电子邮件欺骗

电子邮件认证标准。SPF、DKIM和DMARC在减少电子邮件欺骗企图和提高电子邮件交付能力方面显示出良好的前景。在区分欺骗(假)电子邮件和合法电子邮件的同时,电子邮件认证标准通过验证发件人的身份,进一步区分电子邮件是否合法。

随着越来越多的组织采用这些标准,电子邮件通信中的信任和权威的整体信息将开始重新得到确认。每一个依赖电子邮件营销、项目请求、金融交易以及公司内部或公司之间的一般信息交流的企业,都需要了解这些解决方案的基本原理,以及他们可以从中获得什么好处。

什么是电子邮件欺骗?

电子邮件欺骗是当今企业遇到的一个常见的网络安全问题。在这篇文章中,我们将了解欺骗的工作原理和打击欺骗的各种方法。我们将了解电子邮件供应商使用的三种认证标准--SPF、DKIM和DMARC,以阻止其发生。

电子邮件欺骗可以被归类为一种先进的社会工程攻击,它使用复杂的技术组合来操纵信息传递环境和利用电子邮件的合法功能。这些电子邮件通常看起来完全合法,但它们的设计目的是为了获取您的信息和/或资源。电子邮件欺骗被用于各种目的,从试图实施欺诈,到破坏安全,甚至试图获得机密商业信息。作为一种非常流行的电子邮件伪造形式,欺骗攻击的目的是欺骗收件人,使其相信电子邮件是由他们使用和可以信任的企业发出的,而不是实际的发件人。由于电子邮件越来越多地被大量发送和接收,这种恶意的电子邮件诈骗形式在近年来急剧增加。

电子邮件认证如何防止欺骗?

电子邮件认证帮助你用SPF、DKIM和DMARC等协议验证电子邮件发送源,以防止攻击者伪造域名和发起欺骗毫无戒心的用户的攻击。它提供关于电子邮件发送者的可验证信息,可用于证明其合法性,并向接收的MTA指定如何处理未通过验证的电子邮件。

因此,为了列举电子邮件认证的各种好处,我们可以确认SPF、DKIM和DMARC的帮助。

  • 保护你的域名免受网络钓鱼攻击、域名欺骗和BEC的影响
  • 提供关于电子邮件发送源的细化信息和洞察力
  • 提高域名信誉和电子邮件送达率
  • 防止你的合法邮件被标记为垃圾邮件

SPF、DKIM和DMARC如何协同工作以阻止欺骗行为?

发件人政策框架

SPF是一种电子邮件认证技术,用于防止垃圾邮件发送者以你的域名名义发送邮件。通过它,你可以发布授权的邮件服务器,让你能够指定哪些邮件服务器被允许代表你的域名发送邮件。SPF记录存储在DNS中,列出所有被授权为你的组织发送邮件的IP地址。

如果你想利用 SPF 来保证它的正常运作,你需要确保 SPF 不会对你的邮件造成破坏。这可能发生在你超过 10 个 DNS 查询限制的情况下,导致SPF 崩溃。SPF 扁平化可以帮助你保持在这个限制之下,并对你的邮件进行无缝认证。

域名密钥识别的邮件

冒充受信任的发件人可以用来欺骗你的收件人,让他们放松警惕。DKIM是一种电子邮件安全解决方案,它为来自你的客户收件箱的每一封邮件添加数字签名,使收件人能够验证它确实是由你的域名授权的,并进入你的网站的可信发件人名单。

DKIM在每封发出的电子邮件中添加一个与域名相关的独特的哈希值,使接收者能够检查声称来自特定域名的电子邮件是否确实得到该域名所有者的授权。这最终有助于发现欺骗性的企图。

基于域的信息验证、报告和一致性

简单地实施SPF和DKIM可以帮助验证发送源,但并不足以有效地阻止欺骗行为。为了阻止网络犯罪分子向你的收件人发送假邮件,你今天需要实施DMARC。DMARC帮助你调整电子邮件标题,以验证电子邮件的来源地址,暴露欺骗企图和域名的欺诈性使用。此外,它赋予域名所有者权力,向电子邮件接收服务器指定如何回应未能通过SPF和DKIM验证的电子邮件。域名所有者可以根据他们需要的DMARC执行程度,选择交付、隔离和拒绝假的电子邮件。

注意。 只有拒绝的DMARC策略才允许你停止欺骗行为。

此外,DMARC还提供了一个报告机制,为域名所有者提供关于他们的电子邮件渠道和认证结果的可见性。通过配置你的DMARC报告分析器,你可以定期监测你的电子邮件域,了解电子邮件发送源、电子邮件认证结果、欺诈性IP地址的地理位置以及电子邮件的整体性能等详细信息。它可以帮助你把你的DMARC数据解析成有组织的、可读的格式,并更快地对攻击者采取行动。

最终,SPF、DKIM和DMARC可以共同帮助你把你的组织的电子邮件安全推向新的高度,并阻止攻击者欺骗你的域名,以保障你的组织的声誉和信誉。

email spoofing

Email authentication standards: SPF, DKIM, and DMARC are showing promise in cutting down on email spoofing attempts and improving email deliverability. While differentiating spoofed (fake) emails from legitimate ones, email authentication standards go further in distinguishing if an email is legitimate by verifying the identity of the sender.

As more organizations adopt these standards, the overall message of trust and authority in email communication will begin to reassert itself. Every business that depends on email marketing, project requests, financial transactions, and the general exchange of information within or across companies needs to understand the basics of what these solutions are designed to accomplish and what benefits they can get out of them.

What is Email Spoofing?

Email spoofing is a common cybersecurity issue encountered by businesses today. In this article, we will understand how spoofing works and the various methods to fight it. We will learn about the three authentication standards used by email providers − SPF, DKIM, and DMARC to stop it from happening.

Email spoofing can be classified as an advanced social engineering attack that uses a combination of sophisticated techniques to manipulate the messaging environment and exploit legitimate features of email. These emails will often appear entirely legitimate, but they are designed with the intention of gaining access to your information and/or resources. Email spoofing is used for a variety of purposes ranging from attempts to commit fraud, to breach security, and even to try to gain access to confidential business information. As a very popular form of email forgery, spoofing attacks aim to deceive recipients into believing that an email was sent from a business they use and can trust, instead of the actual sender. As emails are increasingly being sent and received in bulk, this malicious form of email scam has increased dramatically in recent years.

How can Email Authentication Prevent Spoofing?

Email authentication helps you verify email sending sources with protocols like SPF, DKIM, and DMARC to prevent attackers from forging domain names and launch spoofing attacks to trick unsuspecting users. It provides verifiable information on email senders that can be used to prove their legitimacy and specify to receiving MTAs what to do with emails that fail authentication.

Hence, to enlist the various benefits of email authentication, we can confirm that SPF, DKIM, and DMARC aid in:

  • Protecting your domain from phishing attacks, domain spoofing, and BEC
  • Providing granular information and insights on email sending sources
  • Improving domain reputation and email deliverability rates
  • Preventing your legitimate emails from being marked as spam

How Do SPF, DKIM, and DMARC Work Together to Stop Spoofing?

Sender Policy Framework

SPF is an email authentication technique used to prevent spammers from sending messages on behalf of your domain. With it, you can publish authorized mail servers, giving you the ability to specify which email servers are permitted to send emails on behalf of your domain. An SPF record is stored in the DNS, listing all the IP addresses that are authorized to send mail for your organization.

If you want to leverage SPF in a way that would ensure its proper functioning, you need to ensure that SPF doesn’t break for your emails. This could happen in case you exceed the 10 DNS lookup limit, causing SPF permerror. SPF flattening can help you stay under the limit and authenticate your emails seamlessly.

DomainKeys Identified Mail

Impersonating a trusted sender can be used to trick your recipient into letting their guard down. DKIM is an email security solution that adds a digital signature to every message that comes from your customer’s inbox, allowing the receiver to verify that it was indeed authorized by your domain and enter your site’s trusted list of senders.

DKIM affixes a unique hash value, linked to a domain name, to each outgoing email message, allowing the receiver to check that an email claiming to have come from a specific domain was indeed authorized by the owner of that domain or not. This ultimately helps to pick up on spoofing attempts.

Domain-based Message Authentication, Reporting and Conformance

Simply implementing SPF and DKIM can help verify sending sources but isn’t effective enough to stop spoofing on their own. In order to stop cybercriminals from delivering fake emails to your recipients, you need to implement DMARC today. DMARC helps you align email headers to verify email From addresses, exposing spoofing attempts and fraudulent use of domain names. Moreover, it gives domain owners the power to specify to email receiving servers how to respond to emails failing SPF and DKIM authentication. Domain owners can choose to deliver, quarantine, and reject fake emails based on the degree of DMARC enforcement they need.

Note: Only a DMARC policy of reject allows you to stop spoofing.

Additionally, DMARC also offers a reporting mechanism to provide domain owners with visibility on their email channels and authentication results. By configuring your DMARC report analyzer, you can monitor your email domains on a regular basis with detailed information on email sending sources, email authentication results, geolocations of fraudulent IP addresses, and the overall performance of your emails. It helps you parse your DMARC data into an organized and readable format, and take action against attackers faster.

Ultimately, SPF, DKIM, and DMARC can work together to help you catapult your organization’s email security to new heights, and stop attackers from spoofing your domain name to safeguard your organization’s reputation and credibility.