

我们建议配置我们的 DMARC报告分析器以人类可读的(非XML)格式查看您的报告。

总结

简而言之,勒索软件是一种恶意软件,它对你的计算机上的文件进行加密,将它们作为人质,直到你付钱将它们解锁。恶意软件是指未经你明确同意而改变或删除数据的任何类型的软件。网络钓鱼是指骗子假装成你认识的人,如你的银行或雇主,要求你提供敏感信息,如用户名和密码。 

然而,所有这三者都可以通过假地址假装是你的假电子邮件来管理用户!这就是为什么我们要保护你的域名。今天就用一个DMARC分析器来保护你的域名的电子邮件吧 DMARC分析器来保护你的域名邮件,再也不用担心冒名顶替的威胁了!

什么是恶意软件? 恶意软件或恶意软件可以破坏你的系统(有时无法修复),并访问你的敏感数据,甚至对其进行加密。可以说,这种类型的攻击对用户来说从来没有好结果。截至2020年3月,全球新发现的恶意软件的总数量为6.7766亿个程序,比2020年1月底的6.61亿个有所增加。到2020年,AV-TEST预测将有超过7亿的新恶意软件样本。

因此,让我们看一下 恶意软件是什么 及其破坏你系统工作的重要类型。

什么是恶意软件?

恶意软件是一种可以对你的计算机系统造成损害的软件。恶意软件可以接管你的电脑,访问你的私人信息,或损坏你的文件和数据。

恶意软件可能是恶意的,这意味着它有坏的意图并试图伤害你。恶意软件通常是为了窃取个人信息,收集你的密码,甚至破坏你的电脑。

恶意软件也可能是无意的,这意味着它是由开发人员或公司创建的,他们并不打算让恶意软件包含任何有害功能。无意的恶意软件往往包括写得不好的代码,使黑客能够获得用户的信息或设备。

恶意软件能做什么?

恶意软件可能会导致以下问题。

  • 锁定你的电脑。
  • 隐藏你的文件,使你难以访问你的重要文件。
  • 改变你的计算机上的设置。
  • 将病毒、间谍软件和其他恶意软件下载到你的电脑上。
  • 在你不知情的情况下进入你的电脑
  • 从你的硬盘中窃取数据
  • 劫持你的浏览器或基于网络的应用程序
  • 占领你的电脑以监视他人使用电脑的情况

恶意软件的类型

下面讨论了最常见的恶意软件类型。

  • 病毒是最常见的恶意软件类型,其特点是能够复制和传播自己到其他系统。病毒可以通过电子邮件附件、点对点文件共享和其他方式传播。
  • 木马病毒 是通过网络传播的恶意软件。它们模仿合法程序(如浏览器),通过显示虚假的安全警告或弹出式窗口,欺骗用户运行它们。
  • 间谍软件间谍软件是指秘密收集用户在其计算机上的活动和行为的信息,并将这些数据送回给其开发者的软件。间谍软件可以包括广告软件和恐吓软件,前者在访问网页时显示广告,后者则显示类似于杀毒软件中的假警报,试图诱使用户购买更多的安全软件。
  • 赎金软件是一种加密你的文件,然后要求付费解锁的恶意软件。这种威胁通过电子邮件附件和受感染的网站传播。网络犯罪分子越来越多地利用勒索软件向毫无戒心的受害者勒索钱财。勒索软件也可以作为一种管理服务运作,通常被称为 勒索软件即服务(RaaS)。
  • 广告软件是一种广告软件,将广告插入您或任何其他访问您电脑的人所浏览的网页中。这些广告可能是在您不同意或不知情的情况下提供的,而且往往在您不知情的情况下被收集。广告软件还可能跟踪您的在线浏览行为(如网站访问或搜索的关键词),然后在您不知情或不同意的情况下与第三方共享。
  • 恐吓软件也被称为假杀毒软件或假安全软件。它的目的是欺骗你,让你以为你的电脑已经感染了恶意软件,而实际上并没有。恐吓软件通常假装来自合法的安全组织,如AVG或诺顿,尽管这些公司不在互联网上分发此类程序,也不提供支持。

恶意软件是如何传播的?

在恶意附件或链接打开后,恶意软件可以传播并感染设备和网络。恶意软件有时可以在USB驱动器上找到。电子邮件附件中的代码可能引导你的机器从互联网上下载更多的恶意软件。

如何保护自己免受恶意软件侵害?

有一些方法可以保护自己免受恶意软件的侵害,但需要付出一点努力。

  • 了解电子邮件安全的基本知识

了解电子邮件安全的基本知识,以及在挑选电子邮件服务器或供应商时需要注意的事项是至关重要的,因为攻击越来越复杂,防御起来也越来越困难。

以下三个要素构成了电子邮件安全的基础。

  • 一封电子邮件到达你的收件箱的路线被称为信封。
  • 关于发件人、目的地和不同的认证细节的信息都包含在报头中。
  • 信息的正文是你阅读和回复的内容(邮件的内容)。

透明度, DKIM, 和 DMARC 认证技术,这在很大程度上依赖于DNS记录,认证发件人并阻止电子邮件欺骗,这是传播恶意软件的潜在媒介。电子邮件服务提供商使用这些步骤和不同的电子邮件安全解决方案来保护个人和商业电子邮件账户。

例如,PowerDMARC使用多种技术组合,包括SPF和DKIM签名,以防止恶意邮件被传递到收件人邮箱中。它还可以阻止新邮件的发送,直到发件人通过你的邮件服务器的验证。

  • 只使用可信赖的反病毒和恶意软件

外面有很多恶意软件,但你可以通过只使用杀毒公司信任的软件来保护自己免受其害。最好的方法是使用免费的杀毒软件,这些软件是由具有计算机科学背景的人创建的,可以在新病毒出现时检测出来。这些公司也有工作人员全职工作,开发检测和清除这些类型病毒的新方法。

  • 配置定期扫描和监控设置

你还应该每天或隔天自动运行扫描,监测你的系统是否有新的威胁。这将确保你不会错过任何可能潜伏在你电脑系统中的感染。它还将确保你不会在不知道它们包含什么或如果下载到你的设备上会对你的计算机系统造成什么影响的情况下点击链接或从可疑网站下载文件。

  • 严密控制您的个人信息

在你在网上分享任何个人信息之前,通过使用2步验证和无法用软件或暴力攻击猜出的强密码来保证其安全。你还应该在你的电脑和移动设备上使用杀毒软件,在文件被打开或保存之前扫描其病毒。此外,不要打开电子邮件或文本中的任何可疑链接--它们可能包含恶意软件,如果点击的话,会感染你的电脑或设备。

  • 始终更新你的操作系统

确保你安装了最新版本的操作系统。如果有新的更新,它将以通知的形式提示你。如果你不立即安装,攻击者可能会进入你的电脑并安装恶意软件。你还应该使你的杀毒软件保持最新的安全补丁。

恶意软件保护。阻止恶意软件通过不良邮件传播

那么 恶意软件是如何影响你的计算机工作的,现在你可能已经清楚了。网络犯罪分子使用恶意软件来感染网络和系统,并获取存储在同一系统中的数据。

根据恶意软件的类型,这些程序启动不同的行动。谱系包括从不良数据删除到转换用户输入嗅探的一切。恶意软件威胁着每个用户群,包括个人和企业用户。没有安全解决方案可以承诺100%的安全,因为恶意软件在不断发展,创造新的变种。然而,有公认的行为标准来最小化虚拟攻击面,包括DMARC。 

要开始防止恶意软件通过不良邮件传播,今天就在你的组织中部署DMARC,使用 DMARC试验.不需要信用卡或账户信息!

Posts

Ransomware, malware, and phishing are three types of online threats that have been around for years. All three can be deployed via email, are detrimental to an organization, and can lead to the loss of financial or informational assets. They can be difficult to tell apart, but our ransomware vs malware vs phishing guide is here to highlight some key differences between them. 

Here’s a breakdown:

Ransomware Vs Malware Vs Phishing: Definitions

Ransomware Vs Malware

Ransomware is a type of malware that can encrypt your files and then make them inaccessible unless you pay the cybercriminals who sent it a ransom. The problem is that this isn’t just any old malware—it’s specifically designed to make you pay money by taking control of your computer and holding your files hostage until you pay up. Ransomware may also operate as a service commonly known as RaaS

 

Malware is another type of threat that can infect your computer and make it unusable. In most cases, malware doesn’t demand payment in exchange for removing itself from your device—instead, it will leave behind unwanted programs or files on your hard drive or laptop after it takes over your system.

Ransomware and Malware Vs Phishing

Phishing attacks involve sending emails with links or attachments that appear to come from trusted websites like Facebook or Gmail but lead to malicious sites controlled by cybercriminals who want to steal information about you or other people on the internet so they can commit identity fraud later down the road (like when trying to buy plane tickets).

Differences in Attack Prevention and Mitigation

Ransomware attack prevention 

Ransomware can be spread through email, social media, and other online services, or it can be downloaded from a website. It’s often used to extort money from victims, in what’s known as a “ransomware attack.”

The best way to prevent ransomware attacks is to use strong passwords and other security measures that protect your system and emails such as reliable anti-virus software and email authentication protocols like DMARC, respectively. 

Read our full guide on DMARC and ransomware.

Ransomware attack mitigation

If you’ve been affected by a ransomware attack, there are some things you can do right away:

  1. Make sure all the files on your PC are backed up and saved somewhere else (like an external hard drive)
  2. Remove any suspicious software from your computer and don’t install new software until the infection has been removed completely (or at least until there’s no risk)
  3. Don’t open any emails asking for money—don’t click on links in them either! 
  4. If possible, connect with friends or family members who have access to their computers so they can help clean up after you’re done 
  5. Consider having someone take over your account if possible so that only one person has access to it at once; this will make it easier for them to clean

Malware attack prevention

  1. The first step is to install antivirus software on your computer. Antivirus software can detect and remove viruses and other types of malicious software from your computer. This should be done as soon as possible after you have been infected with malware so that it can be removed before any damage has been done to your computer.
  2. Another way of preventing malware attacks is by keeping your operating system up to date. Most operating systems come with automatic updates that help keep them secure against new viruses and other types of malware by automatically downloading them when they become available online or through an update application on your computer. If there are no updates available for an operating system then it is best not to install anything until an update has been released for that particular version of the OS (Operating System).
  3. A third way of preventing malware attacks is by using strong passwords whenever possible instead of using simple ones like 12345.

Malware attack mitigation

If your computer is infected with malware, don’t wait! Run a full scan with an antivirus program before attempting any other steps. 

When a computer is infected with malware, it can spread quickly and cause more problems than just slowing down your computer. So make sure that you run a full scan before trying any other methods of recovering from a malware attack.

Phishing attack prevention

DMARC is one of the most effective ways to combat this type of attack because it can help prevent attackers from getting hold of your domain name, which would allow them to impersonate your site or service, and thus get access to your customer’s data. However, you need to be on an enforced DMARC policy of p=reject to prevent the attacks. 

Phishing attack mitigation

If your customers are receiving phishing emails that seem to be originating from your domain, you need a mechanism in place to track down these malicious IPs. DMARC reports are an excellent way to monitor your sending sources and track these IPs to blacklist them faster. 

We recommend configuring our DMARC report analyzer to view your reports in a human-readable (non-XML) format. 

Conclusion

In short, Ransomware is a type of malware that encrypts files on your computer, holding them hostage until you pay up to have them unlocked. Malware is any kind of software that alters or deletes data without your explicit consent. Phishing is when scammers pretend to be someone you know—like your bank or employer—and ask you to provide sensitive information like usernames and passwords. 

However, all three can be administered to a user via fake emails from a spoofed address pretending to be you! Protect your domain’s emails today with a DMARC analyzer and never worry about impersonation threats again!

What is Malware? Malware or malicious software can damage your system (sometimes beyond repair) and access your sensitive data, or even encrypt it. Suffice to say this type of attack never ends well for the user. The overall number of new malware detections found worldwide as of March 2020 was 677.66 million programs, up from 661 million at the end of January 2020. By 2020, AV-TEST predicts that there will be more than 700 million new malware samples.

So, let’s have a look at what malware is and its significant types that spoil the working of your system.

What Is Malware?

Malware is a type of software that can cause damage to your computer system. Malicious software can take over your computer, access your private information, or damage your files and data.

Malware can be malicious, meaning that it has bad intentions and tries to harm you. Malicious software is usually designed to steal personal information, collect your passwords, or even destroy your computer.

Malware can also be unintentional, meaning that it was created by a developer or company who did not intend for the malware to contain any harmful features. Unintentional malware often consists of poorly written code that allows hackers to gain access to a user’s information or device.

What Can Malware Do?

Malware can cause problems like:

  • Locking up your computer.
  • Hiding your files which makes it hard for you to access your important files.
  • Changing the settings on your computer.
  • Downloading viruses, spyware, and other malware onto your PC.
  • Accessing your computer without your knowledge
  • Stealing data from your hard drive
  • Hijacking your browser or web-based applications
  • Taking over your computer to spy on others using it

Types of Malware

The most common types of malware have been discussed below:

  • Viruses are the most common type of malware, characterized by the ability to replicate and spread themselves to other systems. A virus can spread through email attachments, peer-to-peer file sharing, and other means.
  • Trojans are malicious software that spread through a network. They imitate legitimate programs (such as browsers) and trick users into running them by displaying fake security warnings or pop-ups.
  • Spyware is software that secretly collects information about users’ activities and behaviors on their computers and sends this data back to its developer. Spyware can include adware, which displays ads on web pages when accessed, and scareware, which displays fake alerts similar to those found in antivirus software, trying to trick users into buying more security software.
  • Ransomware is malware that encrypts your files and then demands payment to unlock them. The threat spreads through email attachments and infected websites. Cybercriminals have increasingly used ransomware to extort money from unsuspecting victims. Ranomware can also operate as a managed service popularly termed Ransomware-as-a-service (RaaS).
  • Adware is advertising software that inserts advertisements into web pages viewed by you or any other person who visits your computer. These ads may be served without your consent or knowledge and are often collected without your knowledge. Adware might also track your browsing behavior online (such as site visits or keywords searched for), which can then be shared with third parties without your knowledge or consent.
  • Scareware is also known as fake antivirus or fake security software. It aims to trick you into thinking your computer has been infected with malware when it has not. Scareware typically pretends to be from a legitimate security organization such as AVG or Norton, even though these companies do not distribute such programs on the Internet nor provide support.

How Does Malware Spread?

Following a malicious attachment or link opening, malware can spread and infect devices and networks. Malicious software can sometimes be found on USB drives. Code in email attachments may direct your machine to download more malware from the internet.

How To Protect Yourself Against Malware?

There are ways to protect yourself from malware, but it takes a little effort.

  • Know the Basics of Email Security

Knowing the basics of email security and what to look for when picking an email server or provider is essential because attacks are getting more sophisticated and challenging to defend against.

The following three elements form the basis for email security:

  • The route an email takes to reach your inbox is called the envelope.
  • Information about the sender, destination, and different authentication details are contained in the header(s).
  • The message’s body is what you read and respond to (the contents of the email).

SPF, DKIM, and DMARC authentication techniques, which heavily rely on DNS records, authenticate the sender and stop email spoofing which a potential vector for spreadin malware. Email service providers use these steps and different email security solutions to protect personal and business email accounts.

PowerDMARC, for example, uses a combination of technologies, including SPF and DKIM signatures to prevent malicious emails from being delivered to recipient mailboxes. It also blocks new messages from being sent until the sender has been authenticated by your mail server.

  • Only Use Trusted Antivirus and Malware Software

There is a lot of malware out there, but you can protect yourself from it by using only the software that the antivirus companies trust. The best way to do this is to use free antivirus software that has been created by people who have a background in computer science and can detect new viruses as they come out. These companies also have staff members who work full time on developing new methods of detecting and removing these types of viruses.

  • Configure Regular Scans and Monitor Settings

You should also automatically run scans every day or at alternate days and monitor your system for new threats. This will ensure that you don’t miss any infections that might be lurking on your computer system. It will also ensure that you don’t click on links or download files from suspicious websites without knowing what they contain or what they could do to your computer system if downloaded onto your device.

  • Keep a Tight Grip on Your Personal Information

Before you share any personal information online, keep it safe by using 2-Step Verification and strong passwords that can’t be guessed with software or brute force attacks. You should also use an antivirus app on your computer and mobile device to scan files for viruses before they’re opened or saved. Also, don’t open any suspicious links in emails or texts — they can contain malware that can infect your computer or device if clicked on.

  • Always Update Your Operating System

Make sure you have the latest version of your operating system installed. If a new update is available, it will prompt you with a notification. If you do not install it immediately, an attacker may be able to access your computer and install malware. You should also keep your antivirus software up-to-date with the most recent security patches available.

Malware Protection: Stop Malware spread through bad emails

So how does malware affect your computer’s working might be clear to you now. Cybercriminals use malware to infect networks and systems and obtain access to the data that is stored on the same. 

Depending on the type of malware, the programs start different actions. The spectrum includes everything from bad data deletion to converting user input sniffing. Malware threatens every user group, including personal and business users. No security solution can promise 100% security because malware is constantly evolving and creating new variants. However, there are recognized behavioral standards for minimizing the virtual attack surface including DMARC. 

To start preventing Malware from spreading through bad emails, deploy DMARC at your organization today with a DMARC trial. No credit card or account details needed!