DKIM失败

你的域名信息的DKIM失败可能是由于DKIM协议的标识符对齐失败或你的记录设置问题造成的。今天我们将深入探讨DKIM规范是如何验证你的域名的,为什么DKIM可能会对你的邮件失效,以及如何通过一些提示和技巧轻松解决DKIM失效问题。

什么是DKIM,为什么需要设置它?

DKIM是一个电子邮件认证系统,帮助你验证你的发送源的合法性,同时确保你的电子邮件的内容在整个发送过程中没有被改变。 传递过程中保持不变。

如果我们要谈论为什么我们需要为我们的电子邮件设置DKIM,我们需要谈论电子邮件如何成为进行欺诈活动的一个载体。从网络钓鱼到域名欺骗的冒充攻击,以及恶意软件的感染,都可以通过假的电子邮件进行。这就是为什么企业需要建立一个过滤系统来验证电子邮件发件人。通过这样做,他们不仅是在保护自己的声誉,也是在防止数百万用户成为电子邮件诈骗的牺牲品。  

DKIM就是这样一个电子邮件验证系统,它使用哈希值(私钥)来签署电子邮件信息,并与寄件人DNS中的公钥进行匹配。 使用DKIM签名的电子邮件具有很高的保护水平,可以防止恶意第三方的任何改动。

电子邮件自动转发和DKIM Vs SPF

在自动转发的电子邮件中,由于一个或多个中介服务器的参与,电子邮件的标题被修改。被转发的邮件占用了这个第三方中介服务器的头信息,而这个第三方中介服务器可能被列为原发件人的SPF记录中的授权发送源,也可能没有。 

如果它没有被包括在内,那么对该邮件来说,SPF 将失败。 

由于 DKIM 签名包含在邮件正文中,转发对 DKIM 没有影响。这就是为什么在你现有的 SPF 策略之上设置 DKIM 可以帮助你避免转发邮件中不必要的认证失败。 

修复没有DKIM的问题

将DKIM和SPF一起设置是一个 推荐然而,这并不是强制性的做法。

  • 如果你不想为你的域名设置DKIM,但又想为你的转发邮件解决SPF故障,你可以使用一种叫做邮件重定向的方法。重定向你的邮件可以保留你的邮件的原始标题。  
  • 否则,你也可以确保在你的域名的SPF记录中包括所有参与转发过程的中介服务器的IP地址。 

DKIM失败的含义

如果你为你的外发邮件激活了DKIM,接收服务器会通过将你的DKIM私钥与你的DNS上公布的公钥相匹配来验证邮件的真实性。如果是匹配,DKIM就会通过,否则DKIM就会失败。

DKIM失败是指你的DKIM认证检查的失败状态,由于DKIM签名头和发件人头中指定的域不匹配,以及密钥对值的不一致。

DKIM的测试案例失败

1.DKIM记录的语法错误

 

如果你不使用一个可靠的 DKIM记录生成器工具来生成你的记录,试图为你的域名手动设置它,你可能会错误地实施它。你的DNS记录中的语法错误会导致认证失败,在这种情况下,DKIM会失败。

2.DKIM标识符对齐失败

如果你有 DMARC的话,在DKIM验证过程中,域名值在 d=字段中的域名值必须与发件人地址中的域名一致。它可以是严格的对齐,即两个域名必须完全匹配,也可以是宽松的对齐,允许组织匹配来通过检查。

如果DKIM签名头域与发件人头中的域不匹配,就会发生DKIM失败,这可能是域欺骗或冒充攻击的典型案例。 

3.你没有为你的第三方电子邮件供应商设置DKIM

如果你使用几个第三方电子邮件供应商代表你的组织发送电子邮件,你需要与他们取得联系,了解如何为你的外发电子邮件激活DKIM。如果你使用你自己的自定义域名或在该第三方服务上注册的子域名来向你的客户发送电子邮件,请务必 要求你的供应商为你处理DKIM.

理想情况下,如果你的第三方供应商帮助你外包你的电子邮件,他们会通过在他们的DNS上发布一条DKIM记录来设置你的域名 在他们的DNS上使用对你来说独一无二的DKIM选择器,而不需要你去干涉。

或。 

你可以生成一个DKIM密钥对,并将私钥交给你的电子邮件供应商,同时将公钥发布到 在你自己的DNS上.

同样的错误配置会导致DKIM失败,所以你必须就你的DKIM设置与你的服务提供商公开沟通。 

注释: 一些第三方交换服务器在邮件正文中诱导格式化的页脚。如果这些服务器是电子邮件转发过程中的中间服务器,连在一起的页脚可能是导致DKIM失败的一个因素。

4.服务器通信方面的问题

在某些情况下,电子邮件可能是从一个禁用了DKIM的服务器上发出的。在这种情况下,该邮件的DKIM将失效。确保通信方正确激活DKIM是很重要的。 

5.邮件传输代理(MTA)对邮件正文的修改

与SPF不同,DKIM在验证邮件的真实性时并不验证发件人的IP地址或返回路径。相反,它确保邮件内容在传输过程中没有被篡改。有时,参与的MTA和电子邮件转发代理可能在行包装或内容格式化过程中改变邮件正文,这可能导致DKIM失败。 

格式化电子邮件的内容通常是一个自动化的过程,以确保信息对每个收件人都容易理解。 

6.DNS中断/DNS停机时间

这是认证失败的一个常见原因,包括DKIM失败。DNS停运可能是由于各种原因造成的,包括拒绝服务攻击。你的名称服务器的例行维护也可能是DNS停机背后的原因。在这段时间内(通常很短),收件人服务器不能执行DNS查询。 

我们知道DKIM作为TXT/CNAME记录存在于你的DNS中,客户-服务器在认证过程中会执行查询,向发件人的DNS查询公钥。在停电期间,这被认为是不可能的,因此可能会破坏DKIM。 

7.使用OpenDKIM

Gmail、Outlook、Yahoo等邮箱供应商通常使用一种开源的DKIM实现,即OpenDKIM。在验证过程中,OpenDKIM通过端口8891与服务器连接。有时,错误可能是由于启用了错误的权限,导致你的服务器无法与你的套接字绑定。 

检查你的目录,以确保你正确地启用了权限,或者你是否为你的插座设置了一个目录。 

DKIM认证结果失败

1.认证结果:dkim=neutral(格式不好)。

在你的DKIM记录中自动生成的断行会提示错误信息:dkim=neutral(格式不好)。在验证过程中,当你的电子邮件验证器将断裂的资源记录连接在一起时,会产生一个错误的值。一个可能的解决方案是使用1024比特的DKIM密钥(而不是2048比特),以适应255个字符的DNS限制。 

2.认证结果:dkim=fail(签名不良)。

这可能是由于第三方在邮件正文中修改了内容,导致DKIM签名头与邮件正文不匹配。 

3.认证结果: dkim=fail (body hash没有验证)

这意味着DKIM主体哈希值(bh=标签)在传输过程中被改变了,如果你的DKIM密钥对设置正确,并且你有一个有效的公钥发布在你的DNS上。哈希值的微小修改,如插入空格或特殊字符,会使你的主体哈希验证失败的DKIM。

4. dkim=失败(没有签名的钥匙)。

这个错误可能是由于你的DNS中的公钥无效或丢失。你必须确保你的DKIM的公钥和私钥都是匹配的,并且是正确设置的。你确定你的DKIM DNS记录已经发布并且有效吗?现在就使用我们的免费DKIM记录检查器进行检查吧。 

如何阻止你的邮件出现DKIM故障?

不可能解决上面提到的所有问题,只是因为它们无法全部绕过。然而,这里有一些有用的提示,你可以用它来减少你的DKIM失败的机会。 

  • 使用值得信赖的著名生成器工具生成你的DKIM记录,以获得准确的结果,并始终复制粘贴你的值以避免错误。
  • 检查你的DKIM记录是否有漏洞和错误 
  • 实施SPF和DMARC,为防止域名欺骗和冒名顶替提供额外的安全层。DMARC需要SPF或DKIM通过,邮件才能通过验证,因此,如果你的DKIM失败,而SPF通过,你的邮件仍将通过DMARC并被送达。
  • 为你的域名启用DMARC报告 
  • 在专用的DKIM失败报告和认证结果上监控你的 DMARC报告分析器仪表板
  • 与你的电子邮件供应商就DKIM的设置进行详细讨论,他们是否支持该协议以及他们如何处理该协议。 
  • 通过注册我们的分析器进行免费的DMARC试用,从我们的DMARC专家团队那里获得关于你的电子邮件认证设置的专家建议。  

请注意,我们已经涵盖了一些常见的DKIM失败提示及其 可能的的原因,同时提供了一个可能的围绕它们的解决方案。 然而,由于各种潜在的原因,可能会弹出错误,这些原因是针对你的域名和服务器的,本文没有涉及。

当务之急是,在你在你的组织中实施认证协议或执行你的政策之前,你必须充分建立你对认证协议的了解。DKIM失败,或SPF失败,或DMARC验证失败,都会影响你的电子邮件的可传递性。  

Syuzanna Papazyan的最新文章(查看全部)

DKIM fail

DKIM fail for your domain’s messages might be a result of identifier alignment failure for the DKIM protocol or problems in your record setup. Today we are going to dive into how the DKIM specification authenticates your domains, why DKIM might be failing for your messages, and how to fix DKIM fail easily with a few tips and tricks.

What is DKIM and why do you need to set it up?

DKIM is an email authentication system that helps you verify the legitimacy of your sending sources along with ensuring that the content of your email has stayed unaltered throughout the delivery process. 

If we are to speak about why we need a DKIM setup for our emails, we need to talk about how email can become a vector for carrying out fraudulent activities. Impersonation attacks ranging from phishing to domain spoofing, as well as malware infections, can be carried out through fake emails. This is why enterprises need to set up a filtering system to authenticate email senders. By doing so they are not only protecting their own reputation but also preventing millions of users from falling prey to email scams.  

DKIM is one such email verification system that uses a hash value (private key) to sign email information that is matched against the public key lodged in the sender’s DNS. Emails digitally signed with a DKIM signature bear a high level of protection against any alteration by a malicious third party. 

Email auto-forwarding and DKIM Vs SPF

In auto-forwarded emails, email headers get modified because of the involvement of one or more intermediary servers. The forwarded message takes up the header information of this third-party intermediary server which may or may not be included as an authorized sending source in the SPF record of the original sender. 

If it is not included, SPF will fail for that message. 

Since DKIM signatures are included in the email body, forwarding has no effect on DKIM. This is why setting up DKIM on top of your existing SPF policy can help evade unwanted authentication failures for your forwarded messages. 

Fixing the issue without DKIM

Setting up DKIM along with SPF is a recommended practice, however, it is not mandatory. 

  • If you don’t want to set up DKIM for your domains, yet you want to resolve SPF failure for your forwarded emails, you can use a method called email redirection. Redirecting your emails preserve the original headers of your messages.  
  • Else, you can also make sure that you include the IP addresses of all intermediary servers participating in the forwarding process in your domain’s SPF record. 

DKIM Failure Meaning

If you have DKIM activated for your outbound emails, receiving servers verify the authenticity of the email by matching your DKIM private key to the public key published on your DNS. If it is a match, DKIM passes for the message, or else DKIM fails.

What does DKIM Fail Mean?

DKIM failure refers to the failed status of your DKIM authentication check, due to a mismatch in the domains specified in the DKIM signature header and From header and inconsistencies among the key pair values.

Test Cases for DKIM fail

1. Error in DKIM record syntax

 

If you don’t use a reliable DKIM record generator tool to generate your record by trying to manually set it up for your domain, you may implement it wrongly. Syntactical errors in your DNS records can lead to authentication failure, and in this case, DKIM fails. 

2. DKIM identifier alignment failure

If you have DMARC set up for your domain in addition to DKIM, during DKIM verification the domain value in the d= field on the DKIM signature in the email header has to align with the domain found in the from address. It can either be a strict alignment, wherein the two domains have to be an exact match or a relaxed alignment that allows an organizational match to pass the check. 

A DKIM fail can occur if the DKIM signature header domain doesn’t match the domain found in the From header, which might be a typical case of domain spoofing or impersonation attack. 

3. You have not set up DKIM for your third-party email vendors

If you use several third-party email vendors to send emails on behalf of your organization, you need to get in touch with them for instructions on how to activate DKIM for your outbound emails. If you are using your own custom domains or subdomains registered on this third-party service to send emails to your customers, be sure to request your vendor to handle DKIM for you.

Ideally, if your third-party vendor is helping you outsource your emails, they would set your domain up by publishing a DKIM record on their DNS using a DKIM selector that is unique to you, without you having to intrude.

OR, 

You can generate a DKIM key pair and hand over the private key to your email vendor while publishing the public key on your own DNS

Misconfigurations in the same can lead to DKIM failure, so it is imperative that you communicate openly with your service provider regarding your DKIM setup. 

Note: Some third-party exchange servers induce formatted footers in the message body. If these servers are intermediary servers in an email forwarding process, the conjoined footer can be a contributing factor to DKIM failure. 

4. Problems in server communication

In certain situations, the email might be sent from a server that has DKIM disabled on it. In such cases, DKIM will fail for that email. It is important to ensure that communicating parties have DKIM properly activated. 

5. Modifications in message body by Mail Transfer Agents (MTAs)

Unlike SPF, DKIM doesn’t verify the sender’s IP address or return-path while verifying the authenticity of messages. Instead, it ensures that the message content has remained untampered in transit. Sometimes participating MTAs, and email forwarding agents may alter the message body during line wrapping or content formatting that may lead to DKIM fail. 

Formatting an email’s content is usually an automated process to ensure the message is easily comprehensible for each recipient. 

6. DNS outage / DNS downtime

This is a common reason for authentication failures including DKIM fail. DNS outage may occur due to a variety of reasons including denial of service attacks. Routine maintenance of your name server may also be the reason behind a DNS downtime. During this (usually short) period of time, recipient servers cannot perform DNS queries. 

As we know that DKIM exists in your DNS as a TXT/CNAME record, the client-server performs a lookup to query the sender’s DNS for the public key during authentication. During an outage, this is deemed not possible and hence may break DKIM. 

7. Using OpenDKIM

An open-source DKIM implementation known as OpenDKIM is commonly used by mailbox providers like Gmail, Outlook, Yahoo, etc. OpenDKIM connects with the server through port 8891 during verification. Sometimes, errors can be caused by enabling wrong permissions due to which your server is unable to bind to your socket. 

Check your directory to make sure you have enabled permissions correctly, or if at all you have a directory set up for your socket. 

DKIM Authentication Result Failures

1. Authentication Result: dkim=neutral (bad format)

Auto-generated line breaks in your DKIM record can prompt the error message: dkim=neutral (bad format). When your email validator links together the broken-up resource records during verification, it produces a wrong value. A possible solution is to use 1024 bit DKIM keys (as opposed to 2048 bits) to fit within the 255-character DNS limit. 

2. Authentication Result: dkim=fail (bad signature)

This can be a possible result of content modifications within the message body by a third party, due to which the DKIM signature header failed to match the email’s body. 

3. Authentication Result: dkim=fail (DKIM-signature body hash not verified)

The “DKIM-signature body hash not verified” or “DKIM signature body hash did not verify” are two alternative results returned by the receiving server for the same error that implies the DKIM body hash value (bh= tag) has somehow been altered in transit. Even if your DKIM key pair is set up correctly and you have a valid public key published on your DNS, minor modifications in the hash value, such as the insertion of spaces or special characters can make your body hash verification fail DKIM.

The bh= tag value may be altered due to the following reasons: 

  • Intermediary servers responsible for changing mail content 
  • Addition of email footers by your email service provider  

4. Authentication Result: dkim=fail (no key for signature)

This error may be the result of an invalid or missing public key in your DNS. It is imperative that you make sure both your public and private keys for DKIM match, and are set up correctly. Are you sure your DKIM DNS record is published and valid? Check it now using our free DKIM record checker. 

How to stop DKIM fail for your messages?

It is not possible to address all the issues mentioned above simply because they cannot all be bypassed. However, we have assembled some useful tips you can deploy to minimize your chances of DKIM fail. 

How do I fix DKIM problems?

  • Generate your DKIM record using a trusted and notable generator tool for accurate results, and always copy-paste your values to avoid errors
  • Check your DKIM record for gaps and errors 
  • Implement SPF and DMARC for an additional layer of security against domain spoofing and impersonation. DMARC needs either SPF or DKIM to pass for messages to pass validation, hence in case your DKIM fails and SPF passes, your messages will still pass DMARC and get delivered.
  • Enable DMARC reporting for your domains 
  • Monitor your DKIM failure reports and authentication results on a dedicated DMARC report analyzer dashboard 
  • Have a detailed discussion with your email vendors regarding DKIM setup, whether they support the protocol and how they handle it 
  • Get expert advice on your email authentication setups from our team of DMARC specialists by signing up for a free DMARC trial with our analyzer  

Note that we have covered some common DKIM failure prompts and their probable causes while providing a possible solution around them. However, errors might pop up due to various underlying reasons that are specific to your domain and servers, that have not been covered in this article. 

It is imperative that you build up your knowledge around authentication protocols, sufficiently, before you implement them at your organization or enforce your policies. DKIM fail, or failure in SPF, or DMARC validation can impact your email’s deliverability.  

DKIM Fail FAQs

1. What senders are failing DKIM?

DKIM failure is typical for senders who:

  • configure the protocol improperly
  • use 2048-bit keys for non-supported email providers
  • email contents were altered by a third-party intermediary during the message transfer

2. Can DMARC pass if DKIM fails?

Yes, provided that SPF passes for the email. If you have configured DMARC and aligned emails against both SPF and DKIM mechanisms, you need to pass only one of the checks (either SPF or DKIM) to pass DMARC. However, if your DMARC alignment only relies on DKIM authentication, DMARC will fail when DKIM fails.