捕鲸攻击

捕鲸攻击的代名词是 首席执行官欺诈这是网络犯罪分子用来诈骗公司的一种流行策略。在捕鲸攻击中,攻击者的目标是在一个组织中处于权威或决策地位的个人。这是一种强有力的有针对性的网络钓鱼攻击形式,目的是窃取信息、证书或启动电汇。

捕鲸攻击是如何发生的?

为了理解捕鲸是如何发生的,让我们首先尝试掌握捕鲸攻击、网络钓鱼和鱼叉式网络钓鱼之间的区别。

捕鲸与网络钓鱼

  • 网络钓鱼攻击并不针对组织中特定的高级别人员,它可以针对任何人。
  • 另一方面,捕鲸式攻击的成功率和危险性要高一倍,因为它利用现有个人的可靠性和权威性来欺骗受害者,只针对公司的高级管理人员。

捕鲸与鱼叉式网络钓鱼

  • 鱼叉式网络钓鱼攻击也是目标性很强的网络钓鱼攻击,它专门针对特定人物发起欺诈活动。
  • 捕鲸与鱼叉式网络钓鱼的不同之处在于,他们只挑选公司的高级管理人员作为主要目标。

在捕鲸中,攻击者会向高级管理人员发送一封钓鱼邮件,冒充其经理、首席执行官或首席财务官。这封邮件将煽动公司资金的电汇,或要求提供公司的凭证,以帮助攻击者获得对组织系统的访问。

捕鲸攻击的定义

"捕鲸 "一词是用来表示公司高管或大鱼,如首席执行官和首席财务官。由于这些人在公司中处于高级职位,他们有机会接触到前所未有的敏感信息。这就是为什么冒充他们会被证明对公司的业务和声誉造成损害。

捕鲸攻击实例

 

 

在上面的例子中,财务团队经理约翰收到了来自组织的首席执行官哈里的电子邮件,要求他启动一个紧急电汇。在这种情况下,如果约翰不了解情况,他最终会转移他可以接触到的资金,从而成为捕鲸攻击的牺牲品。

如何阻止捕鲸攻击:保护你的组织和数据

为了使这些攻击作为一种社会工程战术更加有效,攻击者往往精心地、详细地做他们的功课。他们利用从Facebook、Twitter和LinkedIn等社交媒体平台上收集的公开信息,对高管的日常生活和活动有所了解。这使他们表现得可信和合法,帮助他们轻松骗过受害者。 

有什么办法可以阻止捕鲸攻击吗?是的,有的!以下是一些积极主动的措施,你可以部署这些措施来帮助你打击网络钓鱼、欺骗、捕鲸和其他形式的社会工程攻击。让我们快速浏览一下这些内容。

  1. 发件人策略框架(SPF)帮助你授权你的发件人。如果你使用多个域名或第三方来发送电子邮件,SPF记录将帮助你把它们指定为合法的发送源,这样恶意的域名就会被阻止。
  2. DomainKeys Identified Mail或DKIM是一个电子邮件认证协议,有助于确保你的邮件在整个旅程中不被改变。
  3. 最后。 DMARC帮助你的电子邮件与SPF或DKIM标识符保持一致,并向电子邮件接收服务器指定你想如何处理从你的域名发出的假的whaling信息。
  4. 在执行你的策略模式后,打开 DMARC XML报告,以监测你的电子邮件来源,并迅速发现对你的域名的任何尝试性攻击。

有了这些安全措施,你肯定可以减少针对你的组织的员工的社会工程攻击的成功率。然而,这并不是你能做的全部。他们说 "教育从家庭开始",所以在实施协议的同时,确保在你的员工中传播关于流行攻击载体的意识。

Syuzanna Papazyan的最新文章(查看全部)

whaling attack

Whaling attacks are synonymous with CEO fraud, which is a popular tactic used by cybercriminals to defraud companies. In a Whaling attack, attackers target individuals who are at the authoritarian or decision-making positions in an organization. It is a potent form of a targeted phishing attack that aims at stealing information, credentials or initiating wire transfers.

How does a Whaling Attack take place?

To understand how whaling takes place let us first try to grasp the difference between whaling attacks, phishing, and spear phishing:

Whaling VS Phishing

  • A phishing attack does not target specific high-ranking individuals in an organization, it can target anyone.
  • A whaling attack on the other hand is twice as successful and dangerous since it plays on an existing individual’s reliability and authority to fool victims, targeting only high-ranking executives in a company.

Whaling VS Spear Phishing

  • Spear phishing attacks are also highly targeted phishing attacks that earmark specific personalities to launch fraudulent campaigns.
  • Whaling differs from spear phishing in the aspect that they only pick out senior company executives as their primary target.

In whaling an attacker will send a phishing email to a senior executive, posing to be his manager, CEO, or CFO. This email will either instigate a wire transfer of company funds or ask for corporate credentials that would help the attacker gain access to the organization’s system.

Whaling Attack Definition

The term “Whaling” is used to signify company executives or big fishes like the CEO and CFO. Since these individuals are in high-ranking positions in the company, they have access to sensitive information like no other. This is why impersonating them can prove to be detrimental to a company’s business and reputation.

Whaling Attack Examples

 

 

In the example shown above, John, the finance team manager, received an email from Harry, the CEO of the organization, asking him to initiate an urgent wire transfer. In this case, if John doesn’t know any better, he would end up transferring the funds to which he has access and thereby fall prey to the whaling attack.

How to stop Whaling Attacks: protecting your organization and data

To make these attacks even more effective as a social engineering tactic, attackers often do their homework elaborately and in great detail. They utilize publicly available information gathered from social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn to have an understanding of an executive’s daily life and activities. This makes them come off as credible and legitimate, helping them fool their victims easily. 

Is there any way to stop whaling attacks? Yes, there is! Given below are certain proactive measures that you can deploy to help you combat phishing, spoofing, whaling, and other forms of social engineering attacks. Let’s do a quick run-through of what these are:

  1. Sender Policy Framework (SPF) helps you authorize your senders. If you are using multiple domains or third parties to send emails, an SPF record will help you specify them as legitimate sending sources so that malicious domains are blocked
  2. DomainKeys Identified Mail or DKIM is an email authentication protocol that helps ensure that your messages are unaltered throughout their journey.
  3. And finally, DMARC helps your emails align SPF or DKIM identifiers and specifies to email receiving servers how you want to handle fake whaling messages sent from your domain.
  4. After enforcing your policy mode, turn on DMARC XML reports to monitor your email sources and quickly pick up on any attempted attacks on your domain.

With these security measures in place, you can definitely reduce the success rate of social engineering attacks targeted towards your organization’s employees. However, this isn’t all you can do. They say “education starts at home”, so along with protocol implementation make sure to spread awareness about popular attack vectors among your employees.