为什么我需要DKIM?SPF还不够吗?

远程工作特别让人们接触到越来越多的网络钓鱼和网络攻击。大多数情况下,最严重的是那些让人无法忽视的网络钓鱼攻击。无论接收和发送多少工作邮件,尽管工作场所聊天和即时通讯应用程序的兴起,对于大多数在办公室工作的人来说,电子邮件仍然主导着内部和外部的业务沟通。

然而,这并不是一个秘密,电子邮件通常是网络攻击最常见的切入点,这涉及到将恶意软件和漏洞潜入网络和凭证,并揭示敏感数据。根据SophosLabs在2020年9月的数据,大约97%被垃圾邮件陷阱抓到的恶意垃圾邮件是钓鱼邮件,猎取凭证,或任何其他信息。

其中,剩下的3%携带着混合的信息袋,这些信息带有恶意网站的链接,或者是那些有诱杀装置的附件。这些信息主要是希望安装后门、远程访问木马(RATs)、信息窃取者、漏洞,或者可能下载其他恶意文件。

无论来源是什么,对于攻击者来说,无论他们的最终目的是什么,网络钓鱼仍然是一个相当可怕的有效策略。所有组织都可以使用一些强有力的措施来验证一封邮件是否来自于它所声称的人和来源。

DKIM是如何来拯救的?

必须确保一个组织的电子邮件安全应该能够对每一封传入的电子邮件进行检查,这将违背电子邮件似乎来自的域名所设置的认证规则。域名密钥识别邮件(DKIM)是一种帮助检查入站邮件的方法,以检查是否有任何被改变。对于那些合法的电子邮件,DKIM肯定会找到一个数字签名,它将与一个特定的域名相联系。

这个域名将被附在电子邮件的标题上,并且在源域会有一个相应的加密密钥。DKIM最大的优点是它在你的邮件标题上提供了一个数字签名,这样,收到邮件的服务器就可以用密码学方法验证这些标题,认为它是有效的和原始的。

这些标题通常签署为 "发件人"、"收件人"、"主题 "和 "日期"。

你为什么需要DKIM?

网络安全领域的专家指出,DKIM在日常情况下是非常需要的,以确保官方电子邮件的安全。在DKIM中,签名是由MTA(邮件传输代理)生成的,它创建了一个独特的字符串,称为哈希值。

此外,哈希值被存储在列出的域中,在收到邮件后,接收者可以通过使用在域名系统(DNS)中注册的公钥来验证DKIM签名。在这之后,这个密钥被用来解密标题中的哈希值,并从它收到的电子邮件中重新计算哈希值。

在这之后,专家们会发现,如果这两个DKIM签名是匹配的,那么MTA就会知道这封邮件没有被修改过。此外,用户将得到进一步的确认,即该邮件确实是从列出的域名发出的。

DKIM,最初是在2004年由两个站的密钥,即域名密钥(由雅虎创建的)和识别互联网邮件(由思科创建的)合并而成,并一直发展成为一种新的被广泛采用的认证技术,使一个组织的电子邮件程序相当值得信赖,这也是具体为什么像谷歌、微软和雅虎这样的领先科技公司总是检查传入邮件的DKIM签名。

DKIM与SPF

发件人政策框架(SPF)是一种电子邮件认证形式,它定义了一个过程,以验证电子邮件,一个从授权邮件服务器发送的电子邮件,以检测伪造和防止诈骗。

虽然大多数人认为SPF和DKIM都必须在组织中使用,但DKIM肯定比其他的更有优势。原因如下。

  • 在DKIM中,域名所有者发布了一个加密密钥,该密钥在整个DNS记录中被特别格式化为TXT记录
  • 附加在邮件头的独特DKIM签名使其更加真实。
  • 使用DKIM被证明是更有成效的,因为入站邮件服务器用来检测和解密邮件签名的DKIM密钥证明了邮件是更真实的,而且没有被改变过。

总结

对于大多数商业机构来说,DKIM不仅可以保护他们的企业免受网络钓鱼和欺骗性攻击,而且DKIM还有助于保护客户关系和品牌声誉。

这一点特别重要,因为DKIM提供了一个加密密钥和一个数字签名,这可以加倍证明电子邮件没有被伪造或篡改。这些做法将帮助组织和企业更进一步提高他们的电子邮件交付能力和发送安全的电子邮件,这将有助于创造收入。大多数情况下,这取决于组织如何使用和实施这些做法。这是最重要的,也是最有意义的,因为大多数组织都想使自己免于网络攻击和威胁。

Why do I Need DKIM? Isn’t SPF Enough?

Remote working has specifically introduced people to an increased number of phishing and cyberattacks. Mostly, the worst amount of phishing attacks are those that one can’t ignore. No matter the amount of work emails being received and sent, and despite the rise in workplace chat and instant messaging apps, for most people working in offices, email continues to dominate the business communication both internally and externally.

However, it’s not a secret that emails are usually the most common entry point for cyberattacks, which involves sneaking malware and exploits into the network and credentials, and reveal the sensitive data. According to data from SophosLabs in September 2020, around 97% of the malicious spam caught by the spam traps were phishing emails, hunting for credentials, or any other information. 

Out of this, the remaining 3% carried a mixed bags of messages that had been carrying links to malicious websites or with those that were booby-trapped attachments. These were mostly hoping to install backdoors, remote access trojans (RATs), information stealer, exploits, or maybe download other malicious files. 

No matter what the source, phishing remains a pretty frighteningly effective tactic for the attackers, whatever their final objective maybe. There are some robust measures all organizations could use to verify as to whether or not an email has come from the person and source that it claims to have come from.

How Does DKIM Come to Rescue?

It must be ensured that an organization’s email security should be able to keep a check on every email that’s incoming, which would be against the authentication rules being set by the domain that the email appears to have come from. DomainKeys Identified Mail (DKIM) is one that helps look into an inbound email, in order to check if nothing has been altered. In case of those emails that are legitimate, DKIM would definitely be finding a digital signature which would be linked to a specific domain name.

This domain name would be attached to the header of the email, and there would be a corresponding encryption key back at the source domain. The greatest advantage of DKIM is that it provides a digital signature on your email headers so that the servers receiving it can cryptographically authenticate those headers, deeming it to be valid and original.

These headers are typically signed as ‘From’, ‘To’, ‘Subject’ and ‘Date’.

Why Do You Need DKIM?

Experts in the field of cybersecurity state that DKIM is pretty much needed in the day to day scenario for securing official emails. In DKIM, the signature is being generated by the MTA (Mail Transfer Agent), that creates a unique string of characters called the Hash Value.

Further, the hash value is being stored in the listed domain, which after receiving the email, the receiver could verify the DKIM signature by using the public key that is being registered in the Domain Name System (DNS). After this, this key is being used to decrypt the Hash Value in the header, and also recalculate the hash value from the email that it received.

After this, the experts would be finding out that if these two DKIM signatures are a match, then the MTA would be knowing that the email hasn’t been altered. Additionally, the user is being given further confirmation that the email was being actually sent from the listed domain.

DKIM, which was being originally formed by merging two station keys, Domain keys (the one created by Yahoo) and Identified Internet Mail (by Cisco) in 2004, and has been developing into a new widely adopted authentication technique that makes an organization’s email procedure pretty trustworthy, and which is specifically why leading tech companies like Google, Microsoft and Yahoo always check incoming mail for DKIM signatures.

DKIM Vs. SPF

Sender Policy Framework (SPF) is a form of email authentication that defines a process in order to validate an email message, one that has been sent from an authorized mail server in order to detect forgery and to prevent scam.

While most people hold the opinion that both SPF and DKIM must be used in organizations, but DKIM certainly has an added advantage over the others. The reasons are as follows:

  • In DKIM, the domain owner publishes a cryptographic key, which is being specifically formatted as a TXT record in the overall DNS record
  • The unique DKIM signature that is being attached to the header of the message makes it more authentic
  • Using DKIM proves out to be more fruitful because the DKIM key used by inbound mail servers to detect and decrypt the message’s signature proves the message to be more authentic, and unaltered.

In Conclusion

For most business organizations, not only would DKIM protect their businesses from phishing and spoofing attacks, but DKIM would also be helping in protecting customer relationships and brand reputation.

This is specifically important as DKIM provides an encryption key and a digital signature which doubly proves that an email wasn’t forged or altered. These practices would help organizations and businesses move one step closer improving their email deliverability and sending a secure email, that would be helping in generating revenue. Mostly, it depends on organizations as to how they would be using it and implementing the same. This is most important and relatable as most organizations would be wanting to free themselves from cyber attacks and threats.