岗位

邮件传输代理-严格传输安全(MTA-STS)是一个新的标准,它使邮件服务提供商有能力强制执行传输层安全(TLS)以保证SMTP连接的安全,并指定发送SMTP服务器是否应该拒绝向不提供TLS和可靠服务器证书的MX主机发送邮件。它已被证明能够成功地缓解TLS降级攻击和中间人(MITM)攻击。

更简单地说,MTA-STS是一个互联网标准,用于保护SMTP邮件服务器之间的连接安全。SMTP最突出的问题是,加密是完全可选的,在邮件传输过程中并不强制执行。这就是为什么SMTP采用STARTTLS命令,从明文升级到加密。这是缓解被动攻击的宝贵一步,然而,解决通过主动网络和MITM攻击的问题仍然没有解决。

因此,MTA-STS要解决的问题是,SMTP利用机会性加密,即如果不能建立一个加密的通信通道,连接就会退回到明文,从而使MITM和降级攻击得到遏制。

什么是TLS降级攻击?

我们已经知道,SMTP并没有附带加密协议,后来不得不通过添加STARTTLS命令来改造加密技术,以增强现有协议的安全性。如果客户端支持加密(TLS),它将理解STARTTLS动词,并在发送邮件之前启动TLS交换,以确保邮件被加密。如果客户端不知道TLS,它将直接忽略STARTTLS命令,并以明文形式发送电子邮件。

因此,由于加密必须加装到SMTP协议中,加密传输的升级必须依靠以明文发送的STARTTLS命令。一个MITM攻击者可以通过篡改升级命令对SMTP连接进行降级攻击,从而轻易地利用这一特性。攻击者只需将STARTTLS替换成一个客户无法识别的垃圾字符串。因此,客户端很容易退回到以明文发送电子邮件。

攻击者通常用包含相同数量字符的垃圾字符串替换命令,而不是把它撵走,因为这保留了数据包的大小,因此,使它更容易。选项命令中的垃圾字符串的八个字母使我们能够检测和识别TLS降级攻击是由网络犯罪分子执行的,我们可以衡量其普遍性。

简而言之,降级攻击通常是作为MITM攻击的一部分而发起的,目的是通过替换或删除STARTTLS命令,将通信回滚为明文,从而创造出一条实现加密攻击的途径,而在通过最新版本的TLS协议进行加密的情况下是不可能的。

虽然有可能在客户端到服务器的通信中强制执行TLS,因为对于这些连接,我们知道应用程序和服务器支持它。然而,对于服务器到服务器的通信,我们必须失败开放,以允许传统的服务器发送电子邮件。问题的关键在于,我们不知道另一边的服务器是否支持TLS。MTA-STS允许服务器表明他们支持TLS,这将允许他们在升级协商没有发生时失败关闭(即不发送邮件),从而使TLS降级攻击无法发生。

tls报告

MTA-STS如何来拯救?

MTA-STS的功能是提高EXO或Exchange在线电子邮件的安全性,是解决各种SMTP安全弊端和问题的最终方案。它解决了SMTP安全方面的问题,如缺乏对安全协议的支持,过期的TLS证书,以及不是由可靠的第三方颁发的证书。

当邮件服务器开始发送邮件时,SMTP连接很容易受到加密攻击,如降级攻击和MITM。降级攻击可以通过删除STARTTLS响应来发起,从而以明文方式传递信息。同样,MITM攻击也可以通过不安全的连接将信息重定向给服务器入侵者而发起。MTA-STS允许你的域名发布一个策略,使发送邮件时必须使用加密的TLS。如果由于某种原因,发现接收服务器不支持STARTTLS,那么电子邮件将根本不会被发送。这使得不可能煽动TLS降级攻击。

近来,大多数邮件服务提供商都采用了MTA-STS,从而使服务器之间的连接更加安全,并通过最新版本的TLS协议进行加密,从而成功缓解了TLS降级攻击,使服务器通信中的漏洞失效。

PowerDMARC为您带来了,快速而简单的托管MTA-STS服务,这让您的生活变得更加轻松,因为我们在实施过程中和实施后都会照顾到MTA-STS所需要的所有规格,例如一个具有有效证书的HTTPS网络服务器,DNS记录,以及持续的维护。PowerDMARC完全在后台管理这一切,因此,在我们帮助您设置之后,您甚至不必再考虑这个问题了

在PowerDMARC的帮助下,你可以在你的组织中部署托管MTA-STS,而不需要麻烦,而且速度非常快,在它的帮助下,你可以强制要求通过TLS加密的连接向你的域名发送电子邮件,从而使你的连接安全,并保持TLS降级攻击。

Posts

Mail Transfer Agent-Strict Transport Security (MTA-STS) is a new standard that enables mail service providers with the ability to enforce Transport Layer Security (TLS)  to secure SMTP connections, and to specify whether the sending SMTP servers should refuse to deliver emails to MX hosts that that does not offer TLS with a reliable server certificate. It has been proven to successfully mitigate TLS downgrade attacks and Man-In-The-Middle (MITM) attacks. 

In simpler terms, MTA-STS is an internet standard that secures connections between SMTP mail servers. The most prominent problem with SMTP is that encryption is completely optional and isn’t enforced during mail transfer. This is why SMTP adopted the STARTTLS command to upgrade from plaintext to encryption. This was a valuable step towards mitigating passive attacks, however, tackling attacks via active networks and MITM attacks still remained unaddressed.

Hence, the issue MTA-STS is solving is that SMTP utilizes opportunistic encryption, i.e if an encrypted communication channel cannot be established, the connection falls back to plaintext, thereby keeping MITM and downgrade attacks at bay.

What is a TLS Downgrade Attack?

As we already know, SMTP did not come with an encryption protocol and encryption had to be retrofitted later on to enhance the security of the existing protocol by adding the STARTTLS command. If the client supports encryption (TLS), it will understand the STARTTLS verb and will initiate a TLS exchange before sending the email to ensure it is encrypted. If the client doesn’t know TLS, it will simply ignore the STARTTLS command and send the email in plaintext.

Therefore, since encryption had to be retrofitted into SMTP protocol, the upgrade for encrypted delivery has to rely on a STARTTLS command that is sent in cleartext. A MITM attacker can easily exploit this feature by performing a downgrade attack on the SMTP connection by tampering with the upgrade command. The attacker simply replaced the STARTTLS with a garbage string which the client fails to identify. Therefore, the client readily falls back to sending the email in plaintext.

The attacker usually replaces the command with the garbage string containing the same number of characters, rather than chucking it out, because this preserves the packet size and therefore, makes it easier. The eight letters in the garbage string in the option command allow us to detect and identify that a TLS downgrade attack has been executed by a cybercriminal, and we can measure its prevalence.

In short, A downgrade attack is often launched as a part of a MITM attack, so as to create a pathway for enabling a cryptographic attack that would not be possible in case of a connection that is encrypted over the latest version of TLS protocol, by replacing or deleting the STARTTLS command and rolling back the communication to cleartext.

While it is possible to enforce TLS for client-to-server communications, as for those connections we know that the apps and the server support it. However,  for server-to-server communications, we must fail open to allow legacy servers to send emails. The crux of the problem is that we have no idea if the server on the other side supports TLS or not. MTA-STS allows servers to indicate that they support TLS, which will allow them to fail close (i.e. not sending the email) if the upgrade negotiation doesn’t take place, thereby making it impossible for a TLS downgrade attack to take place.

tls reporting

How Does MTA-STS Come to the Rescue?

MTA-STS functions by increasing the EXO or Exchange Online email security and is the ultimate solution to a wide range of SMTP security drawbacks and problems. It solves issues in SMTP security such as lack of support for secure protocols, expired TLS certificates, and certificates that are not issued by reliable third parties. 

As mail servers proceed to send out emails, the SMTP connection is vulnerable to cryptographic attacks such as downgrade attacks and MITM. Downgrade attacks can be launched by deleting the STARTTLS response, thereby delivering the message in clear text. Similarly, MITM attacks can also be launched by redirecting the message to a server intruder over an insecure connection. MTA-STS allows your domain to publish a policy that makes sending an email with encrypted TLS compulsory. If for some reason the receiving server is found to not support STARTTLS, the email will not be sent at all. This makes it impossible to instigate a TLS downgrade attack.

In recent times, the majority of mail service providers have adopted MTA-STS thereby making connections between servers more secure and encrypted over TLS protocol of an updated version, thereby successfully mitigating TLS downgrade attacks and nullifying the loopholes in server communication.

PowerDMARC brings to you, speedy and easy hosted MTA-STS services which make your life a whole lot easier as we take care of all the specifications required by MTA-STS during and after implementation, such as an HTTPS-enabled web server with a valid certificate, DNS records, and constant maintenance. PowerDMARC manages all of that completely in the background so that after we help you set it up, you never even have to think about it again!

With the help of PowerDMARC, you can deploy Hosted MTA-STS at your organization without the hassle and at a very speedy pace, with the help of which you can enforce emails to be sent to your domain over a TLS encrypted connection, thereby making your connection secure and keeping TLS downgrade attacks at bay.